KL City Grand Prix launched – set for August 7-9, 2015

kl-city-grand-prix-launch 726

We recently hosted the first-ever Formula E on the roads of Putrajaya; now, the street racing edges closer to the capital with the KL City Grand Prix, which enjoyed its official launch this morning.

Between August 7 and 9 next year, Kuala Lumpur is set to see GT racing teams, their drivers and their cars do battle on her streets, within a specially-designed 3.2 km street circuit in the KLCC area.

The proposed 11-turn circuit starts at KLCC Suria and proceeds through Jalan P Ramlee, Jalan Ampang, Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Pinang before returning to the chequered flag, which should make for quite a spectacle.

To make this happen, organiser GT Global Race (M) Sdn Bhd is working with DBKL (for exclusive rights to hold the KL City Grand Prix for five years), AAM (for race organisation and FIA homologation), plus UK-based APEX and Australia-based KBR (for street circuit design and development).

Chaired by YAM Tunku Naquiyuddin ibni Tuanku Ja’afar and headed by president and CEO M. Arrasu, GT Global Race has also engaged Shanghai Top Speed to stage selected rounds of certain international race events in KL, including the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Cup, Formula Masters and Scirocco Cup.

According to an independent evaluation by PricewaterhouseCoopers, the KL City Grand Prix is estimated to draw 100,000 new visitors to the country, create over 6,300 jobs from the first event and raise RM750 million in national income. By 2020, it expects 150,000 visitors, over 10,000 jobs and RM1.2 billion in national income for that year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kenny on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:06 pm

I doubt about the figures such as creation of 10k jobs. What kind of jobs? Based on what?

• whatever on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:09 pm

agreed. nowadays, I cannot even trust the facts and promises make by our leaders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Goh Jeng on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Haiyah you dunno meh? The “independent evaluation by PricewaterhouseCoopers” was paid by the G to tipu the Rakyat.

• The 2 girls standing next to the car already count 2 loh…
      Plus the tukang make-up for them… Tukang lap cermin and polish… for the show car.

• Better fix the potholes first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • paulz on Dec 10, 2014 at 12:29 pm

My car suspension really hurts when bump into deeper hole in KL busiest streets. Kindly do something fast.

• kl fella on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:18 pm

pictures of the models more than pictures of the cars! lol

• donno on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:31 pm

So what is the main race event for this kl city gp? Gt Asia? Lamborghini 1 make race? Any race classes for local competitors?

• Good luck with those pot holes.

• Finally the blancpain GT racing is coming to Malaysia! A bit shock when they choose to use street circuit instead of Sepang track. I’m imagine we could see an environment like Monaco and Macau GP!

• GT3 (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 8:45 pm

The Blancpain Super Trofeo GT racing has been in Malaysia for few years already. In fact, they just held the World Final race in Sepang three weeks ago.
      Our Malaysian talent also appointed as one of the drivers in one of the teams. http://instagram.com/fairuzfauzy

• kzm father on Dec 09, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Ini tidak adil. Mayang pakaiain yang ketatana boleh macam ini. Dosa! Dosa! Haram kalau tayang pakaian yang ketat. Saya dan anak saya kzm, tidak setuju. Dosa!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • Jangan pakailah! You and kzm just use banana leaf, tidak ketat

• mr jem on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:02 pm

100,000 will be visiting just bcoz of this event??? Seriously??? Last Formula E in Putarjaya, didnt see any generation of income!!!

• Datuk Abdul Rani Kulup Kulum on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Saya tidak setuju dengan pakaian seksi wanita sebelah kanan! Semoga MAIS dan JAIS ambil perhatian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • khairulx19a on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:10 pm

why the venue is in KL?, why not putrajaya, KL already busy, no matter what day it is….

• kcng (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:16 pm

bodo… then Sepang circuit built for what purpose?

mau racing masuk trek la.. buat apa kat jalan raya… tak habis-habis road closure for stupid event jer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Think again! Don’t be old age
      Germany have three race track one in nuremberg, anther in hockenheim and oschersleben. Belgium also have two race track …..

This is a big boost on Malaysia tourism mean more $$$, then will be less potholes.

Overall it is Blancpain GT it is Asia Series not Blancpain GT Series.

• Think again! Don’t be old age

Germany have three race track Nürburgring, Hockenheimring and Oschersleben. Belgium also have two race track ….

This will be a big boost Malaysia tourism means that more $$$, then it will be less potholes.

Overall it is just Blancpain Gt Asia Series not that main Series.

• kcng (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:16 pm

bodo… then Sepang circuit built for what purpose?

mau racing masuk trek la.. buat apa kat jalan raya… tak habis-habis road closure for stupid event jer..

• farghmee on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:25 pm

how about the track/road condition?

• maXref (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 4:30 pm

can we not please not do it in one of the busiest road in KL? Freaking congested as it is. We don’t need another reason to close those road each time these events are held.

There are tons of nice roads in klang valley that could be used..

• KL roads with potholes… can do?

• frossonice on Dec 09, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Should have been in Putrajaya instead. Not too busy like KL. Recent Formula E is a testament of its success. The drivers loves it plus there is huge space for spectators and pit building. Heck, if we ever want to hold a Formula 1 street race, Putrajaya is the perfect place.

• powershot (Member) on Dec 09, 2014 at 9:12 pm

traffic jam…. traffic jam everywhere. don’t do it at KL

• Josh Ling on Dec 09, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Good luck KL people…..good luck. i can’t imagine how bad the jam will be during those days.

• mr1031 on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:02 pm

macam la xde tempat lain nak racing..adoi la..

• I thought our roads can only hosting WRC.

• zamer on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:32 pm

yes agreed..we dont need evo, subaru to race WRC..

we see a ferrari, lamborghini, mercedes, bmw all WRC in KL..

Thank you DBKL for not need to work. It creates jobs for rakyat to tar ourselves. We pay our road tax for BR1M and not for good roads. thanks again

• albag on Dec 09, 2014 at 6:47 pm

KL already jam like hell… good luck to those who stay there when the event is approaching LOL!

• hazamiey on Dec 09, 2014 at 7:26 pm

I think there is no problem with the race venue. Other world class racing events were also held at the busiest city centers just like Monaco, Macau and Singapore. That is the identity of street racing. The atmosphere is much different than in racetrack. You need to experience it by yourself. Trust me. For those who are planning for your regular weekend family activities such as bringing your 3 to 5 kids for jalan2 should bother cancelling it. You still have plenty of times throughout the year for other boring activities. For motorhead like us, this is a truly very much anticipated event. If we just simply bashing whatever posted in paultan, then we are just another plain car user or commuter that have very little or none interest in motorsport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Anybody notice Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan (C) Lai Meng is at the back straight (Jalan Ampang)? It doesn’t make sense even you holding the event during weekend when there is a school nearby.

• I hope they have this even in Cheras… Then they will have to fix the pothholes for the event.

• Cheras Guy on Mar 31, 2015 at 2:04 pm

bro, if they have this in Cheras the race will be extended by 3 hours as the racers will be stuck in the Cheras jam lol

• Bersih on Apr 14, 2015 at 11:04 am

I think we should held a BERSIH at the date to have a chance to show international Medias on our country issues! Let’s fire up the tear gas!

• Nepolian on Aug 05, 2015 at 4:37 pm

car race