30-tonne lorry with brake failure crashes into 24 cars

lorry crash KL 10

A horrifying incident involving a lorry crashing into no less than 24 vehicles in Kuala Lumpur made the news yesterday. Fully laden with sand, the 30-tonne lorry driver reportedly lost control of his brakes on Jalan Jelatek and had no choice but to plough through the cars in traffic.

As is clear from these pictures from siakapkeli.my, it took quite a lot of force to bring such a heavy vehicle to a complete stop. Fortunately enough, though, Kuala Lumpur Traffic Police investigation and traffic law officer DSP S. Markandan told the press that there were no casualties or severe injuries reported.

An investigation of the incident is being conducted, and the police will issue an official statement soon.

Now folks, as far as reminders to keep your vehicles in check go, this is as good as any. It’s extremely important to service your cars within the recommended intervals (mileage or time dependant, whichever comes first), and for those who choose to use independent workshops instead of official service centres, do make sure the technician/mechanic checks the brakes too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ainon on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:17 pm

The truck looks so unroadworthy like an accident about to happen and happened it did. Only its not one but 24 accidents at once. About time to scrap all these dangerous vehicles off from our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • freddie on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:30 pm

The lorry was finally stopped by Proton Gen2 as in the first picture. See how strong a Proton is?

Say no more, my next car will be a Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 33
    • was a Persona. Lorry helped make it a Gen.2

• rafman7 on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Hye Freddie. FYI, The momentum of the truck was at the lowest point when it hit the Gen-2 where the truck stopped. It doesn’t mean Proton vehicle is much more stronger than others (if u aware about Proton’s Body Material Quality). The truck already lost 98% of its momentum when it hits 23 Vehicles before stopped by a Gen-2. I’m not putting Proton down, just explaining some technical details. TQ.

• rafman7 on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Hye Freddie. FYI, The momentum of the truck was at the lowest point when it hit the Gen-2 where the truck stopped. It doesn’t mean Proton vehicle is much more stronger than others (if u aware about Proton’s Body Material Quality). The truck already lost 98% of its momentum when it hits 23 Vehicles before stopped by a Gen-2. I’m not putting Proton down, just explaining some technical details. TQ.

• dynaz on Jun 15, 2015 at 3:22 am

Hye Freddie, I am the owner of the red proton. And no its not gen2. Its persona. My car was rammed and pushed in the middle between the 2 rows of traffic for a good few metres before finally it stopped. All 4 sides of my car is damaged and I don’t know who will cover all the repair costs. Still having panic attacks whenever I’m on the road and see any big lorries or being in traffic jams because being trapped in a car that is being rammed between cars with no way out really does mess with your head.

• Really on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:33 pm

One of the biggest auto insurance claim in Malaysian history. If the insurance company for the lorry want to pay out, that is.

• Snobs on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:39 pm

I know maintenance is the responsibility of the owner, but doesn’t all commercial vehicles have to go through Puspakom inspection twice a year to ensure the vehicles are at least in acceptable condition, brakes included?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Midnight on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:26 pm

there’s something called makan duit in all of this kind of things.. pay a runner to do it for you.. the lorry doesn’t even need to go into puspakom and done.. its “road worthy”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Menwohats on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Who these people paying the runners. Cannot catch them ah?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:41 pm

The owner of the lorry who hired the runner should have to pay for the damages, as well as the Puspakom employee who signed off this truck as roadworthy. If they find that the brakes really were at fault. Whoever caused this has to pay.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Puspakom is a joke really.

I used to have a leased company vehicle, that had to go for Puspakom twice a year. I wonder how they can actually approve of the test, when I got it back with a busted headlight, and a bit of black smoke out of the exhaust (it was a diesel).

• a non on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:47 pm

No german cars tho

• transporter on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Brakes failed? Don’t write it off as technical error so fast. These guys fill their lorries to the brim and then water it down to increase the tonnage when they unload. With the increased weight, the brakes easily when you try to bring the vehicle to an abrupt stop. It’s greed.

• amedeus on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:23 am

Well another stingy company try to save cost and damaged others car to stop their brakeless lorry. ask the boss use his personal car to stop his lorry.

• Wan Rosina Wam Mohamed on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:20 pm

It does seem that Myvi is the most popular car in Malaysia. There seems to be so many Myvi in this accident.

• squall_shinoda on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:07 am

What makes things worse is that there are some rude lorry drivers acting like gangsters. When people like us complain about their behaviour and dangerous driving habits on the road, they simply assume that we’re making enemies with the entire lorry driver community. That is what happened to me when many lorry drivers attacked my blog’s Facebook site regarding this incident, and I’ve identified 3 drivers to be the culprit spreading the defamation. I’m going to the police station to make a police report and then I’m going to sue them in the court.

• Come to think about it on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:50 am

The scrappage scheme the gov were talking about, should start with these lorries first… What if there weren’t any cars but mopeds by a primary school instead? Plough through them to stop?

• Perhaps on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:31 am

Perhaps the gov should impose the scrappage scheme on these commercial vehicles? Would be devastating if it had ploughed through motorcyclists and pedestrians…

• Leafable on Jun 18, 2015 at 6:13 pm

JPJ are a clown organisation.

From now on on Volvo SUV for me.