2016 Hyundai Elantra – new sedan to get sleek looks

hyundai-elantra-teaser

Hyundai has just released the first teaser image of the next-generation Elantra sedan, and doesn’t it just look good? Seems like it will be getting a contemporary look, with sleek and dynamic lines.

Apparently, the 2016 Hyundai Elantra’s new look received the seal of approval from a recent consumer study, and the designers of this new car gave it a sense of “unrivalled status and unique presence.”

According to Peter Schreyer, President and Chief Design Officer at Hyundai Motor Company, he believes that “the all-new Elantra captures the car’s unique design characteristics that really place this model in a class of its own.” He went on to say that the subtle and innovative enhancements indicates a move towards a more contemporary feel by “communicating the new model’s comfort, fashion and sporty feel.”

Hyundai Elantra

This latest image shows a large hexagonal grille that is flanked by slim and sporty headlights that exude a sense of energised dynamism. These lead to the clean and refined lines that build on the active stance of the all-new Elantra. One can also spot the prominent wheelarches.

Earlier, our spy photographers managed to get some shots of its interior too (above). Just to recap, the cabin looks to have some design cues from the new Sonata on the upper half of the dash, with some bits from the Tuscon on the air-con panel.

The new model is likely to get a 175 hp 1.6 litre T-GDI engine, mated to a seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox, depending on markets. It’s expected to make its debut at the Los Angeles Auto Show in November.

So, do you like what you see here?

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Buy Toyota better, good RV. You never go wrong with sushi cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 100
    • Bris Cangle on Aug 19, 2015 at 2:48 pm

See that Proton? That’s how you design your Preve and Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • frossonice on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Yes, pay million bucks to people like Peter Schreyer to do it. Because people are SO OK with Proton pouring money on design and aesthetic alone.

Better than spending money on HPF and safety because they can’t see it.

• roxas on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:26 pm

please go away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 37
    • Low Budget on Aug 19, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Won’t be surprised if Hyundai motor overtake Toyota in world sales figure one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • designer on Aug 19, 2015 at 1:42 pm

Scizophrenic range?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 44
  • Elantra 2016 on Aug 19, 2015 at 1:51 pm

1.6-liter turbo petrol!
    Comfort, fashion & sporty!
    Please come early to Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
  • Really great design in its class. No doubt K-cars are getting serious in competition.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • Really great design in its class. K-cars are getting really serious in competition!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • marieta on Aug 19, 2015 at 2:00 pm

That trapezoid’ shape for the middle aircon vent looks unappealing (in the sonata too)..I really hope they change that on facelift

• Josh Ling on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:07 pm

agree. i think that’s the biggest deterrent for many to buy the new sonata. it’s just so outdated!

the saving grace is the bottom part of it is not as flat as those in the new sonata though. so we should see.

i just miss the more flamboyant look both outside and inside of the fluidic sculpture hyundais years ago.

• Jason Lim on Aug 19, 2015 at 2:01 pm

should i wait for this?i m planning to buy current elantra
    *dilemma*

• Elantra-Turbo on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:55 pm

2016 Elantra 1.6-liter turbocharged GDI unit, produce around 200 horsepower would be more than enough to make it interesting on the road!

Im determine & definitely waiting for this!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Buy now or later makes no difference. Soon you will come to my Toyota showroom and beg me to accept your low RV kimchi Elantra for 25k just to trade in an Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 45
  • Gorgeous!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Greatt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Looking at the sketches and the spyshots, this might be real. But, wouldn’t this be similar with Ford Mondeo design?

• horray@ on Aug 19, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Wake up. Toyota Vios with 4 speed auto. Elantra with 7 speed dsg. Customers, which do you prefer? 4 speed conventional auto or 7 speed dual clutch gearbox. Sushi or Kimchi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Bris Cangle on Aug 19, 2015 at 2:49 pm

You go tell Proton to kick out that Punch CVT also lah, okay.

• camtakpro on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:55 pm

VW DSG -> ggwp
      Ford PowerShift -> ggwp
      Honda DCT -> ggwp

I strongly welcome Hyundai to try dual-clutch over here. glhf Hyundai on dual-clutch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • expecting it to be expensive by sime darby malaysia as always.

• farghmee on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:00 pm

wow.

that audi-ish trapezoidal grill & e90-ish eyelash.

so wow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • roxas on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:15 pm

i will trade in my elantra MD for this !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • I thought is Aston Martin DB10!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Really beautiful exterior . Man.. I have been driving sedan cars all my life and I don’t want to buy another but this car is making me think twice now. I have to stay loyal to my CX-3 plan…

• jerry tan on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Suits those who’s young minded, risk taker, dare to change & value for money. Not suits for those that is old minded, branding concern, not willing to change and stuborn. For those who looking for good RV, get a property !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Aero (Member) on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:32 pm

The new Elantra will be absolutely amazing, rest assured. I hope Inokom will invest more in marketing it because it will no doubt be their most promising product to date.