GALLERY: VW Jetta Limited Edition now in showroom

VW Jetta Sport Edition 17

After getting wind of the Volkswagen Jetta Limited Edition’s presence in showrooms, we headed to Volkswagen Rawang for a closer look at the yet-to-be-launched Jetta LE, which some dealers are referring to as the “Sport Edition”. Already teased by VGM, it will be officially revealed in early May, which is of course just around the corner.

Few will be confusing the Jetta Limited Edition with the standard CKD car, for it appears significantly sportier with the addition of a five-piece original Volkswagen Zubehör bodykit, which consists of a front under spoiler; side skirts; rear under spoiler and boot lip spoiler.

Nice kit, but it wouldn’t work without the LE’s 17-inch “Silex” five twin-spoke alloys, which are wrapped with locally-made 225/45 Goodyear Assurance TripleMax tyres. It’s a one-inch upsize from the regular Jetta’s 16-inch rims with high profile 205/55 tyres. Ecotint window film completes the package, although we’ve also seen some ads touting Llumar tint.

We understand that the LE will also come with a Blaupunkt Philadelphia 835 touchscreen head unit with navigation, which has yet to be fitted to this locked demo car.

Word is that the current RM134,888 price will remain – which effectively means that all the above goodies are yours for “free” – with a cheaper “Club Edition” (with navi and tint, without bodykit and rims) joining the range. We’ll see, but for now, check out the first live gallery of the Jetta Limited Edition below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• VW_rocks on Apr 30, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 221
    • TooOptimistic! on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Good for you, but it also means that not many people will appreciate these. VW cars are supposed to be FOR THE PEOPLE, not FOR THE FEW PEOPLE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 19
      • Question 8? on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:22 pm

You forgot Question 8

Q8. What to do when my DSG fails like 5 or 6 times in a year?

Q9. Which tow truch is the best for me to call?

Q10. How do I convince VW that they sold me a lemon?

Q11. What do I do when VGM holds my car for 1 month to repair the DSG?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 38
        • Where is Question 8? on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Most people buy Auto for ease to drive. How to remember and follow VW Rocks so many rules and requirements?

Auto is Auto. We want to just drive. Already have to think so much about collision and pedestrian safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
          • Sam L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Told you all many times already. My toyota is the best. I do 8 hours driving everyday to find sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 83
          • VW Tipu 5 Year Warranty on May 01, 2015 at 9:41 am

Go to their facebook page and see so many people crying that insurance turn their request down

Actually VGM only give a miserable 2 year warranty. The remaining 3 years is insurance company warranry and it is discretionary. So many owners, after 2 years, get turned down by Insurance company.

So, if after 2 years your DSG kaput, be prepared to fork out about RM40k to replace your DSG box.

Many VW owners in Malaysia face this problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Low Class Car High Class Prices on May 01, 2015 at 10:05 am

Malaysians are very stupid. You pay so much for a problematic car that makes you spend half your life in the SC.

Pay RM150k for a car that has ZERO status too. Malaysians kena con big time to think that VW are same status as Audi, Merc and BMW. All over Europe and the world, the VW is known as a low class car. It is like owning a Proton in Malaysia.

But Malaysians willing to spend so much to buy a VW after falling for VGM marketing tricks. Remember the VW is just a normal car in Europe. You are better off owning a Proton in Malaysia and have RM150k in cash to buy good food, travel and enjoy life.

Or even better, a 3 year old Mercedes E250 or a BMW 520i F10 is now about RM170k. Better you buy the BMW or Mercedes. This brings you more status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
          • Sam L0rrrr on May 01, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Is why VW priced their new car as cheap as my Toyota Camry and Altis lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • lier low class car budak on May 02, 2015 at 12:43 pm

You are real lier pls get the 170k merz and BMW for me. You must be a saga driver, or you are sam lol son?

• Super Miracle on May 14, 2015 at 5:10 pm

WAh, I suggest you go to buy 4D. A jetta sent to sc 5 times in a year and always waiting for DSG. I suggest you to sent your car to new tcs, over there got Germany technician offer you the better service. (~v~)v

• Areyousure on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:42 pm

U salesman from P1/P2? U dunno VW has their towing helpline? Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • Tow Truck Association of Malaysia on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Their helpline always busy because they are towing DSG cars.

So, we normal tow trucks are your best bet!

terima kasih!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Why Problems? on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:54 pm

In Europe, VW is a low class car for the masses. In Malaysia, VGM tells people it is luxury and at par with BMW and Mercedes in status.

Malaysians are so so so stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 24
          • Ivano on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:17 pm

You are so stupid. Price for BMW 328i can almost buys 2 Passat lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • No… VW is considered premium over its european n japanese rivals. obviously you have never lived, travelled in Europe nor having european friends. Not all europeans can afford a VW, cheaper alternatives are Peugeot, Ford, Vauxhall, Skoda, Seat, Toyota, Honda, Kia, Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
          • Low Class Car High Class Prices on May 01, 2015 at 10:10 am

Those days VW owners so arrogant. All rev their engines at trafic lights. All VW owners in Malaysia like to race and look down on Japanese car buyers.

Then, one day, they realised VGM tipu them and sold them lemons. Their DSG started stalling and breaking down non stop.

Now, VW owners are the butt joke of car community. People see VW at traffic lights also, we laugh and sniggle at them for being so stupid.

Pity VW owners now. Nobody wants a problematic VW. Even used car dealers also scared to take used VW in for trade in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • Confession of Jetta Owner on May 01, 2015 at 10:34 am

I got a 2013 Jetta. My Jetta sits in the SC at least 5 times a year. Each time about 6 weeks. Always SC say must wait to order DSG.

In a year, I hardly see my Jetta. It spends more time in the Workshop than under my Porch. My biggest regret of my life.

I advice all those wanting to buy VW, stay away from VW. Bad Bad Bad after sales service and they are full of lies in the SC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
          • Miracle123 on May 14, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Wow, I suggest you go buy toto. Your car can break down 5 times in a year and always need to wait for dsg ar? you ady break the new record… I suggest you sent yr jetta to the new TSC, over there you can get more professional service from the Germany technician. (-v-)v

• Sam VW Tow Truck on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Q8. What to do when my DSG fails like 5 or 6 times in a year?
          [Sam] – You will automatically upgrade to SAM Platinum VIP tow service. Tow truck service include umbrella girl and a personal massage while waiting for your car to be towed.

Q9. Which tow truch is the best for me to call?
          [SAM] Please call 1-800-SamTowTruck

Q10. How do I convince VW that they sold me a lemon?
          [SAM] It is a losing game trying to tell VW coz as a matter of fact, they are helping me to increase my business. Live with it and enjoy SAM personalized tow truck. Best in KL, JB, Singapore and Thailand.

Q11. What do I do when VGM holds my car for 1 month to repair the DSG?
          [SAM] Buy another VW. My mistress need to buy Birkin handbag and rent private jet. I need all VW owners support. Huat ar!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
          • Why Problems? on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:52 pm

ha ha ha ha. Pay RM200k for a car that gives problem after problem. Wait in the hot sun like a bangla waiting for the tow truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • billy on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:11 pm

200K? Passat 150K only la. But Passat breakdown most in their VW family. Big engine with dry clutch. Congratulation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • 2014 Passat Owner on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Since I bought my car in March 2014, DSG already breakdown 4 times.

I think, Jetta is no better. When is the next Bangsar protest? I want to join.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
          • Wahowaha on May 06, 2015 at 5:27 pm

You should sent your car to the new TSC that VW just realeased. Maybe there can solve your problem entirely. I sent mine car to thr before, so far havent counter any dsg issue.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:34 pm

I need to use my EPF to buy this car for my son. Hopefully, I can get 9 years loan also.

• Albert on May 01, 2015 at 11:06 am

I think I have heard more complaints on VW cars than poor Protong.
            At least protong fan boys can have some consolation.
            Why are people spending an arm or leg just to buy a socalled “prestigious car”? What prestige and syiok sendiri feeling,when you have to keep sending a piece of expensive metal to VW workshops ? You call that “prestige” ? Aren’t there alternative brands,sushi or kimci cars? Even Hyundai quality ,I reckon is better than VW,alto kimci cars generally have lower resale values.

• Where is Question 8? on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Q8. Who do I call when my DSG fails?
        A: Please always keep at least 3 tow truck on speed dial

• Areyousure on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:38 pm

Not something normal Japanese, Korean, P1 and P2 drivers can understand…

• VW cars No 1 Accident on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:40 pm

VW car owners always accident or drive recklessly. I know why now. they have to follow the above 8 rules to prevent juddering and DSG stall. So, they got to think hard and not bother about the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • VW are for the few, the rest go drive plotong perodua la..

• billy on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:22 pm

I just drive one cheap car and I can crash the road bumps whenever I want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Salesman on Hyperdrive on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:30 pm

To cover up DSG, salesman come here and talk rubbish. The truth is, all VW cars in Malaysia can only drive in the night and when got no jam.

Otherwise, judder and stall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • sounds like carrying an egg with a spoon..for what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Tow Truck Association of Malaysia on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:49 pm

We, the tow truck association of Malaysia would like to thank all VW customers. Terima Ksih banyak banyak. Because of VW owners in Malaysia, many of us managed to send our kids to the UK to study.

Thank you VGM! Thank you VW owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Kenny on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:21 pm

What’s the point of having auto gearbox if you have to baby it like a manual? Good pedaling indeed. It’s even worse than a manual. And after all this babying will it last longer?

• steve kok on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Halo.. are you working for VW Malaysia ah??

• VW_rocks on Apr 30, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Just sharing my experience and findings. Also to foster the readers here (or maybe salesman? I don’t know).

Hope Paul Tan can find out more more from their luncheon with VW :P

• Head Hunter on May 01, 2015 at 6:53 am

I appreciate posts like these because it reminded me of my dad when I first started to drive the old Pajero v46 Back in 99. Only it was a 4 spd auto and the gears when rushed will get stuck at 3rd even after it was supposed to shift at 70km/h. With a little bit of finesse, you can do it gently and it will upshift to your will. No doubt, cars nowadays are so reliable that you could thrash them but as a car and offroad enthusiast, the best way to enjoy a car is to feel the car from its 1st shift all the way to the top speed. Sometimes you don’t have to be like an F1 driver to enjoy the car but savour the handling and comfort of the vehicle. Sometimes, old people gives the best advice on car care and maintenance. Respect your car and it will respect you. Tell me how many of you had even bothered to check underneath the engine at least once a week? To this day, I still keep the old Pajero and comparing it with my newer cars it still drive just as good only slower because the engine is a measly 125bhp. So yeah, respect your car and it will be nice to you. There’s an old saying: Treat your car like a Ferrari and she will feel like one. Treat her like a bus and it will break down. Cheers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Sam L0rr on May 01, 2015 at 1:02 pm

U think everyone got luxury time like this? They driving their P1-P2 like Ferrari to find sales and worry not earning enough lo. Luckier one can afford one T or H to drive they already happy like having a Bentley lor.

• Did the VW sales person, mention or educate the buyer with all this in advance?

• Areyousure on May 03, 2015 at 10:15 am

Salesman like Sam Loo only sell. Alot of VW salesmen are from Toyota and Honda. They don’t care a sh*t what’s technology lying under the hood lo. Just sell sell sell…

• janji najix tidak ditunaikan on May 02, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Since u write all these exp,I think just throw ur Jetta to the rubbish bin.

• drollie on May 04, 2015 at 10:38 pm

No la just sold it to Same Lorrrr with very cheap price. Then shouted hailat, after 3 days back to normal again and buy Vios

• Jilbaber (Member) on May 04, 2015 at 11:02 am

I agreed with some constructive comment here…this DSG gearbox isn’t meant for everyday car which what most VW car is. I drove auto so I don’t have to think what the gearbox is doing or how should I make it doing so I can keep my driving focus 100% and awareness of any stupid Dominic Toretto wannebe in a Myvi car trying to kill me….so I glad the jetta still stick to ordinary auto..

• No doubt, DSG is the best shifter in the world.
      In terms of performance, it shift freakly fast 8ms!
      It might be the fastest gear shift in the world even faster than some supercar such ferrari, GTR.

However, the flashing spanner issues ruin it’s name.
      VW should play it’s CSR well and come out permanent counter measure.

In fact, mineral oil is not the remedy for DSG failure. More concrete action must be done by VW to save it’s name and reputation.

Comon, VW, make a great car, and provide better after sales service and reliability.
      That will make you becomes No.1 maker !

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Year made 2014? lololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Salesman on Hyperdrive on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Got directive from VGM ie memo to all staff to come here and thumbs down any negative comments.

Have you wondered why VGM got so many MD the past few years? It is because the MD says VW DSG cannot be sold here but management insist on selling lemons. So MD boring and left, one after another

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 7:32 pm

I’d keep the rims, dump the bodykit and the audio system. Instead, why not dump in the RNS510?

And while you guys are at it, xenons please for goodness sake. It’s not that cheap of a car…

By the way, is this the Jetta GP that was initially touted?

http://paultan.org/2014/09/30/mercedes-benz-e300-bluetec-hybrid-volkswagen-jetta-gp-local-assembly-begin-november-annual-report/?utm_source=yarpprelatedstoriesdesktop&utm_medium=internallinks&utm_campaign=internallinks

• dont ask for too much, u are buying a european taxi for triple the price.

• 1malaysia on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Yea! Saga BLM taxi. You can buy 10 taxi with E-class, 5 taxi with Camry, 3 taxi with Altis, 2 taxi with Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Das Autar on Apr 30, 2015 at 8:36 pm

What’s next model with “limited” special edition? Polo? Polo Sedan? No matter how “limited” edition, or “special” edition, you’re still bound with their lousy after sale service. You think buying these models will have a different priority after sales? Think again… Looks like Proton marketing staff has joined VW recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • U Autar on May 14, 2015 at 4:20 pm

If the after sales service is lousy then VGM wouldn’t give you to claim courtesy car, build more service capacity and release the new TSC to provide more professional service la.

• Limbo on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:07 pm

If you want trouble, buy VW ! There are always people who have the time and money to spend just to feel cool and a cut above the rest.. so they think. Here is MALAYSIA, not Europe. The car is good to drive without much traffic I admit, which you won’t get much of a chance here !

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 30, 2015 at 11:04 pm

VW adding value to the Beetle and now the Jetta…good work but they forgot to add xenon/HID lights to such a car.

• Now I now the DSG problem in Malaysia, very sad…
    Jetta should be most valuable car looking at the spec (240Nm 1500-5000rpm, WOW!!) and the price offered + how well the mileage can go per litre (at least on the paper) + excellent space and luggage capacity, compared to other similar priced car.

Now I’m wondering either to buy this one or not. I think 2015 Jetta already came out with major improvement and changes, you can search on google. Maybe VW Malaysia wants to clear up stock ha? maybe

• Ugly and outdated.

• babara on May 14, 2015 at 5:25 pm

there no such thing, it’s just your terrible taste after all. The appearance of this jetta is better than others sushi car or kimchi…

• nabill (Member) on May 01, 2015 at 1:18 am

the bodykit is terrible looking and does not match the car at all…..i wd keep the rims , and add leather seats and some LEDs…im happy to see quite few jetta’s around actually , glad to c real buyers out there , some of u who just talk about dsgs and all , u gotta know for every 10 dsg issue , there are other hundreds of happy owners…bt this is current mentality we hv to deal with ,watever vw topic comes up , keyboard worriers will come out straight with their dsg this , dsg that…time to get a life!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • dsgsuck on May 01, 2015 at 7:42 am

The car is meant to be driven, not hidden in service centre!!!!!

• DSG loves to race is a joke. How to race when gearbox ady breaks down?

Saw Exora turbo tarpaued jetta tsi last time, at corner. Both were fast but the faster always wins. Kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • C.P. MOHAN on May 01, 2015 at 10:48 am

Special Edition (SE), Limited Edition (LE), Accessories are marketing not technology tools. Target: Budget and non auto/technology enthusiast customers who will ‘push’ their stock to make way for new/face lift models. I am one of them.

• tamura on May 01, 2015 at 11:10 am

my colleague Sam Poo got one …like ah pek car

• r we obsessed with side skirt?

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 02, 2015 at 1:36 am

volkswagen…. who says we have no passion…our cars breakdown like an alfa romeo….

• Poly3 on May 06, 2015 at 5:31 pm

sent your car to SC for a checkup, talking here ain’t to help your car fix XD

• BN lies on May 02, 2015 at 6:53 am

the usual trick to fool the rakyat and make more money for ah jib and family. this will go straight to costs for hair treatment, new rings, new handbags, and maybe more new jets and apartments in new york!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • janji najix tidak ditunaikan on May 02, 2015 at 11:06 pm

What a pitty car with no led daylight until today. Mazda skyactive is better than this vw dog.

• Bs lee on May 04, 2015 at 9:35 am

The summary is DON’T BUT VOLKSWAGEN, PEUGEOT, RENAULT, CITROEN or any European car except BMW and.MERCEDES.
    To avoid Audi cars as well; but if “you can’t help it”, then choose one with low electronic gadgets , it really save you many headaches.
    Please listen, these advice come from an UNCLE who had owned many luxury cars before.

• lingerie dept on May 04, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Are you Same Lorrrr dupe selling undergarments at Jusco and Parkson? How’s your business?

• Continental on May 05, 2015 at 9:10 am

Conti – better in Handling, safety, technology
    Jap – Efficiency, reasonable price, reliability
    Korean – Styling, Fancy Accesories, lower cost.
    P1,P2 – No choice.

actually, depends on what you want and personal characteristic/enthusiasm.

European, makes better car, but sacrifice reliability for high tech, sacrifice efficiency for safety.

Drive it, feel the differences.
    solid/heavier chassis, nice handling, They are more focus on driver’s passion, passangers’ safety.
    Well balance. Of coz, wat you want, wat you gonna pay.
    Higher technology = less reliability.

• samtowtruck on May 05, 2015 at 11:39 am

Conti – unreliable
      Japs – overpriced
      Korean – fuel guzzler, scarcity of spare part
      Better get p1/p2..