No more custom number plates! Standardised vehicle licence plate production coming later this year

licence plate

Customised number plate styles and fonts have long been a thorn in the side of law enforcement agencies in the country for a long time – and apparently the Road Transport Department (JPJ) is finally doing something about it, according to The Sun.

The English language daily quotes deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi, saying that JPJ will implement a centralised production scheme for new standardised licence plates in the second half of this year, using metal plates with stamping. These plates are similar in style to the ones used in Singapore and Thailand.

The new number plate scheme will be launched after the introduction of national plates as part of major programmes by agencies under the transport ministry this year. “For a start, we will make the installation of the new type of number plates to be mandatory for new vehicles. Later, we will expand it gradually for existing vehicles in the next five years,” said Aziz.

He added that authorised agents in each district will be appointed gradually to ensure that number plates are produced in accordance to JPJ specification, in order to more effectively replace the licence plates on an estimated 18 million active registered vehicles.

These vendors, Aziz stressed, will be required to use the JPJ’s MySikap online registration system to keep production in sync with the agency’s records, to keep production under control, maintain the JPJ’s specification and prevent certain parties from changing plates without valid reason.

JPJ number plate specification

JPJ’s current number plate specification. Click to enlarge

New buyers will get the new plates at no extra cost, and the JPJ is reportedly presenting a paper to the cabinet next month, requesting for government funding to cover the replacement cost on existing cars.

Aziz claims that the move is done in the interest in public security, as well as road safety – witnesses of the fatal incident on the DUKE Highway last May were unable to identify the registration numbers of at least three of the six Perodua Myvis allegedly street racing, as they were fitted with custom plates.

Custom number plates have also caused problems with the Automated Enforcement System (AES) – so far, there have been 87,000 cases of errant motorists who have slipped past the cameras’ detection, as their registration numbers were barely visible.

The standardised number plate styles would presumably also maximise the effectiveness of the new Automated Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) system, which helps the police identify and nab motorists with outstanding summonses.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Singapore had did this 30 years ago.. Malaysia all shit also slow but better late than never.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 5
    • hahaha on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:39 pm

make it reflective to suit flash cameras from AES too!!

• Kaching! on Jan 13, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Congratulation to the company that got the contract. Wonder how much per pair the plates will be charged to the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Songlap on Jan 13, 2016 at 7:45 pm

Who is the contractor? Open tander? Or still sapu by our dear Rosmah? One car earn RM10 from….omg…. crazy number…..

• Kapchai on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:08 pm

In China all vehicle plates issued by authorities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Leonardo on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Who would be the ‘authorised agents’? Can anyone apply or will there be a ‘selected few’?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • jinggo on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Haha… untung la kroni sudah ada ‘new cash cow’…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
  • tokmoh. on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:10 pm

Translation : cronies perlu cari makan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Also must prevent whoever likes to put the emblem Majlis Dato Dato Negeri something.

Better late than never lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Rilexla on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:12 pm

JPJ, always focusing on the most important issues at hand! *scoffs*

I think metal stamped plates aren’t the best, I think the UK and Hong Kong have gotten it right. Plastic printed plates, durable and legible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • kington on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:39 pm

I think back in 1996 and 1997, Proton used metal number plates which faded badly till one can’t see what’s printed.

Ain’t this rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:21 pm

Right, EON had a go with that. Unfortunately at rm300 per set it was ridiculously priced.

• Once faded they will say: ‘Encik punye number plate dah pudar ni, ni kena saman encik.’ Kena once with my 20 years Wira.

• Susukotak on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Huhu.. darp buat majlis pelancaran… baik kaji semula saiz yg sesuai.nanti ada ke yg nak skru kat depan motorsikal..

• JPJ should add this -> except VVIP vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • alex chan on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Good move JPJ, make it mandatory just like Australia, Thailand, Sinjapor and Europe country.
    Please ignore those negative comments, people will give negative comment without any suggestion. some will shout it out loud in FB..i dont understand why people afraid to change for betterment.

some suggestions :
    1. Register all shop company that fabricate the new number plate type – So only legal number plate are stamped.
    2. Metal stamping are good, they are hard to be tempered it still can be tempered by unregistered shop that have the stamping module but the chances is low.
    3. It is a lucrative business, so delegates the number plate stamping fairly to PKR, DAP, PAS, UMNO, business man. this is to avoid “kroni” issue.

I fully support this~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 58
    • hohoboy on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:37 pm

bro, u must be drunk, this is boleh land bro. do u think the gov who stay there a decade willing to share this profit “fairly”? only in ur dream bro…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • albag on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:49 pm

how much you’ve been paid to say this?

• number on Jan 14, 2016 at 12:33 pm

which rock are you living under all this time??

• Giggegoogle on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:20 pm

Here goes another profit for cronies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • MeToo on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Each plate cheap cheap RM250 only…. but dont worry… car owners only pay RM50 to upgrade to these new metal plate done thru special stamping process.

The other RM200 will be subsidised by the govt. Since we have about 20 million registered vehicle.. that’s about 4 Billion in subsidies.. good profit for the crony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Sharon on Jan 13, 2016 at 12:43 pm

No more, soon? Are you sure?

Problematic and illegal number plate will still exist. The problem is police and most importantly the JPJ personels didn’t take serious action against the car/motocycle owners.

I’ve seen cars with blank number plate, the numbers with dark grey, number plates with small letters – about 2.5 – 3cm of width and height + reflective letters.

So, what, and where when wrong? Question to ask to the JPJ and police.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:04 pm

“Aziz claims that the move is done in the interest in public security, as well as road safety – witnesses of the fatal incident on the DUKE Highway last May were unable to identify the registration numbers of at least three of the six Perodua Myvis allegedly street racing, as they were fitted with custom plates. ”

as per usual , it takes a few bodies underground before anybody takes things seriously…

• frossonice on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:07 pm

It would be great if they could embedded road tax into the plate itself with RFID chip. Yes, it will cost money but it will help in enforcement and reduce risk of stolen/clone vehicles on the street.

• Have a drive into the Wangsa Maju JPJ and u wil be surprise how many of the officers vehicle having custom number plate.

U want ppl to follow rule ur own officers also don’t follow? How leh? Talk cock sing song only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Sadakochin on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:22 pm

Btw, did you guys actually measure the biggest possible size that the plate can be if they have the 3 + 1 alphabet and 4 full size digits?

I measured the total and it comes to 28cm * 17 cm.

Those are pretty wide plates.

I do think the 10cm standard for character spaced is just a little too wide.

If the standard characters are monospaced fonts, these wouldn’t be a problem though.

• Myeg sure get this business

• Realist on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Ahhhh this is no good. I have four plates that all spell a certain word, one spells my name. Only reason it looks anything close to the word intended is because of custom plates that make 3’s look like E’s, 7’s/T’s, 4’s/A’s etc. All plates will lose value. Rubbish man.

JPJ always focusing on unimportant things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • youtheoneunrealandnut on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:09 pm

are u nut? the reason having car plate is to identify ur car for safety for public reasons, not to spell ur name nor decorate ur car. selling customised car plate, so-called special numbers with high value that’s a business only rich people with too much money, have no way to spend will fall for this. this is not unimportant, one day if u robbed/’hit and run’/accident by someone who is having the customised car plate and u couldn’t identify the car plate number i will say it’s a karma to u. standardise car plate is a good move, we are doing it too late. if this involving profit to cronies that’s the shame part of it. standardise car plate is a must.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Mr Fakta on Jan 13, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Yeah! More income for cronies and those affiliated.

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 13, 2016 at 2:25 pm

meanwhile a crony is laughing all the way to the bank. LOL

• olio benzina on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:09 pm

JPJ, here is a chance to do it better than Singapore and Thailand and lead the way.
    Choose another font/type that clearly distinguish between 6, 8 and 9 from afar.

• Rocky on Jan 14, 2016 at 1:23 am

That’s right. The current official JPJ number plate fonts are downright terrible. Can’t distinguish between 6, 8 and 9, or between Q and 0, from a distance, and it’s even worse at night. We should just use German or Californian number plate fonts, which have been intelligently designed to be visible and legible.

• Dual VVTI on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:21 pm

Another white elephant project

• classic car plate on Jan 13, 2016 at 3:43 pm

with this new regulation, I will miss my original metal plates attached with with my car since 40 years ago. Those metal number plates gives the proper period/classic look to the car. Using a new/modern type/font of number plates is like clothing an old person in hipster style. They do not mix well.

• The problem is the enforcement. If JPJ or police strict on catching the non-standard number plate, sure every one will follow

• Aero (Member) on Jan 13, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Wow, stamped metal plates ! Finally, JPJ got their act together. In the 50s and 60s, stamped metal plates were the norm, then by the 80s, plastic plates became the standard, and have remained ever since. The problem with plastic plates is that they’re not durable. The characters will crack or fall off after a few years (or even months) and they oxidise (become yellow). Some vendors make good quality plastic plates, most notably UMW Toyota’s… but others like Proton’s especially do not. The alphabets and numbers on my mom’s Saga FLX plate fell off one after another, and it’s such a nuisance getting them replaced. Weirdly, the ones on my older 9-year old Saga have never fallen off, ever… but some characters have cracked.

Metal plates should theoretically last for decades, but if the JPJ plans to use any form of colouring, they must ensure that the colours do not fade in time. Also, the JPJ should not crudely stamp their metal plates like in Indonesia. It looks cheap and fragile (easily bent). The Thai and Singaporean metal plates are MUCH nicer… but if it’s the best you’re looking for, then it has to be the signature German plates.

It’s also much easier to forge fake plastic plates than metal ones. Anybody can walk into a number plate shop and order any plate they like with little to no documents. Many of the number plate specialists have no connections to the JPJ whatsoever. These people could then use the fake number plates on their car and commit crimes (AES, illegal parking etc.), which the unwary, random victim will have to pay for.

I think it’s good that they are bringing metal plates back… but knowing JPJ, it will have ‘udang di sebalik batu’, and this is also extremely bad news for the specialist number plates shops. However, I hope that the JPJ does not force existing car owners to upgrade to the new metal plates, as some owners wish to keep their original plates for sentimental or other reasons. Whoever wants to upgrade can do so accordingly.

• pomen on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:03 pm

vendor make money, sure they come from crony gang…another waste rakyat money…but for minister and vvvvvip, they ignore this rules…

• Toyoda top salesman on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Its a good move as the current stick on plasticß often looked teriibble due to misalignment coz by the person doing the lousy job..imagine yur new car coming wit lousing plate in which the numbers aligned too much to left right or some alphabets not evenly spaced

• SapuMalaysia on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Satu lagi projek untuk songlap…..

Anyway, please dont blame plates. Blame piss poor enforcement.

• ben yap on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:40 pm

vendors that are linked to sepupu, saudara, kawan baik will get the authorization. or those willing to bayar duit kopi to get authorization also eligible.

• Tauke Besi Buruk on Jan 13, 2016 at 6:45 pm

Metal number plates?? Are you sure, Lads?! Wow, this is quite a stroke of fortune!

What’s stopping me from stealing these metal plates for my business? No more ripping old vehicles apart! I save alot of time taking these plates and then move onto another victim!

• tokmoh. on Jan 14, 2016 at 9:26 am

Precisely.

So many manhole cover always get stolen, metal plate seems easy target.

Plastic may not last as long, but dirt cheap to replace and not thief magnet.

• tricycle on Jan 13, 2016 at 8:43 pm

agree, as long it is not the plastic type. use the metal type like in the US.

That way it will last forever. if plastic type, if broken hit by flying stone how?

never in any country we have so much of stone scattered all over our roads.

• awannano on Jan 13, 2016 at 9:16 pm

This should be the job for prisoners. Like in the US.

• Rocky on Jan 14, 2016 at 1:33 am

What about number plates for motorcycles? Will they be standardized too? Right now we see that almost all big bikes do not have rear number plates. The “number plates” are stickers under the wheel arch, which are not visible. Police and JPJ seem to be taking no action at all.

• Susukotak on Jan 14, 2016 at 7:55 am

Do like Aussie do. Put some word up there like “1 ?Malaysia ???

• Hi Paul Tan Website,

Any update from the govt about the Standardisation of the vehicle licence plate this year?

• Zhang on Jan 20, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Until today i don’t see any issues with fancies number plates n tinted glass. Talk syoik only

• MakKauHijau on Sep 06, 2019 at 1:19 pm

2019… still not implement it. JPJ talk shit.