Please use child seats to balik kampung this Hari Raya – get FREE child car seat rental from us at paultan.org

paultan.org MBM free child seats 01

Dear readers, dear parents, the Hari Raya Aidilfitri season will be upon us soon and to most of us, that brings about long and arduous balik kampung journeys.

It’s an undeniable fact that accident rates spike up during these periods. The risk of having a crash is just that much higher with so many cars on the roads, all rushing to be back home before the big day.

Now, the least we can all do is to try to keep our own family safe the best we can, to not turn what is supposed to be a joyful season into a mournful one. At this juncture, we wish to again remind everyone of the importance of child car seats. Parents, if you’re looking for a time to start using one, this is as good as any.

One of the more common reasons given among Malaysia parents for not using child seats is that they are too costly to buy. From our own research however, we’ve found that proper ECE R44-certified child seats can be had for around RM400.

That’s not a small amount by any means, sure, but if you really think about it, it’s less than what you’d spend on a set of bodykit, fancy alloy wheels, etc. Those are mere optional add-ons, compared to a child car seat that is a basic necessity for kids.

FREE child seat rental – a community service by paultan.org, sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia

Photo 1A

If you don’t want to use child seats everyday, at least use them during the Raya period when the accident rates are higher? We at paultan.org, sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia, have decided to try to do something this Raya to make a small bit of difference.

We have bought a total of 165 units of ECE R44-compliant child seats (60 non-Isofix and 50 Isofix seats sponsored by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia) and we’re offering FREE child car seat rentals to 165 Malaysian families for them to use over the Hari Raya month. The FREE rental period will be for one month.

Two types of seats are available. The first is the SNSKIDZ Star convertible car seat, which can be used both rear-facing (0-10 kg) or forward-facing (10-25 kg). This seat uses seat belt installation instead of Isofix.

The second is a Koopers Mambo, an Isofix-type convertible child seat, which can also be used both rear-facing (0-10 kg) or forward-facing (10-18 kg). It comes with a support leg to limit the seat’s movement.

A big thank you to Safe ‘n Sound and Koopers for offering the seats to us at a great price.

If you don’t require the assistance of this programme and wish to buy one for yourself, the SNSKIDZ Star is available for purchase here.

SNSKIDZ Star Rear-Facing Installation

Child car seats paultan.org 011

If your child weighs 10 kg and below, you are recommended to use a rear-facing seat. The SNSKIDZ Star can be installed rear-facing, using different routing for the seat belts. When you collect your rental seats from us at Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s MobileKids 2015 showcase at The School Jaya One, we will install it for you and make sure you’re trained on how to install it properly.

In fact, this is actually a good way to ensure the adults in the back with the child have more space as the wider part of the child seat is no longer at the seat back, allowing better shoulder room. We’ve used a Perodua Myvi for the demo. You can also interact with your child better.

SNSKIDZ Star Front-Facing Installation

Child car seats paultan.org 007

This is how the SNSKIDZ Star seat looks like installed forward-facing, ideal for kids weighing between 10 to 25 kg. As per above, we’ll install it in your car for you and we’ll even provide you training on how to install the seat properly in your car.

As you can see from the photo above, the seat is compact enough to fit in smaller cars, without taking up too much space. The demo vehicle here is a Perodua Myvi.

Koopers Mambo Rear-Facing Installation

paultan.org_free_child_seat_rental_ 003

As above, you’re recommended to use a rear-facing seat if your child weighs 10 kg and below. The Koopers Mambo (above left) is an Isofix-type seat, and is simpler to install compared to a belt-type seat (right). But in any case, we’ll still provide training on how to do put it on correctly in your Isofix-equipped vehicles.

It comes with a support leg, which works as an additional brace to minimise seat movement in an event of a crash. We’ll show you the proper way to make sure it’s locked in place.

Koopers Mambo Front-Facing Installation

paultan.org_free_child_seat_rental_ 005

The Koopers Mambo can be turned around to be used as a forward-facing seat, ideal for kids weighing between 10 to 18 kg.

What is the point of this? Child seats should be used everyday!

We agree, but that’s preaching to those who are already convinced. There are many out there who still do not used child seats even though there have been many attempts at educating about how necessary they are.

There must be some other reason these families do not use child seats. So we are trying to address the affordability factor during a critical period which has increased accident rates.

After the rental period has ended, we will see if the families who have rented them decide they want to use one permanently, then we will make arrangements for easier purchase of the seat they have rented.

Interested? We hope you are!

Just fill up the form attached below, and we’ll be in contact with the selected families as soon as we can.

You will need to put up a deposit (RM150 for the non-Isofix seat, RM300 for the Isofix seat) when you collect it from us at Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s MobileKids 2015 showcase at The School Jaya One. This deposit will be fully refunded to you when you return the seat to us on July 31, 2015. We are offering low deposit amounts (significantly below the cost of the seat) so it doesn’t significantly affect the cash flow of families during the Raya period.

Dear readers, if this doesn’t apply to your own family, please help us spread the word. Tell your friends, share this on Facebook and Twitter, and let’s make our roads safer for the kids together.

The FREE rental period will be until July 31, 2015.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• olio benzina on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Even though my kids have outgrown child seats, hats off to you folks at PaulTan for doing this.

Thank you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 1
    • BMW Malaysia Alan Harris MALU on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:18 pm

BMW Malaysia should follow Paul Tan and how generous he is instead of ripping Malaysians of with car seat that cost RM2000 plus a compulsory ISOFIX that cost RM1500.

BMW Malaysia, in Europe ISOFIX is compulsory. In Malaysia, you charge this to screw the rakyat even further.

Paul Tan is a small kuci company and yet they can help the rakyat. BMW Malaysia is a crony conglomerate of SIme Darby. Earn billions per annum. And yet, cannot even do something like this.

Worse still, go and squeeze even more money from owners. RM3500 for a mere car seat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 15, 2015 at 10:46 am

Hello friends of PT. UMW also got promotion now. Before your Raya trip, come in any Toyota SC, you can rent free VSC unit for your car so that you got no accident.

UMW is giving this unit free but must return the VSC when you finish your journey

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Bravo, good job to PT!

Regardless you are sushi cars, conti cars, kimchi, Perodua or Proton junk, everyone should use childseat for the kids.

You can always change car, but your kids only live once.

• The two bears also cuddly ma…… :-P

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:01 am

I don’t know whether my colleague Sam Loo (ori1) said here but we at UMW now renting out free VSC unit for your car. Upon returning you must return the VSC to UMW.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:13 pm

I’ve been a long long long time reader and commenter of this place, but wow.

I am at a loss of words when I read this, because for what is essentially a small company, the extent they go to not only deliver us the content (for free – looking at you /Drive+) that is unparalleled in quality but also in speed, but also actually making a difference in peoples lives for absolutely no fees to them, is simply amazing.

Tell me, how many car manufacturers would actually have this. Go on, Proton, Perodua? Millions in profit, yet nothing. You can offer bodykits, offer steering locks, but can’t offer a free child seat or even a rental child seat… Go please, please go to the corner and think about it because seriously, these guys are really on to something.

Paul and co., you have my standing ovation, and a salute. Seriously, wow.

As for those travelling, I highly recommend you to sign up, especially if you are travelling this Raya. What do you have to lose? The refundable deposit, no cost to you. And you get to keep your priceless gift, your child safe. Please, take a step back, instead of getting that extra box of cookies, why not get this, and after all you will also get your money back AND not get your calories.

WIN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 2
    • Mari Bercukur on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Paul Tan give this free but BMW Malaysia try to take opportunity to make even more money by selling overpriced car seats costing thousands for Hari Raya.

Last year Sime Motors made hundreds of millions in clean profit. People like Datuk Lawrence should tell BMW Malaysia not to sell their car seat but give it free in all BMW cars.

After all, they make a cool RM100k clean profit on every BMW sold!

• Mari Bercukur on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Proton, please do this instead of sucking our LHDN money every year. You get free money from the rakyat every year to the tune of billions.

Oh yeah, it has come out. Government of Malaysia rents all their Protons for RM225 million per year from Sparco (a middle man UMNO man).

Maybe Sparco can sponsor free car seats since they are making so much money of the Government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Irlan Norris Dato Ishak on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Thank you Paul Tan. Very kind of you guys. This is true CSR. I wish other car companies can do this too. Many people cannot afford a car seat and what you are doing is the kindest ever act.

God bless you all. Kipidap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Gargantia on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Finally paultan.org come to safe Rakyat.

And not the Gomen cronies that ask us to buy this buy that at GST era !!!

Thanks and really appreciate this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Wow cheers to you guys at paultan.org for initiating such a good service to the public. You all really go the extra mile to preach safety not just to the public but to the manufacturers who skimp on safety features and now this.

Once again kudos to you all!

• Bravo paultan.org team. Bravo!

We have one kid but 3 cars. I would like to support SNSKIDZ by buying one of these car seats. How can I go about this?

• Paul Tan on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:22 pm

You can order it here:

http://www.safensound.com.my/

• DakHazee on Jun 16, 2015 at 9:21 am

good Job PaulTan.org and the main man Mr. Paul Tan. but i already have a child Car Seat. maybe can consider on giving free training / demo on how to install it properly with our own child car Seat?

again, thank you for your great effort.

• linda on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:22 am

Dear mr pt, bravo truly great effort! I have a hyundai starex , and the back seats all only have 2 points seat belts can the SNS carseat be fixed using only 2 points seat belts?

• mak yoke chee on Jul 01, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Hi Paul Tan, if I’m not selected for the free rental car seat may I rent one from your company? May I know the rental fees for a month? Need one urgently!!! Contact number please. Thanks.

• helmizul@ on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:05 pm

I’m amazed by this noble effort. Salute

• Nenek Kau on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Hats off to you guys at Paultan! That is simply a brilliant idea and should put shame to the gov think tankers.

• PEKEMA BUAT Apa? on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Where is the PEKEMA president Datuk always come here and say how good AP system is and why Government must always keep the AP system going.

Datuk, why don’t you yourself donate a few car seats?

• PDAM BUAT Apa? on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Where is the Petrol Dealers Association Datuk who always come here and cry and ask Government to compensate them when petrol prices fall?

Now petrol prices go up, PDAM is making so much of free money. Now, PDAM should also donate a few car seats, maybe 100 units.

PT Readers can never forget how PDAM cry and cry like a baby and demand Government Compensate them when petrol went down

• Calvin on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Great effort guys, biggest difference you guys made by far.
    Just enquiring is it possible to buy 2 units with the special price that you guys got it at?

• well done guys!!!!

For other parents, you can also find similar priced seats or slightly lower from MyDear or Anakku as well. You just need to shop around.

My 2 year old son is used to sitting in one since he was born…

• Guys u’re the best! 2 thumbs up for this

• Hats off guys…u really out did yourselves this time! Bravo.

• Malunya on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Agree with sudonano.

All those car companies especially Proton, Perodua and Volvo… mempersiahsuikan

Go Paultan!

• I can forgive Proton because they are making loss now. But for a company that make fat profit everyday like Perodua, Toyota and Honda, shame on you.

• paanjang16 on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:06 pm

Kudos to you guys. Finally something good and positive on this site after all the news lately. You guys really walk the talk!

I agree with sudonano, so far I have yet to see any car manufacturers do promo on child seat. Some just want to keep pushing bodykits, rims, leather seat, etc but can’t be bothered to keep the car up to date with the latest safety features or stuff like this.

• jwrx (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Paultan team,

i think this is a great initiative, great effort. BUT i dont think it will be effective, babies and toddlers dont magically use child seats just because you have one, it takes days even weeks of training, alot of crying and perseverance b4 they will use the chair. I trained both my kids and it took alot of patient/training before they could last the 3 hours KL->PG trip.

I think a better way is to offer the 50 seats for sale at subsidised prices, and continue to offer subsidised seats.

• Nenek Kau on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:52 am

Another great idea that should be follow up by others! At least Paultan has start something noble which is not capable by others!

• Kl-pg in 3 hours? Is that even normal.

Anyway kudos to paultan.org – I hope this is an overwhelming success and helps to raise awareness of the importance of proper child seating in vehicles.

• Paul Tan on Jun 14, 2015 at 12:36 am

jwrx, the whole point of free rental during raya period is so that parents can TRY it.

after trying, there will be two outcomes

A) parents want to go back to their own ways. instead of wasting the seat sitting at home, we get the seats back to try with another parent.

B) parents like the child seat and want to continue using. we will sell to them at subsidised price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Holofanboi on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Heh… What a surprisingly touching move from paultan.org.

On behalf of the parent-readers on this site,

Thank you all.

• tomesi on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:26 pm

great effort by paultan.org ….!!!!

• Hats off to paultan on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:34 pm

You all are the best, paultan stuffs. This is the best way to help and educate drivers of malayisa. And gave them a safe ride / journey.

• respect on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:18 am

Pualtan and team, you earn my respect! Even 50 is not very big number but this already a great move from your team here! And it must be meaningful to who that need this. Most importantly I foresee these 50 child car seats gonna bring a big wave of this child car seat safety awareness to the public.well done!

not sure can we participate just to learn how to properly install the seat?

• Aero (Member) on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:10 am

Maadddd respect to the paultan.org team for doing this ! Raising awareness on car and road safety is one thing, but you guys just took it one step further by actively participating !

If anyone from the paultan.org team is planning to run in the next election, you have my vote. 101%.

• nurasyikin awang on Jun 13, 2015 at 7:39 am

Thumbs up for this
    The best way to helps n educate driver :)

• Alfred Chew Wei Hern on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:36 am

Is a good campaign that courage more people to use car seat for the children for their trip.

• Everybody bash P1 & P2 but then again a BMW child seat cost 2k, so take ur pick

• Samad Jain on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:40 am

–salute–to the paultan.org team

• Brilliant on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:55 am

You guys have been brilliant, educating readers and emphasis the important of child seat. And now you it into action by giving free rental child seats. It is very caring effort, really thumb up for you. Keep it up, we all support you. Hope that more and more people will notice the important of child seat.

• Norman on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:53 am

What a Nobel heart Paul Tan team have.

• shawal on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Amazing stuff….
    Others should folliw suit…

• policeman on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:40 pm

hmmm, saya tengah cari udang di sebalik batu ini. mesti ada lobster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Nabei on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:49 pm

I bet half of the recepient will not return back the baby seat.mtypical Malaysian

• Paul Tan on Jun 14, 2015 at 12:38 am

it is true that might happen.

but we hope it is because the parents want to continue to use the seat.

we will treat it as selling the seat to them at subsidised price.

• Mohamad on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Been a fans of Paultan for long time. Always being a silent reader, never comment on any article. But this, you guys did great! Small/first step to change the typical Malaysian mentality. Hope all the reader out there can expand this message. if you have unused car child seat at home, give/sell it to others! Help improve the community!

• Its amazing how an automotive journalist care more about safety than a car manufacturer. Hats off to PT team.

• Phooi Kuan on Jun 14, 2015 at 4:47 pm

i would like to know more of this program. our company also selling car seat and i also doing a 50% discount on a program. instead of selling expensive car seat, we are willing to make less at the same time benefit more people. do contact me on how does it works, thanks!

• dewaSemut on Jun 14, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Paul,

Is there any distinct advantage of child seat with Isofix anchorage points as compared to the conventional ones installed using seat belts? Do both offers same level of protection to the child strapped into it?

• When a carseat is installed correctly, both isofix and seatbelt installations are equally safe. The key words here are CORRECT INSTALLATION. Some car/carseat combos get a better seatbelt installation and some combos get a better isofix installation. If your carseat installation/use is incorrect, regardless whether you use seatbelt or isofix, neither would be safe.

• Chang on Jun 14, 2015 at 6:00 pm

A very Kind Gesture, I do hope that “others” will do emulate what you are doing, preferably in other locations then KL. Good Job Keep it up!

• sammy on Jun 14, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Well done.
    I wish you could rent me VSC for my balik kampung trip also…

• happiesdog on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:17 am

Thumbs up to all the crew of Paultan.org

Really appreciate the effort you guys paid to make this campaign become reality. They are still a lot of parent who don’t think that car seat is a necessity for their kids. Educating the correct knowledge to them is very important and I’m truly appreciate that you guys have step out the first step.

Hopefully they will be more and more company will ‘copy’ your concept to allowed more children to have a safe ride home.

Thank You x999…

• Julie Mohd Daud on Jun 17, 2015 at 6:42 am

Thank you PAUL TAN and paultan.org!!! … May you and your team be blessed many times over for this great effort. May we all strive to keep our most precious cargo safe and well always … I have desperately been trying to convince people to use child CAR SEAT since I had my first child 14 years ago, and it is finally seeing light and hope. Thank you!!!

• DakHazee on Jun 18, 2015 at 9:16 am

good Job PaulTan.org and the main man Mr. Paul Tan. but i already have a child Car Seat. maybe can consider on giving free training / demo on how to install it properly with our own child car Seat?

again, thank you for your great effort.

• ekiege on Jun 25, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Good job!
    by the way, does anyone knows where to purchase seat belt extension to fit car seat?

• Shark on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Nice custom event design and good initiative on promoting safety. Good work, Kipidap!

• Syafiq on Jul 04, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Hi PT and the rest of the guys,
    1st of all, kudos to u guys for making this happen. It brings a lot of relief and joy that we parents find this sort of program is initiated to the masses. Much respect to u n or team.

Just got back from collecting mine and I just can’t stop smiling. With the rental price, the seat is worth every penny and my daughter seems to be enjoying herself while sitting on it.

A million thanks for this effort and I hope it continues during other festivities if not until whenever. Those that’s planning to get 1, please don’t hesitate.

• Jennifer Tan Yi Siew on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:23 am

I am new to carseat and i am going back to my kampung tomorrow. May i know whether i can rent your carseat for trial? Or even buy it?

• May I know when is the result come out? I am really interested but i never used car seat before. The 1 month period might not enough to train him but this is the good start..Thank you Paul Tan.

• i cannot find the application form to request for rent car seat

• fatin nadya bt abdul aziz on Jun 30, 2016 at 9:01 pm

i want it…coz rite now im still survey for new car seat for my baby 10months.. its easier for me to drive if she have a car seat..

• Farmisha Bt Roduwan on Jul 03, 2016 at 2:00 am

Interesting

• Bernard on Nov 24, 2016 at 1:16 pm

What if no children , must still fix??

• Hi, does anyone know if I still can rent the care seat? Visiting Malaysia for one month and need to hire one. Thx.

• Hi can I please know if this campaign is still available for raya 2017?