Proton to offer 20% discount on flood-related repairs

Proton is offering to help owners whose cars were damaged by the recent floods get back on the road, through the latest iteration of its Proton We-Care Prihatin Banjir programme, which has been going on in one form or another since 2008.

Available at 67 service outlets nationwide, the service – which runs until March 15 next year – will offer affected owners a 20% discount on the total cost of repair on their vehicles, as well as free inspection, damage valuation and towing assistance to the nearest selected Proton service centre.

Proton also released a few tips on handling a flood-damaged car, which include:

• Do not start your vehicle’s engine.
  • Do not use the remote control to unlock the vehicle’s doors. Instead, do this manually.
  • Make sure to remove the negative terminal of the battery to stop the flow of electricity in the vehicle.
  • All three measures above are intended to minimise damage to equipment, in particular to electrical and mechanical components of the vehicle. If these steps are taken, some equipment may still be saved.
  • After turning off the vehicle’s electricity supply, remove valuables from the vehicle, lock the door manually and get the vehicle towed to an authorised Proton service centre.

Owners can contact Proton’s customer hotline at 1800-888-398 for enquiries, assistance or towing service requests.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Protonist on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:21 pm

The labor and part increase 25%, then give 20% discount. You think we don’t know your tricks?

The problem with Proton’s service is so bad (workmanship and parts) and expensive. No one really wanna bring their Proton back to SC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 55
    • driver on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:41 pm

haihh.. what’s just wrong with people…

fulltime job: complainer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
      • Obviously (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:12 am

I know, right? I’ve read these comments till my brain feels like it partially melted…

• Every topic we see people complaining. Right now I think every Malaysian is a complainer. Like to complain sana sini eventhough it’s a good thing.

• mc chicken on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Not to mentioned the long waiting time for spare parts to arrive…the sc always say biasa cik, kena tunggu 2 bulan utk spare parts to arrive. So the moral of the story, send to outside workshop better. Gd luck proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
      • Master Tee on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:19 pm

I drove a new Honda. and recently asked them for a wheel cap because I lost mine..It was a month ago and I’m still waiting. Sheesh! incompetency is everywhere in this country Proton notwithstanding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • wilson on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:56 pm

so u mean honda spare part?

• Almera on Nov 27, 2014 at 9:24 am

At least wheel cap won’t affect your daily drive. Go get it from any car accessory shop instead.

• Samurai G on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Pity to you dude..always complaining eventho people are doing nice to you. Proton show their commitment to all their customer. This is CSR activity. I really salute proton for their commitment. All corporate company should do this to help people outside especially who really need your help more

• Delloid on Nov 26, 2014 at 5:27 pm

How about those non-banjir affected / regular Proton owners? They repair every month, should give discount also lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • I didn’t repair my Neo CPS for 4 years wo.. power window still as strong as first day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Steve Jobs on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:19 am

pity u lol.one of my car is plotong…no problem at all. 6 years and counting.

• tiger on Nov 26, 2014 at 7:47 pm

they tink its a great marketing strategy but people dont buy cars so can get diskons when disaster happens..people buy cars THAT CAN PREVENT DISASTERS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Do you know any cars that can prevent disasters?

To the best of my knowledge, no car can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • car that can prevent disasters?
      bro, you should be a comedian.nice one…hahaha…

• Sudahlah proton. Where is the iris remapping post? Cannot take the heat, then just delete the thread?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Albert on Nov 26, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Protong has lost focus totally.It should be working on a new gearbox to replace the much criticised Punch powertrain.Instead it keeps coming up with all these distracting social gestures which are not wrong,but it should concentrate on matters that are more urgent in need of attention.
    One day,Protong will assist in getting discounts if your condoms,undergarments get flooded during floods.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 1:14 am

Really? I didn’t know you need to involve the service center mechanics and technicians to R&D the gearbox. I thought all their R&D staff are in that Proton City of theirs?

• Good move but please back it up with good service and make spare parts available upfront. You have a long road to get back lost credibility.

• ridzwan on Nov 27, 2014 at 8:52 am

Not sure if I’m getting smarter or Malaysian are getting stupid and bitter.

• guilt (Member) on Nov 27, 2014 at 11:44 am

Good move by Proton. At least better than nothing.

• Mr Truthfact on Nov 27, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Good Job Proton !!