Dynamic simulators for RapidPenang driver training – double-decker buses being considered for the state

tan_sri_ismail_adam_bersama_datuk_tan_kia_loke_senior_md_sunway_group

Everyone knows that pilots train with flight simulators, but here’s a less known bus simulator that Rapid Bus has introduced to enhance the skills of its RapidPenang bus drivers. The training programme will also include a dynamic bus simulator at the company’s Bus Academy in Nibong Tebal, The Sun reports.

Rapid Bus’ headquarters in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur, was the first to house the dynamic simulator in Malaysia and South-East Asia.

“The installation of the two static and one dynamic simulators are the company’s efforts to create highly skilled bus captains and world class personnel for the industry. The incorporation of the bus simulator training will undoubtedly elevate further the status and profile of Rapid Penang Bus Academy here and Rapid Bus Sdn Bhd as a whole,” said Prasarana group MD Azmi Abdul Aziz.

“It is dynamic and equipped with graphic displays of actual bus routes, complete with moving objects and obstacles to test the efficiency of the bus captain with the actual environment,” he added. Forty trainers are involved in the three-month training programme.

rapidkl-double-decker

Also present at the launch ceremony was state Local Government, Traffic Management and Flood Mitigation Committee chairman Chow Kon Yeow, who said that RapidPenang bus ridership has increased over the past years. “There were a total of 28 million passengers in 2013, and the number increased to 30 million last year. The number has increased by 78% since 2008.”

Meanwhile, Prasarana will study the suitability of introducing double-decker buses in Penang after the implementation of its services in KL this September. Azmi said that Prasarana is currently analysing the 46 RapidPenang bus routes before making a decision. “The study will commence later this year to identify locations which have high density of passengers and demand from consumers,” he told reporters.

RapidKL will be including around 40 double-decker buses into its Klang Valley service in September, and close to 90 drivers are currently being trained to handle the 4.2 metre tall machines.

Built by Alexander Dennis of the UK, the Enviro500 diesel buses will have 83 seats and standing room for 25 people, as well as a screen showing how many free seats there are on the upper deck. It is capable of carrying 50 more people than RapidKL’s current single-level buses. Costing RM1.4 million each, the double-deckers are disabled-friendly and fitted with security cameras.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Put more buses on Penang’s supertight roads! They stupid kah?
    Alredi the traffic is super terrible and people drive like cilaka, they still dare to do that?
    They Gov really like to get cursed with Hokkien swear words by the car drivers kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • Anti-pati on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:43 am

Then stop driving in Penang & take the bloody bus!

Commuting via bus in Penang is definitely much easier than in KL, at least when I was living there a couple of years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • penang k3 on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:45 am

y dun you take rapidpenang bus instead of driving. less one driver. less traffic. and you no need to curse here and there. peace of mind. ^^V

• penang k3 on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:48 am

then stop driving and take the bus.

better choice

• Balik KL lah you poorfags! We Penangites love our private transport. If its not a car, its our motor. Only Banglas use public transport. And you know what we and our DAP brothers do to Banglas, dont you?

So if you got no balls to drive in Penang, you kluar!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • Kupang Boy on Jun 21, 2015 at 3:38 pm

You don’t know shit about Penang!
      And speaking of super-tight roads, you’ve obviously never been outside Malaysia. Get out of your hole.

• What logic is this? Complain more buses in the road now because they are already many cars.

But putting more buses can reduce the number of cars, no? I think the poorfag is you and not the KL-ites because you can’t even get yourself educated and have some common sense.

This is a very sad state in Malaysia, using public transport = poor. In the developed world, even the MPs, CEOs cycle or take the train/tram to work. Back in third world countries including Malaysia, CEOs who use public transport or take economy class during flight will be laughed by others.

I have seen many humble managers and bosses who keep their S-Class at home and drive a kapcai to work. Congestion = time wasted, time saved = money earn.

• Anti-pati on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:01 pm

I think we’ve been trolled

• You go to Penang, what do you see: lotsa cars. You go to Puchong, aka mini-Penang, what do you see: lotsa cars.
      And not just any cars. Godcar and above.
      Do you think we are poorfags need tongkat like you? Sau pei lah!
      Look at ur MRT and LRT projects, every day jam. You people cursing everyday while we here shake leg laugh at you for supporting kroni Gov. This is wat u get.
      In the end only Banglas use. Do you think high keras Puchong people need to use.

• I talk west you talk kok. Do you even know how to link your statement with facts? And please, debate intelligently. You speak like ah beng.

Anyway, at the end of the day, I can’t see a constructed solid comments from you. They are all hay-wired. You need to go attend classes and learn how to write properly, poorfag. Fak off to Penang, this is KL, belong to us.

• ummm… are you off topic or something? I can’t link all your statements at all.

• Must be a poorfag KL fella driving Proton jelly of people driving Godcar in Penang