2016 Proton Perdana revealed in Filem Kapsul clip?

2016-PROTON-PERDANA-KAPSUL-2

We previously saw what appears to be an undisguised new Proton Perdana in promotional videos for the local movie Filem Kapsul which opens tomorrow. Today we can show you more of this interesting car thanks to a new promotional clip released on the movie’s Facebook fan page.

While the previous teasers partially revealed the Proton’s front end design, this time we get full rear three quarter view of the sedan. As we’ve previously observed from spyshots, Proton has given the Perdana a fastback-like roofline different from the design of the donor Honda Accord platform. This gives it both C and D pillars as there’s a small triangular glass to be seen from the inside of the car.

2016-PROTON-PERDANA-KAPSUL-1

We also observe LEDs being used for both the tail lamps as well as the third brake light, which is integrated into the boot lid. A thick chrome strip dominates the boot lid, while the number plate holder has been moved to the rear bumper. The model will continue to use the Perdana name as per the current government-only model, as evident from the Perdana badge found on the lower right of the boot lid.

Of course, we don’t quite know if this is the final design for the Perdana, but we think it’s a good indication. The movie would have been shot earlier to be released tomorrow so Proton could have made some changes to the design since then.

Watch the Filem Kapsul promotional clip that featured the car below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Burong on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Looks like malaysia honda 7 series. Good job proton. Mix n match of the globe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 322 Thumb down 97
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 283
      • ProtonGSC on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:23 am

Hopefully the final price won’t be a dissapointment. Exterior looks and as promise different from Accord but what about front of the exterior?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
        • I personally think the original 2013 Honda Accord Crosstour available in US market is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
          • Looks like an enlarged Gen 2. Yuck

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 33
          • Muhd Taib on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Like the old Perdana, this will be a failure too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 53
          • Same L0rrrr on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Even the pathetic Preve Suprima S Iriz also no one buy, this Perdana… I wish you best of luck!

As long as it is not rebadged Proton, it won’t sell. Simple fact!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 58
          • Muhd Taib on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:22 pm

hey don’t need public to buy. Government will buy through Spanco and for Polis, Bomba etc etc.

Proton sales are mostly to Government departments. Real sales to people really don’t happen anymore. Malaysians already know what a low quality car it is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 32
          • Same L0rrrr on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:36 pm

This car and also any Proton is for poor people. It is for people who cannot afford a Toyota.

But these poor people ike to blame the world because they are poor. I say to you, blame yourself. You are poor and cannot afford a Toyota because you are lazy, like to eat nasi lemak and sleep and refuse to work hard.

Be like me, I am already buying my 3rd Lexus and this is because, I do well. Though I am merely a Toyota salesman, I work hard to make my dreams happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 102
          • Muhd Taib on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:47 pm

I am so sad that this is all Proton can come out with. this is what happens when the whole day at work, all you think about is getting more wives, eating, sleeping, malam Jumaat etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 42
          • Same L0rrrr on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Stupid imitator bullshit saying nonsense things. Rich or poor, you can still get a good car.

I don’t discriminate poor people but those hypocrite Proton fanboys who only VERBALLY support Proton the blood sucker.

Because of Proton, generations of Malaysian either suffer bad quality car or ridiculous car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 33
      • Badaveil on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:23 am

Anyone who had visited any car manufacturer knows it’s not the workers but a clash between the sales dept and the QCC dept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
        • Wastage on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Wasting the people’s money to design this ugly car. Better donate it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 25
      • The outcome of 30 years of R&D. Hahaha…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 19
      • annoy_namous on Sep 18, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Wow! From what i see, there is lots of world class car designer giving comment in this column. Just wondering how many car designs that they have sell to world car manufacturing for the last 10 years???? Any hints?

• Jaguardana on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:34 am

You brave enough to waste Rm120k for this Jaguar joke? Hahahahaha

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 126 Thumb down 126
      • Italian Job on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Looks like a con job done by tiga suku designer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 12
    • munkay on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:15 am

I think it looks terrible, the proportions are all wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 46
      • Mix & Match on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Honda front with Jaguar back? The end result is disaster

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 22
    • what is this? on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:18 am

Looks like a hardly-stretched out Persona! OMG pity that persona!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 32
      • Exactly!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
      • GT3 (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:38 pm

When new E-Class looks like a shrunken S-Class or when new 5 Series looks like a stretched 3 Series, no one bats an eye.
        But when new Perdana ‘claimed’ to look like a stretched Persona, everybody loses their mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 35
        • Can’t help it, Proton has little respect going for it after screwing rakyat for so long.

Say what you want, but brand and reputation definitely matters. Even when it comes to humans. It’s the trust deficit.

For what it’s worth, people lambasted BMW for the Chris Bangle designs too, and they almost lost a lot of hard-earned credibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Merc or BMW our national car meh? Of course we care when Proton used our money to design this ugly junk. If they used their UMNO/BN party donation, we could not care less even if they want to design a frankenstein

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…Honda 7 series? pls dont pollute their name… U can choose any China brands to suit it. The design not imppresive…puihhh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 19
    • iskandar on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:23 am

the rear lights looks like a cross between the persona and preve. let’s hope after this proton really really really improve on their after sales and reliability. the proton cars are decent enough but the after sales need a quantum leap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • Price ahould be 50k because it does not look like more than 51k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
    • After seeing this, i changed my mind regarding Land Wind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Najib on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:30 pm

You don’t expect me to sit in this sh*t car, do you? Screw you, who ever that design this crap

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
    • Minister on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Better buy original. If you want pirated, this is what you get

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Peter Schreyer on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:33 pm

The epitome of ugliness. No.1 in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Jezebel on Sep 17, 2015 at 4:39 pm

and then why the heck you don’t design the perdana in the 1st place?

• Peter Schreyer on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Did you hire me? Nope, you prefer Azlan. There you go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Arrufayyan on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Come one Pete. Be humble… :P LOL!

• Peter Schreyer on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:55 pm

For starters, the proportion of this car is wrong. The idiot designer tries to combine the side profile of XJ with the taillights of XF. Need me to go on?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:33 pm

disaster…im not coming back to MIC if i have to sit in this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 119
    • Briss Cangle on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:53 am

Proton always fail in design. Yet again a big disaster in buntut design. And overall looks like just another rip off China car. Now confirmed their designers are lazy and half baked ideas. Better hire Peter Schreyer lah Proton! Mua Ha Ha Ha Ha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 99
  • Kancil Hybrid on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Jaguar XJ rear. Nice. Good luck Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 68
    • RotfLoL on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:30 am

Hahaha simply a retarded Jaguar XJ.

I’m gonna laugh for whole day LOL!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 82
    • As i said, Proton only knows copy and paste. Don’t know how to come out with own design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
  • nice job…
    look promising..

p/s: this is not rebadge, this is platform sharing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 97
    • Anti Fugly Design on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:46 am

Theophilus Chin please do these:
      – redesign the rear buttock, put number plate on top bumper, replace LED bulbs with light bars instead
      – redesign the C-pillar glass with normal one piece (unlike separated Waja style), better keep current Accord or BMW kink glass design

Thank you in advance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • Tapaw on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:51 am

Hopefully it will bring RM1 billion profits to Proton. Boringlah bisnes asyik rugi saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Fugly on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Yes, not rebadge, so have to copy & paste from Persona. That’s what happens for Proton’s own design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Italian Job on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Looks like a con job done by tiga suku designer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Hiring Department on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Should have hired Dany Bahar

• nabill (Member) on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Reminds me of the rear end of the skoda superb and the previous gen citroen c5….not bad!
    Very striking n frankly clever design… I hope the rear trunk opens with the glass window aka skoda superb to have that enormous rear boot space! But seriously good job! Its alot of engineering to alter that much from the original design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 58
    • Rabun mata on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:37 am

Seek help, sir. You seriously got eye problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 85
      • syerin on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:57 pm

oh car’s appearence level is based on your taste instead of our own is it? suave man. genius of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Cantiknyaaaaa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 34
  • Look like a taller Jaguar XJ when look from side

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
  • Credit where it’s due. Rear looks rather good – very Opel Insignia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 29
    • Aero (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:20 am

It sure does… but the Insignia has a nice integrated lip spoiler which breaks up the plain lines. And it has a bigger bumper too.

Proton doesn’t have to do much to improve the rear design of the Perdana… the question is whether they care enough to do it. Either way, so long as they build it well, put in a ton of safety kit and don’t skimp on refinement, and most of all, price it competitively, I don’t really mind. Looks can only go so far, I mean, look at Alfa Romeo for starts… good looking and characterful cars, but lagging far behind their German rivals everywhere else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • Crybaby on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:03 am

You sounds so frustrated with Proton hopelessness in design. Need some tissue to wipe off your tears?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
  • tiang on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:40 pm

A, B, C, D??? Panjanggg…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Rear lights = Vauxhall Insignia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • jinggo on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:41 pm

ini honda accord… enjin apa jenis? campro ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 67
  • I have a mixed feeling about the rear. At my first thought, it doesn’t look good. However, when I see it as a whole, it seems quite sophisticated. Maybe the chrome that make the mixed feeling. But when comparing with the current Honda accord, this is definitely something more fresh and looks luxurious (as a whole)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
  • Jason9090 on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:47 pm

omg..the rear design copy Jaguar XF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 48
  • ahleong on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:48 pm

wau.. looks like a jag..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Gen2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • I ate on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Needs bigger wheels. Won’t comment much about the copycat design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 46
  • Nothing on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Exterior nothing special………interior ….??????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
  • Kudos on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Nice work proton! This one looks nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
  • Moots on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Hope they increase the size of the proton badge on the final production unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • reezal on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:53 pm

looks good eh?
    lets hope the quality will be as they promised.

All the best Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • pokmang on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:55 pm

i feel something wrong with the rear design or is it just me? same feel when 1st time i saw preve rear but now i can accept that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • MalaysiaBaguss on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Looking forward for better rear design on production units..this one just too plain..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Veneno on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:57 pm

I also think that this won’t be the final design as Proton surely don’t want to reveal the car before launch date.. obviously there are some of the design cues that look pretty different from the spyshots like the tail lights and plate holder..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • mystvearn on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:15 am

This does not look like the final design.
      Exhaust slightly out of place not part of the car.
      Chrome line too thick. badge too small. Rear lights remind of Gen2. Quite empty rear boot without the number plate.
      Also, Suprima has one LED strip, why a D-segment car has lED “blink” lights?

• Insider on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:44 pm

This is pretty much the final design. Don’t syiok yourself it’s going to change much

• CrazyMobilo on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Can’t wait for its R3 spec.
    Awesome job Tun!!!!
    From Prondana nw 7 series look alike…
    Very Hapy Proton has dun a great job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Looks futuristic compared to the donor car. If they replace the rear individual LEDs with LED tubes, would make it much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Pak Malau on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:47 am

They wanted to but they couldnt decide on which car to copy it from

• Mr. Mr on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:01 pm

Its back looks great,got a slightly improvement on design,keep going,I looking forward that Proton will improve their quality,service and then sure will attract a lot of buyers especially in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Silthice on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:02 pm

The back keep remind me of Persona plus a bit protrude from Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • maXref (Member) on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:02 pm

good looking car. Keep it up proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • You'rePrettyGood on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:05 pm

I say, this looks like wira’s differences with the lancer and almost most of proton.. Too bad proton didn’t try to alter inspira’s design, i wish to see a new generation of ‘jdm’ing proton car to their originals..

• As promised.

Giving us the Jaguar XJ side Profile.

• Facepalm on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:41 am

Unimaginative and comic relief. Another joke from Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • curu-curi wang on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:07 pm

that is so horrible….proton wanted to to be like jaguar but they have failed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
  • New Honda Arcord also looks like 7 series

• Look like big persona…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Anginsalji on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:16 pm

nice rear end design…and longer wheelbase of the perdana

• Anginsalji on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Nice rear end design

• ABDUL RASHID BIN MOHD SAAD on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:16 pm

very good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Rover (Member) on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Am I the only person who doesn’t like this? I was excited and couldn’t wait to see this…

Definitely disappointed with the rear design. Hopefully this isn’t the final product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Where are the haters eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Theyre having Wechat/Line discussion now, trying to find a weak point to bash. Dun worry. They’ll be here soon enuff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:57 am

Where is ur telor?

• Now, where are the haters eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Peloton on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Nice..but the door handle..

• Why does it suspiciously look like Honda Accord, last season punya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • cun melecun. cuma kalau tak ada c pillar tu dan lampu belakang tu modified sikit lg. confirm lg cun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Absolutely horrendous, what is proton thinking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Brazbuz on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:27 pm

Wow brave design approach proton, eventhough i’m guessing final design will be altered a bit

• Aero (Member) on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:27 pm

I like how it has twin exhaust pipes… and a boot mounted third brake light. Unfortunately, that’s the only good things I have to say about the Perdana’s design.

I don’t like how the boot overhang is so short… I know, I know, it means the boot capacity will be massive… but it does NOT look like a proper sedan… I don’t like to draw comparisons either, but the rear design is too familiar to the BMW 5-Series GT, and nobody likes how that looks… not even BMW themselves.

And seriously Proton ? You guys couldn’t come up with a more original design for the rear lights ? The rear lights look just like the Persona Elegance, but with a complimentary boot-mounted extension, like on the Prevé. And why LEDs ? This is a premium Proton, you guys should use light bars like on most D-segment sedans today. LEDs are already dated and cheap looking. Even the Suprima S has light bars, so why not the Perdana as well ?

And what happened to your ‘Chamfered design’ ? The whole rear end looks too flat, and the surface area ratio of the bumper to the boot is just wrong; it’s looks like a 30:70 ratio, when it should be 50:50 or 60:40 for a sedan. The rear number plate bracket is also mounted too low.

Overall, I am utterly disappointed, and I honestly think you guys messed up on the rear design. I know the front design will look better, it’s the rear design that has always been a hit or miss for Proton. At least, try to work on the interior, safety, quality control, refinement, pricing and specifications for the Perdana, all is not lost yet.

You are welcome to dislike my comment all you want, but this is my honest opinion and I have no reservations about it. You might know me as a strong supporter of Proton, but I will constructively criticise if necessary. I will not ‘bodek’ Proton. If you want Malaysians to support you, Proton will have to work harder than this… seriously, you guys had all this while to design the new Perdana, and some so-called aircraft company is also helping you out… and yet this is all Proton could manage ? Some Chinese cars look more luxurious than this new Perdana, really.

Being good enough is not enough, I hope Proton gets this message.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 21
    • Exactly…the rear too flat for such design….hope they could revise it…always a proton supporter but this butt design is not harmony enough….i know this will be the final product…no such thing as prototype design from proton before….most the time what you see is what you’ll get…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Aero (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:25 am

You’re probably right, this will be the final design and we might as well get used to it. I doubt Proton would bother listening to public feedback at this stage when they’re just 3 or 4 months away from launch. I’d rather Proton focus on developing the Iriz Sedan because unlike the Perdana, the Iriz Sedan will be a volume seller like their Saga and Persona currently… the Perdana won’t be, it’ll probably sell about as well as the Inspira did, which is not saying much. And I doubt Honda of Japan would allow Proton to export the Perdana either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • MusTanG on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:17 am

Trust me. This is the earlier stage prototype. OTR one will look better with few design tweak here n there.

• tokmoh. on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:54 am

If u look closer, yes it does have light bar, way more than in Suprima (this car so kedekut rear light, it’s weird it’s legal). They’re kinda narrow like in Suprima, instead of bold like in BMW F10, Kia Cerato (Ermahgerd, them lights).

Knowing Msian market, this design seems passable, the bigger determinant will be powertrain and price. We shall wait and see what they’ll bring to the table. Honda original engine/gearbox? Petronas engine? Junk Punch CVT? Jatco CVT?

Pricing? Last time Inspira was RM92k+ for 2.0L, how ballsy can they get with this? It’s madness to break RM100k, but it seems to be their likely choice. Good luck.

There will be a Chinese car that’s way more luxurious and better looker, and it’s coming this January. It’s gonna be called Volvo S90 :))))))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • powershot (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:16 pm

my guess it would be between 90k ~ 120k depending on the variant.

if it is more than that nobody would consider to buy.

• kadajawie on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:40 am

Told ya Proton always screwed up in design especially the rear buttock part. Hahahaha best joke ever! You better quit as Proton macai lah they are hopeless beyond repair already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • roxas on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:48 am

i thought the lamp is light bar which surrounds the rear light? the leds are the brake light(not talking abt 3rd brake light

• At last a honest opinion from a Proton supporter, ready to admit its flaws. Not like other supporters who said it looks good even it isn’t. Trying to turn this ugly duck into a pretty swan. Worst, they thumb up their own comments and thumb down others who said otherwise. Kiasu much?

• Nasi Kemal on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:38 pm

hodoh macam sial!!!!! Worst car design of the year! Pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
  • frossonice on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Not bad. Not bad at all.

I would prefer if they use CCFL rear lights ala Proton Iriz Active concept.

• MikeWong on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Giant Preve I suppose?

• joejam on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:49 pm

macam jaguar la tun M

• Fuad M Noor on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Looks good overall but the rear’s chrome lining is a bit too much. No WOW factor. Anyway good luck Proton!

• ayamxxx on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:58 pm

i thinks it time already up for Proton designer.

1. Preve rear design not everyone’s cup of tea.
    2. Suprima rear boot area, seem out of proportion

Proton should hire Ex- designer Audi, Kia, Othersla. Proton designer always have less favor or strong essence of designla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Eye beholder on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:35 am

You baru sedar? Aku dah lama tau dah Proton selalu fail design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Garam Masala on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:43 am

Err, to me Suprima S and Iriz are among the fine-looking cars out there. And i already had my eyes examined.

• Are they trying to make some kind of 3 series GT competitor or something ?

• Jambumerah on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:12 am

Typical 2008 Jaguar XF back end . Go type on Google and look at the pictures. Exact copy. No originality sadly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • vignes on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:24 am

I realised Looks 80% like rear of the Jaguar XF and that’s great! Google it n see fr urself

• Azahari on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:32 am

Need better design wheels. Other than that…Cooooool siot!

• Akhirnya…proton tak pakai roof antenna,hahahaaaa

• ckd master on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:57 am

When Proton want to achieve the best for Malaysia please support…yeah maybe some strategy was made looking like copycat and rebadge but it take years of RND achievement…for me it is Great Achievement even some elements of copy or rebadge exist.. funny foregin cars do the same we simply accept and enjoy ….but when to Proton got lot bad comments…be proudest of Proton cars..Congratulations Proton ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • You'rePrettyGood on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:14 am

After looking at this a few times, the rear looks empty; maybe it’s the plate’s location. They could add a long light bar under the chrome strip like an aston or make the rear light whole/round/oval(?), not a fan of the preve-esque rear light..

• kakaka on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:36 am

Kampung Kar. Apa lagi mau?

• Camry Hybrid 2015 on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:56 am

Look like civic rear +jaguar xj + peugeot 508 + latest kia optima ..lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • oklar on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:08 am

konsep ok dari segi cubaan nak design.
    tapi kekemasan OUT. tolongla jangan bagi budak2 tadika finalize design.
    * bukan nak bash proton jer

• oh wow on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:16 am

er.

proton selalu ada masalah identiti.

kengkadang kereta yg mereka jual meet the expectation pelanggan sebab diorang pun bukan jenis sell out. Tp kereta diorang xde identiti sendiri.

persona dapat recognition yg agak bagus. Tapi ape yg persona persembahkan tu tak mempamer kemampuan proton.

perdana? hmm , kereta itu sendiri terlalu ambitious dan BERAT untuk proton.

Comment pasal gambar? Mixed. Memang diorang lebih berani memperagakan gen3 (tak habis2 teasing – keluarkan je la official gen3). TAPI , macam melebih-lebih pulak. Lagi pun bila bace komen , diorang tak salah. Semua boleh bagi pendapat individu. Jadi mungkin humble approach lebih sesuai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • neutral on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:24 am

frameless windows?

• Never underestimate proton’s imaginationss in their design capabilities since Gen2 generations, the problems lies in the components quality that initiates iritated issues and the unprofesional attitude of their down line workers when many malays group together until they easily make their own general orders outside the office. Attack is not a means of defence in this business. Countermeasures and problem solving to stay competitive with the general flow is. This new Proton Perdana has got character. It has to compete in all aspect earn its name.

• Offshoreman on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:44 am

Pelik pelik…ada yg nk suh copy Jaguar la itu, ini…kang buat cmtu ckp xda originality….hmm tgu la tgk apa hasilnya nnt….yg aku faham dr model ni dia cuma share platform… Design luar dalam Proton…Engin hrp guna engin Petronas yg dorg beli dulu…

• Look nice and majestic !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Mns1974 on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:18 am

Proud to be Malaysian and proud to have Malaysian own Car Company rather struggle to risen up even many Malaysian are condemned it

• lick ur balls on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:23 am

U guys are so phathetic this is our brand and u guys should support the local brand not kutuk kutuk . if you good about design why not u go to proton r&d and give them an idea will see if the ur idea is good or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • LEDDEL on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:33 am

i see LED lights everywhere……….
    hope the headlamp design will have LED integrated in it too.

• TheDean on Sep 17, 2015 at 7:52 am

Split decision for me. Overall, impressive but certain cues do disappoint… like the hanging tailpipes. Take this with a grain of salt though, coz it may just be a prototype for a movie, like the i8 in Mi4. Whatever it is, it is waaay better than Camry’s longstanding (but ugly) design language.

• Look like bigger persona/preve..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • KS Nizam on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:21 am

Always thought a wider bigger Preve with 2.0 engine is a good starting point for Perdana

• FIST (Member) on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:26 am

Dang, I don’t like the back. Reminds me too much of Persona. And the exhausts should be flushed with the bumper

• Alvin Roberts on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:28 am

white steering wheels. wow. just wow. i think i just crap in my pants laughing.

• kapchai on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:31 am

If its based on the Honda platform and drivetrain, it can’t be all that bad. Nevertheless, success is never for sure. Just look what happened to the Inspira.

• i dont like the rear design.
    Sorry.

• AntiProton on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:42 am

Good looks is easier to achieve. But good quality is what really the car owner wants.

• xoxox on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:55 am

maybe a like for someone but not me…..

• hohoboy on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:03 am

copy the Tesla`s back side?

• Morning. After more than 2 decades of given opportunities…I still don’t see the design language. No continuous of models and designs. Totally lost!!!

• saigetsu on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:08 am

why the chrome again… plase proton,

if ure really want to have chrome bar at the back, make it thinner like persona. more balance. or just copy jag 100%, thinner at the centre goes to side, slightly thicker to match the light. and y need border at the proton badge, just badge alone is nicer like persona.

i like persona very much. please proton, the chrome bar is just hideous, just like the one in exora.

please proton please….

• Indran on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:22 am

The windows design looks like a copy from Audi’s A6 series tho.

• tinmilo on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:22 am

pleasantly surprised by the look.
    Thumbs up.

lets hope they get the gearbox right this time too.
    Iriz is a looker too, but fail miserably at the gearbox refinement.

• akupunya on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:25 am

Proton should fired Azlan.. the design manager..
    rubbish design… just like persona …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • how about its front view?

• mahathir rich on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:41 am

Remind me Alfa 145/6 at the rear end

• Commentor on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:52 am

Looks promising. The wheels are just a little small making it slightly out of proportion. Love the rear

• chrome tu tak cukup tebal..tebalkan la lagi 2 inci baru nampak..proton kan suka chrome? kalo takde chrome kan tak premium?

• Pretty on Sep 17, 2015 at 10:03 am

damn ugly butt. sack the designer of this car! that azlan guy is useless.

• Mason_ on Sep 17, 2015 at 10:31 am

From the rear ,it is better looks than preve …hope the front is more promising..good jobs proton…

• Leafable on Sep 17, 2015 at 10:34 am

Knockoff Tesla with a petrol engine.

• Faizah on Sep 17, 2015 at 10:48 am

The design fail again… Just like preve and iriz… Very bad design…

They shud learn how Kia, hyundai, Honda and Nissan and Mazda is designing their cars

Wow factor ppl see they wan to own one

Proton is you see design like shit

Somemore quality and refinement lagi shit

Engine and nvh way more shit

No need to even talk about Fc, RV, and service centre is beyond shit

This junk if sold above RM85K Proton can close shop.

Unless it’s a 2.0L turbo engine that makes 220HP and goes from 0-100 in 8secs and weights at least 1500kg and FC at 6.5L/100km and engine and refinement and nvh as quiet as the new sylphy ppl WONT BUY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Farhan on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:00 am

i think, there is something wrong at the back. it should be better i guess, to move up the plate number from the bumper to the boot, just like preve.
    nice design at the c pillar, the extension window glass just like waja, to improve visibility, decrease blind spot at behind.
    though it just a picture, maybe in the real life, it will be far better looking. hopefully.

• applegreen on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:02 am

Design wise okay but LED on front and rear lights maybe out of date when it comes to 2016.

• karipap basah on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:06 am

the rear design looks nice, for a car from 1990s….

Proton’s car always look cacat from the back….

• hello back on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:07 am

Forget about the design.. Think of its boot size!

• Comel on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:08 pm

You should buy Proton Juara MPV if you don’t mind the ugly design too.

• KecewaKataKo on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:19 am

Memang design untuk bahagian belakang tak menarik langsung. Pada pandangan aku beberapa model proton sepatutnya no plate ada yg lebih sesuai di bonet (belakang) dan ada yg lebih sesuai di bumper (belakang).

• Price should be 50k because it does not look more than 51k car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • edperdana on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:30 am

Fastback design change ok but get the light cluster design right guys..making this car look like a bigger Gen-2 just makes it look frumpy and sad.

• Jaguar gets married to Preve…but then cheating with another girl, Persona

• GTA V Fans on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:05 pm

It seems the designer is also a GTA V fans. 80% looks alike with this : http://www.igcd.net/images2/059/433.jpg

• frossonice on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Wow. I was about to suggest the brake lights be extended to whole length of the bonnet. Never seen this before (Have yet to play GTA V). :D

• Absolute Rider on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Can we have Transporter movie Malaysian style? Hahaha….

• I bet the front gonna look like preve.. is that good or bad?

• kanazai2001 on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:21 pm

cool… rear end with honda new design language (2016 honda civic)…

• Tokman on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Is it Jaguar?
    Is it Bentley?
    Is it Honda?
    No! It’s a Proton :)

• jobless on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:17 pm

alamak..they copy paste their own UGLY Preve butt design..amazing..jo

• LittleMin on Sep 17, 2015 at 1:36 pm

So this is the so called “Jaguar-inspired design… Seems like Proton is not only lack of marketing talent, designer team also tak boleh…

China car manufacturer copies design much better than our kampung designer, seriously.

• driver on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:36 pm

i think u guys will agree that this car looks better than proton perdana above.

http://i.imgur.com/rTEZuae.png

• areos on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:52 pm

well ..first try..not bad …but it could be better esp rear design…like Iriz ..the rear design to me has failed to live up to the expectation…though its not final

• sepul on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:52 pm

The only concern is the rear bumper, it does not look like a proper finished design. It’s the only thing they can tweak at the last minute so fingers crossed. The rear lights is fine I guess. Honestly it can be better.

Proton designers really need to rethink their rear design approach. Personally the chrome bar idea does not go well with the diamond shaped badge, not at the back especially.

• Kritikus on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Ada tak di antara pengkritik tegar Proton berjaya mencipta kereta untuk kegunaan rakyat ?

Jika tiada, baik duduk dendiam. Tin kosong memang suka berbunyi.

• robert mugabe on Sep 17, 2015 at 3:11 pm

looks more like a persona facelift
    paying almost 100k for a bloated persona?
    no thanks

• Jezebel on Sep 17, 2015 at 4:32 pm

I’m neutral towards proton. but I hope it will sell well. put the right engine/transmission (Lotus use Toyota engine/transmission, why P1 can’t?) & it will sell like hot cake. if only the price is right

• Bruce on Sep 17, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Sorry Proton but the new design looks unattractive and it will be struggle for you to compete with the Japs and Koreans. I doubt if this will sell well.

• Arrufayyan on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Come on man, be positiveeee….
      (ok, I’m finding that hard to do as well… LOL!)

• Arrufayyan on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:02 pm

At least, get the car to work like a car :) No raltting, rubber materials coming out before even 10km journey, wiper sprinklers failing upon delivery, power window kaput (dah makin kurang, bagus Proton), central lock failing, less shaking indicating proper mounting arrangements… in short. Plzzz no more irritating problems that SHOULD NOT exists in a modern CARRRRR!!!!!!
    (I own [and sometimes thinking of changing that to ‘owned’] and Iriz 1.6 MT Exec)

• Perdana new design sukzzss on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Stop the madness Proton, ur design suzkss & tail pipes also not allign. Stupid chrome across the rear & modified persona lights ain’t gonna move people to gain confidence in Perdana, 2 years of R&D and this is the best you can come up with, dare not even look interior wise what has been done!!! Close shop now & reduce ur lost cause of even thinking of making a profit with these kind of standards.

• encik boss on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:10 pm

cantik jugak..nak beli lah sebijik

• Apanama. on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Im sorry proton.. I dont like the rear looks. Unconnected. Better put the tuah prototype rear design. Much better.

• Love Malaysia on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Haters gonna hate hate hate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • DPCraft on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Persona facelift and Preve looks better in the rear

• Honda Fan on Sep 17, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Let’s be fair here, don’t simply bashed it because it is Proton. I believe most peoples will think that it doesn’t look that bad. As many have said, remove the over done chrome across the rear, move the number plate to the center (not at the bumper), redesign the bumper and exhaust pipe. It should be very nice.

• Proton Fan on Sep 17, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Design syok sendiri, memalukan negara

• not_another_campro on Sep 18, 2015 at 8:21 am

the million dollar question is …

which powerplant it uses? not another campro crap i hope, nor unproven engine from Petronas.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Sep 18, 2015 at 12:21 pm

We all know its a honda accord from the side of it.

heck, even persona is based of honda city frame.

stop b/s malaysians la protun.

all money gone down the drain to save unnecessary ventures.

• hantu@ghost on Sep 18, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Belum beli n pakai dah kritik kaw2..apa punya mentaliti lah…dalam otak pnuh dengan persepsi ngtif yg tepu..x membina langsung.

• Pakai kereta proton pun x pernah..lagi nak kutuk2 lebih.

• Alex259 on Sep 22, 2015 at 10:34 am

The back design is like Jaguar XF, well done Proton designer