East Coast Expressway Phase 2 opened to traffic

east-coast-expressway-phase-2-ece2-highway-map

Click to enlarge map

Phase 2 of the East Coast Expressway (ECE2), connecting Jabor at the Pahang-Terengganu border and Gemuroh in Terengganu, opened to traffic on January 31, Bernama reports.

The 184 km, RM4.1 billion project will enable motorists to travel between Kuala Terengganu and Kemaman in 90 minutes, and between Kuala Terengganu and Kuala Lumpur in four hours, Terengganu chief minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Razif Abdul Rahman said.

Containing 10 elevated interchanges, 10 toll plazas, three rest services, two lay-bys and 90 bridges, ECE2 is a follow-up to the 169 km Karak-Kuantan ECE1, itself a continuation of the Kuala Lumpur-Karak Highway.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• longjaafar on Feb 02, 2015 at 4:11 pm

The highway does not reach Kelantan, though. Before, when Terengganu was under PAS, the highway was only up to Kuantan. This is very cruel.
    Highways are built not only to make easier and faster to travel, but to also save lives, as the dual carriage will be much safer. But NO. The highway will not be built, unless…… Sad..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 64
    • hi brother,

Act there will be another connection from gemuruh to Kota bahru in LPT3 (Third Phase) you can read it on at LLM(Lembaga Lebuh Raya Malaysia) Web, this connection later on will be join CSR road (lebih raya KB to Kuala Krai). Last word please google before comment.k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 57
      • joanna on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Dear Nas.
        Yeah there is a plan to build LPT3 longggggg time ago but until now you know, a mere plan. The phase 3 of the LPT should be completed by last year but due to political issues, nothing happened.
        Google alone is not enough if you don’t know the reality.
        Sad indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 47
        • how to complete la..if the contraktor give up to finish it.. you can search the news at arkib negara ..aiyoo.. cakap kosong only ..n then pump some politik .. aiyoo typical malay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
      • wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:31 pm

How they charge to build road for RM20 million PER KM? All Bangla workers only making road. How raw material plus bangla workers can cost RM4.1 billion?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
      • longjaafar on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Of course there are plans. The whole universe know about the plan.
        The Kuala Krai /KB highway? I cannot even remember under what Malaysia Plan it was approved…but definitely a very very long time go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
      • malaysia boleh tun mamak boleh on Feb 03, 2015 at 2:20 am

kelantan adalah satu satunya negeri di semenanjung malaysia yg tak dihubungkan dgn lebuh raya … inilah realitinya… di malaysia kepentingan politik mengatasi segalanya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Really corrupted Government we have. No other country in the world can charge so much for a highway. 184KM for RM4.1 billion. That means it is over RM20 million per KM.

Those days people used to be shocked when you say RM1 million per KM. Well now, world record set. RM20 million per KM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 17
      • mmmmm on Feb 03, 2015 at 1:57 am

are u one of civil consultant? this is highway we r talking about not just some rural road. of course it is expensive, it include research on type of soil, how many bridges needed and many more laaaa. arghhh….how cheap your estimate? you build your own damn highway laaa…see the cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 20
      • Why are you commenting like an idiot? did you even consider other associated costs in building a highway? not just bring bangla and raw materials… lmfao.. cakap jek lebeh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Albert on Feb 03, 2015 at 10:29 am

Wayang kulit,RM20juta per km translates into rm2 juta/km and the Rm18juta/km goes to some fat nut’s pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • armandd on Feb 03, 2015 at 11:22 am

Use you brain a little bit more and google the cost per km to build the autobahn.

• zaizaizai on Feb 04, 2015 at 9:00 am

at least it is 184km. meanwhile the highly controversial DASH is RM4.2b for 47km…

• kl fella on Feb 04, 2015 at 2:21 pm

don’t forget guys that the costs included land acquisition costs.. that’s why it’s high..

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:07 am

At the end of the day any infrastructure building for the betterment of the nation will boil down to the ruling party and if there is no support to them, they don’t see a reason to help you out even if they are supposed to serve & help the citizens.

Time to throw stones at those who support the long standing ruling party.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • any guarantee no animal will be crossing the highway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • You don’t have to use it. No obligation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Dregen on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:00 am

I was on LPT2 the other day, although it is open to use,   just a reminder, and I learnt it the hard way.

Few spots had been exposed, some dude though it’ll be cool to cut thru high way chainlink fences so that their cows & heardes can walk thru it to the other side while save em a few meters of walking.

When they’re not using it. God know what else.. But I swear I saw a cow, a wild boar & a monkey carcass on the road side.

My bumper was literally gone, break to piece.. It’s not a monkey, It’s a BERUK.. The big kind of primat. Try to picture urself hit it @ 110/kmp. Thank God Im lucky I manage to slide a bit. Just cant imagine if I hit it at the center of my car bumper. It must be roll over my glass, perhaps shattered it & kill me in the process !

And worst thing is, When I stop @ toll booth. They said, although the high way is legally open, since they are yet appoint operator such as Plus etc.. Any thing that happened @ lpt2 will not be bourn by LLN @ anyone. Basically, as for now lpt2 is no better than other federal road. No claim no nothing if you had an accident on it.

Use at your own risk.

• Mat Sentul on Feb 03, 2015 at 3:20 am

Animals crossing is a risk which we can avoid by being more cautious (at least most of the time).

More risk from the animals driving. Encountered a few on LPT.

• Dregen on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:12 am

I don’t think anyone can avoid this one. It’s not like the usual scene we had in rural area, where the animal was visibly hanging around in a group on the road. It just up to us to drive with caution & avoid em.

From Kuala Terengganu/Jabor If I recall it right, it happened @ km 286 something. The Beruk literally sprint out of nowhere, jump over the rail & banggg. The rail & bushes make it imposible for you to predict anything.

Plus, for God sake. This is a highway bro, You would except on the odd days small animals such as cat, fox, tortoise etc might cross over it. Not huge one like this!

• rosli on Feb 02, 2015 at 4:41 pm

and now the govt needs to build the final leg of Lebuhraya Pantai Timur i.e. from Gemuruh to Gua Musang and finally to Kota Bharu. With this final connection, one can theoretically travel from Spore to KL to KB and using Thai Highways to Bangkok. Anyone for a road trip?

• Use this highway to Kijal few weeks ago, be careful especially near bridges as it was very bumpy resulting in “flying” car few times.

• wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Biasa lah. It is Bangladeshis are the ones really making the highway. Even our PLUS also, for what we pay, we get a highway full of uneven surfaces and potholes.

Most of PLUS accidents are caused by the potholes and drivers avoiding the potholes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Once a visiting friend from western europe told me.. “Ur country got really nice looking highways, in fact the best in Southeast asia. but only the look la, the feel is not up to par yet, bumpy roads & potholes!” :D

• blahblah on Feb 03, 2015 at 4:35 pm

How to be on par when we have overloaded lorries freely running on highways.. Some more got bunch of tontos running around as well, giving warning and such.

Who control the tontos? u guys can use your imagination…

• EDLMRCB on Feb 04, 2015 at 2:34 pm

i thought the longest rollercoaster ride in the world is the eastern dispersal link in JB. now ECE2 might bring down the throne.

• DonMe on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:16 pm

LPT2 from bukit besi already got tons of portholes and going over bridges is like going over rollercoaster, the whole car can fly.

• karipap basah on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:09 pm

If the expressway not making money, I bet the govt will compensate the loss of the concessionaire.

I oso wanna be business man….sure untung. Guaranteed by the govt.kan? hahah

• Have to pay toll already? How much?

• You guys just be carefull when you driving LPT1 , as last monday i saw a black tapir able to jumpped the guard rail and cross the highway.Thank God it was morning so i can see it, imagine it happend during the night. Anyway for LPT2, just be cautions when driving thru after Paka exit to KT, the surface is so VERY2 bumpy and highly possible to lost control of your car

• its act not lebuh raya pantai timur its just lebuh raya pahang terengganu.pity on kelantanese

• hero6 on Feb 03, 2015 at 11:48 am

Bravo for the opening, hopefully it can stimulates economy. I supposed a lot of locals can heave a sigh of relief especially during festive season. We might not support the ruling party, but whoever governs, investment in infrastructure is a must.

• Tokong Lim on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Geez, all you guys do is complain, complain, complain. Pity you guys for having such a sad sad life.

• putra_rider on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:51 am

Just ride on this hiway last saturday.

The 4 hour time is achievable if u drive 120-140kmh.

The road is ok but remember to top up your tank full as there is no petrol station open yet between cheneh to kuala terengganu.

If ride with family is better to use old road as many stopover to eat and refuel. Tq.

• putra_rider on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:59 am

The roads are ok although still got lane closing. Can speed up to 200kmh. But some area got bumpy.

Better use old roads if u are with families as the rnr not operating yet and no interesting scenery.

Good for time chaser.

• zaizaizai on Feb 04, 2015 at 9:09 am

not a complain, just a reminder to the motorist. The road is bumpy so anything above 140km/h would results in the vehicle ‘flying’

• ayooo on Feb 04, 2015 at 10:16 am

you are not supposed to drive 140kmh, that is why the national speed limit is 110kmh. Think of others that are driving safely with their kids in the car before driving like maniacs.