RON 95 and diesel fuel subsidies to end in December

Malaysian_Fuel_Prices_Subsidies_November_2014

Yes folks, the time has finally come. Or will come, to be more precise. Subsidies for RON 95 and diesel fuels will end from December 1 onwards, according to the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism (KPDNKK) Minister Datuk Hasan Malek in a report by The Star.

When that happens, the pricing structure for unsubsidised RON 95 and diesel fuels will switch to a floating system that is similar to how RON 97 price is currently managed. Just a few days ago, RON 97 dropped 20 sen to RM2.55 per litre.

Based on the table above (which is displayed at all petrol stations), the prices of RON 95 and diesel, excluding Government subsidies, are RM2.43 and RM2.32 per litre, respectively. But on the other hand, falling crude oil prices – now at a four year low – should lead to lower prices soon.

UPDATE: How will the new unsubsidised prices be calculated?

KPDNKK has released an official statement explaining the new “managed float” pricing structure. Essentially, it will monitor the average fuel prices for the first 19 days of each month to see if it warrants a revision. If there’s a marked change, the average price of the last 10/11 days of the month will dictate the pump prices for the following month.

For example, the average market price of RON 95 from November 1 to 19 is RM2.27, which is lower than the current (subsidised) price of RM2.30. As such, the average market price between November 20 and 30 will then be the pump price for the month of December. This is similar to how RON 97’s market-derived price is managed.

So the question is, will this lead to cheaper fuel for us all in the long run? And once floated, how often will the prices change? This year alone, RON 97 price has been revised six times, ranging from RM2.55 currently to RM2.90 in March. The changes were more frequent at the start of the year (when prices went up) but tapered off more recently (when the prices went down).

What do you think of this news – are we ready for floated fuel prices? And what will happen when crude oil prices inevitably go up again? Tell us in the comments below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sohai on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:38 pm

FKING SOHAI GOVERNMENT

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 667 Thumb down 33
    • Where is KZM? on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:01 pm

I passed kzm house and I heard him screaming in pain. I asked his abah what happened, he said kzm just realised the government just shoved a terung up kzm.

Poor kzm. Crying in pain

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 203 Thumb down 16
      • Gargantia on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:27 pm

First, GST 6%.

Second, Hybrid CBU taxes 100%.

Third, Petrol (Ron97) up 10sen then down 20sen fill days later….
        No more subsidy pay market price.

Soon bolehland can pair with singapore at taxes and Car price and Petrol price.

BN macai padan muka, and support more and let the cronies runs the country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 394 Thumb down 20
        • Curi Curi Malaysia on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:40 pm

We produce our own oil. Gomen should sell to Malaysians cheap oil. We are one of the largest oil and gas producers in the world and yet our oil is so high in comparison to what we earn in Malaysia

Here is a list of several countires producing oil and their prices

Petrol
          (USD/per litre)

1. Venezuela 0.114
          2. Egypt 0.128
          3. Saudi Arabia 0.142
          4. Qatar 0.171
          5. Bahrain 0.214
          6. Libya 0.214
          7. Turkmenistan 0.242
          8. Kuwait 0.242
          9. Algeria 0.242
          10. Iran 0.299

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 36
          • mau makan on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:48 pm

eh..u forgot to mention Indonesia ler..USD 0.7 (8500 Rupiah)..norway usd 2.26..
            http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
          • Why don’t you add fuel exporting Norway? I think they sell petrol at RM7 or 8 per liter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 77
          • Das Auto on Nov 22, 2014 at 2:41 am

This tng always smoking pot and talk kok non stop day and night. YEs norway is one of the most expensive places in the world. But Their average salary is more than RM10k. So it follows that their production cost is high. Please use your head a bit. If you don’t open mouth ppl won’t know you are stupid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 10
          • Putin on Nov 22, 2014 at 11:52 am

Mau makan: don’t speak if u are not smart. Otherwise u are displaying your foolishness.

I wouldn’t mind paying Norway fuel prices as long as our average pay is as high as theirs.

Same goes to Singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
          • Leonard on Nov 22, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Erm… CuriCuri Malaysia, Malaysia only produce and export crude oil but they never process the crude oil into petrol and petrol that we are using daily is imported from other country….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • kairul abdul on Nov 22, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Leonard

SapuraKencana go search.
            And never comments again if you don’t know anything.

Loser lie like you should join ministers job… keep taking crap and rubbish comments.

How much BN give you loser!!!

• usmansjah on Nov 23, 2014 at 12:39 pm

There are 2 types of crude oil, heavy crude and light crude. Heavy crude oil are turned into petrol / diesel, light crude oil are turned into jet fuel. Malaysia produces light crude oil which fetch higher price because it is of better quality and only light crude oil can be turned into jet fuel, heavy crude oil can’t be turned into jet fuel. We export our oil and import heavy crude oil to make petrol / diesel. You also should know that we consume more oil than we produced.

• kangkong on Nov 23, 2014 at 11:18 pm

And tng, don’t forget Norway has reserve of over RM1 Million per citizen. And Malaysia has debts of about RM20k per citizen. Get it? Are you thinking with your ass?

• Das Auto. Norway doesn’t want to waste nonrenewable resources and they like their environment clean. One way to do that is high petrol price. It’s people like you here in Malaysia smoking pot and wanting to degrade the environment by using fuel guzzling cars. Or may be you a fuel smugglers now out of a job?

• kangkong. Yes, Norway is far better managed than Malaysia. But is giving BMW owners more subsidy than Kancil owners the right thing to do? Or you also a fuel smuggler now out of a job?

• All you idiots, better follow kerajaan BN. That is the only hope you have. Spewing rubbish comments. Be grateful you are living in Malaysia. If not, leave!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • London Owned by Malaysians on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:05 pm

When I was buying a property in London recently, I had to go to the Land Registry to sort out some matter.

The guy at the counter told me, half of London is owned by Arabs and Hong Kong people (China included) and the other half is owned by Malaysians.

He was surprised and told me, it is mainly government servants from Malaysia who buy mult-imillion pound West End London properties. He said some don’t just buy one or 2 but a few each.

I asked him whether it could be EPF as EPF has invested in London, he said he knew about EPF investing in London but these were individuals buying into London West End property.

I wonder how a government servant in Malaysia can buy a 1.5 million pound apartment in London (average price). And that also, some buy a few!

I really want to join Government now. Leave my jobb as a Doctor and join Putrajaya.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 354 Thumb down 16
          • who might be? damn..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Not surprised; with the massive corruption in our country. MACC should obtain a complete list of these buyers and to confiscate the properties when any irregularities detected.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 6
          • Michel Bay on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Yes, I agree, a few units of the most expensive condo in Central London is owned by Arabs and Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
          • cikgupokai on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:32 pm

I am a govt servant..a teacher some more maaa…cannot even buy a house in Malaysia. How can some buy houses in London? Please tell me which govt they are working for…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 5
          • Driven Fan's y on Nov 22, 2014 at 4:18 am

Harimau tak makan boleh ke? Najis Singa bertina tak makan cina business hidup tak lena. .you mati korang pun tak kisah. .still ada banyak duit rakyat magically masuk kocek korang. . Hope they long live n Able To Enter heaven door

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • waterman on Nov 23, 2014 at 12:33 am

cikgupokai,
            sorry your level too low to know about it.
            stop being teacher, you have to join the cronies and most importantly you have to be an ass!

• Rahim Samsul on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:17 am

Am i surprised by the fact that the Malaysian Govt. Servants are buying property in London, not really but not one….. A few this ….this tells me why the Govt has no money in thier kitty.

Just like in tne case of the guy who swindled 1+ million and being transfered to another dept only….

• Burong on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:46 pm

We push government for:

Remove fuel subsidy, remove car excise duty.

Government heard us, he abolish the fuel subsidy, but remain car excise duty.

WTF.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 0
        • Sudahlah.. talk so much for what. Cronies may be enjoying money siphoned off from RM50billion 1MDB project. RM50billion bros. You guys bitching bout 20sen/liter.. They took the prom queen home and farked her while left you guys here bitching bout how you had to contribute in footing a RM38billion deficit.

Make it simple like this. Whoever who promises to remember to vote for new G next election, thumbs up. Who wants BN still, thumbs me down. If thumbs down win, there’s your answer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 18
          • U want new G, vote for the independent or those from the 3rd force.. No point voting for BN or PR.. 2 x 5 only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
          • thedarkside on Nov 23, 2014 at 1:49 am

and now im waiting for the price of iriz to go down by 30% as promised. faster la gov! need to get my wife a car and please do it before gst!!!!! janji ditepati, rakyat didahulukan dan rosmah diketepikan malah dihumbankan!

• KZM busy hitting "thumb down" on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Wheres kzm u ask? He doesnt know what to comment, so he quietly refresh the page and hit “thumb downs” again and again until the ” thumb down” matches ur” thumb up.”
        Hahahahahahahahahahaaaahaaaahaaaahahaaaa..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 15
        • KZM aka tng on Nov 22, 2014 at 2:45 am

KZM malu d and now coverline under tng name and spewing cock

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 179
      • thomasNOTmyname on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:00 pm

What kind of word do you want them the expressed at this point?

Will this word better SoHigh GOVERNMENT!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 9
      • i tot..this country is democracy meh..

• It is easy to increase the price but buat bodoh when the price of crude oil goes down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • Night on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Now they suck us gao gao first. When next GE is near they give you some sweets back.
      Dont be fooled people!!!!!!! No more!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
    • MeToo on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:47 pm

DOnt worry about the floating of petrol price la…

That means govt will not keep using petrol subsidies as an excuse for the insanely high car import/excise tax…

That means we will have our BMW at RM100,000 just like overseas…

Yeah… right hahhahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • waterman on Nov 23, 2014 at 12:36 am

[alarm rings]
        time to wake up dude!

• No excuse? How bout proton? A big reason for gov to continue the high tax for protect national car maker mar.

• Michel Bay on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:03 pm

ARMAGEDDONNN ! ! !
      APOCALYPSE NOWWW ! ! !
      DEEP IMMMPACT ! ! !
      :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • policeman on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:37 pm

waaaaa…waaaaa…

You’re finally weaning off the government’s teats.
      Be free little child, be free.

• My guess is gst will be implemented on petrol and diesel with the abolish of fuel subsidising.

• Manny on Nov 22, 2014 at 7:07 am

Q: What do you think of this news – are we ready for floated fuel prices? And what will happen when crude oil prices inevitably go up again? Tell us in the comments below.

A: FKING SOHAI GOVERNMENT

That was amazing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…Hopeless, it just 13sens per liter sudsidy for RON95 now also cannot tahan. This G really running out of $….Where our taxpayer $ gone??? CHOWCIBAI…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • once a proud msian on Nov 22, 2014 at 3:09 pm

I am perfectly ok and well aware that i am living in a badly corrupted country since i was born, the gomen was once treated me as a citizen and i wouldnt care if they want to make some living out from our pocket, at least they appreciate our mode of living, but, this quote shall no longer applied.

Dr. Kuda 1981-2003: Ron97 & Ron92 maintained its price at Rm1.10-Rm1.35/liter & Rm1.06-Rm1.31/liter

Tun Tak Nak 2003-2009: Ron97 range Rm1.37-Rm2.05/liter; Ron92 Rm1.33-Rm1.70 (ceased since 2008); Ron95 Rm1.75-Rm1.80

Abang JEEP 2009-20xx: Ron97 range Rm2.10-Rm3.00; Ron95 Rm1.85-Rm2.30

I was once a proud malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Painter on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:42 pm

I suspect the price will drop below 2.30 to reflect market price. Then will bounce back when fuel price rebounds.

Now the oil rigs need to recover their investments in shale gas extraction technology. Once they have recouped their money, they will squeeze the production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Malaysia VS Singapore.Oil Prices on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:15 pm

We Malaysians are unlucky. Don’t know why. We live in such a rich country. So abundant in oil, tin, getah, palm, copper, gold, iron, coconut etc etc. you name it, we have it. Even oil and gas, we are one of the LARGEST producers of oil and gas in the world.

Singapore has NOTHING. ZERO. ZERO Resources. ZERO Land. ZERO Everything!

And yet, the GDP Per Capita of Singapore is 5X that of Malaysians. What this literally means is that, Singaporean earns 5x more than what we earn. So, if you are earning RM5000, the Singaporean in the same position is earning RM25,000.

To make matters worse, Singapore dollar to the Ringgit is 2.7 times. The Singaporean can travel all over the world and enjoy whilst we Malaysians can only enjoy in poor nations like Indonesia and Thailand.

How is this so? Both countries started at the same time. We have ALL the natural resources but Singapore has ZERO?

Government has been lying to us all this while. they say Singapore, petrol is RM5 per litre. But they fail to tell you, the aevrage person there is earning 5X more than the Malaysians.

So, which do you think is more expensive. A Malaysian earning RM5000 per month but pays RM2,43 per litre or a Singaporean earning RM25,000 but paying RM5 per litre.

The Government of Malaysia love to lie to the people of Malaysia that our petrol is so much cheaper than all over the world. For example, in UK its over 1.25 pound a litre. Our Government will convert and tell you its RM5.50 per litre!
      But the average UK citizen is earning 3000 pounds.

The funny thing is this. Malaysia produces oil. Singapore does not produce oil. And yet, their petrol is so much cheaper for the Singaporean than petrol to us Malaysians!

The same with cars. the BMW 528i is RM420,000. In Singapore, it is SGD250,000. Which do you think is really cheaper?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 601 Thumb down 23
      • BN Kaki Kelentong on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Ha Ha Ha Very true. Gomen will soon publish in every single newspaper (propoganda) a long list to show petrol in Malaysia is the cheapest in the world.

But they will convert each country currency.

U see Utusan tomo will be a big page ad to show the list of countries all over the world and petrol prices

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 7
      • Painter on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Hmm, maybe the proposed alternative government can give us 5-10 years masterplan?

Exchange rate has a direct effect on international trade, but much less so on domestic produce. That’s why our teh tarik still cost RM1 but Singapore teh tarik costs SGD1.

I am not sure anyone can do anything about it. Or we can reset our currency and adopt SGD in totality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • Insulted Indonesian on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:20 pm

First of all, Indonesians paid unsubsidized Petrol RON 95 at higher price than you’d have in December. We have to pay Rp11,600 (RM3.20) per liter. Masih merasa kurang beruntung?

And speaking about poor country, try Jakarta. We, people of Jakarta, enjoy paying more money for stuffs which cost 3/4 in KL. Better watch it next time.

Anyway, Singapore is the crook.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 81
        • Do something about your gov then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
          • hisap on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:37 pm

How? U want us slaughter them?

• You’re mind is so closed up to the thoughts of killing them is the way out that it blocks you of other possibilities. Violence is not the only way mate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • What to do? We have thief on one side and clown on the other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • oh please! on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:37 pm

have you factor in the price of CoE in singapore? If not this could be misleading.

And oh yeah, you can always go to Singapore to work, they like Malaysian so much!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
      • ae101 on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Still there are lot kampung folks trust bn can help them. I’ve a malay colleague age around 40.die die also will vote bn. told him all the facts but pretend blind and said bn thumbs up. sohai punya orang. i just told him now padan mukaaaaa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 13
        • hisap on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Bro.. things not so different for those long house species live in Sarawak jungle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • Ah jit on Nov 21, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Do u know that kampung folks most of them got bumi land lease to FELDA .
          U will see lots Datuk nenek queuing every end of the month at Maybank special counter to collect money.
          My dad been doing it long time de… Hehe
          Die die also must vote BN

• cendol (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:28 pm

We are better than Zimbabwe and Ghana ok.
        Bersyukurlah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
    • LatukBandar on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:21 pm

There must be a reason why the announce this so early, usually they do it at the 11th hour.

I suspect the same too, come Dec 1st, either RON95 price will remain the same or there will be a slight drop in price.

• Yes....Where's the price drop for car on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:42 pm

5 years… No thank you.

Next government please.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 6
    • Terima Kasih BN on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Wahai orang orang kampung. Sedar lah. Tengok dengan mata sendiri. Musuh bukan kaum lain. Musuh adalah kerajaan anda sendiri.

December ini, harga barang barang akan melambung lagi tinggi. GST next year, harga lagi akan melambung.

Gaji Rm8000 pun tidak mencukupi untuk hidup.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 12
      • LLembu on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Wahai orang orang kampung, awak sekarang tidak rasa kesusahan orang bandar disini. tetapi Hang punya anak cucu akan kanal tak lama lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
        • Hondaman on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:19 pm

My father in law said, he will die die vote for BN because he only use a bicycle at home….. Dowh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • BN & PR. Both of them are the same, talk cock only. I would rather vote for independent candidate or 3rd force..

Look at OZ and UK, the have a lot of independent as MPs..

USA, on the other hand have only democrats and republican party.. Almost no differences between the two. They care more about they lobbyist and sponsors (corporations) than their voters.

So u wanna change government, don’t go for BN or PR..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • rifle on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:42 pm

mak oiii…boleh bankrap ceqq asyik isi minyakcamni -.-‘

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
  • HIDUP BN on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:43 pm

TERIMA KASIH PAK BN YAAA KEEEMARKKK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
    • agogo on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:59 pm

1MDB need money k….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 5
    • ZORRO on Nov 23, 2014 at 10:49 am

PALE BUTOH BEEND!!!
      Lepas ni hari2 orang merompak, mencuri, menyamun & hope the victims are ALL BEEND MACAI…PADAN MUKA!! KAH3…,

• mustafa on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:44 pm

good move…to take the opportunity of the low world oil price to end fuel subsidy..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
  • ProtonGSC on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Day robbing is here, Rakyat need to stand up to fight this.

Until this minister never stand in this country.
    He treat Rakyat as his slave, he think himself as the papak this country????

Gov is making enemies with the Rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 17
  • ProtonGSC on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Day robbing is here, Rakyat need to stand up to fight this.

Until this minister never stand in this country.
    He treat Rakyat as his slave, he think himself as the papak this country????

Gov is making enemies with the Rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 15
    • ProtonGSC. You smuggle fuels for a living?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 57
      • ProtonGSC on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:07 pm

As your answer this will is affected the whole bolehland market.

Food and Goods (needs) all need transportation petrol up all price went up.

U should go back to school study economic, is not just petrol alone are affected. Maybe you’re the cronies that were happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
        • Admit it, you just want to sell subsidized fuel to your foreign friends and factories that are not entitled to it. You just want to line your own personal pocket.

If that is not true, why are you so against “targeted subsidy” that even Pakatan is saying is a better option than “blanket subsidy” of which fuel subsidy is the most obvious example?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 54
          • Funny. People don’t want BN and also don’t want Pakatan (who categorically did say target subsidy is better). Wanna see the link where they said it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • ProtonGSC on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Funny comment from you.

PM says won’t burden Rakyat…

Now he’s KILLING Rakyat!!!!

Cronies everyday eat at 5 stars hotel, living in big house, driving Benz or BMW.

RAKYAT are suffering can’t PM realise that we suffer even more after this !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • ProtonSGC. There are 2 ways to make food cheap for the poor, the smart way and the stupid way.

The stupid way is, make fuel smugglers and BMW owners more happy than the poor by making fuel cheap for everybody. You do know BMW uses more fuel than Kancil, right?

The relatively smart way is, to put money in the hand of the poor to buy food. That’s what BR1M is for. It’s not for your Karaoke session.

So which Kampung university you studied economic?

• Pengguna Bijak on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Perodua Axia = 20km per Liter

Proton Iriz = ??km per Liter

Be smart, choose fuel saver car now!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 33
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:05 pm

What’s the difference…? One kills you by making your wallet hole bigger, another kills you by impaling you on road railings…

Both also die one…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 4
        • Iriz has ESP which even Toyota Vios don’t have. So Vios is more likely to end up in accident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 47
          • I bet those who like Vios don’t even know what is ESP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
          • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:31 pm

And why the hell would you want to bring Vios into the picture when that fella specifically comparing Iriz and Axia…?

I’m not Sam Loo ok, I’m Sam “Hailat” Loo…!

Please learn how to read first…

• xiaozhu on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Perodua Axia = 1L
        Proton Iriz = 1.3L

Both cannot take and compare.
        Smart consumer will know what I talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • it’s not about kereta anymore…it’s about domino effect man..spare parts, foods, or etc will hike up.

• see what I mean about people so ignorant? Axia and even higher priced Vios doesn’t have ESP whereas Iriz has. Do you know what is ESP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • ProtonGSC. With blanket fuel subsidy, for every RM1 the poor is getting, those very rich you mention eating in 5 Stars hotel get RM10. You must be one of those in 5 stars hotel so I can understand why you are so upset with this news. No more free lunch (fuel) for you to smuggle out of the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
      • ProtonGSC on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Rakyat are suffering please learn to read first.

Go back to school and learn how Gov lie to you start from Tun DrM ages.

Reduce car taxes now… and reduce petrol price now… that’s all.
        Lousy Gov and ministers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • ProtonGSC. Which Raykat are you referring to? The rich BMW drivers or the poor Kancil drivers?

So tell me, why give the BMW owners more subsidy than the poor Kancil owners?

• Come 1-Dec, excise duty should come down and existing car owners should be compensated with free road tax. As for fuel smugglers, I am sure they will run to Anwar and cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 21
  • NoProblem on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:45 pm

No problem! Just make our cars more affordable. That’s all we want.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 1
  • slk3879 on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

So, is there going to be another report tomorrow saying that the Minister claims that everything is not confirmed yet, and bla bla bla?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • Could the gov show us the maths and logic?

Pardon me, if you need one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • xiper (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

so government doesn’t need to subsidize the means and still collecting high vehicle tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • matkool on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

AND USE THAT DAMN SUBSIDIARIES MONEY TO REDUCE CAR PRICES ! NOT MASUK POKET!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • indeed…an not all people can buy a car… kesian orang kampung..

• Maseratits on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Now… Where is our cheaper cars??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • Mark Chong on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Malaysia govt claimed that our car has very high taxes is because govt needs to cover the petrol subsidies. Now the subsidies are going to remove, but how about the taxes imposed on new cars? Are they going to be removed as well? I don’t think so… :(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 3
    • Care to show me the link where government said need high car tax to subsidy fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
      • kairul abdul on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Go to read more newspaper. Go back to school and learn.

Is on thestar. Kids now day’s shihhhhhhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Last I read, next year, there will reduction in personal income tax. You reading comic book?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • LewCN on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Now, there is no more reason for government to argue that we should pay so dearly for our automotive vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Jack Maverick on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Excellent! More good news!

This shit better be worth it, or I’m rage quitting.

• The Truth About Subsidy on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:49 pm

There is no such thing as subsidy in the first place. What you produce, you cannot subsidise. We produce our own oil, so what is there to subsidise?

If you grow vegetables in your back garden, you cannot go around telling people that you are “subsidising” the vegetables. Does not make sense. Unless you buy the vegetables from another person or country, then only you can tell people you are subsidising.

Government has been lying to people the past 20 years about this. You see, the Sultan of Brunei also produces oil from his country. But he cares for the rakyat first. So, he gives the rakyat very cheap petrol first. Then only, the remainder and balance, he exports it to the world at global prices.

Infact, ALL oil producing countries in the world sell their oil cheaply to their own rakyat. Except one country. Malaysia!

Why our Malaysian government does not do this? Don’t care for the rakyat is it? And Malaysia’s oil reserves are 100X more than Brunei’s oil reserve. About 3 years ago, it was announced that Petronas struck the largest oil field in the world with enough reserves for the next 100 years. It was the biggest news of the century. But next day, it was covered up. Complete silence on it and a denial that it even happened. This is because UMNO realiased, better keep the cash cow Petronas discovery solely for the exclusive benefit of the UMNO members pockets.

So, now, the UMNO Ministers and UMNO members are milking Petronas big time. The UMNO members make 5% of the Malay population. Whilst the UMNO members are shopping in Harrods, dining in Selfridges and having tea in Fortnum and Mason’s in London, the remaining 95% of the rakyat Malaysia who are Malays are told to tighten their belt and tanam jagung and kangkung to eat and survive.

The oil that Malaysia produces belong to every single Malaysian. It is our right. It belongs to use. Eventhough it belongs to use, we must somehow beg and plead to the government for the right to enjoy it and a cheap and lower price, something which all Bruneians enjoy as their birth right.

Even if the government is trying to steal our birthright and don’t want to give us cheap fuel, at least be honest enough to lower the prices of fuel when global prices have dropped to its lowest. There also, the UMNO members are trying to cheat us. Now, they say must impose a tax. It should be the luck of consumers if global prices have come down but now the government is taking that also from us.

Malaysia produces the sweetest grade fuel in the world. What this means is that, it is the purest and highest grade fuel in the world and most sought after and most expensive. So, is it true that, 30 years ago, the Malaysian government negligently contracted with the Western Governments to sell this sweetest crude at a fixed price the next 30 years ago, a fixed price which is far far lower at US$XX a barrel? Our previous Government fixed the price of our oil based on 1980s prices. Who loses? We Malaysians lose!

Is this true?

Is the rumours true also that because of this contract, we are actually a net importer of very low grade fuel from Arab countries?

If it is true, why is the Malaysian government giving Malaysians very low grade fuel, super high in sulphur and emissions which will not only detroy our environment but also our lungs? Isn’t a government supposed to look after the country’s environment and health of its people?

Is the country becoming bankrupt? This what happens when corruption goes out of hand and is not small scale and the quantum is huge. For example, Taib alone is worth US$18 billion (RM60 billion). So you imagine. If one person alone can sapu about RM60 billion, what about the others in the corrupted gang? No wonder the country in bankrupt. Corruption is not small amount of a few million. The corrupted are so greedy, they all compete with each other to see who is the top most corrupted and all want that billion dollar mark and millions are just not enough of a mark.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 311 Thumb down 24
    • How do we know the actual market rate for the petrol / diesel? These idoits can always mark up the price and then claimed that the set price is correct. Can we ever trust them at all; especially when the have failed to make good their election promise of reducing car prices by 30%?

If they don’t do reduce the car taxes; Pakatan Raykat should lead with way with massive peaceful protests country wide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • Alson P on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:56 pm

http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/ real-time crud oil price

• Time for another rally! This selective “I-told-you-so” b*lls**t has just crossed the threshold of unacceptability. Hypocrisy at its worst

• Alson P on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Falling factory output in China and the onset of recession in Europe means that a continued fall in the demand for crude oil is inevitable. The recent return to production of Algeria, Libya, Iraq and Iran means that the world is already oversupplied with crude oil. The astonishing rise of production by hydraulic fracturing in the USA means that America is increasingly self-sufficient in oil. When supply exceeds demand a fall in the price of any product is inevitable.

When a market is over supplied, prices continue falling until enough suppliers are forced into bankruptcy to reduce supply to the level of demand. At that point, prices can start to rise again. This is the classic explanation of the causes of recession and recovery. However, the oil market is different. Lead times and start up costs are high in the industry and so production cannot just be turned on and turned off at will. Oil has a global sales price but location-dependent variations in production costs. Middle eastern producers responded to the peculiarities of the oil economic cycle by forming OPEC to limit supply in times of economic decline and support the price of oil. By controlling supply levels and sharing out the cuts between them, the 12 nation club can ensure that none of the producers have to go bust before supply and demand return to equilibrium.

• vwowner on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:50 pm

It would be no more middle income group.

Pity Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • FuckBN on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Syukurlah Malaysia masih aman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
  • Fuck BN on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:50 pm

thx to the rakyat who voted for BN last year
    so this year…the have prepared a big gift to you all
    And once again thx…for giving BN such an oppoturnity to implement this to our rakyat
    Non subsidy petrol , yet no reducing several car related tax
    Welldone malaysia thank you BN

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 7
    • the truth on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Couldn’t agree more, voting BN = show your butt to them and say TQ.

All those low/middle income, prepare yourself cause the government gonna F you a big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Bobby (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:03 pm

No sane voter would vote for them. Rigging votes actually put them into power. Next time, get the UN to police our votes, then we know who are legitimate govt! Right now, we the people better organise as one voice.

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:51 pm

So… no need to collect tax from cars then, after all it’s not gonna be used to subsidise fuel also…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Excise duty and import tax must come down too!
    No countries out there screw their Rakyat both ways i.e. screw us in Petrol and on car Taxes.

http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

It’s either petrol is cheap car expensive OR petrol expensive car cheap. NOT BOTH!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • Petrofsky77 (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:58 pm

This statement reflects my sentiments exactly!

• LLembu on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Car monopoly by colony A.
      Oil control by colony B.
      Bank control by colony C.
      BN have to take care A, B & C, therefore we Rakyat have to tanggung them.

• Alson P on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Singapore……

• intermilan on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Ini semua poyo!

• Come 1-Dec, we will know whether there is any subsidy for fuel at RM2.20. Some claim fuel without subsidy is below RM2.20 whereas I guess otherwise. Would be interesting to know who got it right or wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • It seems like I was wrong. Government said the cost price for RON95 from November is RM2.27 and selling at RM2.30.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:04 pm

How interesting and ironic you should say that, after all that useless drivel you have been wasting our bandwidth on.

To quote myself (Nov 4th) responding to your post

Currently, Petrol prices in US is about USD3.0/US gallon (3.78L). Which means the RM equivalent is $2.60/L. There is a 13% federal tax on fuel, so the price without tax is about 2.27/L

I would hazard a guess that our refining cost along with distribution would be less than the US equivalent since you don’t have to truck fuel so far..

So the 2.30 we pay now, is more than the US prices before federal tax. Subsidize what?

Of course we can only guess what numbers our lovely government is cooking up.”

You have just proven my point that there are already no subsidies as of October and November. In fact we could have very well be subsidizing the government for every litre of petrol.

So for November, every litre of RON 95 petrol every malaysian pumps, the goverment makes 3 sen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • RM2.27 could be include tax.. based on current price Rm2.43 with tax.. so RON95 actual price should be Rm2.43 – Rm0.58 (tax) = RM1.85 coz currently RON97 also selling without Rm0.58 tax…

• The table where those Ministers are brainstorming how to explain to rakyat regarding RON97 and 95 price policy cant come up any shit. And then the chairman says F*^k it just abolish it. And all claps their hand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • Peter on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Agree with the comments

• Fair Dinkum on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:56 pm

no petrol subsidy, mou man tai!

then REMOVE / ABOLISH the freaking excise duty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Sila beratur ramai ramai isi minyak BRIM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Our government = flip flop flip flop

• Good move on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:59 pm

I think it is a good move by government to float it while the price is close to subsidised price. It is stated the actual market price including taxes is 2.43, given that petrol is exempt from GST, would it be actually be lower than 2.43 after float.

This would reduce significant petrols that are smuggled out of coountry or maliciously channeled into industrial use.

Hope they would reduce the car sales tax as well. (Wishful thinking)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Matchy on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Very wishful thinking my friend…

• It’s not a move at all, it’s a desperate act. There’s no more money left! Ten holes and only have 5 covers (or maybe less), how to cover every hole?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • 4G63T DSM on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:17 pm

No need to cover mah.

Just dig more holes and tell rakyat Anwar made the holes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Conti car fan on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:01 pm

yes…..finally…

• ionlaw on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Rakyat are subsidizing the government…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • This type of decision just made me wonder how childish is our minister in handling such important decision that have huge impact, changing it just in the matters of days. And I doubt that when world oil price went down, we will enjoy it immediately, but will increase the price overnight if other way round.

• the truth on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:03 pm

The conclusion is, government has no more money.
    Their bank is going to empty, that’s what really happening now.

• kenemigratelamcmnie on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:04 pm

minyak = mahal
    motokar = mahal
    rumah = mahal

hmmm..where is that migration form….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • Mah Tehs Son on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:04 pm

the petrol price in Malaysia will still increase when world crude oil price drops. this move basically means they don’t need to subsidise when the price goes up, and they rip you off when the price goes down… so you will wish the price stays up.

• Matchy on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:06 pm

What about the income tax & IC subsidy scheme?

• The most proud and important subsidy in Malaysia has been removed, without proper engagement with the Malaysian. As jib Gor always quote ” Kita Sedia Mendengar “.

Please clap your hands Rakyat ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • honest on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Better no subsidy at all rather than all the recent confusion
    but please …since there’s no subsidy don’t charge gst on it

• cendol (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Janji DiCapati
    Terima Kasih PM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • burger on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Finally, no more subsidy. Let the market decide our petrol price. No more bitching, no more whining. Capitalism at its best.

• Will we eventually see totally free market pricing with different petrol station displaying different pricing and everyday different pricing like overseas? And what effect would that have on Malaysia’s petrol station operators? Will the strong get stronger and the weak run crying to Anwar for cheaper fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Alpha on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Is the minister going to come out and say he is misunderstood again?

• Thanks for BM supporter.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:16 pm

If only BR1M can increase to RM5900 per month.
    Oh wait, I am not eligible for BR1M also.

No BR1M for me, No PR1MA for me, tax high, excise tax high, GST I kena, House I need pay full price,
    Not eligible to migrate (need 1million cash to migrate)

How do I continue to live?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Raymond on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Ha ha ha, since day 1 we all knew that there is no way to split the purchases of fuel into high, medium & slow income users.

May be there is a way that our gov to raise more project opportunities in order to…fill-up their own pockets? Only themselves will know…

Will the car price drop upon this? I dun think so cause that’s depends on Dr.M factors rather than what gov can make order.

• cendol (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Fuel smuggler suddenly lose their jobs.
    Need to smuggle other things soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • azrai on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Yes, the timing is right since the crude getting lower and lower. Just hope for a better use of the savings for rakyat. Since last year record shows G using RM24.1b in 2013, I guess G easily savings almost RM30b for 2015. No subsidy meaning no more terima kasih la. No more Ahmad Maslan quote on 3 months life under G’s ehsan.

• azrai on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:20 pm

How about those rationalisation mean for April next year? the 3 tier system? Using MyKAD? haha…cannot make money for the company who submit the proposal.

• uglyface on Nov 24, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Pos Malaysia Berhad will cry for this announcement.. their mega subsidies petrol proposal plan just burn out.. haha

• No more subsidies? Time to remove Car taxes also then. It’s about time for Malaysians to buy cheaper cars

• Peter on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Let the gov fall into hell, fxck bn! Subsidy is the most cost consuming b’cse of the whole nation is using it. It’s apparent you speed up the subsidy-cut process to cover your own ass, your failed 1MDB, your half-boiled Iskandar proj, your failed Pengerang Integrated Petroleum Complex. Our country debt has surpass > 50% GDP for now … who benefit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Daily Driver on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:31 pm

The government has been telling us that since petrol was cheaper in Malaysia, we could pay more for new cars.

OK, so now we don’t have subsidised petrol anymore. Can we have cheaper cars then? In the USA people can get a Camry for what Malaysians pay for a Myvi.

• Sparcov on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:31 pm

I think the government is try to balance up their account.

First they develop the public infrastructure via concessionaires, PPP, etc.

Money is come from the tax, loan, etc.

Now they realise money not enough, cut subsidies and impose GST.

When Rakyat suffer due to no increment to pay all this, government ask us ubah gaya hidup.

Once we ubah gaya hidup, apa lagi government mau?

Government is the one impose

1. high selling car price
    2. high petrol selling price
    3. high tax on all the goods
    4. high cost of living

but never think of how to improve the rakyat life. Where the rakyat going to get the money from?? we work hard, you rob our money even harder.

End up, we are like a working ants for the government with nothing left and ask us to bersyukur?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
  • At least not that silly income based subsidy.
    Now, give me my swift sport at 75k.

• HantuBukit on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Thank You Our Beloved Government.. I’m an excited being a Malaysian!!

• Almighty Snack Bar on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Wahai Rakyat 1Malaysia..

Syukurlah Malaysia masih aman.

Harga Petrol dan Diesel masih terendah di dunia..

Syukurlah kita tiada perang dan syukurlah negara aman.

BERSYUKURLAH…. BERSYUKURLAH…. BERSYUKURLAH….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • I’m sure whatever the decision from the government, they always put us Rakyat in priority. I strongly believe that what the government do is for the well being of the Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • rider on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:45 pm

so the price will increase or decrease after 1st dec?
    coz if increase i will fill my HONDA EX5 full tank before 1st dec if decrease then i will wait & fill full tank on 1st december. Dear beloved GOV can you plz reply my comment ASAP. I need to plan regarding filling up my motorbike.Dear Beloved GOV FYI, I already sold my cars becoz of high roadtax, high maintenance, high spare parts, AES, JPJ number plate summons, ridiculous high car price & interest rate, road bullies, speed trap summons by traffic police and many more….

• {THEN}
    Actual price Rm2.43, gov subsidy Rm0.13, selling price Rm 2.30. Want to know the truth?

Actual price to public Rm2.43 = Rm1.80 + Rm0.63.

Subsidy in public Rm0.13, selling price Rm 2.30. So actually we paid additional Rm0.63 more to help them to subsidize us with mere Rm 0.13. Nett profit Rm0.50/L.

{NOW ‘ASSUME’}
    Actual price Rm1.80, gov sub Rm0.13, selling price Rm1.67.
    Actual price to public Rm1.80 = Rm 1.50 + Rm0.30 .

Subsidy in public Rm0.13, selling price Rm 1.67. So actually we paid additional Rm0.30 more to help them to subsidize us with mere Rm 0.13. Nett gov profit Rm0.17/L.

Leader N- eh, sudah 2minggu saya hitung, xkira bgmanapun cm untung Rm0.17/l shj, tapi kena tenggok muka ‘Cina’ yg hitam sekali itu. Bagaimana eh?

Leader A- Kalo mcm ini gimana? Kita org remove subsidy shj, dan announce nak ikut market price ikut floating mcm Ron97, lepas tu kita org cakap original price itu Rm1.80 (real price Rm1.50+ mark up Rm0.30). Kalo mcm ini, kita untung RM0.30/L, juga xyah subsidy. Yg penting tu boleh suka suka naik kalo $/barrel naik, dan Cina itu boleh diamlah.
    Ps: To them, nowadays when there’s problem it is only from ‘Chinese’…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Leila on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:49 pm

There’s those policies brought by certain parties that promises lower fuel price, this sort of statement will only create a situation that influence our mindset that fuel price could be reduced if the government of the day will be to change.

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:50 pm

I am a PR supporter, but this is a very good move by BN gov. Please abolish the subsidy, but at the same time abolish the excise duties for cars, in tandem. This will help offset the higher price of daily goods, at least for the ordinary Malaysians. In reality, the biggest gainers from this long subsidy system, are those top 1% richest people/families which have long enjoyed this distorted economy structure. If we love Malaysia, and to have more balanced wealth distribution, this is the right thing to do. Tahniah DS Najib!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • There are very very few Pakakan supporter with brain like you have. With blanket subsidy like fuel, the super rich will get RM10 for every RM1 the poor is getting and these brainless people are so happy that is happening. Go figure….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • There are many rich fuel smugglers in this thread now crying for losing their job.

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Its a difficult and unpopular decision, but one decision that the government needs to do before our country suffer from serious deficit.

its heart breakening to see so much leakage due to subsidy, which is never sustainable to begin with, foreigners abuses it happily and we know what happens when you find out someone is eating in your kitchen without your permission

It’s a decision for greater good, one that will pull away popularity from the gov, but in the long run, everyone benefits from it… from the makcik in the pasar, well dressed men and lady in offices or even the big corporate leaders, im really looking forward to see this. I have been praying for this to happen many years, and its finally happened, Insha Allah

alhamdulillah all Malaysians will make it through this with the wise leadership of Najib and Co. He’s the hero that Malaysia deserves, but not the one it needs right now. So the rakyat and opposition will hunt him. Because he can take it. Because he’s not our hero. He’s a silent Dear Leader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 58
    • Kancil Hybrid on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:26 pm

DS Najib = Bapa Transformasi Negara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • And the biggest supporter of fuel leakage is Anwar but how many people know that? Very few and no wonder Malaysia is in the dump.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • Alson P on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:30 pm

In a perfect market, unhindered by politics, cartels or special interests, the price of a product is the only mediator between its demand and its supply. When demand for oil exceeds supply, its price rises, making extraction from inhospitable locations, like the Arctic tundra or offshore platforms, economically viable. More of the world’s oil becomes profitable and so more is extract by extending production to previously unprofitable locations. Output rises to meet demand and the price stabilizes. If supply exceeds demand then the price falls. If the price falls far enough, and stays low long enough for those extractors in high-cost locations to go bust, excess production will be squeezed out of the market and the price will rise again.

The expansion of fracking in the United States has contributed to over-supply. Fracking is only viable at a certain oil price level, so, in many ways, by forcing over-production, hydraulic fracturing oil producers have contributed to their own problems. Investments were made in low-margin extraction and loans were secured to finance them, based on the convention that no matter how much oil the US produced, price levels would be maintained by OPEC cutting production. Financiers did not have to worry about the dangers of supply and demand because OPEC would ensure price stability

• Baja Lapis Seng on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Shut up you all whiners. Big mama need more diamond rings. Fork out your cash gerrrdennngggittt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Ikanpuyu on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Government should use the subsidy money invest into research or company that developed fuel cell or electric car. Reduce the petrol/subsidy car will reduce subsidy needed.

• All brother & sister, relax lah…later RON92 is coming… with subsidy by gov… market price only RM2.00/L… still cheaper than RON95 now

• Kepala sakit on Nov 21, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Tak ada fuel subsidy nevermind la, but please lower the prices of cars. Channel the extra income to Rakyat, to schools to old folks.. Etc. Those things the G ada buat frankly, but not enough!

• intermilan on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:00 pm

RON 95 RM2.43 – harga sebenar TERMASUK CUKAI. CUKAI… ramai yg tak perasan / tak komen bahagian ni.

Berapa RM bahagian cukai dari RM2.43?
    Berapa RM bahagian petrol dari RM2.43?

Kecoh sangat dengan jumlah subsidi itu ini..
    Tak mampu nak tanggung sampai kena hentikan.

Bagaimana dgn jumlah CUKAI yang telah dikutip selama ni?
    Tak nak kecohkan jugak ke?
    Tak nak hentikan jugak ke?

Sila la bagitau jumlah kutipan cukai dari jualan petrol dan diesel setiap bulan selama ni.
    Tak kan tu pun tak berani?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Rakyat on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:06 pm

No subsidies no problem. I think they need to put syiling price for the subsidies to kick in. At least it help a little.

• I truly believe the govt knows what they are doing. I put my full trust in the govt..they are the best..the very universe bestest. Thank you Govt. Long Live Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
  • albag on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:12 pm

from the deepest of my heart, i thank you Mr. Najib for kind understanding and great decision of removing the subsidies… you and BN are the best government of all time!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • sohai on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:14 pm

sohai

• mlb7rulz on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:29 pm

no matter how hard we speak here will be a total waste then.. those biggies out there will not react after reading our comments here, in fact they will clap their hands..something like an entertainment for them..no point broz..

• darren on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:31 pm

hi goverment please make sure that the floating price for fuel and diesel is Euro 5 standard not Euro 2 with pure oil .not adding b5 and b7 that only having in malaysia.because our car being suffer alot.

• Azahari on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Float it already please. They should have done this long time ago.

• makayah on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:36 pm

remove subsidy for fuel, reduce car taxes !

• the government is robing the nation openly, how on the Mother Earth that they can just take away the subsidy just to maintain the high price for te petrol!!! And claim that they wanted to ease the burden on the people at the 1st place by subsidising the petrol price?
    My blind guess is they wanted the fund to save the going to bankcrup 1MDB.
    Thanks to those that voted for them. You guys are owesome!

• Jimmy on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Why do I need 70 billion ringgit at the age of 70 years?
    Why do I need 70% of the resources/wealth of the united big state at the age of 70 years?
    If you have 70 million ringgit of solid wealth (eg 20 properties generating incomes and 30 million cash in bank), it is more than enough.
    Why do you need to eat so much?

• In my opinion, not the most popular decision but still need to be done which means that we should be on the right track. To counter this, those decision maker need to be transparent and show the country where the subsidized money be channelled to. And to avoid dissatisfaction, the whole subsidized money should only be invested in improving public transportation for the next couple of years before using it to fund some other projects. – #Restorebackfaith

• cyan lim on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Obama can you conquer our country and save citizens here out from the hell country… we are sufferring… democratic in malaysia is a lie! No matter how hard we participated for the voting in our government election, results turned out to be another way round… our government playing black magic everyday now… we can’t see the vision of 2020…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • No More Vision on Nov 21, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Vision 2020, what’s that ?!

• Milobun on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:10 pm

What are you smoking? Dont be so naive. You think we will be treated as equal if we got conquered?

• longlive on Nov 21, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Long Live My PM…
    Hell Yeah..Save alot money
    Please give us something in return…

• So, since subsidies are abolished Dec1, I propose that all vehicle APs pun abolish on the same date. Baru fair. Allow the rakyat to import any new car they like….tax free.

• Time for another rally! This selective “I-told-you-so” b*lls**t has just crossed the threshold of unacceptability. Hypocrisy at its worst

• paparadzi (Member) on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:12 pm

High fuel price is not a problem if coupled with lower vehicle price. The problem is the high tax we pay for those vehicles.

Maybe they should follow USA / Australia where the fuel stations compete with their fuel price.

• BN selamanya on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Bersyukurlah karena engkau tidak memiliki semua yang diinginkan Jika engkau memiliki semuanya, apalagi yang hendak dicari?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Duncan Lim on Nov 21, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Cancel fuel subsidy? Where the money will go?

– 1MDB keep gorek rakyat money to nowhere. (http://youtu.be/Pa85wGwFD1A)
    – 500Mil(rakyat money) is prepared to compensate Toll companies next year
    – and……

Apa dia mahu lagi?

• Olio benzina on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Smart move Putrajaya.
    Best time to remove subsidy is when petrol price is lowest.

• hail BN on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Thanks BN for completing my live without petrol subsidy and with the upcoming 6% in the pipeline.

• sohaiBN on Nov 21, 2014 at 8:30 pm

ok..fine.

then where is the cheap car?

• If Govt true do it as RON97 “DIKECUALIKAN CUKAI”.. I’m fully support but make sure RON95 also have some “CAP” on maximum selling price example like Rm2.50.. If RON95 price going up above Rm2.50 in the future like Rm2.80, the diff Rm0.30 Govt should give subsidy…

I’m also fully support Govt should Intro RON98 to replace RON97.. same as Singapore…

• rocky balboa on Nov 21, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Err….. petrol subsidy removed but car price remained all time high (with taxes like 200 to 300% imposed).

Hmm…… sign of country bankruptcy is imminent and rakyat will be the first to suffer!!!

• Wah, if oil prices suddenly skyrocket, then gg liao??

• ben yap on Nov 21, 2014 at 11:21 pm

later we will hear “RON 95 and diesel fuel subsidies to end in December” NOT CONFIRM!

• They only talkin
    bout fluctuate the fuel prices which is good from sustainable development perspective.

Having said that STATUS QUO IN
    HIGH SIDE OF CAR PRICES simply a daylight robbery of relatively poor Malaysians.

• ron95 on Nov 21, 2014 at 11:34 pm

not yet,the night is still young,this is only the beginning of the ‘show’,you will see more show to come very soon. this is a good earning opportunity,have you ever seen price for salt is increasing? It is because the consume of salt is only 0.0xxxx% as compare to other daily high consume item, soon or later, you will see high consume items will have the same impact,this is how a smart gov work,so please stop dreaming that high consume item will remain an unchange price, unless you are a smart voters on the next election, the choice is yours, wants up or down is depend on you, nobody to blame,cause if you choose it, you need to accept it.

• Tong Sam Pah on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:14 am

Price of houses shot up, the cost of living increases at faster rate than salary every single year, and GST is otw, I think we kids have to study real hard and get good career and abandon this place. Only in Malaysia where government cares about ‘the number of seats secured’ and provides rubbish education system to the kids. Really no brainer. It’s ok, it would be easier for them to secure more seats once we, youths, get out of here and work in other countries. And when they realise, it is too late cos the situation is beyond repair. Thank you

• If Malaysia don’t do anything about fuel smuggling, you think there will still be petrol for your kids in future?

Obviously corruption has to stop and stupidly letting fuel smugglers smuggling fuel out of the country must also stop.

• nathan on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:16 am

Actually the reason why petrol and car prices are expensive is because of the chinese’s rampant involvement in illegal underground economy.

Chinese has no qualm prostituting their own poor people from mainland, destructing envronment through illegal logging and so on. All these requires more cost for enforcement and rehabilitation to environment and pollution.

If chinese stop doing all illegal activities, govt will have morre money and can be shared with the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
  • roxas on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:49 am

pay expensive fuel, pay expensive car, but the expensive fuel is dirty outdated fuel.. such capable gov

• transformer on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:55 am

Gov picked a very good timing to remove subsidy when global crude price is low…. when pricing starts floating, it should be lower than current subsidize price of Rm2.30 making rakyat to feel its a good sign to free float petrol price according to global crude price. BUT WHAT IF crude price gone up ???

Just return our duty & tax paid when we bought a car. We already pre-paid this subsidize petrol in advance. Its time to payback!

• You never been to overseas? Overseas, petrol price can change daily and from station to station. That’s what is suppose to happen with free market aka no subsidy.

• Batman on Nov 22, 2014 at 2:50 am

Too many cars on the road, too jam. Too many ppl driving recklessly & take for granted. Anyhow bang, doesn’t appreciate. They should increase the car prices. Then channel the money to build more underground MRT.

• titan lu on Nov 22, 2014 at 3:28 am

Is that end?wait la…. wen pharmacy dispencing right and 1care health system implement,u all dun even dare to feel like having headache…

• kazam on Nov 22, 2014 at 7:37 am

Minyak mahal..tol mahal….
    Mak…ayah…mintak maaf..kitaorang tgh kumpul duit ni untuk balik raya tahun depan

• Samlok on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:52 am

No subsidy for petrol – janji ditepati.
    Reduce car price – janji dicapatikan.

Brovo to gov!

• pondan on Nov 22, 2014 at 10:10 am

Very sad malaysian in 2 categories

1. Smart malaysian being victimized by gov and pro bn.
    2. Stupid malaysians that still remain dumb for voting the idiots.

In the end, BN win, rakyat loose.

The end!

• I disagree. One side are thieves and the other sides are idiots. Thieves we know. But only idiots want to make fuel cheaper for fuel smugglers to steal.

• If BN or PR wins the majority, the rakyat will definitely loose. Need the 3rd force (e.g independents)

• old dog on Nov 22, 2014 at 10:22 am

Bolehland has the worst combination now:

1) Floating oil price

2) 1000% car tax

• cvvti on Nov 22, 2014 at 10:32 am

Smart move. The timing for this measure to be announced is just perfect, when the crude oil prices is among the lowest in years. Yes, we might not feel the pain for the time being. But what if it shoots up to more than 100USD per barrel?

Secondly, how do we know how the petrol prices for each month is calculated? Will there be a website or mechanism that transparently shows how this is done? In fixing petrol prices, every cent counts and will impact the economy.

OK lah, if all the taxes on automobiles are abolished too, then I’m okay with it. Super expensive car prices with market floating oil prices in an oil-producing country is just ridiculous.

• Alson P on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Saudi Arabia is by far the largest producer in OPEC, although on a global scale, their output is exceeded by Russia. It has always been in Saudi Arabia’s interests to keep the price of oil high. This is because, despite decades of wealth, the county hasn’t managed to produce any other industry that could sustain the levels of state spending to which the country has grown accustomed. Saudi Arabia uses the threat of reduced production and high oil prices to give it a very power voice in world politics and it is particularly adept at co-opting American military might to its pet causes.

Suddenly, Saudi Arabia seems to have switched its policy. It increased its production in September 2014 and not only fails to support the current price but seems to be actively pricing its sales to drag the global price of oil down. The country is now selling at a price lower than the level it needs to maintain state spending. It is dipping into reserves to enable it to undercut its rivals. The OPEC alliance has split and old rivalries in the Middle East are driving the current fall in oil prices.

• intermilan on Nov 24, 2014 at 8:53 am

Its not about Middle East rivalries..
        Dont tipu la.. Look at global natural resources prices.. all down.

Saud regime will forever dance to the tune of Washington DC.

This is all about destroying Russia.

• Cln Ng on Nov 22, 2014 at 10:52 am

Hey Sam Loo, will this affect my RV ar?

• Roger Chang on Nov 22, 2014 at 10:57 am

The thing is the administration govt really screwed up themselves this time.. We are an oil producing country and by right with the subsidy mechanism in place, petrol prices shouldn’t be so high, look at Brunei or Saudi, they are paying prices that is under subsidy which is so much lower than us.. The so called subsidized petrol price here is formulated to let the rakyat think that it is subsidized but in actual fact it is formulated to benefit the government source of income, the govt made a blunder when they float Ron97 not knowing that the current subsidized ron95 prices will reached an almost par price with ron97 due to the economics of world oil prices issue. Now the govt hav no more others excuses to give but to float ron95 also just to continue to maintain the price formulated earlier… If the govt sincerely want to float petrol/diesel market, they should do away with their so call ‘managed float’ mechanism and we will be paying a much further cheaper price for petrol/diesel..
    Malaysia Boleh!!

• Go check out fuel price in oil producing Norway.

• Alson P on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Falling factory output in China and the onset of recession in Europe means that a continued fall in the demand for crude oil is inevitable. The recent return to production of Algeria, Libya, Iraq and Iran means that the world is already oversupplied with crude oil. The astonishing rise of production by hydraulic fracturing in the USA means that America is increasingly self-sufficient in oil. When supply exceeds demand a fall in the price of any product is inevitable.

When a market is over supplied, prices continue falling until enough suppliers are forced into bankruptcy to reduce supply to the level of demand. At that point, prices can start to rise again. This is the classic explanation of the causes of recession and recovery. However, the oil market is different. Lead times and start up costs are high in the industry and so production cannot just be turned on and turned off at will. Oil has a global sales price but location-dependent variations in production costs. Middle eastern producers responded to the peculiarities of the oil economic cycle by forming OPEC to limit supply in times of economic decline and support the price of oil. By controlling supply levels and sharing out the cuts between them, the 12 nation club can ensure that none of the producers have to go bust before supply and demand return to equilibrium.

• just step down la if you don’t know how to manage the country. Don’t create so many mess in the country.

• Just step down if you don’t know how to manage the country. Don’t create so many mess in the country.

• Taik Minyak on Nov 22, 2014 at 12:41 pm

We really tired of hearing the same rhetoric regarding price increases of necessity items esp. fuel price. If BN really want to dump the-so-called subsidy totally, then now it’s just the right time, so we might have ample time to readjust our living.
    Anyway folk, don’t you smell something fishy here. Get back to world market price but Gomen still control the price? If we remember, what item does really work this way? Chicken? Egg? What we can remember was that even subsidized and controlled cooking oil being hoarded in order for cartels to win the price war.
    OR, are we going to see another ‘proton’ being protected in the expense of our dear pockets?

• Don’t know about chicken but I heard those cooking oil were indeed hoarded and then went over the border together with the fuel. If Anwar has his way, even more fuel would.

• Alson P on Nov 22, 2014 at 9:09 pm

The recent return of production by Algeria and Libya put pressure on OPEC’s oil quotas. Both these recovering countries are OPEC members and so their sudden return to the market means that the club now exceeds its self imposed limit of 30 million barrels per day. The inevitable fall in the price of crude oil, caused by over supply, should have sent the members to the conference table for an emergency quota-slashing meeting. However, key members of OPEC fell silent, and stuck to the planned meeting schedule, meaning the group will not meet until November to talk about limiting output.

OPEC has no power to impose its quotas and so if the member states do not want to abide by them, there is little anyone can do about it. The group’s stated limit of 30 million barrels per day would still see the market in over supply. Any quota-busting production spells disaster for the price of crude oil.

• Hi cina

• Hurt Msian on Nov 22, 2014 at 4:17 pm

I feel sorry for all honest Malaysians who work hard to get their life’s going day by day and now this crap. God pls have mercy on us!

• ah, they must have get excited with jokowi policy to revise oil price, so they copycat the idea

• mmmmm on Nov 22, 2014 at 5:40 pm

waiting for ron 97 to drop 2.30

• Alson P on Nov 22, 2014 at 8:48 pm

The sharp oil price fall from $100 last summer to below $80 in just three months will bankrupt small US oil producers who need at least $80 per barrel to be profitable. It’s as shame because the dream of US energy independence may never realize. Meanwhile OPEC producers are seizing this opportunity to keep prices just below $80 and thin out competitors.

• I don’t mind as long as money taken away isn’t going into the cronies and politicians pockets. Look at the MNCF, 1.6 million lesap and no police report.

• minyakmahal on Nov 22, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Terima kasih Barisan

• seoul on Nov 22, 2014 at 11:19 pm

I love najib,i love barisan

• seoul on Nov 22, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Without najis,,i cant drink so much coffee…earn much kacang putih money and drive x5m 550d

• RON 97 sill subsidised on Nov 23, 2014 at 8:46 am

I always come across the price of RON97 as minimally subsidised. Gov said remove subsidies for ron95 and diesel start next mth. no mention of ron 97. means ron 97 continue to be minimally subsidised?

• C.P.Mohan on Nov 23, 2014 at 10:08 am

If TOTAL LITRES consumed for subsidy calculation is not made known then fuel prices and total subsidy becomes a moving target as more litres will be consumed yearly/monthly mainly due to increase population. The strategy should be to limit or reduce consumption e.g. Hybrid, electrical, better engine technology or even better public transport. My two cents.

• Fuel Cell Phone on Nov 23, 2014 at 10:32 am

Looks like government has successfully take this golden opportunity to float the RON95 price, relieving them from headache to introduce selective subsidization which was hot topic recently..

• Unknown on Nov 23, 2014 at 2:54 pm

What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world, but loses his own soul. Just because we don’t see justice now, does not mean it will not come whether in this life or the after life.

• I can see many BMW drivers here protesting against removal of fuel subsidy but giving excuses they are fighting for the poor.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/the-rich-enjoys-more-subsidies-than-the-poor-says-khazanah-report

• Now I know why there are so many people here so against removal of fuel subsidy. It’s because they are all BMW drivers using “protecting the poor” as excuse. Either that or they are fuel smugglers.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/the-rich-enjoys-more-subsidies-than-the-poor-says-khazanah-report

• kanazai2001 on Nov 23, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Gov promised to lower the car price once fuel price go high…
    Fuel price is going high (sub removed) dy. — janji ditepati dy…
    When is car price especially de “excitement tax” gonna reduce??! — janji di chapati??!

• MinyakNaik on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:18 am

Jangan lah bagi tau je stop subsidy.
    Kena lah bagi tau juga, savings from subsidy tu pergi mana.
    Gamen kata subsidy cost berbillion-billion, sekarang duit savings tu kan pergi mana? lebih 30 sekolah ke, lebih 27 hospital ke, atau pun bayar subsidy ke highway toll operator sebab mereka rugi duit?

• Wow, good move.
    Not just savings from subsidy, the government can collect more GST somemore with the increase price.
    Checkmate.

• I don’t care how much government want to increase price or add tax to petrol as long as we get proportionate reduction in car excise duty. Very cheap car and very expensive petrol is a good thing because people will automatically go for fuel efficient cars thus reducing pollution and less traffic jam.

• If anyone not happy with Malaysia, especially all the pendatang, sila keluar!

• OnceaGovContractor on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:01 am

I used to work in **** technology, make proposals to control gov subsidies , but unfortunately gov reject the grounds .. although not capable of implementing the budget just under RM1B .. integrated gasoline pump that know who we are by using our smartkad aka IC . . in that way we can distinguish the rich and the poor .. but damn .. Bn gov only advocate cronies… because if they register.. their fuel expenditure will exposed. not because of smugglers.. because if their using this technology.. no one would be able to smuggle petrol & diesel. such a selfish BN…

• OnceaGovContractor on Dec 10, 2014 at 4:04 am

sorry for wrong words.. forgot to turn of my auto-correct..