Proton I-Care Prihatin Banjir flood relief programme

Proton I-Care Prihatin Banjir flood relief programmeProton has announced a nationwide ‘Proton I-Care Prihatin Banjir’ flood relief programme to assist victims whose Proton cars have been damaged by rising waters. The programme starts today (29 Dec) and will run till 29 February 2012.

Basically, Proton I-Care Prihatin Banjir offers affected Proton car owners free inspection and assessment of damage, free towing within a 5km radius of selected Proton authorised service centres and a 20% discount on Proton Genuine Parts.

“We understand how difficult it can be for people who are affected in flood-prone areas. Year after year they face the same problems and damages to their property and belongings, which may include their Proton cars. For most families, it can be one of the biggest spending of their household,” said Ahmad Suhaimi Mohamad Anuar, CEO of Proton Edar.

“Previously, flood was a common occurrence in the East Coast but nowadays it happens all over the country, even in KL, when you least expect it. With this programme and customer care being our top priority, we hope to do our part in helping to relieve the burden of our valued customers,” he added.

This is part of Proton’s community outreach programme, which will see roadshows in Kelantan, Perlis, Pahang and Johor. The tour started last week in Kelantan and Perlis. Upcoming dates and venues are as follows:

Proton I-Care Prihatin Banjir flood relief programme
At the road shows, Proton technicians will share with owners how to handle flood-affected vehicles. Proton owners are also entitled to a free 18-point safety check and free rear seat belt installation. The latter is the last chance to do so before the regulation is enforced by the government beginning 1 January 2012.

Customers are also invited to forward queries regarding flood affected cars or show up in person at any Proton service centre for guidance. For towing services and related enquiries, one can call Proton I-Care at 1300-880–888 or 1800–888–398.

Future roadshow venues and dates will be announced in due course.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mienzz92 on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:32 am

~Komited untuk menjadi lebih baik

• HirumaKecil on Dec 29, 2011 at 7:35 am

Nice….

• rzk3d on Dec 29, 2011 at 7:50 am

kudos to proton, timely move.

• very noble of P1 to offer this BUT flooding affects all cars and not just P1 cars .. Other car makers/sellers should learn from P1 and offer the same assistance to the affected rakyat

• Proton? Perihatin? … meluat dengar

• sepot_reem on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:09 pm

proton nak berubah, nak jadi lebih bagus pun kau complain. at least they changed, how about you?

• Kalau betul berubah, tak payah la nak NAP. Bagus…. bagus my foot.

• autojohndoe on Dec 29, 2011 at 5:17 pm

perodua lover…

from what i see, when perodua getting bashed… you are one who stand up for it…

congrats…

• LE_buruk on Dec 29, 2011 at 9:25 am

sebab ni la kena beli proton….

• What’s with this programme when we got a new saga and i-care don’t even bother to solve the problem, because they just-don’t-care. WTF.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:08 am

Well, Proton Need to do something with it’s Aichi Kikai Manual Gearbox too. Its not splashproof at all. Water can easily Ingressed into the Gear Box thru breather cap. It contaminates the Gear Oil and can cause severe damage not only to the Gear Box but can cause Accident to. I’ve experienced it twice during monsoon season.

Hope Proton I-Care dosen’t change it self to Proton I(Don’t)- Care…..

• WTF, people highlighting about his experience with gear box also you all want to thumb down.

• Plus imprecise gear ratio. 90km/h at 3000rpm!

• alfie60 on Dec 29, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Proton ni tak boleh di tegur because their supporters think its the most perfect in the world and they all are so bershukur that Proton is willing to sell the cars to them.

• Tahniah Proton…

• pelams on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:51 am

this is cool..

• LFA LOVER on Dec 29, 2011 at 10:53 am

take a look at this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVZ_HyRosZ0&feature=fvwrel

• sawi cool on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:54 am

It’s a great gesture from P1.

Wish for P2 to do the same. They have better margin and better sale, afterall.

• VoidDance on Dec 29, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Credit is where credit due la. This is their effort to help people.

Have some common sense.

• November on Dec 29, 2011 at 6:25 pm

well done proton :)

• i really pity saga belum masak problems. But as far as i know, even from technical team, any oem gearbox, cannot been touch or change unless with consent from the oem firs,and oem will make the changes, not prtn@any manufacturer. Thats why for inspira, prtn couldnt insert oil cooler for jatco cvt eventhough they know that lancer cvt has overheat problem. So, what they do is design a bumper with airflow will actually cooling the cvt by manipulating airflow, so it become aircooler. Isnt it briliiant? Atleast they try to do something within their jurisdiction. Any car manufacturer who use oem has to abide this agreement,except maybe honda@vw who produce their own gearbox. What proton can do is just sending the complaint n highlight the problems to oem/gbox manufacturer @ even sending the sample gearbox to the oem. Why dont u just include flood inside ur insurance coverage,so that if something happen to your car, u can claim from the insurance. Yes,u have to pay premium,atleast u know,every year u have to counter the problem,so easiest way to take the insurance.

By the way, there is no gbox in the world can withstand flood situation. If dont want to pay for the premium,The best way is to avoid it.
    If cannot, drive slowly if u counter the flood so that not too much water splashes insert.
    One the most important part, i think that everybody know it, even for auto transmission, do not ever, i repeat, do not ever shift@change the gear if encounter n have to cross the flood. Stick to the same gear all the time untill u pass the flood, normally stick to 2nd gear. If suddenly the car jerk and want to die, just press the clutch n revv the engine, never drop to 1st gear.
    The reason, for manual, they have linkage outer side of the car n gearbox itself has gear set, during shifting, linkage will move to allow the gearbox to change its gear, during the change, there is a possibility water to slip into gearbox. So,please take note. The same thing will happen for auto but not the linkage,but torque converter. That is what i know from reading in tips penjagaan kereta ketika banjir, if i not mistaken in berita harian,few years ago.

Anyway,good move from prtn.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Thanks mat.

Actually if I need to list down the problem I had with this 1.6 Manual BLM it will be as writing a storybook, complete with date, time and cost, starting from the day this BLM leaves it’s showroom in Bangi in July 2009. Most of the parts changed under warranty (after chasing the Proton SC and COSE Shah Alam).

The problems are IAFM (2 x), rear axle(off alignment by 4mm), all 4 tyre bearings, all 4 tyres wearoff at 56kkm, 5 tyre stud (2 snapped off), Hazard switch, rear drum, power window switch and the unsolved 36 Liter Tank (not 40 as specified).

The findings for this August till Disember are, 2X water ingressed and contaminate the Gear oil and the “Tin Milo” fender with thickness not more than 0.5mm (the bodyparts sold is above 0.7mm and heavier)

Anyway, since this is the “only New car” I can “Lanyak kaw kaw” without hasitation, theres not much to complaint about the quality. It never failed to deliver my needs. Moreover I have no problem at all with the Engine. Clocked 139K to date.

Since the water Ingressed incident, I requested the SC guys to check the oil condition every time I sent the car for service. And this is the parts need to be checked during monsoon or whenever there’s a difficulty to shift gear.

• Mr anthem on Dec 29, 2011 at 7:07 pm

wah…it is at my hometown ^^ bdr kerayong…and i am due to get my new inspira….think gonna get it tomoro..haha

• yup,i agree that u shud send written report to prtn hq,icare n dsz himself, hopefully all ur problem can be solve. About rear axle allignment of, maybe u already send it to sc,but as i know and been highlighted in cbt in q&a column, the rear axle has negative chambering, not only apply to saga, but to all proton cars that been tune under lotus and it is set to be negative,but wont actually worn ur tyres. If associate with other thing,not negative chambering, so, u r entitle to claim it if it is under warranty.
    About tyre worn out @ 56k, i think its normal, some can go up to 60k, some only 40k, some can reach up to 80k. Me myself, tyre already worn out at 40k for my waja n savvy. I think there is tyre that can last higher than that, maybe consider one of goodyear lines, but not nct5.
    About the fuel tank, have u ever drive untill the tank is empty to verify that it is 36 liters? I think, most cars, even when it empty, u cannpt get the specified tank volume coz there will be even a liter of petrol inside,even in fuel pump itself,contain petrol. If maybe u want to test out, let the tank be empty, then pour the petrol until it spill out, then if u got around 38-39 liters, then,the tank shud be 40L. U also need to consider the discrepancy.
    By the way, wish u happy new year n hopefully all ur problems will be resolved

• and one more info to share, never ever do rear allignment since it is torsion beam or h-beam called by other manufacturer coz it is fix, no toe adjustment required.
    And for front tyre, dont ever do any chambering adjustment coz none manufacturer in the world include chambering allignment in their cars coz chambering is mainly for racing cars. It also stated in cbt when nissan reply to sylphy owner that counter problems with its bearings n front absorber.
    What u need to allign for fron tyres is adjustment of toe, left n right n total toe must be 0/zero.
    So that, when zero, there wont be any toe in@toe out that can wear ur tyres, but hardly to get any tyre shop that can do that, only in prtn sc that provide allignment service, and also tyre shops outhere dont use correct setting of allignment coz normally they only use wira data@all car data which is not correct at all coz all cars come with diff pcd n diff adjustment.
    Not only that,if u opt for sport rim, add cones to fit the wheel coz without that, whte rims cannot fit to the car, actually u already alter the original pcd’s, even original software for blm cannot match exactly its allignment setting…thats why in tyre allignment software, there is a manual override to adjust the pcd sttings n etc…

• autobizz on Dec 30, 2011 at 10:29 am

proton ready give a good services and support now?

Path way for privatisation ?

• An attempt to get a clean get-out (cuci dosa) by helping the flood victims?

Although I applaud protonggg’s attempt to help the less-fortunate Malaysians but the focus on protonggg remains the same.

When my TakterPersona’s passenger cabin was flooded (banjir) due to AirCond hose leakage, where were there? All I get is, “ini normal lah, biasalah protonggg, bukannya BMW, Merc”.

I’m gonna ask this question again on judgement day.

• Jacqueline on Jan 11, 2012 at 10:48 pm

I have buy a new car FLX , but I have not even sitting in my new car for 1second, the car was confirmed and Must laid in the service centre for at least 1month because of gear box problem. I call to I – care center for report it and hope that I-care can help me but until 3 days after still not yet reply me a call ? It’s this is what I- care care for their customer ? They told me will call me ?

• janet on May 22, 2012 at 3:00 pm

PLS DON’T BUY ANY SAGA FLX …..THE GEAR BOX HAVE PROBLEM…I JUST BUY 2 MONTH MILEAGE 2XXX ONLY ,,,CAR START JEAKING….