Toyota Corolla Altis facelift – Malaysian specs revealed

altis-facelift-malaysia-spec-01

Yesterday, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) opened the order books for the Toyota Corolla Altis facelift, with confirmed variants and pricing. The facelifted C-segment sedan – first seen in March – is available in three variants: the base 1.8E, 1.8G and range-topping 2.0V.

At RM117,361, RM120,278 and RM134,865 (OTR without insurance) respectively, the refreshed Altis has identical pricing to the outgoing pre-facelift 11th gen sedan, which was introduced here in 2014. Now, full specs have been released on UMWT’s official website and we can see what those sums will buy you.

We start with safety. Seven airbags (including a driver’s knee airbag) are now available standard across the board, along with Vehicle Stability Control (VSC). In the pre-facelift, only the 2.0V comes with VSC, and two airbags are standard across the range. An optional “Additional Safety Package” bumps the airbag count to seven, but that’s only available for the 2.0V. A big upgrade in this department.

No changes to the running gear, which means that the 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre (139 PS/173 Nm) and the 3ZR-FE 2.0 litre (145 PS/197 Nm) engines continue to power the Altis, paired to a CVT automatic with seven-speed “Sport Sequential Shiftmatic Mode”. The 2.0L car comes with steering wheel paddle shifters for the CVT’s manual mode.

The top Altis rolls on 17-inch alloys (215/45 tyres), an inch larger than the 16s on the 1.8L cars (205/55 tyres). It also illuminates the road ahead with LED headlamps, compared to halogen units on the 1.8L. LED daytime running lights (DRLs) and new design LED tail lamps are standard for all, as are front and rear fog lamps. Headlamps are automatic for all variants. Also for all, front and rear parking sensors.

The wing mirrors are power adjustable and retractable, with signal lamps for the 1.8E. Those on the 1.8G and 2.0V add on auto folding and reverse link functions. All variants get chrome on the door handles, rear garnish and front grille. No visible antenna, which is glass printed.

altis-facelift-pricelist

Inside the Altis FL’s black-themed cabin, standard kit includes automatic (single-zone) air con, keyless entry with push start, leather tilt/telescopic steering with audio buttons and 60:40 split folding rear seats. The 1.8G adds on Optitron instruments, buttons for the multi-info display and Bluetooth functions on the steering and leather seats to the mix.

On top of the 1.8G’s toys, the 2.0V throws in cruise control and a “sports type” eight-way powered driver’s seat with lumbar support. There’s also an auto electro-chromic rear view mirror for the range topper.

On the options list is Toyota’s DVD-AVN 2-DIN head unit seven-inch touchscreen, Bluetooth, WiFi, HDMI, Smartphone Link, navigation and reverse camera. A more advanced unit is the DIV-AVN, which adds on a capacitive touchscreen and Internet browser. One can also add on a five-piece aerokit, dashcam, illuminated scuff plates and window tint.

Of course, the Corolla Altis facelift’s main rival will be the latest Honda Civic, which has bossed the now less hot C-segment sedan market since its June launch. The Civic FC also comes in three variants, but starts at a lower price than the base Altis (RM110,426 for the Civic 1.8S) and tops out at around RM3,000 lower (RM131,883 for the 1.5 Turbo Premium) than the Altis 2.0V.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 11, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Oh my Oh my. What ridiculous price. Last time tipu Malaysians with no VSC and overpriced car at RM139k.

Now, they put VSC but think Malaysians will fall for it?
    UMW is so greedy. Now your can get a brand new Nissan Teana for RM123k OTR. Comes standard with VSC, 6 airbags, leather etc etc. And this a proper D segment. It is so spacious.

Which fool would pay ver RM121k for a small C segment car? Isn’t that dumb?

This is the problem with UMW. They think they can sell anything to the rakyat and get away with it at any price. MITI also cannot tell them to lower their price cause UMW is fully Government owned. So, if UMW earns less, Government also earns less.

By the way, in the US, a 10 airbag Corolla (Altis) cost about US$15,000. That is RM60k. How it jump to RM139k is beyond me. CKD somemore should be cheaper.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 21
    • Where and how the hell u get teana 123k otr.. i searched up and down for it???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 12, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Go to any Nissan dealership and ask for discounts. Now, they are selling OTR at RM123k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • Operation Manager on Nov 12, 2016 at 3:04 pm

WTF with car makers/dealers & automotive association/Institute in Msia…? Civic Corrola only price from RM67k onwards in USA & AUS; while BOLEH start from RM120K onwards… BOLEH earning only avg. Income RM5000/m, compared AUS 6.1K/m (RM16k/m) or USD 4.6k/m (RM20k/m) … ??? Very pity those loan > RM100K only for a piece of metal that will be scrap in coming 15yrs… slave to $$$ & struggle every single month. …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • nazee on Nov 13, 2016 at 1:23 pm

There is no replacement for displacement, guys. If one can get over badge snobbery and skillfully drive a 5m car, instead of range topping C segs that are just sissy, just get the 2.4 perdana. 2.4 ivtec + 5speed anytime over a small turbo with cvt.

• In b4 alll done in the name of protection for proton and perodua. Don’t persoal

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 13, 2016 at 1:38 am

Consider a used Elantra. You will be surprised

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:36 pm

You can’t for a sushi, but consider a used kimchi. Very dai mai

• Sam very Huat Loo on Nov 11, 2016 at 6:38 pm

As long as its Sushi, you will not be cheated of your hard earned money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 12, 2016 at 11:08 am

Now the front looks more sharp…the taillights even better looking…it will age gracefully…unlike new civic which looks kinda weird after awhile…must be the c pillar…and the front kinda bland…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2, Toyota Nirvana on Nov 13, 2016 at 2:32 pm

ALTIS 2.0V
      RM138,900 Peninsula price
      RM90,405 Langkawi price
      You are paying RM48,495 or 34.91% more

ALTIS 1.8G
      RM123,900 Peninsula price
      RM83,595 Langkawi price
      You are paying RM40,305 or 32.53% more

ALTIS 1.8E
      RM120,900 Peninsula price
      RM80,591 Langkawi price
      You are paying RM40,309 or 33.34% more

VIOS 1.5J (AT)
      RM79,800 Peninsula price
      RM66,641 Langkawi price
      You are paying RM13,159 or 16.49% more

Are we being overcharged by car manufacturers?
      That is why I do not want to support the government and their local car industry!
      Wake up people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
      • abah kau on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:11 pm

the customs excise duty is paid to the govt. not manufacturers.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 11, 2016 at 4:37 pm

Only a real bodoh will buy a 1.8 Altis which is a C segment. Better just buy a Honda Civic, cheaper price, 5 years warranty and better car in every way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 18
    • Albert on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Kunta
      Every car brand,there are ardent and hardcore fanboys.
      One man’s meat…is another man’s poison.
      Just like Proton,there r thousands of loyalists,no matter how our forum guys hantam.
      But let the wise man choose according to his BUDGET and not overspend in this GST laden economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Sama L00 on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:07 pm

After 5 years, how much a used Civic worth and used Altis worth? you will be regret not buying Altis last time. Now I teach you the concept of RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • Sam proton on Nov 12, 2016 at 8:36 am

Like u did for yr kid, get a saga, RV not as good like what u said compared to sushi. Well done uncle Sam

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Buy a 12 month old used kimchi. Its the car with the best value for money as it would have depreciated by more than half.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:24 pm

Bro Toyota also offer 5 years warranty for all its new models. True the Civic is good but I will want to see how durable is their 1.5l turbo engine. The Germans all have issues with their turbo engines after a few years and it costs a bomb to replace the turbo and its misc. parts associated with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • How many German cars you own to comment like that bro?
        I have owned BMWs E36,E46, E90 & current F30….nvr had any issue with their turbo engines….unless you abuse the engine with high rev all the time and not doing your regular maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
        • Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Correction, only the F30 is turbocharged

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Seantakloo on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:52 pm

His 316 no turbo

• Kompressor on Nov 12, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Liar liar liar. E36 e46 e90 where got turbo? Merc ady got first lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • Cross on Nov 12, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Obviously be never own any of the cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • alldisc on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:37 pm

e46 and e90 does have turbocharged version, the diesel specs. not available here though. it is either he is a liar or just pathetic.

• SammyVelluu on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:25 pm

Civic is also a C-segment fyi. And nope, it’s not a better car in every way.

I owned the TC-P and on the very first day I collect my car, I realised uneven paint job near the rear left door and small scratches at the top of the car that could not be removed through polishing. Subsequent problems includes air-cond issue and rear ball joint issue, as well as the annoying “A” service reminder that comes out after every 5-6000km (and you need to go back to the SC again during your 10k service interval).

Fun to drive? Definitely true. But the overall built quality and refinement of the car is way behind Toyota.

Different people have different perspective about cars. Like my girlfriend who have complained about my ugly “ketam” butt since the first day. There’s no need to call them “bodoh”. I believe the 1.8 would sell well here since it’s a Toyota and there will still be people who appreciates the conservative design and the overall refinement of the Altis. (Especially Malaysians & Singaporeans)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
      • Altis owner on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:39 pm

I agree. Altis are overprice but Toyota will give u free for value package and cash discount when chinese new year or hari raya. Quality wise Altis will better than Civic since Altis is CBU from Thailand unlike Civic is CKD with local part but still got a few rattling noise from door and rear seat belt,coating for wheel arch not fully spray and leather seat not very good quality for pre facelift. My family have Altis and have to see new Civic actually just dissapointed for safety because just 2 airbag and no VSC but others no complaint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • After seeing both altis and civic, i doubt altis quality is better than civic. test drive both and i can say altis is more quiet and civic is way more fun to drive (turbo version). Interior quality wise, you really need a closer look on both, and for me civic (FC-TCP) interior quality is way better than altis.

• Civicturbo on Nov 12, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Refinement is nothing without power

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Hi Sammy – Could you elaborate on the air-cond issue an the rear ball joint issue? I am considering to get of these “crabs” but wanted to know the experience of current owners like yourself. Thx.

• Paultan really need to ban this Kunta guy from posting rubbish here.. From the RM 85k for 2015 2.5V camry to this post, keep calling ppl bodo due to jealously of being a poorfag and can’t afford a good car and etc, his rubbish post just keep popping out non stop..

Seriously, he seems to need some mental medication..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Downnn on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:29 pm

True, I thought there comments here are moderated. How the heck does the ones from him gets through??

• nabill (Member) on Nov 12, 2016 at 2:27 pm

They wont..n its getting boring since long ago.. And hes making the whole site 90% dumber…

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 12, 2016 at 2:49 pm

I can’t help it if owners of Toyota are hurt by bad RV or Toyota salesman are hurt by near ZERO sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • Topkek on Nov 12, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Eh why so defensive when anyone bashing jepunis cars? When bashers bash p1 everyone keep quiet like no balls pulak.

Topkek

• Ganesh on Nov 11, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Much better value than the lousy Perdana. It’s Sushi Toyota quality versus that disgusting brand and after sales service

• Albert on Nov 11, 2016 at 4:55 pm

PREMIUM PRICING do not always equate to QUALITY AND VALUE FOR MONEY.
    Toyota may have a respectable level of quality but the pricing here by UMW is TOO STEEP AND PREMIUM.
    value for money….well u have Honda to compare and some go for preowned units.
    With Donald Trump as President come Jan 2017,the world economy is still UNCERTAIN,COUPLED WITH DEPRESSED OIL PRICES.
    SO,U WANNA commit to 7-10 year bondage loans ?
    Go ahead if u have plan B and C in case u lose your job or your business is in tatters.
    But if u r afraid that keta kena tarik,BETTER STAY AWAY FROM NEW CARS for the moment.

• idealtech on Nov 12, 2016 at 11:32 am

True. Went to several 2nd hand car shop and none rm14 n below cars were there.

• I would rather save up for the Hyundai Ionnic Hybrid which pack with features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Toyota threw crumbs only. Others still better speced.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 11, 2016 at 5:21 pm

They should just do away with the 1.8E la…how much of a difference does it make when you take a 7 year loan? Almost nothing and finally UMW is catching up to the Civic in terms of spec

• Whats reverse link?

• suomynona on Nov 12, 2016 at 5:51 am

Based on the sentence above, I believe it means the wing mirrors will tilt downwards towards the tires as you reverse to help you keep an eye on your tires from hitting the kerb

• lolpanda on Nov 12, 2016 at 11:11 am

I reckon it tilts the wing mirrors downwards when you engage reverse to help you park better…couple of cars have this feature..major nuisance if you ask me..by the time the mirrors adjust I’m done parking.

• Jimmy on Nov 12, 2016 at 1:18 pm

In more premium vehicles, the side mirrors are link to reverse gear. It turns downward to give you better view of the road when you want to reverse. This is something ‘new’ to Toyota USA, so is puddle lamp. Did you get both in older Toyotas?

No katak words please.

• Anything but P1, Greedy P2 on Nov 11, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Seven airbags and VSC are a great welcome.
    But torsion beam rear suspension?
    Hahaha even my 15 year old Waja has the independent rear suspension

• karam singh on Nov 14, 2016 at 2:21 pm

the advantages of torsion beam among others 1. sits low & gives lower gravity point. better weight distribution means better handling. 2. doesnt consume cabin space so floor can be lower and giving better rear space / leg room 3. multi link system has multiple points bolted to the body. more noise transferred to cabin. 4. holds left/right absorber camber angle better. almost zero changes between left-right. fyi, honda civic type R does utilise torsion beam in one its models, if not mistaken EP3. it is that good.

• Redmac on Nov 12, 2016 at 12:26 am

Standard only 2 airbags?? Considering the starting price, it is unacceptable, and considering this car only use torsion beam, the profit margin must be HUGE. Spec by spec it can and should be priced much cheaper than Civic. Even the new Vios facelift already have 6.5k discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Strange on Nov 14, 2016 at 9:12 am

Some people just bashing without even read the article. This is the intelligence level in Malaysia. Sad to realize this. p/s:Redmac

• tail light patung on Nov 12, 2016 at 9:31 am

wow, glass printed antenna..ok at least the toyota had put some sincere package to customer with the price. Not like the 2012 113k 1.8E that without the vsc..I will choose the altis in between the new civic. Hard time for toyota next year ahead, their popular vios are losing out to city, bezza and persona..

• Atz1999 on Nov 12, 2016 at 10:56 am

Toyota is Mercedes made in Japan. Honda is BMW made in Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • LOK CHYI YEU on Nov 12, 2016 at 3:56 pm

I have the previous gen 2.0v which is nice to drive but I think the current gen facelift version not really giving us the airbag that we deserve. In 2016 and 130k price 2 airbags is kinda ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Toyota needs a totally new model to fight the Civic . This facelift hardly people will even consider. New C segment at least use independent rear suspension, not the torsion beam like current one. Independent rear suspension is much more comfortable.

• I read some saying Toyota has good RV. I only managed to get rid of my 4 yrs 6 mnths Altis at RM60 k. Bought at nearly RM123k. Not good RV at all in my opinion. Was that considered good?

Toyota is over priced for what they give here in Malaysia. While different ppl hv different taste, i find it hard to understand why wud anyone want to pay so much more for Altis when the new Civic is just awesome. In the US Civic beats Corolla in terms of overall value (by consumer reports) as well as sales.

• your car will be sell at 70k++ from car dealer after this then other people will feel altis is high rv..lol

• Peugeot fan on Nov 13, 2016 at 9:24 am

You want to sell the car at now a days standard, “turbo engine ” is the magic word

• Wann 12 on Nov 13, 2016 at 10:45 am

there are many better (or equivalent) cars out there, with better pricing than toyota….

• gti owner on Nov 13, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Toyata, please see what VW provide for their recent golf gti facelift

• Those who bought pre-facelifted Altis is crying. with current spec resell value drop 10k ad.

• camtakpro on Nov 14, 2016 at 11:46 am

More like a lousy/lame stop-gap response to counter new Civic. Too late though.

So if Honda BRV comes in, Avanza will have VSC across all range as well?

• lsgoh on Nov 14, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Pity those pre facelift owner … again kena cheated … paid high sky price yet only got 2 airbags and no VSC … now facelift model despite still sky high price but at least slightly better specs …

• One man’s meat is another man’s poison. There will always be drivers who support their favorite car brands no matter how much we to tend compare the features & price of we get locally here or overseas. What is more entertaining are the comments given by our very own “Sam Loo”. He always make me have a good laugh especially when you have a hard day. :)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Nov 15, 2016 at 7:39 pm

I always support people that buys new kimchis, coz they will prime the kimchi used car market 12 months later

• Mr Lobak on Jan 09, 2017 at 2:38 pm

After see the numerous problem of Honda Civic, 2017 Altis might be a good buy, I am a Honda owner but their quality of interior and spare parts just below par. Space definitely altis will be better if you talk about comfortable, even tho front passenger seat I can’t find my comfortable spot due to the leg room, I can’t put my leg comfortable due to the deaign of the seating floor and im 178cm. This year altis 2017 you can really consider , if talk about previous gen straight other car. That’s my two cents. With this range altis vs mazda 3 vs honda civic

1. Toyota Altis 2017 = Family car most important is comfortable of seat especially cabin. Safety feature is a plus. Finally toyota aware of it. But everyone only blame UMW, actually Taiwan is the same, their previous model same as Malaysia too. Maybe Toyota marketing startegy?

2. Honda Civic 2016 = Cabin seat leg room quite outstanding due to the design, but the middle of floor bump almost my one hand height, and the seat cushion I found it too soft, it will comfortable for short jouney but long journey definitely I can guarantee it would found comfortable. But thumbs up with how honda utilize interior just outstanding. I love their cable management tray.

3. Mazda 3 = The look sporty kaw kaw, cabin leg room not enough. But got load confident of skyactive engine, just that malaysia service center not as much as honda and Toyota

If I’m single I will choose btw Honda and Mazda, Family then Altis