GST: Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s new prices – all models cheaper, E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid down RM10k

Mercedes E300 Hybrid 5

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has begun posting GST prices on its website – we’ve tabled them all for you along with the old (pre-GST) prices so you can compare.

The C-Class sedan is absent from this list possibly because it’s set to be locally-assembled (CKD) soon, while the R-Class is probably on the phase-out. The CLS 400 is the new facelift model we snapped a gallery of recently – the car has just been launched in Malaysia.

As you can see below, all models see price drops of between RM1,000 and RM4,000 – except for the E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid, whose OTR without insurance price has been reduced by a significant RM10,000 to RM338,888!

UPDATE: Table now includes B 200, C 250 Coupe (W204-based), E 250 Coupe (W212 pre-facelift-based), CLS 400 (new facelift) and ML 350 prices.

Mercedes GST pricelist Sheet1 copy

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• looks like on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:04 am

MBM stop selling C Class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Read properly dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • BMW Pariah Company on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:39 pm

MBM has reduced a lot but BMW, crony GLC, arrogant and still maintain prices. Why?

Somemore, BMW Malaysia is the only car company in the world giving a mere 2 years warranty, shortchanging Malaysians.

How come MBM can give double the warranty ie 4 years, and yet reduce prices?

BMW, pls stop cheating us. Anyway, to those still wanting to buy a BMW, insist on buying 2nd hand. a BMW in the first year itself depreciates over RM120k. 2nd year onwards, it depreciates RM20k per year. Let the first owner bear the depreciation.

For example, you can get a 2014 BMW 520i now for RM250k. Hardly 1 year yet it can lose RM120k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
        • azrul on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:32 pm

The choice is in your hand. If you feel cheated choose other car. Nothing related with cronies or GLC.

• The Pariah is you on Apr 02, 2015 at 1:10 am

This person was terminated by BMW Malaysia.

A dishonest ex-employee

• The B-Class, C-Class, CLS-Class, ML-Class and R-Class is absent from this list because their prices have not been updated with GST. This could be because changes are forthcoming for these models – either new/facelift models, CKD or phasing out.

• kington on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:36 am

If i’m not wrong, there was a report last year of a permanent discontinuation of the R Class.

• read the article properly

• Anternal on Apr 12, 2015 at 2:40 am

Dude looking for c class? I’m selling new c class

• Burong on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:07 am

Better than no, thanks gov for the GST. But fuel price no subsidy, car duty remain, >> Government income increase, but debt also increase. So where goes the money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • kington on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:37 am

You really have to ask this question?

It is sad to note that so much money is paid by us with truly minimal benefits to the people.

• spongewai on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:07 am

hmm, still no hope

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:18 am

R class is I think not even being produced, right?

ML class is now the GLE, so I think MB has even stopped that. Plus, the GLE is already released, soon to be delivered out in Germany too…

But 10k off an E300 Hybrid? BMW GG lo.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:21 am

I hope it means a CKD C Class is coming soon. Its a beautiful car the C Class, but the CBU unit comes with a hefty pricetag.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:47 am

CKD at most drop 10k.

So CBU price of 280k will only drop to 270k, which is still hefty in my view considering old C-Class sells for 240k

• MeToo on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:31 am

Awesome news… now everyone can afford an E-Class

I’m so happy Lobster prices went down, who cares if egg/bread prices goes up..

• cendol (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:46 am

I just want to know one thing.

Now car prices included excise duty which can be 50-300% of car price.

Is there GST on this excise duty part??

Won’t it be double tax??

• kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Why govt want to tax themself? Excise duty itself is a tax by govt..n excise duty is from 65%-105% fyi

• cendol (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Just for illustration .

A car price RM50k. excise duty 100% meaning car will now be priced RM100k

BUt GST is on RM100k of car price (which includes excise duty), meaning we got taxed on tax

• kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:51 pm

plez differentiate those tax..those excise, import tax…is not consumption tax. gst/vat is consumption tax.

• the simple answer to your question is yes, there will be double tax.

• merdz on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Should reduce much more larr….
    at least 10-20% reduce…
    1% u give Hak Yi meh

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:12 pm

beribu ribu tahniah mercedes

• USELESS on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:31 am

HOW ABOUT MAZDA ?