SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Perdana seen again in Ipoh

11226546_10153875325152376_6919363374151689571_n

Yes, these are yet more spyshots of the 2016 Proton Perdana, this time sent in by reader Faizal Rizal. However, they do show some new details regarding the new national flagship D-segment sedan, as it gets ready for its Q1 2016 launch.

These photos show a mule that is slightly different from other prototypes, particularly at the rear – this particular units gains an ungainly bulge atop the bootlid that appears to be hiding a small rear spoiler. It seems that, like the Prevé, the Perdana will get a slim bootlid flap on the 2.4 litre model to separate it from the lower-spec 2.0.

Elsewhere, it’s much the same as what we’ve seen before – at the front are new, more rounded headlights that are a departure from the rectangular ones on the eighth-generation Honda Accord on which it’s based. The sole teaser image released by Proton showed projector headlights with solid LED daytime running light strips, as opposed to the individual diodes as seen on the Prevé, Suprima S and Iriz Premium.

Along the side, the door shutline that runs up the windows ends much shorter than the one on the Accord. We already know that the Perdana will lose the Accord’s BMW-style C-pillar kink in favour of a more elegant teardrop shape. It’s clear in these photos that the rear doors will gain a small quarter light, whereas the “work in progress” car seen in the movie Kapsul featured a thick pillar at the trailing edge of the doors.

The rear windscreen also has a shallower rake compared to the Accord – that, combined with the longer rear overhang (where most of the 150 mm length increase over the Honda should reside) lends a more graceful, if rear-heavy, profile. Around the back, there’s the L-shaped LED tail lights that were already revealed at the Alami Proton open day event, although the integrated twin rear exhaust exits are conspicuously missing here.

It’s confirmed that the 2016 Perdana will be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam, alongside the Exora MPV (the current government-use version is assembled at Honda Malaysia’s plant in Melaka).

Engine wise, it’s set to retain Honda’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines – for now, at least. Both engines will be mated to a five-speed automatic transmission. The Perdana will be offered to civilian buyers in the first quarter of 2016.

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased
GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• FIST (Member) on Dec 21, 2015 at 3:42 pm

I’ll just wait for the turbocharged model to come out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Street smart on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:18 pm

RM100k for a Proton?

Ha ha ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
      • Albert on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Dudes, Protong is doing a STRIPTEASE now.

This Accordana may bring in some lost sales,but how many units can you sell? 2,000 ? Your high volume products are too slow moving.
        It is like having a critical illness,the doctors are giving temporal life support.
        It wont do any magic.Its too late,baby….as the song goes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • presna (Member) on Dec 22, 2015 at 2:28 am

Don’t think the Perdana is going to be a high volume model,(as they are going to assemble it in the “medium” volume factory as the Exora).
          If Proton really plans to get volume and some revenue coming, it has to be the new Saga and the Suzuki rebadge, imho.

• muahaha on Dec 22, 2015 at 8:50 am

Muahaha 100k for VW or sushi/kimchi junk?

• Or 100k for problematic Vios? Hahaha

• chill out !! on Dec 22, 2015 at 3:13 pm

i just wonder why alot of ppl show so much hate in their comment ?? come on guys its just a car news, just comment whether you like the car or not, no need for so much hate, ignore about proton or whatsoever and just judge based on what you see and forget all the political issue !!
        to me it looks nice and i wish them all the best ..

• Malaysian no hope already, u can’t rescue them. Other country reach level of appreciation but Malaysian still in level of cursing which is below standard.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 22, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Side profile kinda odd to me though..

• meejawa on Dec 21, 2015 at 3:45 pm

How many times do you guys want to report on the same thing over and over again? Give it a break, this is getting stale…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 50
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Hi, this set of spyshots do give us new details on the upcoming model. So we consider this newsworthy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 7
      • I think the exhaust exits are covered and there are holes from downside to let the exhaust gas out…

• Keep updating our national automotive news Hafriz..there’s only a pinch of haters here but there are many of automotive enthusiast here and out there eager to know about our own P1 & P2 news..Good Job Paultan team!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 11
        • Antifanboy on Dec 21, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Don’t say a pinch of haters, fanboys like this new proton so much but will u see them buying it? I doubt they will. Many people defend over something doesn’t mean it’s good. Get a life and stop fanboying over a piece of shyt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
      • Albert on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Hafriz, my dear fellow Victorian…..this is not a UPCOMING model.It is a TOTAL REBADGE ,a COPY AND PASTE job.Even a chimp can do this job.
        It is like stale bread overgrown with fungi.
        Anyway,it is still newsworthy cos some loyal HARDCORE PROTON FANBOYS are waiting to buy their souvenir model before DRB call it a day in 2017,when sales might have dwindled to uneconomical levels.
        It is too late baby….you know the song?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 64
        • Die Maker on Dec 21, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Dah makan ubat ke belum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
          • Maafkan dia. Ni olang tersalah makan ketum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
        • aikon on Dec 22, 2015 at 7:45 am

how do you know it is only a total re-badge? what makes you think so? anything to support your statement? if no, i think its best that you just control your emotions as you really don’t seem to know… anything about it.

• Just his brainless head will support his statement i think.. :)

• Oh pleassee, we know how Proton always operate in dubious ways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
      • Mother on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Keep posting news about this junk. Sorry is trash .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • p-1-3o on Dec 22, 2015 at 11:31 am

This is real man’s car. Mommy pls go back to your junk Myvi

• Yaa…u right. Vios, Myvi n Axia only for AUNTY not for man.

• Keep up the good work bro.

• waxcer on Dec 21, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Get ready to hear proton basher…. Specially Sam looser

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Poor rakyat on Dec 21, 2015 at 3:54 pm

This car again?! Come on… who interested with this Honda-proton? Spent so much for changing its outlook yet the powertrain is already known. Its time to spread something the rakyat want to know like the Iriz Sedan, 6 speed manual and 1.3 Turbo engine already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
    • Observer on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Obviously it attract interest from you… Otherwise why the hell are you on this article commenting abt it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • Poor rakyat on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:51 pm

I’m here to demand more news about other Proton, not this Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • LatukBandar on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:03 pm

I am confused, please educate me. What is the whole point of this test drive?

I understand when a car manufacturer test drive a car because they need to know if their new chassis, frame, sensors and etc works well.

In this case, the Perdana is nothing more than a rebadge with some major face-lift. The engine, chassis and most of the major components are the same.

What are they testing? The strength of the glue so that the logo doesn’t fall off? Honestly, what is this test drive all about? Please educate me, I don’t understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 37
    • I believe this is not a rebadge. P1 used the chasis & engine from the Accord but they did their own design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • LatukBandar on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Like I said, the chassis, engine and most probably the software and system are the same. Only the exterior and logo are different, maybe the tyre, wiper and some minor stuff.

What is the test drive about? to test what? this is the part I am confused. No need to do a test drive for so long if it is just cosmetic changes.

This is a rebadge, no matter how you label it, it is a rebadge. Back to the question, what are they testing? any experts?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
        • Well building a car are not the same as making cookies in the kitchen. Before selling it to customer they need to ensure their product are well tested. They need to test it on the real road surface that we have in Malaysia. They do have their own test track but i dont think their test track are the same as the road we have here in Malaysia. We dont need an expert to explain this. Proton are originally build in Malaysia so thats why u see a lot of their test drive on our road. Unlike other brand, i believe they have done the test drive million times at their own country. Just my 2cent opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • alldisc on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Thank you for stating the obvious. But believe me if this reliability tests are not done imagine how the Malaysians will shout whenever something went wrong with their new car.

But hey, I am with you on this.

• Testing you!

And now they know that you’re one of a few Proton hater and basher. One down and 27 millions more to go.

• 12years on Dec 21, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Only can see 2 bashers, you are dreaming

• syer1n on Dec 21, 2015 at 5:51 pm

by the way you’re talking seems like its full of hate. you wont consider what is a re-badge and what is a platform sharing so in that case lamborghini gallardo and audi r8 also volkswagen phaeton and audi a8 is a re-badge based on your value. audi is a hardcore rebadge brand of premium price then eh?

• Antifanboy on Dec 21, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Eh, a car manufacturer owned by the same group doesn’t mean it shares the same chassis and everything. Please la, don’t tokok can? Even if this thing is good, it’s still a rebadge. After 30 years of standalone still need to rebadge other cars. We don’t need to hate the car to know if the brand is good or shit, and the product launched by it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • aikon on Dec 22, 2015 at 8:08 am

well, they redesigned the body and the doors from the back are probably new so they would still need to test it out to make sure that there is no wind noise, the latches and clips hold, interior holds well together etc. not as easy as one thinks. one look at the body even in camo will tell that it has a different profile. let’s say they change the lights up front. they would also need to see how the whole thing holds up together in daily driving and they need to put in the kilometers to ensure that nothing falls off or makes noise.

• Die Maker on Dec 21, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Rebadge is not just test all the part and so on. This new Perdana are totally new development. Yeah, some part are using from Acccord but others thing like welding jig, inspection jig, assembly line, production flow, tooling, moulding, metal stamping, kanban system, PokaYoke and system that involve in car fabrication need to test. From stage T0-T3, P1-P3 until Pre Production. Overall about 8 to 9 stage of development before run a full production for a new car. Thats why so many prototype and spyshot have been seen on the road. In this stage, many changers and change letter for the part base on indurance testing and many more. If any change letter on the part, all tooling and system that involve need to change according to new data.

Sorry for my poor english explanation, but develop a new car is not simple and easy task. Its involve physical, mental, money and time.

DieMaker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Good explanation. Alot of bashers here think making a car is just slapping a few things together and add wheels. But only those of us whom had dealings with automotive industry knows the hardship and effort goes into making it, especially those undercredited Proton engineers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Looking forward to this. It’s essentially a Honda, so that can only be good, right?

• Scrapyard on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:24 pm

Better give 10 yrs warranty for RM100K Proton car.

• japsgoback on Dec 21, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Can we get free life insurance for takata equipped Jpas cars sold here? Dowan to leave my family poor.

• Wiwiwiw on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Hahaha door handle still Honda Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Junk Rubbish on the run again. See again this spy shot also xian…..

Better forget abt it if spotted again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Honda Fan on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:42 pm

This is definitely not a rebadge, the limited units produced in Honda plant Melaka for government use is the rebadge. This is a new car built using the Accord platform and Honda engine, nothing wrong with this as many other manufacturers are doing the same.

One thing I don’t understand from the basher here is why are you complaining when Proton is using the Honda engine and gearbox. When the same engine/gearbox is running on Honda Accord, you guys praise the car like god. To me I will seriously consider this car since it is running on proven powertrain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • That’s normal..typical Malaysian..worship overseas brand and bashing local brand..all giving the same old reason..quality..fuel guzzler..power window and etc. But if their Honda/Toyota or other brand their use faced the same problem they just keep quiet and tell thats normal problem for vehicle. But when it comes to P1 or P2, they judge it and expect it like a Ferrari quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Mr Fakta on Dec 21, 2015 at 6:23 pm

We bash it because we want it to be good and to be proud of. Just like a father lecturing a son, just because he wanted him to be good and he is his blood, he won’t care about other people’s son. Same goes to Proton, they use tax payer money to start and R&D. Dr M himself acknowledge that higher non-local car excise duty is imposed to help Proton in the initial stage. So don’t tell me those bullshit that Proton is a private owned company now, and bla bla. Its still begging money (few hundred millions in fact) from MITI, it’s in the news, it’s fact.
        We don’t expect it to be ferrari quality, just a decent one will do. My family owns 2 proton (Wira and Saga BLM), 3 perodua (1 manual Myvi, 1 auto Myvi, 1 Kancil) and 1 toyota (Vios). Believe me, I know the quality difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
        • Ok Mr. Know it all..by referring to your PROTON model..ur family using Wira and Saga BLM..thats a long time ago quality from P1.how about newest model by P1?do u know the quality?definitely NOT coz u dont owned one of them. So dont bash blindly if u owned an old model.

• Mr Fakta on Dec 22, 2015 at 12:42 pm

My comment is referring to your initial post, which state that typical Malaysian worship overseas car and bash Proton. That’s where I tell you that people bash it because it’s using taxpayer money. So technically, Malaysian is the shareholder of Proton (per investment point of view). So can’t we, the people, voice out discontent with Proton?
            About the quality statement, do you mean Proton quality is Shit few years ago? I never own the latest Proton model, this is because the car put me off test driving Proton Preve 2 years ago with it’s sluggishness and build quality (Can Proton Preve consider latest model dear Mr Right?).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • aikon on Dec 23, 2015 at 8:35 am

Don’t bash. Give constructive criticism. That would work better. Bashing just shows negativity and many times, a lack of real understanding with statements brought about by hear-say or rumours. If you really want to see the company improve, write in to their boss or to the papers where you would probably be taken more seriously. Bashing usually does not come with fact as supports.

• Proton a private owned company is not a bullshit. Requesting fund/grant to government is normal for any company who do R&D in Malaysia. This is a fact. The grant not only for Proton, its for all company who do R&D locally.

Vios? what kind of quality difference you are talking about. material used? fit and finish? have you compare your vios with preve that you have tested drive? apart from the sluggish gear box, did you compare other aspect as well? Come on if you want to compare, compare fairly on all aspect and then give a quality/constructive comments. What you are doing now is simply bashing and double standard to our own local product.

• I’m with u..u see..when people hate something, they will find a way to dislike. I have to agree with ur comment on the inside build quality from Proton Preve. Its superb..and definitely not plastic.Unfortunately the sluggish gearbox has become the downside for Preve. Other than that, its all great especially when cruising on the highway.

• start a fight on Dec 21, 2015 at 5:20 pm

psst.. toyota salesman don wan camry buyer go buy proton instead kot.

• Jimmy on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Please Proton, please DO NOT change anything. Just rebadge the Honda Accord will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Buy Original on Dec 21, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Smaller segment cars okay lah to do rebadge.

But D-segment rebadge? Lack of class indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Then other people will say Proton just copy paste..no effort..wat for give salary if just want to copy paste..Proton staff pemalas..am i wrong or right?U see..what ever P1 or P2 do..there are still people who never satisfied because every people has a different level of stisfaction. So our local manufacturer cant fulfill all the requirement Malaysian want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • dreggy on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:54 pm

I think the design is very attractive. The car in champagne gold is a real looker. Get the price right and load it with kit and i m sure it will sell volumes.

• You think you are doing them good by encouraging them? Don’t give them false hope lah.

Unlike you, most people here are telling them the truth that their junk won’t sell.

Yes, truth hurts but it is better than giving them false hope and hurt them even more later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • syer1n on Dec 21, 2015 at 5:27 pm

are you a time traveler? can you send me the actual Perdana image and its feature from your time? i’m eager to know. tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Futurist on Dec 21, 2015 at 5:37 pm

This new Perdana sales will be as big as rare Lamborghini here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • aikon on Dec 22, 2015 at 7:50 am

and you must be the fortune teller who sees the future!

• Bristol on Dec 22, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Lousy Camry also can sold 200 per month, Perdana sure can get 100 units per month

• What a pic would help?
          You take the best seller from toyota and put a proton logo to it, the sales will stop immediately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Joker on Dec 23, 2015 at 2:19 am

You said that as if you take a Lambo and put a Toyota badge on it, the whole world laughs.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:57 pm

To me,after wrap camo like this, feel like car going to burn for pass away ppl during chinese ghost month. A lot of ppl like my post

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • p2macai on Dec 21, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Tell that to other cars moving on roads in foreign countries. They wear camo too

• alldisc on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:58 pm

I like the squarish rear bumper corners. Nice disguise. But should have done it from the very beginning

• Ubaidzkif on Dec 21, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Wow !! Am i the only one who saw a panoramic sunroof on a Proton ?
    Or it’s just the colour i guess. But yeah ! Impressed.

• all i can say is… all the best Proton!

• Jobless on Dec 21, 2015 at 6:33 pm

They are actually testing how well the newspaper sticks to the car so can use to bungkus the car after x laku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • AhYong on Dec 21, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Wow. Thank paultan. Looking forward to own this car over camry teana and accord.
    At least I can save 30-40k buying this perdana with lotus ride and handling , conti ride and solid body, 5 star ancap. I dare to say that this new Perdana will have a solid body to achieve 5star ancap. Not to mention lotus ride and handling they inject into this car. Can it ride solid like BMW, audi and merc?

Good job Proton. Really looking forward to own this!!

• mat yun on Dec 21, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Proton, hutang vendor dah bayar ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Aero (Member) on Dec 22, 2015 at 1:47 am

There’s been rumours that the Proton badge on the 2016 Perdana will be different from the standard Proton badge. Looking forward to it.

• fuzikawa on Dec 22, 2015 at 10:10 am

Its hard time for proton now. But proton has set its footprint somewhere, somehow and it holds still and quite strong.
    So just do the right thing!

• The design from Japan, i dun like

• chin peng on Dec 22, 2015 at 3:36 pm

AS IF BUYING A NEW PHONE AT LOW YAT IS A VALUE FOR MONEY AND ‘ORIGINAL’ IN QUALITY??

• Improve Malaysian’s quality thinking will improve everthing. No need compare where come from.

• Joker on Dec 23, 2015 at 2:26 am

So they have Honda tech now… Put those 2.4L engine inside the Exora! If I’m not mistaken the Exora engine bay could hold bigger engine then the current 1.6L CPS and CFE. (Sorry off-topic)