Mazda Malaysia to expand local assembly operations

mazda malaysia plant

Mazda Malaysia is set to increase its rate of local assembly operations with the acquisition of a Mazda-exclusive body shop from Inokom at its Kulim plant in Kedah. The body shop began operating in April this year.

In an announcement, the company said acquiring ownership of the facility will allow it to respond to production plan changes and implement quality control measures quickly and flexibly. The purchase process has begun and is expected to be completed before the end of the year.

Mazda has also begun construction of a new vehicle assembly facility, to be located on the same grounds as the body shop. Operations are expected to commence in the spring of 2014, and production of the Mazda CX-5, which is currently assembled at Inokom’s factory, will then be moved to the new facility.

Currently, the Mazda3 and the CX-5 – of which the CKD prices were revealed yesterday – are being assembled locally for the Malaysian market, with plans to produce 3,000 units of each model annually. The automaker is set to invest approximately RM100 million for these projects, and is aiming to increase its local production to around 20,000 units per year in the future.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Eager6 on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:56 am

I wonder whether the Mazda 6 will be CKD in this new facility?

• vee-oh on Jun 05, 2013 at 11:59 am

yeah investment for production..what about investment for aftersales support..no point sell so many car but very hard to find service centre

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Agree 200%

• Moores on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:41 pm

I wonder do you even realize how many Mazda service centers here before you comment??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • vee-oh on Jun 05, 2013 at 2:54 pm

why?u know ah?if you do, u mean the below par centre, mostly shoplot type?

• agree.. i am interested on M6 but when i find out about those so called service center… i hv to gv minus point there …some even not fully mazda service center. others car also service …

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Is about time Mazda sansei…….

• crank on Jun 05, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Fantastic!!! After the announcement of the new mazda cx5 price, I’m pretty sure its gonna there is gonna be a spike in sales.

Hope the mazda 6 would also be locally assembled soon.

• sammyloo on Jun 05, 2013 at 1:20 pm

But kimchi cars still being made in SK… how to compete..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • You sure? Do you know Hyundai also came from Inokom?

• frenzyaustin on Jun 05, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Those are salesman gimmick la bro, I went to Hyundai 3S centre once, the salesman told me is imported from Korea but when arrive in Malaysia they change to Inokom badge to reduce price.

• Common cheat tricks from Korean.
        Lousy Koreans.

Even drivers are so kiasu.

• gOOsh on Jun 05, 2013 at 5:18 pm

if CKD, mazda’s sales might be effected… cx5 is the best example…

• frenzyaustin on Jun 05, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Cheaper Mazda 6 is on the way!

• tikus on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Mazda 6 BILA ?????

• fourwheeler on Jun 05, 2013 at 7:25 pm

… don’t worry about ckd la , from my experience,inokom only put their on front and rear logos and floor carpet maa, other parts still hyundai.battery oso from korea.

• Cosmo Artemis on Jun 06, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Why? Everything from Korea is good ah? I don’t think so la.

• All plastic surgery.
        Like Samsung lousy phones, they will break down within a year.

Already saw some Hyundai’s DRL already started to malfunction.

• namanama on Jun 06, 2013 at 4:06 pm

alamak,what king of perspective is that..using sketch up only?

• vezeroth on Jun 11, 2013 at 2:39 am

1. Please do not CKD the M6, the only thing that would come down is the built quality. There is no benefit for consumers but the company reaps profits…
    2. With implementation of reduction in taxes from cars imported from Japan, im surprised that i havent heard the price come down…

• mosabi on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:15 am

why need to worry bout CKD ,as long as quality and price good i think enough.

• mosabi on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:17 am

anyone knows about the intake of new staff for mazda factory kulim plant ..??

• mosabi on Oct 18, 2013 at 8:23 am

nowadays korean car getting so popular, believe on their design and aftersale service..we easily can see them on the road ..malaysian look like already can accept korea product may be impact from samsung????..maybe

• Alan Tan on Nov 25, 2013 at 8:01 am

I like Mazda because they can complete a car in 53 seconds, compared to Toyota’s 57 seconds. Besides that, Mazda needs to grow themselves up to be at par with Toyota & consider offering hydrogen-powered cars as well.