Mazda CX-5 2.5 CKD, CX-5 facelift expected this year

SONY DSC

Mazda Malaysia is clearly on a roll – not content with targeting to launch the CX-3, CKD Mazda 3 (including hatchback!) and the Mazda 6 facelift this year, it’s also aiming to introduce the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the CX-5 2.5, and possibly the CX-5 facelift.

According to a Bermaz source, the CKD CX-5 2.5 could go to market sometime after the CX-3 is launched, so we’re probably looking at a third-quarter timeframe.

At the CX-5 2.5’s Malaysian launch in March 2014, Bermaz Motor MD Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh said that the vehicle would be locally-produced once capacity increases following the commissioning of the new assembly facility.

2015-cx-5_2014-laas_eu_exterior_2

The company acquired a body shop from Inokom in 2013 and built a new trim and final shop within the same grounds in Kulim, Kedah in 2014, doubling capacity to 20,000 units per annum. If plans to build its own paint shop come become a reality, capacity could even balloon to 80,000 units a year.

The timeframe for the arrival of the CX-5 facelift, which debuted in Los Angeles alongside the CX-3 in November 2014, was stated in an earlier research report as March or April 2015, but we’re now told the company is targeting a launch towards the end of the year. The vehicle will initially be fully-imported (CBU) from Japan, with CKD units to follow later.

The CX-5 facelift features new head- and tail lamps, grille inserts, fog lamps and wheels, while the cabin receives upgraded switchgear, upholstery and trim, an electronic parking brake, redesigned seat structures and the MZD Connect infotainment system. NVH, ride and efficiency improvements are also touted, thanks to tweaks in the engine, suspension and drivetrain.

Malaysian-spec pre-facelift Mazda CX-5 2.5

Mazda CX-5 facelift

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Fck Bermaz, sure change projector to Halogen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Consumers only look for:
      (1) CHEAP
      (2) FAST
      (3) GOOD

The cards Mazda play:
      (1) Expensive
      (2) Slow delivery, slow new product facilities setup
      (3) Better spec, but unknown reliability, poor service

Honda Accord (D-segment) only cost myr13x k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:11 pm

reliability? mazda is superb. service? i havent heard of horror stories.

• kzm (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 1:56 pm

CKD? Better make this in thailand for higher quality. Boleh make no go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:16 pm

You can’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:09 pm

You see this poor uncle? If he were to be an Android device,he’ll always be stuck on Gingerbread OS,while ppl moves on further..same case with UMW cars,specs stuck in the 90’s

Uncle Same,don’t be lazy and give us safety now,you’re missing out on more cash we can give to you for your cars (make sure safety is not an option,otherwise no cash for you!),coz we know uncles like you LOVE extra profits!

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Established people don’t bother for gingerbread garlicbread gardeniabread. With good income and bonus, any phone we like, just buy!

Same as the RV from Toyota, you can upgrade to any car you want. Your Toyota RV keep you worry-free on the down payment and monthly installment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Toyota worry free your head la. RV worry free for sure,but safety is still worrysome.

Yes,established people shouldn’t care about your product,so unsafe! Don’t ever expect great sales from your horrific line up of moving coffins!

• No wonder Toyota cars not selling well these days. The cars with paria specs and salesman aslo paria!

• CX-5 2.5 RM150k please

• The model on the left don’t need a facelift yet.
    :-P~~

• cheong chong weng on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:51 pm

year end cbu??? haiyahhh .. was hoping u will be in by april … bye bye cx5 if like dat … :(

• Need to go elsewhere on Feb 17, 2015 at 7:16 pm

WTH…year end…

• Heskey on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Heard the same story since 2 years ago