JPJ aiming to introduce new, standardised vehicle number plate system by third quarter of 2017

licence plate

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) is aiming to get a standardised vehicle number plate system in place by the third quarter of next year. If it goes through, the introduction of the new number plate design will be enforced gradually, starting with new vehicles (including motorcycles), followed by all other vehicles within a three-year period, The Sun reports.

At a special workshop dedicated to the topic yesterday, the department obtained input and suggestions from stakeholders. Deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi said that one of the matters discussed during the event was the loophole in the production of number plates nationwide, which had led to widespread use of illegal plate specifications.

He said that the new system must be able to allow the authorities the ability to monitor the parties that will produce number plates, in accordance with the Motor Vehicles (Registration and Licensing) Rules 1959.

“We want traders to register with the JPJ and from there on, we, together with the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Ministry, can take action when necessary. We are also looking on how the number plates can be standardised and produced as a standard form across the country,” he told the publication.

rm-number-plate 1060

He added that the new system will look at utilising more durable and robust materials for the plates, such as having them metal stamped. “The current material, such as plastic, does not last long and can be replaced and manipulated by irresponsible parties,” he stated.

The new plates will have to also be cost effective. “We want to find ways that won’t incur high cost and cause a burden to the rakyat. We also want to ensure there is no monopoly for this purpose,” he said.

A standardised number plate system will also aid in combating crimes and aspects of road safety enforcement, Aziz said. “Over the years, the authorities and the public have had to deal with the difficulty of identifying fancy or unclear number plates of vehicles,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• tokmoh. on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:19 am

Translation : croni nak cari makan letteeew

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 11
  • Jenin on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:21 am

BD55 88

• grace on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:22 am

Finally….should have done this 10 years ago.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
    • jaypeejay on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:37 pm

nope. they just find a new way to make money. the proposal to cabinet must include how to make cronies richer…

• nonsense! They can’t even standardize the plate used on the motorbike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Why you worry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Yes, someone got to say something sometime.
      As long as there are some noises, action or not matter

• Donno on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:04 pm

How do you standardize the sticker type plates on motorcycles? Does it mean superbikes has to put up a physical number plate up front? Or you delete the front plates like UK or Thailand? This also need to have a cut-off date, ie. anything older than say 2017 vehicles does not need to use it.

• Singapore and other counter did it 30 years ago. Is our government sleeping? Now making a fake number plate is as easy as 123. No matter how canggih your number plate recognization system (which caused millions ringgit), it will not work if number plate is not standarized and fake!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • Singapore and other country did it 30 years ago. Is our government sleeping? Now making a fake number plate is as easy as 123. No matter how canggih your number plate recognization system (which caused millions ringgit), it will not work if number plate is not standarized and fake!!

• Panjang on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:27 am

How about outsourcing these kind of jobs to Prisons?
    These people can then earn a nominal income and when they come out of prison, they have some money and reduce their probability to turn back to crime again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 1
    • lilytan on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:17 am

Would u trust convicts to do enforcement? Those crooks will later on utilize their plate making skills producing AAA grade fakes after serving their sentence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
    • azrai on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:03 pm

American do this. Their plates came from the prison. Better still China, they are harvesting human parts and organs from prison for a better use to society.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Panjang ex-convict? on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Pudu

• grace on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:35 am

In the US, income goes to prisoner to help them. Here? Any form of income will certainly go to the cronies. Its always about them, them and them. Everything else comes later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • JB_KIA on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:37 am

Go ask the Thai how they did it…even in S’pore there are still ppl using fancy plate.

• May i sugguest that JPJ shall not petrol the street and road block and stoping traffic are meant for trafic police only because when they do they corrupt. This earn them 0 star and no like

• We do have law/system/rules/requirement for a ‘proper’ number plate. Just that it wasn’t enforce 100%. Now we are making a new system to combat a failure to follow system !

• Al Law on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:53 am

cost is the main problem if government comes out with standard pricing public will support.
    can our government replace our nos plate to metal FOC

• How much a number will cost you? Dont tell me you can afford a month RM500 instalment and cannot afford one time RM50 for a number plate? Ppl always complaint without using brains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • thepolygonal on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:54 am

The current normal looking number plates are already durable, cost effective and clear. Go catch those that are not of the standard spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Susukotak on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:58 am

takperlu outsource. jpj buat sendiri masa register tunggu max 2 jam siap semua. kad pengenalan yg lg kritikal pun boleh siap terus. kecuali ada kroni barunjumpe lubang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • offisial wan on Sep 28, 2016 at 10:59 am

Here we go again..Any possibilities to standardize our laws/rules/criteria so that we get ministers with full brain rather than half cooked 2bit s.o.b that care less about rakyat?!

• Painter on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:01 am

In the UK. All cars bear similar plate design. Whether they drive a Ferrari or a three-wheeler Robyn.

Why is it that Ferrari owners here feels so privileged to have a small plate number or sometimes just stickers to be put in front of their cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • applegreen on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Because ferrari in UK is cheap but in Malaysia the car is super expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Lee Kum Kee on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:04 am

Wah good news for me. I can now setup company and start lobbying JPJ to accept me as their appointed agency for plate making. Got some contact in Korea to produce in massive scale. Summore my grandma is meleis so this makes me 25% bumiputra. Wah good chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • Gojeng on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:36 pm

Wow! With statement like this, no wonder majority would believe and stereotyping you ‘people’ as manipulative liars and deceits. Oh well.

• Shaey on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:25 am

For new cars, make it compulsory by the dealers. If they can give discounts in thousands of ringgit, this should not be a problem.

Why bother letting accessories shop sell it? JPJ should issue it if they want standardization. Make it from metal with embedded chip. All info such as ownership and insurance details can be access by authorities. In accident it could be easier to trace info.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • rakyat on Sep 28, 2016 at 11:42 am

please don’t sell it to make money..

• In Australia, the Jpj is the one issuing the plate.
    If you dispose off your car, you actually have to surrender back the plate to JPJ.

But they also standardize the “hole” for cars where you install your plate. So all plates will go vertical.
    I notice not all car might fit the plate in vertical, some need the 2 row format.

If JPJ wants to standardise, they should take up the issuance of the plate as well. Even if you have a list of traders that comply with the plate standard, what’s stopping people from buying non compliance plate? People are buying it as we speak even they know it is non compliance.

So just like you issue the road tax, you issue the plate. It is also good because when it becomes a controlled item, is not so easy to get hold of a set of plates and change them like those clone cars or false identity.

• tkhengong on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Lo! and behold – another crony money making plans in the pipeline! I thought all this time, the JPJ had a standard specification for motorcycles and vehicles number plates? Once upon a time, there were enforcements and many were summoned for non-compliance on their number plates. But as we all had expected, the matter cooled off. Would the JPJ come out with a new specification for tinting next as many vehicles are heavily tinted and openly flouting the tinting rules? It wouldn’t surprise me if the JPJ implements authorised tinting company in the near future too.

• muixxium on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:42 pm

They gonna kill plate maker small business

• The scrutineer on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Just follow the British standard which is also the standard Singapore is using. In fact, it was the standard the British left us with. What a waste of time and money organizing meetings with stakeholders over a damn specification of number plates! I got one just make it clearly legible!

Instead of burning the brain cells on how to enforce the making of plates – just fine the people who don’t comply…after 60 years of independence we’re still talking about this rubbish.

• Wayne Lee on Sep 28, 2016 at 12:57 pm

Whatever the standard is, I hope the design is acceptable. Can’t imagine large standard designs on exotic cars like Lambo’s and Ferrari’s…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • HH Ho on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:04 pm

FINALLY..! Please please; (1) Made of reflective material only (either fonts or background).. (2) No more black background; only yellow, white, green, blue which gives better visibility; plus different colours can be used for different class of vehicles further helping with enforcement etc.

• Johnny on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Please get rid of illegal HID first

• Wan Amran on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Drama saja lah.
    Even car tint issue not resolved after umpteen years and now wanna talk about number plates?
    With zero enforcement and exemptions to certain quarters this will take the same recycled route.

• longjaafar on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:56 pm

No monopoly. That’s the key.

• isuzuki on Sep 28, 2016 at 1:58 pm

what… still not standardized since independent?

• ganni on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:13 pm

They should do this long time ago..are u sleeping JPJ..??pprrffffhh…

• Scarface on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Don’t metal stamping plate. There are some cars still using the metal stamping plate introduced few years ago. By brushing the white paint off the characters, you can hardly tell the registration number!

• DrMIO on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:59 pm

This should be done long ago!!!

• DrMIO on Sep 28, 2016 at 2:59 pm

This should be done long ago!!!

• Mikey on Sep 28, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Ahem JPJ, Macam mana dengan Kaki Tangan Kerajaan yang Tak Payah bayar untuk no plate “Special”. Suruh mereka bayar & patuhi undang undang sama dengan orang biasa sebab mereka tu bukan Special sangat.

• VWfan on Sep 28, 2016 at 4:04 pm

sembang kencing kencang je diaorang ni…mesti ada effect pada rakyat punya…

• This is just digging a hole to fix another existing hole. Fof f’s sake they can’t even standardise the current plate. You can see many customised plates on the road (usually on big cars and ah beng-owned cars). Some wording as small as ants

• Mann Bell on Sep 28, 2016 at 5:41 pm

i want a standardized license plate for all ASEAN countries

• I lup Kronee on Sep 28, 2016 at 6:26 pm

the current alphabet sizing and spacing on the plate number oso JPJ cannot enforce and take action….

Now JPJ pandai-pandai come up with this idea???!!!!

This must be idea of Cronies 1Malaysia to squeeze more sweat and blood money from the poor rakyat…..

BTW, JPJ until now sooooo damnn useless against car owners that over-tint the windscreen. Dont know, no action? or buat taktau- but cari makan, huh??

• Metal plate is useless.Worse than the existing plastic plates.They have already tried doing this more than 10 years ago with new Proton cars.But after a few years, the white paint for the lettering would peel off, leaving the whole plate black. Some would also be bent.So how is it that metal plates are better than plastic ones?At least the plastic lettering on the black plastic plate would remain permanently white. As usual, they never learn from past mistakes.This is just another project to feed their cronies.

• Das Auto on Sep 28, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Follow Australia way, you buy and get it physically from RTA and give it back when no more in use. Also, affordable rental of the special number/vanity plates by all classes of people against practice now where only the super rich i.e. the Elitist can afford it.

• ‘Standardizing’ physical number plates to fight cloning and crime? Highly unlikely. The registration system should be electronically and administratively improved and monitored instead. This scheme smells like the unnecessary replacement of coins and notes a few years ago which served no purpose other than enriching connected people.

• no registration attache with the barcode mana mau lari

• use barcode together with existing number mana mau lari dan murah

• Edwin KEC on Jan 04, 2023 at 9:33 pm

Sudah tiba masanya untuk tanya MOT….
    Bila mahu standardise nombor plate untuk semua kenderaan di malaysia.