JPJ posts dress code requirements online – take note before going to JPJ to avoid another saronggate

CG-jqFIUAAE1pRe

If you have to visit JPJ’s offices for whatever reason like transferring your car’s ownership, renew your driving license or renew your driving license, you’ll want to take note of this. JPJ has just uploaded an image to their Facebook fan page detailing the dress code that you have to adhere to when visiting their premises.

This is an obvious response to a post uploaded by a disgruntled lady who was refused service at JPJ because of her clothing. She was handed a sarong to wear before the JPJ officers would attend to her.

11249704_10206092345281853_7366744865939117485_n

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I don’t think anyone wants to see auntie wearing short skirt….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 414 Thumb down 193
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 420
      • Malaysia Negara Melayu Fikiran Kolot on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:27 am

Auntie also needs to wear sarong, what has this country become?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 124
        • thegreatmother on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:18 am

Coz sarong is easy to obtain, cheaper, and long lasting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 27
          • whay used Mat Salleh photo on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Why use the 3 mat salleh photos at tatacara sign board ?
            Ang moh more class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • Ketua Setiausaha Negara on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Coz Mat Salleh are sexy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • George Abdul on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:52 am

Or either way wear long paints and jeans at all Govt department…

Multicultural in Malaysia were NEVER implanted in first place…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 15
        • whats wrong with wearing sarong? its an easy thing to get and wear. its not a specific islamic wear.. its just a traditional wear from nusantara area

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 34
        • prabowi on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:08 am

Talking about freedom of choice, how about implementing hudud in kelantan? It ticks all the right box after all: Democracy, religious freedom, majority rules, cultural rights, etc. Bias, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
          • carlies on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Some people here says that to respect the dressing code at some certain places. But remember, this is multicultural and multiracial country.

What about if the auntie is wearing a CheongSam which is a short skirt (Chinese traditional formal dress)? Again, I emphasize, IT’S a formal! And tell me where is the respect to the auntie?

Respect each other is two parties matters. I respect what you wear and please respect what I wear as long as not naked!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 41
          • ordinary people on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:07 pm

So you are implying that we can wear bikini to work? As long as it isn’t naked?
            Dress code is a dress code,whether you like it or not. But out of that you will have the freedom to dress.
            Err one more thing,dont wear bikini to a meeting will you? You will lose your job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 45
          • TianMimi on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:57 am

Implying your kukubird. Keyboard warrior

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:21 pm

In my opinion, the root of this issue lies in the efficiency and effectiveness of JPJ as well as the auntie’s driving school/teacher. All guidelines including DRESS CODE should be informed clearly before going for driving test.JPJ, who is earning billions,hv failed to channel it’s resources to inform, advertise to the general public. (Eg almost everyone awares of the dress code if visiting a mosque). The auntie is not a muslim, to her what she wore is decent enough , and in her daily life, no muslim comes and complains her when she wears the skirt on the street. Yes, we must show respect in public institutions and she needs to learn this. But JPJ should have conveyed important guidelines/messages much more effectively in the first place.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
        • That’s the dress code implemented in JPJ and thus need to be adhered by all parties. They can simply ask the non-compliance customer to go back and come back at another time. But JPJ is considerate enough to provide the mean to assist the non-compliance customer. Just imagine what’s the uproar if JPJ provide them with jubah…or…towel…So sarong is the best option.

Is you tie it up properly, it will be nice. A lot of Malay, Indian and Peranakan going around town in their sarong. No harm. Our negative attitude is the cause of harm..

• trollmaster3000 on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:10 am

apparently jpj officers cannot stand the sight of kepala lutut as they will all turn into horny monkeys if they ever saw it.. and their inefficiency at work becomes even worse.. yeah malaysia boleh..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 90
      • JPJ U ARE STUPID on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:12 am

She is not a Muslim..and wat she is wearing is not over the top or sexy at all..
        For u to ask her to wear a Kain sarong is stupid!
        There is no need to humiliate her..
        Its different if she is entering a holy place, like visiting the Mosque per say..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 112
        • tailong on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:19 am

wow… just wow… what if a muslim lady post similar fb post as that auntie.. what say you?

look beyond religion my friend.. becoz this nothing to do with race or religion..

think before you post.. PT should encourage 60 secs dynamic thinking before firing up keyboard..

p/s: if there is any genius can make a safe & effective chill pills, many malaysians now in dire need..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 37
        • lilytan on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:50 am

A mere dress code regulation turned into typical racial-human rights uproar nonsense. There will always be going anywhere. People dont wear mini skirts into temple, wear black on new year, wear red on funeral, wearing track suits into Harrods, wearing nothing on a mountain etc. Same goes when u go to JPJ or any other government premises. Respect the rules. Imagine if everyone want to play the human rights card, doing whatever they like, disregard the rules. A recipe for disaster.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 18
          • Badeklangbuana on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Trully agreed! But imho opinion that auntie was not sexy or overboard.

• I did wear jogging bottoms to Harrods. So did many multi -millionaire famous pop singers.

• OMG…In the end, JPJ said sorry to this aunty. The rules is apply to staff only. That is the staff discipline problem.

• Alson P on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:58 pm

nah.. All staff wore uniform.. ignorant auntie.. OMG

• Alson, you are so ignorant. JPJ has already said sorry

• Hi.
          First of all I would like to stressed that sarong is not an Islamic attire so please stop associating this to religion.

Now the issue at hand. If you go to a fine dine restaurant, you’ll be kicked out if u dont dress appropriately. If you go to a pool party and dressed like youre going to perform your prayer, people would think youre crazy. If you go to a funeral dressed like ure going to a strip club, you’ll be frowned upon if not cursed out loud. If you go school without following the dresscode, similar case. So what’s the fuss about following the dresscode to JPJ??
          You dont go to your office wearing torn jeans or micro mini skirts, do you?

So stop being a whiny person and just follow the dresscode like you normally do to other places.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 21
        • jin park jin on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:32 pm

If u dont like this country , u can go to Zimbabwe….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
          • Dictator on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:15 am

If you don’t like this country , you can go to North Korea to meet Kim Jong Un…

• Because they like MILF so bad. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 57
    • There are some inconsiderate idiots who wear whatever they want outside without any consideration of their OWN modesty or other peoples tolerance of their show of skin.

Going shopping in their transparent nightgowns, wearing the shortest short pants possible to offices and wearing almost no upper clothing to restaurants. It maybe nice in nightclub or at a party but not anywhere else.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 285 Thumb down 66
    • Auntie legs are short and her body is long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Low Budget on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:27 am

So? Isn’t dressing is the right of the wearer? Whether they look ugly or not with the particular dress is none of our business as long as they are not naked or half naked like those mat sallehs at Mt Kinabalu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
      • Our JPJ has no standard, even auntie’s leg also they cannot stand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
        • kau ni vangang ke apa. bukan sebab peha atau kaki auntie tu disuruh pakai sarong. kau ingat org JPJ tu pelahap dgn kaki peha ni ke. faham tak dresscode tu apa. kalau tak dimulakan standard rules & regulation, sampai bila-bila pun rules tak akan dilaksanakan. biasalah rakyat Malaysia.. bila suatu rules dimulakan akan dikritik hebat kaw2 cam vangang pastu barulah beransur-ansur diterima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • arseneleven on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:36 am

asoh kene pakai sopan..ikut garis panduan jpj..even amoi pun pakaila skirt bawah lutut kan manis..jaga adab kita orang timur..tak perlu kaitkan dengan mana mana agama

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 12
    • Lost mah on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:13 pm

You are right. She should wear silky skirt, comb her hair like lion queen, cut and pull her face skin so eyes look like fox, wear Cartier 5 carats rings, Hermes bag, and carrying a C4 bomb…I am sure she will be treated like a queen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 25
    • chang chong oon on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:05 pm

saya setuju!

• Joe Whiner on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Batik sarong doesn’t match aunty’s blouse. She looked like a fashion disaster. JPJ should provide more choice of colours and patterns.

• weee, it seems that so far 170 aunties and uncles disliked your comments

• Linda on Oct 11, 2022 at 12:35 pm

U r too narrow minded. Ur mind is dirty.

• penchant4trolling on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:32 pm

if you look closely , you could almost hear the cellulite on her leg trying to wriggle their out.EWWW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 129
  • carlies on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:33 pm

I don’t think by implementing this regulation they can improve their working efficiency and productivity.

C’mon, please make something more practical and “JPJ related” stuff rather than looking at what people’s attire! We do respect you but please respect tax payer’s attire choice as well! What’s wrong with the auntie’s skirt?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 428 Thumb down 128
    • Salambangi on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:51 am

Dear Auntie

I believe your dressed rather inappropriately for your age and according to the long established dress codes. I also noticed that you you you wear the sarong rather sloppily to show how ugly you look. I respect the choice you have to wear whatever you want but we have the dress codes to adhere to whenever we visit some places like the temples, govt offices or at wedding receptions.

Yes we need to improve jPJs efficiency but this is a different issue

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 49
    • Anti-Pati on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:03 am

Short skirts for professional dresses should not exceed at the most 4 inches above the knee. Look at the skirt, its hemline is way beyond the 4 inch limit, and she’s going to a government office, not Zouk.

Even Westerners have to adhere to that guideline so why not Malaysians?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 27
    • OMG…i agreed.When they become so conservative? other gov sector got this rule? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 48
      • Low Budget on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:31 am

May be in the not too distant future, all women irrespective of race and religions must wear headscarf when visiting Gomen agencies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 28
    • tailong on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:52 am

what the hell with your comment? dresscode is there for a reason. you going to someone’s place, at least have a DECENCY to wear an appropriate attire. u don’t go naked on a sacred mountain, u don’t wear bikini to funeral, u dress decently to a people’s worship place..

stupidity definition has gone up few notches..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 22
      • OMG…haha…In the end..JPJ said sorry to this aunty. So the dresscode is for what purpose? Is it valid? LOL…

• thegreatmother on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:19 am

If this aunty was in arabic state, she will go straight to jail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 30
  • sepot reem on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:38 pm

just follow the rules & don’t make people vomit

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 183 Thumb down 179
  • leo galante on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:44 pm

This is called hypocrite, why must the non malay follow this? We are a multiracial country and we have our rights also?! That skirt is not thatshort. If you go europe or usa they are more open minded,they wont make a fuss on these trivia matters. Normally countries that are more open minded tend to be more developed..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 347 Thumb down 177
    • So u like to see a “sexy” auntie? Old people pls dont act young ewww

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 108 Thumb down 201
      • so you would like to police and tell how people can and cannot dress? wow.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 27
        • its just a dress code u know..just in government building and in working hours, u go to other countries u’ll find just like this too when dealing with official matter. its simple. how rock-headed can u be?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 45
          • jamesc on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:22 am

the skirt is not even that short to begin with…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 51
          • poorman on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:48 am

Just a dress code ar… Then if dun hv money to buy shoe or long pants, I can’t go the JPJ office lah. R u telling me being poor means no service lah. In d first place is it a crime to wear slippers or short pants? Or to expose my knees? Jpj can hv all d *@#^ing codes, but plse tell me what r their functions? Looking & judging on others’ dressings? V hv enuf of crazy & stupid ideas fm all d civil SERVANTS. They must hv 4gotten who r their bosses!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 57
          • blossom on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:17 am

what is your business in JPJ whenever you have no money dude! when you hv no money, juz go straight to lombong & lets lampam jawa bites your rotten corpse.

• sick&tired on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:04 am

you are an imbecile! the issue here is not how she looks, but her right to dress the way she wants. If it were a hot and younger women, would that make it ok?

Everyone has rights, JPJ should stop acting like the Taliban and improve their services! Every time System Offline!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 75
        • brown kid on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:35 am

yeah sure she have the right to dress how ever she want. BUT
          JPJ also have their RIGHTS to serve who ever they want (by implementing the dress code) .. Isn’t that fair? All have right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 42
          • tyson on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Wrong, JPJ is paid and have to serve whoever that enter their premises, not who they like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
          • Madam Tan is not a visitor to JPJ. She is a customer and tax payer who deserves to be served because she is not dressed indecently in her own cultural commonsense.

• thegreatmother on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:24 am

Maybe people are blind. They said the skirt is not that short. The dress code said cannot wear skirt above knees. Above knee is considered short and do any non muslim here know that it is haram also for guys to wear short pants above knee?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
        • muharam on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Great, looking at aunties leg is not enough now need to look at guys leg

• olio benzina on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Google best of Wal-Mart for a glimpse of open minded people of a leading developed country.

If people use common sense and dress with decorum there would be no need for such notices.
      They give sarong just put on lah.
      If I am underdressed at a swanky club, the staff will hand me a jacket.
      I put it on.
      No problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 79
    • Thats exactly how we, muslims feel when we want to work at most shops/retailers, they forbidden us to wear hijabs. Why should we follow that? We’re muslims, we also have the rights. If u still cant see my point. Then, i rest my case.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 37
      • dirtyoldmen on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:59 am

“… muslims feel when we want to work at most shops/retailers, they forbidden us to wear hijabs…”

Your words. Show proof as I will boycott them.

Now, who is “THEY”. Please list!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
        • shakira on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:48 am

They are hypocrite people. If you can feel who are they… you can really feel..

• saladin on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:54 pm

I cant recall any race in malaysia that encourage women to wear short skirt. What do u feel if ur mother wearing very short skirt. U feel developed ka??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 63
      • traditional on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:35 am

If your mother wears sarong, you feel developed ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 22
      • so does wearing fully covered clothes make you more developed and more productive? don’t find trivial excuses for escaping your job of serving the public. its the taxpayers who are funding your salary. do you say NO or ask your boss to go home just because he is wearing shorts while instructing you to do things? Duh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
      • Low Budget on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:39 am

‘Develop’ is the wrong word you used lah bradder.
        please choose other word. The ordinary men and women in all developed countries tend to wear what they like, go find out for yourself.

• dirtyoldmen on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Race?… Did you actually mean ‘local customs’?
        Are you trying to imply that: just because you “cant recall” *insert whatever offends you here*, therefore, it is forbidden, in your version of reality?

Also, the native peoples of east & west M’sia has traditional dress with some degree of exposure that may offend your sensitivities. How?

Oh, saladin-the-all-great-all-knowing one, please give us guidance and blessings.

• J Phuah on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:30 am

Leo, you better not to mention other developed country otherwise some Malaysian idiots which never self-improvised and unable to accept positive critics would say: You shall leave the country if you dont like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 12
      • Datuk K on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:57 am

More like some religious idiots

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Alson P on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:16 pm

nah.. just don’t visit JPJ building.. send someone else who can follow dress code.. not a big deal

• tailong on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:57 am

pls stop whatever you smokin’ right now.. why race come into equation?

so, if a malay lady wears such skirt u think she can enter the premise?

u should be open-minded first my friend. it is about code.. stick to it..

people foaming about following rules and regulations and whatnot but simple as this also cannot follow.. put away your big fat hypocrisy and shove it where the sun doesn’t shine, will ya.. you will do malaysian a good help..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
      • carlies on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Dressing code is set by human! Different people with different culture stay under one roof is not easy but to respect EACH OTHER! Respect to EACH OTHER is a bilateral relationship and you feel comfortable doesn’t mean that other comfortable as well and vice versa.

So, dressing is personal choice as long as keep it dressed!

JPJ! please do your work faster rather than looking at what people wearing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • shakira on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:44 am

You have never been in USA but you just watch more porno TV made in USA. Not all states in USA have open minded people. They still have dress code in the government agencies. Some states prohibited you from kissing in public. Majority people in USA is not chatolic Christian but if you live at the states where majority are chatolic, you will figure out that those open monded people you saw on TV are ‘fake’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • bieber on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Link of porno TV made in USA? So Malaysia porno are all dress up?

• LatukBandar on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:45 pm

maybe they should have a sign that also says – Rasuah OK dan Kopi License OK.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 50
    • drMpower on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:04 pm

did u know there is a law somewhere here in malaysia that will get u in a very messy situation when u decided to share your feeling just like u did?

apparently they can trace you up and identify who you are. and laugh all u want when they get you and prosecute you for spreading something untrue like this. u getting some years man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 39
  • darkermarker on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:55 pm

next step?

implement this at KLIA…and see what happens…

hahahah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 17
    • Anti-Pati on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:41 am

Actually, MAB HAS been imposing this rule for a long time for those who are visiting KLIA on official business. I remember having the security force telling one of my vendors not to wear short skirts again after that or otherwise she will not be given the security pass.

If you’re in a government office you should have it in your head already that you should dress professionally. Short skirts that are above the knees is not professional, and that’s true even in Western countries as I quote here.

“When selecting a short skirt, remember that when you sit down your skirt shortens three inches. Therefore, a skirt that stops around the knee is appropriate for the office. To pinpoint the exact length on you that is both flattering as well as professional, stand up and make a circle with your two thumbs and index fingers and locate it around your kneecap. Any length at the circle, inside the circle or lower than the circle is appropriate. A hemline that is higher than the circle is probably too short and will draw people’s attention to your legs instead of to your face where powerful eye contact occurs.”

http://www.professionalimagedress.com/women_skirt.htm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
    • Ang Moh on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:42 am

Dress code for official matter bro. Not everywhere. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • juarez on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:38 am

That not a gov.building ..duh

• great. we pay these people to serve us, we pay additional fees for their lacklustre service, and now we pay them to tell us how to dress before they would serve us.

JPJ (nor any other body) is not nor should ever be the judge of cultural or societal acceptance before performing of a service. when we they get that the civil servants are there to serve the people, not make them jump through hoola hoops in order to get what the people want.

not saying the lady dressed with sense or that this was her most tasteful decision, but for goodness sakes, what stopped the JPJ officers from serving her?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 42
    • jinggo on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:08 am

we pay them? Hahahaha! PETRONAS bro… its PETRONAS who pay them.. without national oil co., malaysia sudah lama bankrupt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 56
  • rosdi on Jun 08, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Getting more and more extreme… soon we will all become Taliban.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 47
    • extremist on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:21 am

Malaysia is becoming an extremist country by some religious nuts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • serikandi on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:03 pm

JPJ now on the quest of teaching us how to dress after failed ops of teaching us how our number plates design should be (only for us rakyat, not VIPs mid you)
    What a pathetic joke of a government agency.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 16
  • not that i want to see aunty exposed his body, and i do agree that when u go to government or educational places, it is better to wear something that is not exposed. but in this case, where JPJ have some requirement to all visitor, it’s not very over to require JPJ to do their work more efficiently…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
  • i think muslim extremist will not go to any Non-Muslim Country.

this is too much..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 21
  • Some people think they are sexy but actually people lost they appetite because of them. They have no sense at all, the same outfit they use for sleeping, going to market and even for official business. They only dress properly when somebody else put proper attire on them. And that’s on their burial day. Hmm why don’t people got buried in shorts???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 47
  • This is not a Mosque..
    Why JPJ care so much?? she is wearing proper enough being a Non-Muslim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 38
  • ruslan nordin on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:27 pm

JPJ should focus on improving its efficiency and ensuring motorists are competent. the lady to me is definitely not indecently attired.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 11
  • submarine on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:33 pm

I don’t think the aunty is as obscene as the number of counters that are NOT opened in JPJ, nor as obscene as the efficiency (or lack of) of the officers seemingly forced to serve the public and the tax payers using their services. Let’s not even begin talking about the obscenity of that dreaded “system down” notice you’re famous for. Up your performance and take pride in providing your services at JPJ, and your customers will take pride (by dressing better perhaps) when walking into your office!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
  • therealmaserati on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Omfg ……. fking ridiculous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 11
  • CorsairAddict on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:34 pm

Honest opinion, the lady looks appropriately dressed in the skirt.
    In the sarong, she looks sloppily dressed.

Someone at JPJ was keeping that sarong in hopes to one day use it to impose their morals on someone else.

Why is our minds so perverted that a something that would be considered appropriate in most developed countries (and even our own country years back when our rakyat was not so brainwashed by narrow minded buffoons).
    Start looking at the bigger picture and stamp out corruption, violence, religious intolerance, etc before nitpicking on such minute issues.

If you choose to wrap yourself in cloth from head to toe, I believe it is your right, and no one should stop you, the same should be for those who choose not to do so.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 14
    • kenny lim on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:32 am

this is because they are so damn lazy that this is the only thing they could do without moving out from their chairs. enforcements need to use energy and brain power, which sadly none of them has it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Forward not Backward on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:43 pm

oh..I think JPJ don’t watch SEA Game on TV now in Singapore. Especially swimming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 15
    • Alson P on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:04 am

Now, I have something of the utmost importance to share with you – especially if you are a man and you want to go swimming in a public swimming pool.. swimming shorts are not allowed to be worn in swimming pools by men.. men must wear clinging swimming trunks to swimming pools.. And, there is a world of difference let’s face it.. Chaps, if you are used to wearing your comfortable, anonymous, non clingy Bermuda shorts or baggy swim trunks with the discrete netting bag thingy inside – forget it.. You had better pack your budgie smugglers if you want to go swimming..

Apparently its all about dress code
      Yes you heard right.
      You have to wear tight fitting teeny weeny Speedo style swimming trunks to the pool..

Different place different dress code requirements..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Freestyle on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:42 pm

They cannot watch, else they will play with their Dildos like some Proton supporters

• This is why Malaysia hasn’t even advance much yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 20
    • arw you retarded? on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:03 am

Wearing short skirt is considered advance? Look at iran, do you think they have to wear short skirts to become advance in neuclear research? Somebody help me to understand this comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • controller on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:09 pm

So controlling what other people wear is considered advanced?

• This only happen in malaysia. last month i went to ICA – Immigration & Checkpoints Authority of Singapore building with my wife to renew her PR. we worn tshirt and short pant, nobody stop us… the officer served us politely. I saw many others worn the same like us too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 21
    • Government departments are to serve the public (the tax payer), not ban this and not that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 15
      • Sinky on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Singapore are not stupid like Malaysia lah, just like build national car to make own people suffer

• Albert on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:55 pm

What happens if a lady wears a bra and bikini,walks into these very ‘holy” JPJ shambolic office?
    I guess they will cover her up with “MICHELIN TYRES” from the ear to her toes.
    These shambolic dudes got busted by another gomen agency probably,for being on the take.So,they let go steam by punishing people who need to make vehicle transfers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • sick&tired on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:57 pm

this probably happened in JPJ wangsa maju. The guard there who is a rela member is a psycho. Other JPJ’s don’t seem to be that strict.

Malaysia, Land of the Taliban!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 30
  • Pervert on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:01 am

Because JPJ staffs are all pervert. Cannot stand if anyone wearing short skirt.
    This might causing them not able to focus their work properly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 23
  • rakyat marhaen on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:17 am

everyplace has their own dress code to follow.
    that is a government office, so a proper attire is needed when you want to do business there.
    this has been implemented years ago,but there are still people failed to notice this.

there are reasons why rules and law are made, what if someone came to your house and they wore something that you really hate or ugly. would you enjoy looking at it or you just look somewhere else and pretend they didn’t exist.

I know everyone hate the government but please dont hate the people that are working with the government. they just doing their jobs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 28
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:26 am

Not surprised the next time we will see even post office got dress code, else tarak layan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
  • One of the higher corruption department too. JPJ corruption too.
    If really want to se how good they are check their vehicle most of their vehicle are modified. Who catch them??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • JPJ has overstepped its authority to regulate what “their customers” can wear or cannot wear. It is not their business to regulate such matters. What is next ? How tall you have to be ? How slim you have to be ? How about only muslim can enter? So all you chinese or indian dan lain lain has to convert before we enter a JPJ compound !!! I know there are a lot stupidity in JPJ but to regulate a person dress code to enter is pure dumb. For a change, please ensure all JPJ premises are clean and comfortable for “their customers” and at the same time make sure the JPJ is never offline and look into the efficiency of their counter staffs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 23
    • Anti-Pati on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:51 am

Typical, turning this to some Islam & Malay bashing post.

Her skirt is simply not professional, even to Western standards. It’s a simple as that. For example, one website’s definition of proper short skirt for business – “Ideally, short skirts must be worn with hosiery and they should come to the knee, just below the knee, or above but no more than 3″ to 4″ above.” Other defines proper business skirt as “Skirts length should be no more than 2 inches above your knee” Is the accused’s skirt look like it’s not more than 3 inches above the knee? No.

If even Orang Putih has such guidelines, why can’t Malaysians apply the same guidelines too?

-http://www.bluesuitmom.com/career/powerimage/skirts.html
      – http://www.careerhelp.umn.edu/PDFs/Professional%20Dress.pdf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
  • kev77 on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:02 am

From the tatacara, even a person wearing slippers also cannot pass.

I can understand if this tatacara is applicable to JPJ officers. But Ketua Setiausaha Negara has no business telling taxpayers what they should be wearing. I can walk into a bank with slippers without any problems.

If Ketua Setiausaha Negara insists to enforce this, then do it across the board. Every govt office. Don’t pick and choose. Let’s see what the public has to say when you do that.

Majoring on the minor. Govt run by monkeys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
    • Ang Moh on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:47 am

Now I just know bank is govt office. Tq for making me realize that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Bikini on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:17 am

They only want others to respect and follow their holy rules. Holy SHIT!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
  • sidy amir on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:26 am

Show some modesty. It is a well-known rules – coutious dress code for a gov-dealth i.e. pants/skirt must below knee. People with short skirt has a short mind.

You see, this aunt posts something humiliating herself. She shows her own stupidity. No Law-abiding-citizen for this case.

Ok. Case closed. LOL~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 36
    • De Gea on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:02 am

U said show some modesty…but look what u’re typing ?
      u’re showing ur own stupidity too ?

everyone always try to be holly but what they dont really understand their religion at all.

dont point finger at ppl when you cant stop urself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Hamzah Osman on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:29 am

JPJ little napoleons – Do NOT try to Taliban Malaysia !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
  • Erwin on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:06 am

Eh, come on guys… forget about the auntie for a while. What about you guys? Malay or Chinese, sometimes we Malaysians go out in shorts. I know I don’t like wearing jeans or slacks when I go out.

Imagine this: What if you were out on a normal day in your shorts and you were just passing through JPJ just to realize your road tax or license is expiring soon. You swing over to JPJ and they don’t layan you because of what you are wearing. I’m not only talking about Chinese here. Some of my Malay friends do wear bermuda shorts and according to the new JPJ attire requirement, you’re not supposed to be served by their agents.

Now, my question is this: Are JPJ staff government servants who are supposed to provide the public with their best service, or to criticize you and not provide service to you because of what you are wearing. Maybe to you, you may think the auntie is dressed indecently. But, that’s how chinese are dressed. I’m a chinese and I don’t usually wear jeans or slacks and that’s my identity. No questions should be asked. JPJ staff are paid by tax payers’ money and therefore, they should serve, not question!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • arw you retarded? on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:11 am

That’s how Chinese dress? I dont think so. I have never seen the traditional chinese dress like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Erwin on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:15 am

Oh i forgot to mention… it is not ok for auntie to wear skirt to JPJ. But, it is ok to give our world class MARA-mathematician-pedophile a second chance. Way to go Malaysia!! :-) Peweeeet!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • botak on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:23 am

Its not about religions, its about dresscode when get unside government facility meh, even going to some pub got dresscode maaa,..respect n being respected,..if that simple rule u cannot follow,..dont talk about improvement laaa,..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Hafiz on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:54 am

This law should only applicable if you are entering the office area, not at the service counter!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • JPJ U ARE STUPID on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:08 am

She is not a Muslim.. Therefore there is no sin for for her by wearing a skirt..
    Besides she doesn’t even look indecent..
    She looks just fine..
    Not sexy or over at all.
    GET A GRIP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • ahhaha.. do you know that christian woman have to cover their head and body too?? look at nuns in the churches. it is stated clearly in the bible. so dont bring up religion or race issue. its all about rules & regulation. simple as that. we malaysian are getting more and more hardheaded and so into the “customer always right” policy. its a gomen office. just wear decent. they dont ask u to cover your whole body like u guys like to call the taliban. so be considerate la… common malaysian.

• AmalanMasyarakat on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:39 am

sesuai dengan amalan masyarakat Malaysia atau masyarakat Malayu??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Alson P on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:45 am

It just dress code inside the building.. Nothing a big deal.. Same as when we at public swimming pool, must wear bikini, not skirt or dress or jeans… hahaha LOL :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Alson P on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:17 am

Do you need a dress code for your employees?? If your employees deal extensively with the public, it may be appropriate to require certain standards of appearance, depending on what kind of business you have.. If that’s the case, you should probably have some basic rules about what you want employees to wear.. You may even require uniforms or similar attire..

On the other hand, if your employees have no contact with the public, perhaps it’s okay if they wear casual clothes.. But how casual is appropriate? Even with a liberal policy, you may need some simple guidelines.. When deciding whether you need a dress code and what that dress code should be, consider the following:

-your business’s public image
    -the nature of the work performed by the employees affected by the dress code
    -safety standards
    -employee privacy interests
    -whether a dress code will create morale problems

You will want to select reasonable restrictions and requirements to impose on the dress and appearance of your employees.. And whether you want your employees dressing up, down, or somewhere in between, you should consider the legal issues involved when you impose a dress code..

Different place, different dress code requirements

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Yes I totally agree u on that, but that is for ppl. on duties o work… that auntie just coming to jpj to sing the transfer form for her car only n she was not working their. She only being their for few min., depending on the staff also… so why jpj so care on it?….

• Alson P on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Dress code above for custumer(visitor).. When we visit somewhere place require certain standards of appearance or similar attire..
      You(men) have to wear tight fitting teeny weeny Speedo style swimming trunks to the pool..

• Leafable on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:12 am

Sound like Islamic State on the making here. Time to leave this country before it’s too late.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Eugene Kong on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:16 am

I believe the main point is being “sopan santun”… jan this year i went to jpj at maju junction. While waiting for my turn i saw the dress code notice. Oops! I was wearing shorts & slippers.
    my turn came. I went to the counter, apologised i didnt know abt the dress code. The officer was kind enough to ask me not to worry n gestured for me to sit n served me.
    I am sure if i had shown “i m better than u” attitude, i might might be shown the way out, not even a sarong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • we need more people like you eugene kong. syabas.! not the so called kiasu “customer always right” “developed” “modern” people. a litte of “sopan santun” could change everything.

• blossom on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:33 am

i think.. i’m in love eugene!

• Papagoines on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:26 am

Why now people questioning? I remembers when I need to get my first IC, my father told me to wear proper pants and shoes, not shorts and slippers like a normal 12 years old kid would wear

this is not about religion or race la… its etiquette… you wouldn’t wear casual clothes when you go to office, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:56 am

Why go to JPJ to renew Road Tax?

Plenty of other options available

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:09 am

One of the ways to prevent this type of incident is to buy a new kimchi.

You will not need to renew your roadtax because you will sell it off before the road tax expires.

• steven see on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Your son proton also sell within 12 mths and you buy your son a new saga again.

• das auto on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:13 pm

shows how dumb is Sam. I am not sure what are you smoking but nobody goes to jpj to renew roadtax.

• DPCraft on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:14 am

So “closed minded” like dat also cannot, but tbh if go to place like this don’t wear so short larh, otherwise they will throw looks at you and ask you to wear stuff to cover up(next time maybe need to wear hijab only can go in)

• salmah idris on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:23 am

Just follow the JPJ rules…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • DPCraft on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:23 am

When they saw this they said: “So if u want to go to JPJ u don’t wear like that lah. u stay in malaysia follow the rules lay if don’t want go other country… This country starting to do Hudud rules.. If u don’t know anyhting STFU”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • kacimara on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:24 am

no more round neck t-shirt.
    “masuk tempat orang bawak otak bukan pisau”
    “Menang dengan otak tak mesti dengan pedang”

• LengChai on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:28 am

bawa kenderaan dekat jalan pun ada undang-undang, tak kan cara berpakaiaan tiada undang-undang. perlu ada guideline supaya nampak lebih sopan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • asraf on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:31 am

1. We go to other people house, we respect their rule.
    2. Yes, we pay income tax (if you pay), they are serving us. Hence, JPJ pls improve your efficiency to reduce the need to go to counter personally. Maybe delivery service at extra cost with enough security verification. Connect with JPN, LHDN or even loan database of banks.

• Omen Necrofis on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:36 am

Hormati peraturan jika kita sendiri ingin dihormati oleh orang lain.

• respect on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:21 am

you are right! hormati peraturan if you want other to hormati you. BUT JPJ oso tidak patuhi peraturan yang sewajarnya but chit chat shj and mostly let the client wait. Then imposed another strict rules. If like this how are we going to hormati JPJ?

• Joannas on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:38 am

There is a dress code for every occasion, my friends. Yes, it is her rights to dress whatever she wants, but she needs to follow the dress code stipulated by the respective authority if she wishes to get her work done without any hassle. Many of the young fellas, of particular those who proud themselves of being so called open-minded, seem to have difficulties in understanding and abiding to rules and regulations set by the authorities. Was it ok for you to not dress in school attire when you attended primary and secondary schools? Was it acceptable for you to dress in pyjamas/bikinis while attending your friends’ wedding dinner or going to the church/mosque/temple etc? How do you feel if someone whom you have invited to join your graduation ceremony appeared in sandals and shorts? The answer is only too obvious, right? Do not compare the requirements in Malaysia with those practices in other countries. I believe that most of the white people will try their best in dressing appropriately when they have official matters to deal with the government officers. I have seen Caucasians dressing in full business attire when they are meeting government officials in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • hisham dean on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:43 am

Why are there so many people saying nasty things about a matured woman wearing a short skirt? Are you people saying, it would be proper if it was a teenager wearing one?

• hisham dean on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:43 am

Why are there so many people saying nasty things about a matured woman wearing a short skirt? Are you people saying, it would be proper if it was a teenager wearing one?

• JPJ. Dont get me start on talking about them. Like all Govt Department. They incompetent, lazy, inefficient and above all always system down. Now they want ppl to respect and follow their rules and regulations? Thanks but no thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
  • clutch_plate on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:55 am

What is wrong with u guys? u bash like no tomorrow.. I don’t think it’s too hard to follow these rules. just simple rules – dress properly.. come on.. I know maybe most of u hate the government but please don’t hate the people that are working with the government. they just doing their jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Man Universal on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:00 am

That’s the standard dress code for anybody entering Government buildings in this country; no matter who you are whether Muslims or non-Muslims, as simple as that. People who question this are obviously illiterate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • rigid on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:18 am

we all know which govt depts are corrupt, but this case is about dress code. i wouldnt go to funeral ceremony with this kind of attire, but i dont want to walk around german FKK area with my body covered attire either. if u know what i mean is, dress properly in which occasion u wanna be in. i did read some comments on FB some youngsters saying dat they are treated like this auntie too, they just wear sarong, do their whatever job and finish it quickly. simple as that. we got more things to think and do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • dodgeviper88 on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:23 am

Welcome to Malaysia, where we’re concerned of your modesty more than your safety, wellbeing and basic human rights! But we’re really concerned of your modesty, seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • BeckHam on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:27 am

In Malaysia no much people give a hoot about finger rape case. But focus on how long the skirt is above the knee. Malas boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Ali Omar on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:29 am

Dressing ethics before efficiency ?? Sounds just about right. Malaysia Boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • I went to JPJ yesterday in shorts and t-shirts. No one said how I should wear before entering their office. Is this another propaganda or real incident?

• auntieRose on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:49 am

Most people who are commenting here..are emotionally unstable. Come on..it is just a simple dress code rules in government office only. You still can wear anything u like elsewhere..but don’t get naked like an idiot at the beach.

They are some people keep saying I’m a tax payer, well how much money that you have given..a million? Don’t you enjoy all the facilities that government provided? I’m not pro government but I just try to be wise and please don’t go and blaming other race and religion because of this rules. They don’t ask you to wear hijab anyway. If you don’t like they way malaysian should live in peace and harmony..go migrate to other country where you can get naked on the street or perhaps serve you like a king which you can do anything and say anything.

I’ve experience myself when I was at the customs office where one lady aging 30-35 (I guess) wearing super short pant like she is in a mission to find customer for herself. This is embracing for me as a women. Even more when you are not so young wearing short skirt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
  • This is what we call pakaian menjolok tekak.

• anakjambi on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:20 am

Auntie

if you were young and sexy, I think they will not let you wear that sarong…he he he

• SaveTheEarth on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:22 am

Ridiculous, JPJ what kind of its special. Even your toilet look like ages old, dirty, long queue, not enough space for sitting, air conditioner not cold. Is silly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Unnecessary dress code by JPJ, if people can choose people don’t want to go JPJ. Now what century already still got people say aunty wearing is not suitable?
    why aunty cant wear mini skirt?
    you have no right to ask aunty stop wearing mini skirt, and if compare aunty wearing mini skirt is
    younger and better than wearing sarong.

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:52 am

To me JPJ has wrongly used dressing properly/code to address an issue of dressing decently.

• The first this comes to the mind of normal gov servants is how can they serve the people.
    But the first thing Malaysian gov servants is to judge the attire of the person, then the wealth (of course bigger car gets bigger attention) and finally the ethnicity.

• Please lets be civilised first before name calling. The lady is NOT indecently dressed. However for some lower grade officers due to their religious upbringing, over enthusiasm to show power or lack of understanding think or belief differently. She’s not going to JPJ for a business meeting or to pick up a date … its basic frontdesk services (similar to a bank). JPJ, GLCs and gov depts should hire different races based on merit and focus on productivity and better enforcement. Please let’s learn to live in harmony and improve ourselves first. Religion, racial bigotry and politics is used to brainwash, divide and control … let common sense and logic prevail. Leadership is poor in these gov depts … they need to focus on the bigger picture. Suggest to start off in good faith JPJ must apologise to that lady. Pemandu take note … this is a symptom not the cause.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • razzif on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:11 am

it call dress code…nothing to do with religious. this rules and regulation was been implement by gov long time ago la…

same R&R if you see your boss or your client with short pants and toilet slipper at office hour…do you think your boss/client will entertain you?

basic rules: you have to know what to wear depending on the time of the event.

• lu tak suka, lu keluar on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:51 am

Err… If your boss or client wears short pants and slipper at office hour, you’ll still entertain them right? Else, you’ll get fired!

• razzif on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:44 pm

cos you not the one who make the R&R. just follow the rules…this R&R should not be the issue at the first place pun…

have you ever see any bos/client come to meet you at office with slipper? what is you impression to them? look cool and sempoi or no ethics?

those politician who again this, why on earth they do not come to parliament with short pants, singlet and toilet slipper? and why do we have to wear formal attire when we go to interview? slipper and streetwear also should be ok what?

• Come on my friends, this is simple dress code rules for government office only. Just follow, and you still can dress what ever you want outside there.

• Ugh! Based on the comments above, looks like its okay to do a “Mt Kinabalu show” and travel anywhere without clothes.

And I should feel insulted if others feel insulted about my manliness. Feminists can go fucuk!

• TheTruth on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:43 am

What is the point of acting so holy need cover up with Sarong?
    When go back home time they do funny things with their daughters…

• It is a simple rule for any human being when you go to some place, you need to abide by the rules. When you go to a place of worship, there are proper attire. When you go for swimming, there also the right attire. Same goes if you have some business in a government building. Human needs to be discipline, there is a thin line between human behavior and monkey behavior.

• caprico on Jun 09, 2015 at 11:56 am

Aunty,your attire is like a hooker that JPJ have to hand you the sarong. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Malique Taufan on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:00 pm

During the induction with HR at big oil & gas multinational company, most of the new comer wonder, what is the dress code (office attire) for the company. So one of us ask the representative.

The only response she could give is, “except for mini skirt! But, if people want to wear one to office, nothing much we could do right?”

Well. That’s my company. Multinational with multinationals. Over 40 citizenship under 1 roof. Multicultural. But the one thing we agreed, mini skirt never a formal/acceptable/office/decent attire.

Jadi, bila kau berurusan dgn pejabat kerajaan, sila la hormat peraturan yg suruh kau pakai sopan. Kalau kau xpakai sopan, jgn la marah bila org xnak layan. Pastu buat kecoh kat social media.

• sammy on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Can someone please give her a better sarong?
    Honestly the sarong looked worse on her then without it.
    Looks like a gunny sack on her.
    Just how does the sarong look more “Sesuai” and “Kemas” on her then without it?
    If you been to Batu Cave, those given out to the tourists with super short pants were much better.

• halimievo on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Seeing all the comments above. Malaysian need another 100 years to be civilized. I am no talking about Malays. Chinese the same. We Chinese have to be smarter to live in this land as the law usually favors the majority. Even if they kill or rape, they will be freed, we killed for defending ourselves, get jail terms for 2-3 years. So, when we know whatever we do is against the law to them. we just do according to the regulation and surely no one will target us.

It is sad indeed, but what to do? If we said too much comments they will ask us to leave not knowing we control 60% of the economy. When we just voice out our concerns regarding our nations, they will say its non of our business. When we kept quiet trying to stay out of trouble when something bad happened in Malaysia, they will say we don’t care about Malaysia and not patriotic. When many of us join the armed force, they will be suspicious of us. Now we stay out of the armed force, which if coup de’tat happens it will be the easiest access, they said we are kiasu, kiasi, and not willing to sacrifice for the country.

So I ask my fellow Chinese brothers and sisters, our blood running in our veins isn’t some cheapo coward blood. We can survive with harsh condition and suppression for many years and still prevail. So I say lets continue what we do best, earn money and build the nation that we love. Let the majority of them play with politics and get spoon-fed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Bro. Dont be so proud n looking down on other race. You yourself showed others how arrogant u are. If u want malaysia to be a harmony country please throw your racism attitude out. We dont need racist malay/chinese/indian or whoever. Im sick of this racism. Being judge by colours and religion. Basic thing. Awak nak ddk malaysia nak ada IC malaysia tapi basic bahasa malaysia pun tak tau cakap.. Pastu nak complain pasal semua benda.. If everybody have the same narrow minded like u. Malaysia will collapse anytime soon. Semua issue boleh jadi issue race. Look at the greater picture. Simple rules pun tak boleh follow ka?? Pandai2 pikir2 la friend. Jangan buat malu kaum jer.

• Just like going to library. No bermuda, no slipper …. what is this? Library is supposed to be relaxed while reading book.

• CommonSense on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Those people defending JPJ’s dress code ruling are missing out one simple thing. Yes, they may have the right to impose these rules, and even enforce them. But the question is, SHOULD they? More specifically, should they have enforced the ruling in such a tactless and hostile manner? The answer is, of course not. What they should have done is to quietly give the lady a warning/reminder of JPJ’s dress ruling and then tell her not to dress like that in the future. Then proceed to do their ACTUAL job, which is to serve her. That way, a scene would have been avoided, and it would not have drawn unnecessary attention to her dressing by those present (the public, not the easily distracted officers).

• To most people, dressed up to go party or event or dinner.
    To these people, dressed up to go gov office and library because they don’t know the existence of party or event.

• This is not a court house for crying out loud.

JPJ office is like any other office, like a post office. People go there for a reason and that reason is mainly to get something done over the counter.

Its not like she was meeting the JPJ director to adhere to dress codes. Nonsense!

These are all part of a big conspiracy to kill the colourful multiracial society.

• THE STUPID THINGS on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:53 pm

I think all people need to waer sarong in near future.so all people, gov and you ‘PUAS HATI’. The thing is the aunty is not sexy at all. Why this country people become more and more dumb? This country need savior. DAMN!!

• Zhan Zunjing on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:05 pm

in bolehland, being decent means cover yourself from head to toe in black…decent dress code for all malaysian women..

• start-a-fight on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:09 pm

you should thank JPJ for this dress code,

the last thing u wanna see while queuing up in DMV, is something nasty that you wish you are blind.

it is frustrating to deal with them, at least a good scenery while waiting.. the sarong is not for the officer, it for those who waiting at the back..

• you know ah, i penah pegi itu bank tau. this old lady wearing sleveless shirt. unfortunately, the smell of the ketiak made a day so horrible u know. haiyaaa…

• Dress Code Required on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:14 pm

JPJ officer asks auntie to wear on something, not to wear off her cloth. This dress code at government office already been there a long time ago. It was your fault because not knowing it.

• Very soon will need to wear till left two eyes…

• Head Hunter on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:36 pm

I renewed my license, roadtax and number plate on 3 separate occassions wearing shorts and sandals. Tak ada apa2 pun? Uncle2 bawa lorry, amoi Insurance yang super sexy and even Old uncle with baju round neck pun tak ada problem? Why suddenly this lady all the huha jpj want to enforce dresscode? Bukannya saya nak jumpa menteri? Bukan nak jumpa high level officer pun? If you say District Office, Fed Offices with official matters i can understand. This one ridiculuous.

• Jpj staff can’t stand looking at women’s legs. Ask them go to the city if they see any legs they will ask them to wear sarongs. If they watch Hollywood movies showing women in skirts they should write letter of protest to the producers.

• The aunty skirt is not super short. It’s only few inches away from her knee. I can understand when they don’t allowed people who dress in super short skirts or shorts to govt building. But she is not revealing at all. This is stupid.

• chan kam keong on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:31 pm

This is not a matter of race or religion. The matter here is a Government Department, which is meant to serve all citizens. So someone from the kampungs comes in a pair of shorts and sandals, must he return in long pants and shoes before being served?
    A government department should serve whoever comes up to the counter. Next we will have to dress up to go to a Government Clinic. Thus only the well dressed will be served by the government.
    Some would say, mana ada orang yang tidak ada long pants and shoes, well friends, many do not. It is an added expenses they do not need.

• chikubi on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Go gambling at genting and watch ochestra in klcc also need dress code…why when jpj implement the same thing geng2 kapir melalak…bodoss

• Richard on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:29 am

Genting – if you don’t like to wear a dress code as per Genting Club, VIP, IR, Elite & etc, you can choose not to go in.
      But if we don’t like JPJ where else can we go?

For your cheap info – as a private sector business, Genting also allow short skirts & slipper. No money also can go in and stay as long as you wish. There is also free drink provided.

If you don’t like KLCC Ochestra then go to lounge or roadside funfare, or restaurant with “singer” & flower. So many choices available. If we don’t like Public Authoruty services – we got no alternative.

• tgk kaki pompuan x leh focus keja ka? haha3

• Wong Vui Jye on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:04 pm

To you all PT follower.
    This dress code is absurd especially for female (Please refer to the 40’s female working attire). They need to get consensus from the private sector as well before can enforce such ruling.
    For MALE
    As long not shorts only is fine.

For FEMALE Non-Muslim (The pic is not a guide; it’s a must)
    -Must wear loose long skirt no leg skin exposed
    -No form fitting long pants allowed(working pants, jeans, or legging)
    -Loose long sleeve shirt (button long sleeve is not allowed either)
    -Only neck can be expose.
    Shoes that cannot see the toes.
    They are others as well if you look closely.

• Nicholas on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:37 pm

First of all I want to insist that I’m not racist, but I think the problem arise because of different up-bringing between us… For most Chinese the acceptable level of clothes bareness before it is consider indecent is higher than most Malay hence what consider indecent by most Malay appear to be normal for most Chinese. Since this is a matter effecting all races, it should be paid more consideration instead of one sidedly decide that it is improper… On one last note, there is nothing right or wrong regarding this case

• Is it acceptable to wear sarong to government offices? It also appear to be wrong dress code.

JPJ and all govt officers – you need to review your dress code.

• commoner on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Well said bro,this is one I agree!
      They were breaking their own rules, you cannot wear sarong arent you?
      so why give sarong to this aunty?

• middle earth on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Some really need to use their brain if they have any,its a dress code, why relate it to something else sexy,politics,race,religion, etc..
    Dress code for heaven’s sake! Do you really think taking oath as a US president in power suit is because thats isnt a revealing dress??
    next time you show up in your in laws house, be naked and give them some lecture on multicultural society, freedom etc..

• Since sarong is acceptable for JPJ, Next time wear sarong when u go for fine dining or someone wedding dinner or birthday party..

• Steve Kom on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:41 pm

If the staffs at JPJ spend less time watching or searching for ladies with short skirts and focus on their work…
    There won’t be long Q at JPJ.

• Ainon on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Given our multicultural context I don’t think that she’s indecently dressed to warrant wearing a sarong. It is not much different from someone who wears a hijab but in full length tight fitting clothes.
    But on the point of appropriate dressing, this is where many Malaysians fail. I’m sure you’ve come across people who go to wedding receptions or open houses wearing t-shirts, shorts and slippers. Its like they’re saying; “Hey thanks for inviting us but as you know the Malaysian weather is hot and humid and we don’t really respect you enough to bother ourselves with wearing shirts, long pants and shoes because it makes us sweaty and uncomfortable. By the way the free food is good.”
    The key is to be appropriately dressed for the occasion and some people are just so selfish thinking only about their comfort but ignoring the significance of the occasion, the place and the fact that their behavior is very disrespectful to the hosts.
    If Mat Sallehs from much colder countries doing business here can wear a full suit and tie when meeting with Malaysian clients why can’t we be respectful with each other and try to put on something that’s appropriate for the occasion and the place.

• WangWang on Jun 09, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Just a branch of sick mind people working in JPJ
    The whole JPJ is a mentally sick group

• Seriously? They are telling people what to wear now? This is a typical dictatorship form of government.

The JPJ works for the citizens of the country. Your tax dollars pays for their operations! Who are they to discriminate against people who cant dress well. What if someone is unable to afford such clothing?

Maybe they should spend more time improving their efficiency and lowering the waiting time instead of focusing on such petty issues. I live in the U.S and never will you see such a thing posted at any government agencies, especially the DMV. Also, the weather in Malaysia is so freaking hot and they expect you to wear long pants?

• Richard on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:11 am

When you can not perform you will divert the attention of the public to non-productive area. This is how the Public Authorities work.

Save the time to think ways of improve your work flow and save the time of public and let rakyat have more time to earn more money to pay GST.

Think about time rakyat have been wasted in JPJ which can be solved by using more IT. If every hour is RM5 per person. I believe that JPJ has wasted > RM42 billion productivity money.

If we go on wasting money and don’t concentrate to improve of productivity. One day we have to go Indonesia and become Kakak over there.

Have to stop now. Tomorrow need to go indonesia cari makan.

• Kabang on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:52 am

To many Malaysians, Suzanne’s dress is not indecent. She is not over exposed and this is a common way our non-Muslim women are dressed, so KSN should review its dress code to respect and suit all Malaysians.

• Duke Nukem 3D on Jun 10, 2015 at 7:32 am

how can jpj justify “sarong” as “pakaian kemas”. firstly sarong is not even in the list. sarong is used for home and or sleep wear. we just need another 100 to walk in with “sarong” bloody shamefull bunch of idiots who cant even differenciate the differences of “pakaian kemas”. sooner or later we will see all the pak cik and mak ciks in sarong all over the malls.

• Ismail on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:23 am

1. Islamisation slowly creeping in, this dress code should only apply to muslims.

2. Maybe this aunty went to shopping or whatsoever then suddenly remember she have to go JPJ to settle some stuff, so she have to go back home and change again just for the sake of the stupid dress code?

• otak lutut on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:32 am

To Malay it is sexy because they are otak lutut

• gorshan on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:30 am

The auntie is dressed decently. any idiot can see that. but for others who wants to impose their religion’s value on other, the auntie’s dressing fell short of their religion’s perceived requirement and interpretation.

perhaps to be on the safe side and to ensure the govt official did not interpret wrongly their religious requirement of what constitute decency, they should make black burqa a strict compulsory. those who felt that imposing such requirement on person of other faith should take the matter to court.

• Alson P on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Yes you heard right.
      You have to wear tight fitting teeny weeny Speedo style swimming trunks to the pool..

• Citizen with love on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Saronggate should not be the way/inappropriate…but the dress code must be adhere by everybody…and dont forget take bath also ..

• http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/bahasa/article/peraturan-jpj-timbulkan-persoalan-adakah-malaysia-ingin-jadi-iran
    my opinion……
    Why some of the chinese are so pathetic..just follow the rules.Malaysia is not like iraq country.U can wear sexsi dress anywhere but not at the goverment offices.According to the code you can where skirt but not above the knee.This is not pasar malam.If you said Malaysia is a multinasional country why dun u respect n tolarate.Is not that u cannot wear short skirt at all.The JPJ should not be doing that giving sarong n make that nyonya looks like a fool as if it a stupid joke or what..instead they should prepare a trouser or long skirt not kain sarong.The nyonya should sue JPJ for embarassing her in public.Wearing sexsi is not the chinese culture either nor even the indian..it the western culture and being followed not only by the chinese,indian and but also the Malay too also wearing sexsi…i dun think people wearing sari and chongsam are seksi if they wear the traditional pattern of chongsam not the modern one.the original chengsom is not sleeveless.even you wear kebaya u still will look seksi..the jubah also wore but some of muslim make them look sexsi when they wear the tight one.So goverment please highlight the defination of sexsi and what is the proper code dress when going to their premise. Dunno why the chinese always making fuss about small issues.just because you already away from your own heritage and claim to be so western still u r a chinese n not even close to the western.Your outfit does not resemble wether you are modern or not.In the western country nost of the sexsi and unappropiate dress were wear by a prostitute or low class people.You can see how the high class n educated western dress themself up. If u think that the malay care about ur amoy2 showing off all part of the body they dun give a shit bout it even thou they disagree n still respect their peers or frens…plus most of the malay guys enjoy seeing their beautiful white body and of coz without paying anything they received free show not only malays but most of the men enjoy seeing sexsi ladies…is their rite to stares bcoz u also sex harresment the men by showing part of your body for free….we as a muslim dun even interfere when seeing sexsi women at the mall or in public tranportation bcoz it is their rite to wear whatever dress they desire..in islam we were ask to respect other people religion…even when i ask my chinese student about what is Buddha..one of them will said miss we are sorry we dun really understand about our religion..we are buddha bcoz our parent are buddha..we just do what they do..even when they admit as christian they said that they just follow…u better teach your generation about buddha bcoz the history n the moral value in it is very good..even in christian it still have moral values but why dun u used it as a guideline in your races life..welcome back 16 Mei i think we are heading back to that moment!

• SEKSI ITU SEKSA on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Sokong jika peraturan ini juga dilaksanakan di semua premis dan pejabat kerajaan. Kalau siapa2 nak pakai seksi ke seksa ke jabatan kerajaan bukan tempatnya. Tak suka? Jangan duduk Malaysia. kerajaan juga patut buat ujian bahasa melayu kepada semua warganegara malaysia. Yang tak reti bahasa, boleh lucutkan kerakyatan sebab tak cukup syarat!

• This country is pathetic, you people will rot here while cheering

• Masrizal on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Last item : dilarang BERSELIPAR ?
    Slippers also cannot ?! How about sandal or crocs ?

• Ethan on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:35 am

What is the definition between the frontier of public and private? The issue of being solicitude towards culture but not religion.

• Nuff Said on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Malaysia is run by political dogs and religious monkeys. Nuff said