Proton Celerio – is the rebadged Axia-fighter on track?

Proton-Celerio-Front

With the Persona launch done and dusted, Proton’s three car launch blitz in three months will continue with the Saga in September and Ertiga in October, as announced by Proton CEO Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali at the test drive event of the Perdana, another car launched this year.

The last of the lot for 2016 will be the Ertiga, a rebadged budget seven-seater Suzuki MPV, with kits imported from Indonesia. We’re not expecting any further launches this year, and the people in Proton will absolutely need a break after a hectic 2016. But what about the compact car that was touted when Proton tied up with Suzuki mid last year?

That was the takeaway then – Proton would be developing a small compact car with the help of Suzuki, up to 1.0 litre in engine size and in a segment where P1 is currently not present. That points to the A-segment and a rival to the highly-successful Perodua Axia, which has mopped up that end of the market unchallenged.

Proton-Celerio-Rear

Suzuki has such a car in its stable, and it’s called the Celerio. Made in India, the compact five-door hatch is available there with a 67 hp/90 Nm 1.0 litre three-cylinder K10B petrol engine, mated to either the a five-speed manual or an “Auto Gear Shift” AMT transmission. An 800 cc two-cylinder turbodiesel with 47 hp/125 Nm is also available.

Here’s a rendering from Theophilus Chin that we commissioned, and it gives us an idea of how the Celerio would look like as a Proton. Not a straightforward rebadge job, this “Proton Celerio” wears the national carmaker’s familiar face, lifted from the just-launched Persona.

Neatly done, the signature “Proton wings” on the grille extend into the headlamps (like on the Persona) and are integrated with the hatch’s shoulder line. At the back, the plain Celerio design is spiced up with a chrome garnish that mirror the “wings” in front, and an Iriz-style diffuser. It’s significantly more dynamic in appearance compared to the original, which you can check out below.

Proton_Aria_interior

Will something like this work for Proton? The Celerio bombed in Indonesia, where only two units have been sold so far this year, so price is crucial. In any case, Perodua has a strong head start with the Axia and it won’t be an easy task, even with Suzuki onboard.

We’re also not sure if an “Axia fighter” remains a priority for Proton’s new management – the Proton-Suzuki partnership was inked when Tun Dr Mahathir was chairman (“I will make it happen,” Tun said of the Suzuki partnership) and Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah was CEO. What do you think?

GALLERY: Suzuki Celerio

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:16 am

Beautiful front renderings. Bravo. But rear… meh.

• Persona Persona on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:58 pm

is this 33k ? otherwise stick to Saga and Persona models. Too many models bad for a small car company like Proton… market too small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Nazgul on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:37 pm

In this year after 7 month, only 2 unit of this car has been sold in Indonesia. Proton asking for trouble if they plan to sell it here.

• Same L00 on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. End up nothing but pure stories. Proton hybrid is one of the best example!

• Sam Kinta Durian on Aug 31, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Both Sam and missing Kunta talk durian story

• The Observer on Aug 27, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Tiara and Savvy and iris failed big time. Proton has had bad luck with small cars. This shows the management of Proton got no focus at all. They don’t know what sells and what does not. Somemore Savvy use Mat Salleh Renault engine and yet can fail

Even their Perdana, they spent few hundred million and paid Honda the rights to rebadge. But now, hardly can see a single Perdana on the road. I drive 150KM alone in KL City Centre per day. I have not seen a single new Perdana.

Please Proton, you cannot sell small and large saloons. You only laku in B segment like Saga. Stick to that.

• Same L00 on Aug 28, 2016 at 11:34 am

We will have more trust on proton rebadged car build quality, according to proton notorious qc procedure.

• Same L0rr on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:04 pm

If Suzuki engine, you can buy this re-badge proton car. If Campro engine, just for get it. For sure CVT bising punch powertrain will come in the package.

• crash on Aug 26, 2016 at 7:32 pm

Dont forget this Suzuki comes with an AMT gearbox for auto just like the Savvy in the past. We all know that AMT is shitty and expensive maintenance. Anyhow CVT is still better than AMT.

• Mimau on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Not the same AMT box. the Renault unit in the Savvy is pretty much garbage. The Suzuki unit might be good. Anyway they also have a CVT option.

• Old news already. Go get a hands on new Persona. Punch Cvt now are well refined now and very silent and smooth like jatco. Very good nvh. Very low engine sound enters the cabin. Stop making a fool of yourself which is already a fool using the same old statement.

• Ada Aku Kesah on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Axia-killer konon.

Masih juga tak laku nanti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
    • camtakpro on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:45 pm

Just like usual Proton right?

• Proton, i hope you don’t bring this car here, this is hell car. we are not in India

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • lilytan on Aug 26, 2016 at 4:29 pm

No point. If proton wants to do it then it should share platform and parts with saga. Other wise the scale wont justify it. U would not want another tiara or savvy.

• J Welinkar on Aug 27, 2016 at 4:35 pm

The Celerio has been tried & tested on Indian roads and is very successful. The quality, safety & ride far exceeds what is expected. If it survives Indian roads, it’s good for Malayan roads. If it’s good for the quality contious (value for money) Indian buyer, it’s good to go for Malaya. Best not to stereotype, as it may highlight shallowness. These cars are also exported to Europe in large numbers ! It’s perfect for entry level kereta buyers.

• Yam Seng on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:13 pm

yes u are not in India..You r in a country that moving backwards brother.hahaha..open your eyes and read rather then just writing

• PEROTON on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:19 am

Please..dont..

• PEROTON on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:20 am

Please…donttt

• Jonn Dol on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:26 am

It is widely touted & expected that the next model that will come out of the Proton-Suzuki partnership will be an SUV. The new Saga is considered Proton’s sole fighter for the small car segment, for now..

• Proton shud rebadge the upcoming Suzuki Swift 2017 as their Iriz replacement. Sell below RM50k with 6 airbags and their new engines, Proton has my order next year. Otherwise they can kiss goodbye to many potential customers looking for Japanese cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Haslina on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:28 am

Front looks OK but rear is ugly beyond words. Back need alot more work

• Ben Yap on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:30 am

looks like made in india

• wawasan2020 on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:37 am

Enough is enough ..stop producing third world eyesore cause vehicle in our lovely homeland!!! Just chopped off the big and small PRO brother would bring happiness to the raykat !!!

• Yam Seng on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Brother Wawasan 2020, India is not a 3rd worl country..Watch more Discovery CHannel and know more about the world. Your country is going backwards and by the time your kids are out from your wife’s stomach,he/she is born in a 3rd world country. Do you know how many cars are made in India..Google now and you will be amazed with your stupidity liao.

• Steven on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:39 am

Remember the GSC…Global Compact Car Iriz? Remember all the hype? So much hype….then it became an utter failure.

This car will be the same. Proton will hoo haa and hype like big time, after few months, it will be a failure and kept in storage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Knight E on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:52 am

this celerio can fight with axia because it got 2 variants engine 1.0 and 800cc turbo sure more power than axia 1.0 DVVT / VVT-i underpower…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Doing the same thing over and over again and hope for a different result.

This Proton think they can make a different by launching new model. They know the problem but just refuse to admit the fact that their bad working culture leads to unreliable product and therefore causing the whole problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • syerin on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Same thing over and over again eh? They refined NVH, opens the SC for 7 days a week, made safe cars, remap ECU, reduce fuel consumption, tweak punch cvt, use better esc and all you see is power window right? Even power window warranty is lifetime for suprima. The idea of change is rebadge a caddi and sell it cheaper than rxz?

• See, you just refuse to face the actual problem which is reliability. When was the last time you attended an on-time meeting schedule?

• farghmee on Aug 26, 2016 at 11:58 am

Lapin Lapin Lapin

• kapchai on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:01 pm

I like the Baleno instead. The turbo version won high praise in Europe

• This can only be good for Malaysian regardless of which car brand fanboys you are. More competition, better specifications especially safety point of view for Malaysian. But, please not a car with Indian market specifications for Malaysian!

• Whoa…what? I want the diesel version please. Please release the diesel version. The HP is only 47 but it got decent torque which is 125Nm. Theoretically, the torque performance is same as the 1.3L petrol engine. This car is slow but can climb hill easily haha. Correct me if I’m wrong.

• You sure you want a diesel version ? 2 cylinder only, so I am thinking that it will sound like an agriculture tractor .

• Lol, yeah that’s the problem, engine sound. But, if they can reduce the engine tractor like sound, then its instant win for me hehe.

• AMT transmission? Please don’t

• Proton Insider on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Yes, this is axia killer.. but management made decision to rebadge alza killer first, which is undoubtedly will be Proton Exora killer too..Next,proton will rebadge Suzuki Vitara which will launch next year.. No media know it yet since it still under wrap.. Thus, this celerio might not become a rebadge..

• thomas on Aug 26, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Proton celerio. Aneh juga mereknya. Di Indonesia penjualannya menyedihkan

• If it is still going forward, may I suggest replacing the AMT with a torque converter auto or a CVT? I believe most Malaysians still have an aversion for AMT after the Savvy AMT. Low maintenance costs are very vital in this segment.

• Damn ugly.

• Amt again? We know what happend last time they tried that -savvy?

• Proton Tiara = Failed
    Proton Savvy = Failed
    Proton Celerio = ??
    They say third time is a charm. The again they also say: once bitten, twice shy.
    Proton better spend their money to do a facelift on the Preve and new model Exora.Let the Persona and new Saga earn their money and prove quality before adding another model to compete with the Axia.
    Just my 2 cents….

• Dump the Satria Neo (if not already done) and the Inspira from the line-up. Make performance based (GTI) for Preve/Suprima. Focus on core product line-up and profitabilty and quality. Path to success…

• Andrew on Aug 26, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Proton should rebadge the 2016 Suzuki Vitara Breeza too. The more the merrier they say. Competition is always good for consumers.

• Lockhart on Aug 26, 2016 at 2:11 pm

Theophilus chin , if you’re good in rendering, have you considered sending them to Proton? or they only want bumi designers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 46
    • shahrul on Aug 26, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Very true.
      Sack the current designers.
      I would put TC as head of design.
      P1 needs to look for synergies & come up with a major turnaround plan.
      1.5 bil loan was just a morale boost.
      It will not change Proton by just launching a few new models. What it needs is a workable & sustainable module which would include a foreign partner.
      Tough, painful & radical decisions has to be made to current workforce & work ethics.
      Only then will we see real progress in P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 2:54 pm

Dont be rasis la.. u want me to be rasis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • what kind of mind?

• Theo is gud at rendering and photochop, i give u that. But designing from scratch with dimensional, legal, and thematic restrictions is a whole new ball game. Just like being superstar at rugby dun mean automatic being gud at soccer

• Designing cars from the ground up is a different story. Just like you’re saying that interior designer should replace architects because they make house more beautiful

• nabill (Member) on Aug 26, 2016 at 2:26 pm

I dont see the point actually.. The upcoming saga will be 30k plus.. Which is enough to fight off the axia.. Saga being a sedan is even better… They need better product quality rather than another model

• Einstein said on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:13 pm

Insanity, doing the same thing over and over again and expect different results.

• Sani Saad on Aug 26, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Just let Perodua focusing and distributing this type of compact A segmen car. Proton already fail with tiara and savvy.

• savvyowner on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Second generation Savvy or maybe a Savvy replacement model with a new name. AMT transmission? No thanks tho. If Proton really wants to introduce this model to compete with Axia in the A-segement hatchback, just take the Celerio platform, redesigned it with the influence of the new 2016 Saga and assembled it with the new Proton GDI 1.0/1.2L engine with Jatco transmission. That would sell well.

• arseneleven on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:07 pm

I prefer we develop proton alto works which better than this plain celerio..

• proton on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:17 pm

kelebihan crash structure proton terletak bila berlaku kemalangan sebenar. ini kerana kereta proton mempunyai struktur rangka yang kuat (kekuatan besi tiga kali ganda). perlanggaran tepi dan belakang persona dan iriz jauh lebih kuat dari bezza mahupun axia. perodua seperti fokus kepada menjawab soalan peperiksaan yang mana fokus pada satu bahagian depan sahaja tetapi bahagian struktur kerangka yang lembut di bahagian tepi dan belakang. kereta proton bila dilanggar lori akan jauh lebih kukuh berbanding kereta perodua. tu yang iklah safety 360 degree

• Betol Tak?? on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Janji dapat pinjaman soft loan. Bisnes gagal rugi berbillion pun apa kesah.

• Lubodo on Aug 27, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Bodo klu tak kesah buat apa refine sana sini, lifetime warranty, hpf bagai

• celaru-celaru on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:21 pm

aduh apa lah proton ni celaru-celaru sungguh.

• horrayooi on Aug 26, 2016 at 3:44 pm

proton diatas,
    Kita setuju rangka yang kuat bagus. Engine pun perlulah yang terkini ikut trend semasa iaitu menggunakan timing chain bukan timing belt. ( Cerio gunakan chain ) Transmissi CVT torque converter dari Jatco lebih tahan lasak. Tak naK 4 speed auto yang mundur. AMT pun masalah.

• ghaplah jingga on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:09 pm

ford ecoboost engine pon pakai timing belt..there r pro n cons for chain n belt..got it?

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:30 pm

“Proton would be developing a small compact car with the help of Suzuki”

HELLO, Suzuki developed the car already la, what else want to develop? Sport rim? Save money la

• ismit on Aug 26, 2016 at 5:59 pm

“We will never progress if we just rebadge, we might as well just import cars,” said Proton’s Tun Mahathir <- from previous post

• lesenL on Aug 26, 2016 at 6:15 pm

enough with eyesoring be22a roaming throughout kl nowdays…

• crash on Aug 26, 2016 at 7:45 pm

It is not feasible to rebadge this model. How to price this ? Below Saga, then earn what?? If above Saga, who want to buy ? AMT is such a turn off. So jerky in traffic jam crawl . Even the ancient 4AT is better than AMT. At least it is not jerky in traffic jam crawl and ATF oil is cheap.

If want fight Perodua, just rebadge the Vitara Brezza SUV .In India, it sells for less than RM60k tops. There is no competition from Perodua since they have discontinued the Kembara.

• tansri85 on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Just put that suzuki engine & gearbox in iriz. Way better

• drillero on Aug 26, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Bring it on! Give Perotwo run for its life. They have enjoy monopoly for the past 10 years yet keep producing 3rd world car at damn expensive price. We need more competition. Bring it on, Proton. Good for buyers option.

• Das Auto on Aug 27, 2016 at 12:25 am

Many here not in favor for P1 to sell this type of cars but P1 need to have it so it can compete in IN, VN, PH, SL and BD market with high demand for small cars.

• dengdengdeng on Aug 27, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Who dont know father is man,
    if you want a so good fuel consumption car,
    if the price is more expensive RM20000,
    you can try to figure out,
    RM20000 this amount how much petrol you can spend, and how long, did you consider the long term maintenance is more pricing.

• mrkerel on Aug 29, 2016 at 3:51 pm

sorry..off topic a bit.. can u ask theopilius chin to render the new persona to mini suv like segment?…looks like it might be a fair competitor to honda jazz..IMHO..

• Yayan Abdhi on Aug 31, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Celerio was only sold 2 units during 2016 in Indonesia. Does Proton conducted a survey about the intention of Malaysians to buy this small hatchback? hopefully Proton emblem will make a different to the sales compared with Suzuki in Indonesia.