Toyota C-HR 2.0L CVT specs revealed: 150 PS, 193 Nm

Toyota C-HR Geneva live 9

A browse through Toyota’s Japanese website revealed some key details regarding the brand’s B-segment crossover, the Toyota C-HR – in particular the 2.0 litre CVT variant. This is significant, especially for our market, as it is likely that the car will be offered in ASEAN regions in this configuration.

As previously reported, the big-engined version is powered by a 2.0 litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine. What wasn’t revealed were the output figures – it makes 150 PS at 6,100 rpm and 193 Nm of torque at 3,800 rpm. Looking at the numbers, it’s unlikely that it’s the 6AR-FSE direct-injected VVT-iW D-4S mill in the facelifted Camry 2.0, which kicks out 167 PS and 199 Nm.

These figures are, in fact, closer to what the 3ZR-FE Dual VVT-i engine in the Corolla Altis puts out – 145 PS at 6,200 rpm and 187 Nm at 3,600 rpm – so it’s likely that this is the engine used in the C-HR. Comparing the two, the crossover makes 5 PS more at a slightly lower rpm, while torque is up 6 Nm, but at 200 rpm higher.

Against its main rivals, the C-HR makes 8 PS and 21 Nm more than the Honda HR-V 1.8, but 6 PS and 11Nm down on the Mazda CX-3 2.0. The engine is only available with a continuously variable transmission (CVT) and front-wheel drive; unlike the HR-V and CX-3, there will apparently be no option for an all-wheel drive model, not even in Japan.

Toyota C-HR Geneva live 7

There, buyers will have to punt for the less powerful 116 PS/185 Nm 1.2 litre turbocharged mill – available with either a CVT or a six-speed manual transmission – for all-paw traction.

Also available in Japan will be a hybrid model, utilising a 98 PS/142 Nm 1.8 litre VVT-i engine along with a 72 PS/163 Nm pair of electric motors. In case you’re wondering, yes, it’s the same powertrain as the new Prius, available only with front-wheel drive – no rear motor as an option here, unlike the Prius E-Four. Toyota claims it will achieve carbon dioxide emissions as low as 90 grams per kilometre.

The new, extrovertly-styled C-HR is built on the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), the second vehicle to be built on the platform after the new Prius. The driving dynamics are said to be a match for the precision and control of a modern C-segment hatch thanks to the new platform’s refinement and low centre of gravity, allowing the C-HR to “carry its speed through corners with excellent body control and steering fluidity.”

Measuring 4,350 mm long, 1,795 mm wide and 1,550 mm (1,565 mm on petrol models) tall, with a wheelbase of 2,640 mm, the C-HR is 56 mm longer, 23 mm wider and 55 mm lower than the HR-V; its wheelbase is also 30 mm longer than its rival. Vis-à-vis the Mazda CX-3, the Toyota is 75 mm longer, 30 mm wider and 15 mm taller, with a wheelbase some 70 mm longer. So, are you excited by Toyota’s HR-V and CX-3 fighter?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Cantik, boleh booking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Next time I will consider when I sell my HRV ya. Maybe 7 years later…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • makeIT on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:06 pm

asean Thai CKD @ rm123k.

• Kamal on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:45 pm

2.0 Toyota would be anywhere near 150K la. Better HRV

• Operation Manager on Apr 12, 2016 at 12:09 am

The create of B-segment is built for selling cheap for those not affordable usually at 3rd country. WTF now C-HR selling ~150k in Msia …?

• Same L00 on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:08 pm

Sorry I can’t take booking now, the price is not yet announced. Got 6 ppl asking this morning already…

Again, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
        • Ultra Kiasu Jinjangorian on Apr 11, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Just 6 asking? Aiyo p1 perdana 2.4 already 24k people asking lor.5k already die die paid booking.Very shiok ownself la toyol auta salesman!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Same L00 on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:12 pm

Typical Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok!

If got 24k buyers for new perdana, Proton no need ask for RM1.5b already!! You don’t use your brain but i use mine!

• Durian runtuh on Apr 11, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Hiring for UMW Toyota Sales advisors is now open.

• smart on Apr 12, 2016 at 9:22 am

Toyota Harrier combo! – 2.0 litre Valvematic engine mated to Super CVT-i gearbox

• OMG…This going to kill HRV soon if the pricing is the same. Very good looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • ehhh? on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Looks like XV rim

• Not bad but its still a toyota no one respect you if you own one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • LimPek on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:24 am

much much better & prettier than HRV!
    HRV’s rear lamp likes ULTRA-Man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
  • hanssen on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:25 am

like the car and i am dreaming one of this. but please name with proper name rather than alphabetical name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Ex VGM staff on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:31 pm

It stands for coupe high rider. Not because the designer suka-suka

• 3ZR-FE engine is without valvematic. I think it should be the more powerful 3ZR-FAE with valvematic, similar to the one used in Noah, Voxy, new Wish and new Harrier.

• sohhai on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:30 am

If estimates are correct, the C-HR will only reach our shores in 2018 by which time the HR-V will already have a face lift model to counter it. Not forgetting that Toyota will lose another 2 years of B-segment crossover sales from now till then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Puke Imon on Apr 11, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Toyota will suffer until 2018.But if facelift hrv is cheaper,prettier & full loaded of specs than this new Toyota coffin,same loor will bleed till 2020.But price wise Toyota 2.0 would be more bucks than Honda 1.8 loh.Basic hrv currently 100k.Apparently basic chr would be 115k! considering that UMW is still greedy.But suddenly p1 rebadge Suzuki breza come out at 70k,Same Lorr will eat his unfinish sushi loh.

• Donkey J on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:32 am

Definitely great car to wait, UMW please price wise.

• applegreen on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:52 pm

wait and wait until UMW gives to this C-HR with no ESP and 2 airbags only

• xxxxxx on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:40 am

US 2018, Malaysia 2019, Proton SUV already come out with bigger engine, more futuristic look LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • toon899 on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:45 am

Take my money now!

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:47 am

So it has a slightly higher output to carry its extra weight to compete with its rivals. Now if only UMW will give the full suit of features and not ABS + 2 airbags.

• Chandler on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Quite likely it will come with two airbags, no stability control, no leather seats then UMW charges you RM 130k for it.

• I do not know what to say if they still charge higher than HR-V with less safety equipment. They should learn their lessons on the drastic drop in sales with crappy cars. Serve them well if they still don’t the lesson….

• Chandler on Apr 11, 2016 at 3:35 pm

These clowns in UMW will definitely charge us a bomb for a direct HRV competitor. I just can’t wait for Malaysians to boycott Toyota cars here.

Honestly, I envy some lucky folks who purchased their Lexus CT, Toyota Prius and Prius C at attractive prices due to the incentive provided by government.

I even heard that there were 8% to 10% discount on top of the incentivised price back in 2H, 2013. So a Toyota Prius would cost about RM 120k and a CT at RM 156k.

Missed opportunity indeed.

• 1 to C-HR 0 to HRV & CX-3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • silent reader on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Shut up and take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • toyol ta on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:16 pm

It seems like finally Toyota has a design to get excited about. Hope they maintain the build quality though.

• calvin ng on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:24 pm

I really really hate CVT… here goes all the fun….

• khairul on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:39 pm

By the way, why there is no interior picture posted? they keep showing us the exterior but no interior picture posted

• Don’t get too excited on the exterior,imagine this chr interior would be like avanza or rush.Nothing more than that.Look at 150k Camry.Isit nice? No! Kindergarten kids draw only,no qualified designer hired.

• Wheel Drive Concern on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:02 pm

still a FWD ? i rather go for Subaru XV with a proven AWD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Peter on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:04 pm

With this, I bet with high confidence the price will be much (x2) higher than HRV, may be more expensive then Altis. At least in HRV, we see it cater for middle-low segment market on its lowest-spec model.
    Well, another ‘dream (only) car’ for Malaysians even it’s launched.

• Muhammad on Apr 11, 2016 at 1:43 pm

Comes to bolehland price starting from RM228,999. All thanks to the Proton creator and foolish enough to ask money from the Government.

• Perghh on Apr 11, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Basic coffin 2.0 sell at 118k and with safety package at 130k

• Ultra Kiasu Jinjangorian on Apr 11, 2016 at 2:35 pm

Toyota has no answer to Honda 1.5 turbocharge lagi.Just borrow from altis saja lah

• Ti lung on Apr 11, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Your last sentence u wrote Toyota HR-V…. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Smlok on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:36 pm

I don’t know, maybe I’m old, it looks quite ugly to me

• Toyota’s car interior design is always a disaster. Old fashion 1980’s dashboard couple with cheap looking plastics nowadays.

• How much Toyota C-HR price in malaysia?