2019 Ferrari Dino reportedly confirmed by FCA source

Ferrari 488 GTB-02

It’s no secret that former Ferrari honcho, Luca di Montezemolo, was a man quite keen on keeping the Ferrari name exclusive. His reluctance to cave in to a diversified Ferrari range that would, no doubt, see sales numbers rise was a stark contrast to the mentality adopted by his successor, Sergio Marchionne.

In fact, the radical revamp may have begun a lot sooner than expected with Motor Trend‘s Jonny Lieberman tweet on the alleged confirmation of an entry-level Ferrari. Citing sources deep within the Fiat Chrysler Automobiles group, Lieberman claims that the new model will be a twin-turbo V6 car aimed at the likes of the Porsche 911 Turbo S, Mercedes-AMG GT and McLaren 570S.

He then goes on to end his tweet with mentions of a US$180,000 (RM655,650) price tag, a possible 2019 world debut and most importantly, the hashtags ‘dino’ and ‘dinolives’ – hinting at a revival for one of the most fabled nameplates at Maranello.

As for speculation concerning its powertrain, Ferrari has already made the leap into forced induction with models such as the California T and 488 GTB. As for V6 powerplants, note that Maserati has equipped its Ghibli models with 3.0 litre, twin-turbo’ed V6 petrol engines so expect a variation of it to feature.

GALLERY: Ferrari 488 GTB

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 6:40 pm

And followed by a Ferrari SUV after that. What has the world turned into.

• Abu Sayur on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Yeah sad…look at Porsche and Jaguar and soon but hope not Bentley and Rolls Royce. It’s all about the bottom line right?

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Too many idiot readers here in PT. Don’t you know Ferrari got really bad RV? Buy 2 million today but tomorrow sell also, want to get RM800k also susah.

Please lah PT readers, pls use your brains a bit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Never buy Italian except for pizzas or spaghetti.

Want a sport car get a CRZ or 86. No need to worry burn engine halfway in Bangsar.

Buy Toyota better. Good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 65
    • RV=regret value

• Hellhole on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:43 am

If you want a sportscar you get a Ferrari, a Lamborghini or a Porsche. Anything else, don’t waste your time thinking you are cool and sporty. You might as well keep your sedan.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:44 am

You can say whatever you want. People like you are just too poor and only afford Axia. Work harder brother and get a real sportcar like Vios TRD Sportivo or 86.

With TRD Sportivo kit can smoke this stupid Dino anytime.

Buy Toyota better, good RV.

• Newcomer on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Can look cannot run. If like that NASA can use it to Pluto lor, why need so huge turbine. #HorsepowerVSTorque

• wASHbUrn on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:59 pm

I really love your sense of humour brother !

• Cheap but come here becomes double the price as usual thanks to our awesome “protection” of Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • If you think this is cheap then you have no issues paying the “awesome protection” money

• Economist on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Cheap is one thing but whether worth to pay double the price is another thing

• Toyota lover on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Here we go again…..
      Why must everything be tied to proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Hellhole on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:44 am

Hello, Why are you roping in the Proton argument here. Without protection can you even afford a $180K US car or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • delusional boy on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:22 am

heck in USA people like him can only drive 20 years old beat up car.

he should be grateful that he is born in malaysia at least he gets to show off as a middle class

act macam yes abit while sipping his “so-premium” coffee starbucks while leeching their free wifi with his “macbook” while his latest iphone is placed right beside the laptop on the table

• With a thinking like yours, no wonder most of the people in Malaysia are driving 20 years old beat up car. If you’re rich, you can always donate you extra money to our government to show your “patriotism”, they’ll be grateful. If you think it’s ok for the rakyat to pay double the price for a car, you are delusional

• shawal on Apr 09, 2015 at 7:40 pm

road tax friendlier 3.0 twin turbo v6~!
    and make it extremely beautiful~!

• Jonn Dol on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:42 am

Hopefully it will be powered by a small capacity V6 twin turbo, but still a high revving unit. Something like a 2.5 V6 twin turbo, with 9000 rpm.After all, this is Ferrari..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:00 am

so we are going to have a ferrari that is slower than a bmw 428i