B10 biodiesel implementation delayed until further notice – inadequate data that new blend is compliant

biodiesel

In a turn of events, the Government and the private sector will postpone the implementation of B10 (blending of 10% palm methyl ester with 90% petroleum diesel) biodiesel in Malaysia until further notice. The decision came after a meeting by the Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities (MPIC), following an appeal from the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI).

According to The Sun Daily, MPIC surmised that there was inadequate data that B10 biodiesel was compliant with the specifications of all the carmakers that are invested in Malaysia’s Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) programme.

Present at the meeting were MPIC’s secretary-general, Datuk M. Nagarajan, Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB), Malaysian Biodiesel Association (MBA), Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI), Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) and the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA).

2016 Malaysian Bio-diesel Camerons drive - 1

“It’s not that we don’t support B10 bio-diesel. But there is the matter of scientific and replicable data. Car makers need to respect their customers in terms of warranties,” a source told The Sun Daily.

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has claimed that the usage of biodiesel in grades higher than B7 may result in fatty-acid methyl ester (FAME) mixing with the motor oil, causing the oil to thin and possibly leading to sludging in the engine.

Various manufacturers like BMW Malaysia, Isuzu, Toyota and Volkswagen have issued their concerns in relation to B10 biodiesel implementation. On the other hand, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia says that its diesel-powered vehicles will be fully compatible with the new blend.

2016 Malaysian Bio-diesel Camerons drive - 2

“It was noted at the meeting that a few days’ test drive of a few diesel cars up and down Cameron Highlands does not constitute a robust trial. It would be ideal if MPOB could do a lab research in cooperation with the relevant auto makers,” said a source who attended the meeting.

“Even the Japanese Automotive Manufacturers Association (JAMA) has cautioned its members with operations in Malaysia against the use of the type of B10 biodiesel as proposed by MPOB,” the MAA council member said.

What are your thoughts on the implementation of B10 biodiesel in Malaysia? Is it something that diesel vehicle owners will welcome and benefit from, or will it lead to increased visits to the service centre? Have your say in the comments section below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jantung on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:53 am

Government now should study the usage of ethanol in our petrol now. More environment frinedly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Toriton on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:09 am

Mana john? Want to comment what now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • See my bashing below.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • johan on Jun 20, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Why must delay again???
      99.99% diesel vehicles in msia r not affected at all i.e. lori, bas, traktor n pikap…mostly komersil use to boost our local ekonomy and sapott use of palm oil tempatan.

Hanya 0.01% mainly Conti diesel private cars r affected & Conti brands got experts to handle this 1 off situation.

This is abt sacrificing the good of public majority just to benefit tiny minoriti well-to-do.

maner Demokrasi kiter??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • johan dumb on Jun 21, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Pity Msia to have people like you who don’t have common sense.

• johan very smart on Jun 22, 2016 at 10:13 am

Read properly, JAMA also caution member about B10. Scania and Mercedez is ok with B10. FYI Scania & Mercedez is European. Just in case you are not aware.

• When one wishes to attract carmakers to invest in Malaysia and bring in clean Diesel engines one does not sabotage them by introducing incompatible fuel. It erodes the trust companies have in the government, reducing future possibilities of further investment. Governing and economics ABCs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • longh on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:27 am

Mercedes Malaysia says that their cars are OK with B10. Then, why are they not bringing in any diesel motors for their latest E class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Why delay again? Just implement it and tell these guys to adhere.

If they think we r crazy, then Indon is 2 times more crazier than us. And we shud be worried if Indon is really 2X more crazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 34
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 20, 2016 at 11:38 am

I don’t even know whether to laugh or cry when I read that they only tested a few diesel cars up the Cameron’s for a few days. Don’t usually tests involve over 100k miles worth of tests on the road?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • Becoz bashers says dun need to test here test there test until Matt Damon come home from Mars, just launch it alredi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • The Saint on Jun 20, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Why am I not surprised?

Malaysian G is well known for its flip flop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Fresh palm oil should be used as food not fuel.

Used cooking/waste oil, yes.

We have to buy cooking oil at a higher price soon. Thank you.

• Theres plenty of palm oil to go around. We can oso prioritise local comsumption 1st, instead of trying to fight against French anti-palm oil lobby.

• mr1031 on Jun 20, 2016 at 1:51 pm

flip flop lagi…

• UMW TOYOTA on Jun 20, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Merc you say no problem with you engine? you tested for 100km ah? as we know diesel engine is tough..100km just nothing..should test 1timingbelt range@100k km

• Banyak cakap on Jun 20, 2016 at 3:44 pm

all i see here is just blah blah blah from so-called diesel experts.
    Longh, have u been to a Merc dealer? Merc do have diesel mills, just that the markets here aren’t in favor of them.
    UMW, u keyboard warrior. what r u? what is your area of expertise? how did u know MErc tested for 100km?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Diesel car owner on Jun 20, 2016 at 5:04 pm

I did remember Merc did bringing in W211 CDI but later abandoned it. They brought in again W212 without diesel initially. Then bring in diesel hybrid for the W212 facelift to take advantage of the EEV incentive. Selling for slightly more than 1 year and now it seems they likely to abandon it again…. see the link below.

http://paultan.org/2016/06/09/mercedes-benz-malaysia-planning-to-bring-in-e350e-hybrid/

Seeing such actions from MBM, I don’t think they are serious about bringing diesel engine in Malaysia. Also their Fuso trucks can only take B5. Check out the link below…

http://paultan.org/2015/06/18/mercedes-toyota-vw-malaysia-b10-biodiesel/

So Mr Banyak cakap, what Lough is saying is correct. MBM did bring in W212 diesel but likely not bring in latest current W213 generation.

• Amarjie on Jun 20, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Why it has been push to the market at the first place especially with inadequate data & uninformed decisions..?

Which stakeholders did they talked to..?

• Diesel car owner on Jun 20, 2016 at 7:06 pm

The push could be to reduce the palm oil reserve we have. Also a push for demand for palm oil. I am not a supporter for using food as fuel.

• GTi-R on Jun 21, 2016 at 12:09 am

A lot of diesel powered car owners must be relieved to hear this news. Implementation such as this must get clearance and concession from all diesel car manufacturers. Be fair to them and car owners.

Stop syok sendiri and pushing palm oil industry own agenda indiscreminately.

• Totally agree with your comments. Unfortunately, the ability to think of repercussions have gotten lost among those think brains at Ministry of Plantations.

The spiraling impact to the economy is great when the transportation industry is impacted. Prices will shoot up since the cost of repair or replacement will be passed on to consumers…yet again.