Ford Malaysia reports best ever monthly, quarter sales

Ford Malaysia 2014 Sales

Ford today announced an all-time record monthly performance in Malaysia with retail sales rising 46% from the previous month to 1,818 units. The record March performance capped an all-time record quarter for Ford in Malaysia with sales increasing 24% from the previous quarter to 4,611 units.

The strong performance was partly due to overall industry momentum, driven in part by a surge in demand ahead of the April 1 GST implementation date. “We are anticipating some market correction in the coming months due to the pull forward in demand that the GST’s impending implementation created,” said David Westerman, Ford’s MD of Malaysia and Asia Pacific Emerging Markets.

The Ford Ranger facelift and seven-seater Everest SUV will be introduced in Malaysia this year

The popular Ranger pick-up truck maintained its position as Ford’s most popular product in Malaysia, with March retail sales increasing 42% from the prior month to 1,369 units. Q1 sales rose 36% to 3,504 units.

The EcoSport compact SUV delivered its best sales month since its August 2014 local launch. March sales reached 132 units, contributing to Q1 sales of 271 units. Ford also sold 474 Fiestas and 179 units of the Focus in the first quarter.

This year will see the introduction of the Mondeo (already previewed and driven), Ranger facelift (world debut in Bangkok last month) and Everest SUV. Also on the way is the Ford Mustang, recently previewed in KL.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• spongewai on Apr 10, 2015 at 5:57 pm

thumbs up and keep up good work

Same Lor aka Sam Loo, stop it bout Toyota in a day or week pls??!

lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • samenob_ on Apr 10, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Same Lorrr wet his pants reading this news
      He has to work hard to replace his son’s saga

• Same L0rrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 6:20 pm

You can say all you want. My one month commission can buy a Camry with cash.

Time to upgrade your Perodua MyVi. Please work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
        • samenob_ on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Haha bragging about your salary like old man always talking kok

Say any number you want about your salary, even 1 mil noone gives a damn.

• AutoKONEKsion on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:47 pm

If KPMG which is so honourable globally can be found to be dubious in 1MDB audit, you can be assured one thing, Ford Malaysia is bullshitting with their figures.

Ford sales has been falling because, 2 years ago people got excited with the Fiesta’s low price and rushed into buying it.

Then the problems started. Ford Fiesta is famous for their dual dry clutch to kaput. So many Ford owners now crying and crying because their cars either judder or stall completely few times in a year. It is the same like the DSG in the VW. Cannot used in our weather.

Secondly, they hold your car from 3 to 6 months to repair anything. Ask all Ford owners, they will tell you. Even mere bumper or lights pecah also, you got to wait 3 to 6 months for the parts to come it. If the Ford is your main car, you will be taking Len Seng bus to work.

Sime Darby is a disgrace. Why can’t you all stock parts immediately? In Honda, Toyota or ETCM, parts are available IMMEDIATELY.

Here in AutoKONEKsion, your part takes 3 to 6 months just to be ordered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • Ninjaboy on Apr 12, 2015 at 10:16 am

My good friend drives a Fiesta for 2 years now. Nothing like you mentioned above. Do you drive a Ford, or any of your friend drives one?

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:46 am

You have to work hard to buy a proton saga. if you need a job, I can offer you. Camry hybrid booking 85. I can get another luxury camry for cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • AutoKONEKsion on Apr 11, 2015 at 1:46 pm

If KPMG which is so honourable globally can be found to be dubious in 1MDB audit, you can be assured one thing, Ford Malaysia is bullshitting with their figures.

Ford sales has been falling because, 2 years ago people got excited with the Fiesta’s low price and rushed into buying it.

Then the problems started. Ford Fiesta is famous for their dual dry clutch to kaput. So many Ford owners now crying and crying because their cars either judder or stall completely few times in a year. It is the same like the DSG in the VW. Cannot used in our weather.

Secondly, they hold your car from 3 to 6 months to repair anything. Ask all Ford owners, they will tell you. Even mere bumper or lights pecah also, you got to wait 3 to 6 months for the parts to come it. If the Ford is your main car, you will be taking Len Seng bus to work.

Sime Darby is a disgrace. Why can’t you all stock parts immediately? In Honda, Toyota or ETCM, parts are available IMMEDIATELY.

Here in AutoKONEKsion, your part takes 3 to 6 months just to be ordered

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Albert on Apr 11, 2015 at 9:02 pm

dear Autokoneksion,Imagine(by John Lennon….the song) if current Ford or VW models,parts take 2-3 months.What if you have a second hand 5-10 year old one that requires spare parts?6-12 months ,for them to scour all the “kereta potong” spare parts? If you are spare parts dealer,would you stock up 5-10 year old Ford aND vw PARTS?My school mate,who scores straight “C” and “D” s in exams,the son of a cobbler,made tons of money by being a Honda spare parts dealer,cos they are in demand.

• kepalakotaklu on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:35 pm

owner of a ford fiesta here, this fella’s experience is freaking deja vu for me. they kept the car for 3 months, no explanation, no nothing, i go and check, from monday to next monday my damn car is in the same position doing absolutely jack $h!t

service is lousy, i once arrived at 8.30 am, and the counter called me at 10 am to start talking. when i was HAPPY WITH MY MYVI, in and out of the SC in 1 hour.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 10, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 159
    • Go to do research 1st before you given any comments, dun buat sendiri malu sahaja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Snobs on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:08 pm

What nonsense you are spewing. You think those who bought Ford or any other brands other than Toyota are not knowledgable about cars? Oh yeah, i forgot. Your only way of selling cars is saying Toyota got high RV (which is not true anymore nowadays) instead of anything else. For someone who can buy a Camry cash, you sure are insecure when people buy other brands.

• bingle on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:10 pm

You feel threaten?
      Only SA cares about sales number, for me it’s safety first, not RV thing.

If you want RV please proceed to invest in unit trusts.

• you can continue talk rubbish with your 2 airbags camry while other cars already fitted with 7 airbags..

• omg..
    the ford fiesta is like the most ugly fish on earth.

But I like the Cheap Ford Ranger.
    RM75k can buy 4×4… good anot?
    high maintenance and lack of power lohj

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • never ignore after sales service!

• ford power on Apr 10, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Ford service bagus. Free 60,000 km gua punya wiper brake pad pun dia tukar free free Wow wow. Kalau 3S centre busy sekarang boleh pergi quick lane sgt cepat boleh walk in satu jam kereta gua siap. Lagi lounge ada breakfast nasi lemak free kalau petang karipap ada. Milo machine nescafe 3 in 1 pun free wow wow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • kepalakotaklu on Apr 12, 2015 at 11:32 pm

WOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

FREE NASI LEMAK? FREE KARIPAP? FREE MILO?? OMGGGGG

rumah mak lu pun ada semua ni kan.. kenapa kena stay lama lama sampai boleh makan 3 course meal kat service centre? the answer is the service is absolutely lousy, i own a damn ford fiesta i know what i’m talking about.

• built ford tough on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Bought another ford 1 year ago. My family’s fifth ford already. Very reliable car and built tough as their motto said. After sales not very bad. Just have to wait quite long period for replacement parts. Staff in new SC autocity is very friendly and nice.

• mr_em on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Dear Ford Malaysia aka SDAC,

Please sort out your poor after sales service first!!!
    Cars are taking months to repair for major problems.
    So what you break the sales record? In the long term if your after sales is still crap as you cannot cope with the volume of Ford cars on the road, the sh*t will just fall back on your faces…

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Apr 10, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Bro poor service referring to majority SC or few only? I’m preparing buy facelift RANGER when launch? Tapi a bit worried based on you & some other comments!!! Pls share your experience, thanks.

• Danny,
    Went the new ranger enter our market?

• toyota is so good until i see most of the hilux in the parit during raining season in sarawak

• W204 C63 AMG on Apr 11, 2015 at 10:23 am

179 units of Focus sold in one quarter, that’s laughable, BMW moved more 3 series than that.

• Adamaya on Apr 11, 2015 at 12:52 pm

how ford malaysia can afford to pay its worker salary with sale like this?

• cendol (Member) on Apr 11, 2015 at 3:43 pm

When is Ford Mustang coming?
    I am sure Ford sales will increase more.

• Small Kok on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:35 pm

My Fiesta having some issues with the transmission. Still under warranty but have to wait 4 months for parts. Will never buy a Ford again.

• rajan krishnamurthy matdhavan rajan on Apr 12, 2015 at 12:13 am

Enna ford wha. Rombe teruk. Discount oso i no buy.

• blaster88 on Apr 12, 2015 at 7:01 pm

After 30 years, I am glad that Proton’s finally caught up on safety standards. Its a good thing…but little too late at least for me…

• hasuda on Apr 12, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Poor services.. poor quality
    Bought Focus 18months ago.. 5x sent to workshop( 3.5months @ workshop on 5th times for repair),sunroof leak,LED flickering,Fuel pump noise, careless service (engine cover broken,under cover missing & body scratches), transmission overheat, aircond leak,fuel indicator malfunction,engine vibrate,jerking(replace clutch!!),brake judder,wiper judder…

FORD – ‘F’ull ‘O’f ‘R’eject & ‘D’efect !!

To Aftersales Mgr,Svc Mgr & MD, when u make a promise, make a true promise..

• Albert on Apr 13, 2015 at 8:13 am

Dear Hasuda,my ‘CONDOLENCES’ for your bad experience with SDAC.Ironically,their chief is also chief of MMA,how on earth did she get elected ?
      Same with Naza service centre,their Setapak centre ‘monkeying around” when one mechanic says spart part needs 2 months,but shortly after, their HQ expert says 48 hours.WTF!!!!!.I sold my Naza car after that.
      I have heard more complaints about Ford service centres than PROTONG,which should make the protong fanboys a little happier.
      You think Toyota is glorious,in service? My Vios boot opened by itself at least 6 times.The Selayang shit centre took 45 days to settle this problem by changing the “black box” and boot motor.They have tons of paperwork and always said” Shah Alam HQ must approve first,the spare parts”. Their f…ing President is sitting in his posh office without knowing all the shit in his service centres.
      Shambolic is the word for all these PNB companies.
      Remember,UMW and SDAC has the image of “Premium Pricing with shit service centres”,dont you get it?