Volkswagen Polo GTI Mk6 gets 200 PS 2.0 TSI engine

The all-new Volkswagen Polo GTI Mk6 has been unveiled, featuring brand new looks inside and out, fresh platform and engine, plus a host of advanced technologies. As usual, it forms the flagship model of the all-new Polo Mk6 range but with one big change – it’s five-door only now, as the three-door body style has been dropped altogether.

While the new Ford Fiesta ST has gone down the downsized engine route with a 1.5 litre turbo three-pot, the Polo GTI Mk6 does the complete opposite. Out goes the 192 PS 1.8 litre turbocharged motor, replaced by a new 2.0 litre TSI engine with 200 PS. European markets get a choice between a six-speed manual and seven-speed dual-clutch DSG. No power figures have been revealed just yet.

Sitting on a shortened MQB modular platform, the latest Polo GTI sports a brand new look, with a more sporty silhouette thanks to lower and longer body proportions. It’s now longer, wider and lower than the outgoing model, with its wheelbase getting a significant 94 mm increase. For the first time, the Polo GTI gets an optional Sport Select active dampers.

It gets the usual line of GTI add-ons, including a unique front bumper design with honeycomb elements, a red stripe that extends from the grille into the LED headlights, large rear spoiler and dual tail piles. Larger wheels (up to 18-inches now) with red brake calipers and plenty of GTI badging complete the exterior makeover.

Inside, it gets iconic Clark tartan eats, a sports steering wheel with red contrast stitching, black rooflining and a GTI gear knob. A second-generation Active Info Display, Front Assist area monitoring system with City Emergency Braking and Active Cruise Control are also available, among others.

Whether it will be any good to drive remains to be seen. For now, what do you think of the new Volkswagen Polo GTI Mk6?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Golfer on Jun 16, 2017 at 7:40 pm

The Best got Better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Right Move on Jun 17, 2017 at 7:26 am

I believe VW has done the right thing by opting for a 2.0 litre capacity. Gone are the days when you can get so much power through forced induction on a 3 cylinder unit, as opted by Ford for its Fiesta. Nowadays manufacturers have realised that there is a limit to over stressing a 3 cylinder engine. The engine does not last long and you also have to live with that horrendous 3 cylinder sound which does not sound good for a performance engine. Bravo, VW for having the guts to go reverse on the global trend for downsizing engines. Now the Polo GTI really makes sense to own. Real power and glory without the gimmicks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • redidiot on Jun 17, 2017 at 12:36 pm

thats right bro- no replacement for displacement, even for forced induction.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2017 at 10:02 am

Still remember 5 yrs ago when VW owners were so arrogant. Always rev at traffic light. Even come to forums and laugh at other people. Say we got no money to buy their VW and kutuk us.

Today VW owners are all in shame. All hiding their faces. All malu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 39
      • redidiot on Jun 17, 2017 at 12:34 pm

you sound like an alt right dimwit that generalizes all musims as terrorists.
        of course there are idiot vw drivers out there, shame on them. but to generalize all vw drivers are like that is disingenuous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 29
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2017 at 1:00 pm

What is “musims” ? musim – season kah?

Musim durian kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
          • Sick of kunta on Jun 18, 2017 at 11:28 am

I’m pretty sick of this Kunta fella. I think he is a jobless keyboard warrior who saves up every penny to pay his unify bill, only to spew venom here, which satisfies him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • New world order on Jun 18, 2017 at 2:47 pm

If I see this Kunta in real life, I’ll punch his face. Piece of shit

• Now why shud we belip a toyota cum-part-time 2nd hand used car salesman?

• contilovernproton on Jun 19, 2017 at 9:26 am

what’s ur problem? that is their choice to rev at traffic light…and they dont simply rev if they see Kancil or some NA family car…must be their friend, or checking some engine sound. i dont understand people like u jealous because u can only afford Japanese/Korean car. invest and one day you can drive one either from VW, Merz, BMW. Dont be jealous and do nothing or just keyboard warrior!

• JustaCarGuy on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:50 pm

speaking from the perspective of performance for buck alone..
      The new Elantra 1.6turbo already gives 204PS with a 7-speed DCT plus multilink suspension.. and it’s selling for RM136k (which I doubt the polo GTI can priced lower than that).. does it makes sense to get a Polo GTI then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • I’ll bet this polo drives a lot better than any asian cars, which is what most conti do best…sublime driving experience…thats why the slight premium over asian brand, anyway….if want more premium can opt for its more premium class bro..the Audi A1 hatch

• Both cars are in a completely different class. The Polo GTI 2.0 will be a small and sporty hatchback, while the Elantra is the better choice for families. Don’t expect the Elantra as sporty as the GTI and don’t expect the Polo as spacy as the Elantra.

• The interior of this car is really beautiful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Spelling nazi on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Piles = pipes, eats = seats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Look wayyy better now. Cant wait for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • 100 bhp/litre on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:19 pm

I hate to say this… but there’s no replacement for displacement…

• Das Auto on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:32 pm

Polo GTI rm150k

• 2L engine for Polo GTI? Where does that leave Golf GTI then?

• GTI V6 on Jun 17, 2017 at 7:29 am

Maybe a 2.5 litre V6 like how it uses to be? That would make the Golf GTI really desirable.

• That was not GTI ver. Thats Golf R, and it comes with AWD. pipu thought GTI was beast, wait till they experience R.

• Who needs a Golf GTI now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Mari-juvana on Jun 17, 2017 at 12:23 am

Looks lower and more hatchback like. A new golf GTI. While the current GTI will fight the A45 and M2?

• GTI fights wt Ford Focus STI, its sibling the SEAT Leon Cupra, Subaru WRX…etc..etc

while competing wt A45 & M2 is for its sibling the Audi RS3…(same premium segment)…basically VW group have all sorts of brand for every segment….

• Arizal on Jun 17, 2017 at 7:10 am

Der neuer Taschenrakete

• dsgsux on Jun 17, 2017 at 9:35 am

Wait till it spends weeks at SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • the old 1.8 Polo stopped production before i earned enough money. the outgoing version had no manual produced at all.

please bring in the CKD manual!

• Vamp99 on Jun 17, 2017 at 12:00 pm

The engine came from older Golf GTI mk5. Engine technology wise, new Fiesta ST 1.5 engine more intriguing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Henry Ford The XII on Jun 17, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Any idea what it has for its rear suspension – torsion beam or multi-link?

• amirad on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:40 pm

If it comes in manual transmission, I’m sold

• JustaCarGuy on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:46 pm

speaking from the perspective of performance for buck alone..
    The new Elantra 1.6turbo already gives 204PS with a 7-speed DCT plus multilink suspension.. and it’s selling for RM136k (which I doubt the polo GTI can priced lower than that).. does it makes sense to get a Polo GTI then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • gtivsstr on Jun 17, 2017 at 7:38 pm

You need to check its torque as well. PS does not reflect the actual momentum of the car. For instance a car with a higher PS does not make it faster than a slightly lower one. One needs to see real world performance figures. In many cases Korean cars show high bhp and PS figures, but lose out on outright power to lower PS Japanese cars. I believe this applies even when compared against VW cars. Only a real world test can prove/disprove your statement. My ten cents view.

• Henry on Jun 17, 2017 at 9:00 pm

This Polo GTi will definitely be priced more than 150k.

• Henry on Jun 17, 2017 at 8:58 pm

Berapa Ringgit? Bringing​ in the 6-speed manual, perhaps?

• WaJib on Jun 19, 2017 at 12:36 pm

Reasons for them not to put new Polo Gti 2.0 beyond 200ps is bacause they do not want to hurt Golf Gti sales due. Imagined a stock Polo Gti tapau stock Golf Gti…Malulah paid a lot for an iconic brother

• WTF…! Still the 7Speed DSG Dry Clutches??