Naza Quest ends its Chevrolet distributorship – GM to announce new Malaysian partner in due course

Naza Quest has announced that effective from November 15, it will cease the distribution of new Chevrolet vehicles in Malaysia. It added that under an agreement between it and General Motors (GM), it will continue to provide warranty support and after-sales service for existing Chevrolet customers until a new Chevrolet distributor is appointed in due course.

The company added that a majority of Chevrolet dealerships will remain open during this transition to handle the after-sales needs of Chevrolet owners. The Naza Group began its Chevrolet distribution business in the country in 2010, and the last Chevrolet model to be introduced here was the second-generation Colorado facelift in 2016.

“We came to this decision as a result of a brand rationalisation plan under the Naza Group’s overall corporate strategy to create long-term sustainability and profitability. We will continue to focus on our other four and two-wheel brands. The Naza Group will maximize its complete automotive line-up and explore other business opportunities to expand its market share in the automotive industry,” Naza Automotive Group CEO Datuk Samson Anand George explained about the move.

Meanwhile, the American automaker said it remains committed to Malaysia and is looking at Chevrolet resuming sales in Malaysia as soon as possible. The company said it was in advanced discussions with potential new partners, with an announcement to be made in due course.

“Chevrolet is here to stay in Malaysia and we will be announcing our new distributor partner as soon as possible,” said GM Southeast Asia general director Vanchana Unakul.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• suomynona on Nov 14, 2018 at 8:52 pm

About damn time. Make Chevy Competitive Again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 15, 2018 at 7:54 am

This is no surprise. Actually Chevrolet is a good brand, but if you give it to lazy, incompetent people, of course lah the brand will die.

Those running the show are just incompetent and always seeking bantuan kerajaan.

You cannot make something work when half the time you are sleeping in the office and lepak whole day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
      • No wonder GM went seeking for bantuan kerajaan. They were useless and cant compete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Drbee on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:24 am

you mean Proton ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • You do know GM and Chrysler asked for the US government’s financial bailout during the 2008 recession, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • time to work hard. New Malaysia want people who work hard John

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • longjaafar on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:00 am

deswai mazda, merc, p2 so sukses

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:09 am

Chevy lineup just isn’t competitive anymore

• suomynona on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:43 am

They seem to have reasonably good looking cars there in the U.S., just bring it here & give it the best after sales as possible at the very least.

• Optimus on Nov 14, 2018 at 8:57 pm

NAZA – Chevrolet, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen.
    DRB – Proton, Honda, VW, Suzuki, Isuzu, Audi.
    SIME – Hyundai, Ford, BMW, LandRover, Porsche
    UMW – Perodua, Toyota, Lexus, Daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Abdul Wahab Khalid on Nov 15, 2018 at 8:18 am

Those Running Naza Quest are similiar to those running GLCs.

Nothing happens in office.

• Darren Surin on Nov 15, 2018 at 8:28 am

Semua GLC kah???? Oh wai! Oh Wai!

• nanku on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:26 am

Seems to be same pattern emerging. How they ran the country down past 61year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Long Long Time Ago on Nov 15, 2018 at 12:06 pm

Last time all brand have different distributor, some even have more than 1. Some even able to bring CBU car from Japan/Europe with competitive price vs CKD car after pay all the tax & duty.

• thefact on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:29 am

Naza – yes all 4 brands are under them – this is how the can get damn good prices for their cars, even though they are barely CKD.
      DRB – as far as i know, they are partners for the factory, as its the government law, but they dont own the rights to the brand in Malaysia. So Proton, Honda, VW, Suzuki, Isuzu, Audi run on their own, and get their assemblies done JV style with DRB.
      SIME – Yes. except BMW (partnership)
      UMW – Yes.

• Karam singh on Nov 15, 2018 at 1:32 pm

Auto Bavaria under some Darby is no more franchise holder. It is just a dealership now, super dealer by the number of outlets. The whole thing is run by BMW Malaysia, subsidiary of BMW AG

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 15, 2018 at 11:24 am

DRB-Hicom also has Mitsubishi and Tata. Essentially, 33% of the TIV rests with them.

• I think Naza is letting go of their other car brands and will solely be dealing with Pijot (assembly, seller, service & spares).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • In Naza property, way more money w less effort.

• But Pijot seems to be doing relatively well, their cars r moving upmarket from that time of 206 Bestari.

• thefact on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:36 am

upmarket cars, low prices.. but sales? moving up? roughly 2000 cars a year…thats like 0.3% of the entire malaysia market sales.

• Pomen on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:29 am

their cars r moving upmarket , sales moving up too. mazda.

• They have higher margin per sale now. And with higher prices, their quality oso increased. No more lousy cheap parts and easy to breakdown like b4.

• not all know to enjoy car. for most of the people, just will buy boring jap cars.

• Muhd Latiff on Nov 15, 2018 at 8:04 am

same way the AP guys think, Government give us AP, we sell it to make a quick profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • U mean like this? https://paultan.org/2018/11/08/ap-system-to-remain-but-policy-to-be-reviewed-miti/imported-vehicles-1a/

• Rahim on Nov 15, 2018 at 8:09 am

Have you wondered why Kia is No 1 In Australia and USA in terms of sales now?

And our Kia, Peugeot and Chevrolet is going lesser in number?

The answer is very simple. Mat Salleh work hard. Our local Naza dudes…..only tongkat they know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
      • thefact on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:33 am

Naza Automotive Group CEO Datuk Samson Anand George….. im not what is he doing…

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 15, 2018 at 10:51 am

Are you sure Kia is no.1 in USA and Australia? Go laugh at yourself before other people do.

• Kia no.1 in Aussie? Then what about their local Ford arm and Holden and Toyota Aussie? What happen to them, werent they oso managed by Mat Sallehs?

Like I told u b4. Dun bring ur lies and bollocks to reply me. Do it in ur own comments where ur dupes talk to each other.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 14, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Chevrolet has failed four times in Malaysia.
    Just give up.
    Why would Malaysia want Chevrolet back?
    Also I thought Chevrolet already died in Malaysia? Why only now announcing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • The Colorado is the best pick up in the business bar none. Compared to the granny 2.2 Ranger or any other. Distribution is where sales succeed or loose.

• Muhd Latiff on Nov 15, 2018 at 8:03 am

brand is good. Just that the people who run it got easy lives. Everything given to them free.

• So gud that they went bankrap in Asia? https://paultan.org/2018/04/17/gm-korea-told-to-restructure-or-risk-going-bankrupt/

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 14, 2018 at 9:54 pm

sub par cars….sub par dealer…die la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Bernard on Nov 14, 2018 at 10:14 pm

Always buy only Toyota or Honda in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • YB Albert on Nov 14, 2018 at 10:23 pm

Just pathetic the Naza grp treats their car distributorship.
    People who buy KIA,Chevrolet and other marques got a lemon type of treatment.The cars are not bad.It is just the bad management style of these AP infested tycoons that are disgusting.
    If u recall,the new pakatan recruit iron lady “awarded’few thousand huge APs to the dead tycoon,who was formerly a car salesman.He became an overnight millionaire.They continue to make tons of Juta Rm by selling expensive recon cars.
    Look at KIA in malaysia…they are retreating in sales,while in USA…KIA is are a respectable brand.
    Remember,distributorships are important.Even Rolls Royce will suffer,if the local distributor is half baked.
    Better park yr hard earned money with a reliable distributor than regret.Imagine,u require a critical spare part under warranty while waiting for the new distributor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • You are absolutely right. I have a Peugeot, pathetic service centres, days to get parts from less than 20 klms away. No support for older models needing computer link for diagnosis. This start’s at the top, top is distributors that’s NAZA. Funny how I also tried to get service history for a Chevrolet and no luck there either. Seems to be a pattern emerging.

• RejimKejamGanas on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:08 am

The same can be said of Sime Darby. Don’t know when Hyundai and Ford are going to wake up.

• Kia Stinger on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:47 am

Naza is not selling cars anymore, they are selling the owners lifestyle. They wanted to diversify but slowly killing their original business. People known Naza as car distributor and made money during the late Tan Sri time. I bet KMC also will find new partner since Naza is not bringing numbers anymore. Such a waste, KIA is a global brand and Naza ruined it in bolehland. Now go eat your cronut in dotty’s~!!!

• When ur sober without the dupes, u do talk sense.

• Bring Camaro in

• Captiva on Nov 15, 2018 at 6:29 am

When Naza took over the dealership, it was out of sheer greed. They were only interested in selling the cars but never abt maintaining a connection with customers. Spare parts hard to get and more expensive than when Cergazam was the distributor. Closed most of the service centers too.

• Chevy and Naza has always been a marriage made in hell. Lousy distributor and crap carmaker. I hv no idea why Chevy is still in Malaysia. Pulled out of Europe coz of poor sales, losing market share in Australia under the Holden brand name and worse still, got hammered left right and centre in their own backyard USA coz of poor quality and reliability.

• I hope new Malaysia GM dist will add Wuling brand MPV / SUV into the stable. Shanghai General Motors Wuling (SGMW) is jointly owned by GM and a Wuling china.

FYI, Wuling MPV is selling more than 1000 units per month in Indonesia.

Wuling strategy in Indonesia is very smart. “They’re offering a car which comes with specs / standards you may find in a BMW but at a price which is lower than Avanza”

Try to beat that!

• thefact on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:32 am

we are trying to move forward to a developed nation, yet you would want to buy a 3rd world country car?
      Avanza as well is crap.. whats the difference then Wuling.

• suomynona on Nov 15, 2018 at 11:37 am

Tell Australia that, they are buying Havals.

• djlcs on Nov 15, 2018 at 12:46 pm

Really? LARGE number of Australians buying Havals? Of course there are a few mavericks buying it. I am living there 6 months every year and I could say with confidence that they are NOT buying Havals in DECENT numbers. Next time get your facts before spewing.
          For a FACT, they ARE buying Kias in large numbers.

• Honda Odyssey is generally cheaper by 20% than Kia Sedona (Carnival) in Australia. But here in Malaysia it’s the other way around, Odyssey is about 45% more expensive than Carnival. I’m not sure if it is DRB-HICOM which overprice their Hondas OR NAZA which get special treatment by the government for their APs.

• newme on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:39 pm

If you don’t see many Haval in Australia doesn’t mean that they are not selling well there. They might be selling well in other cities. Just like you hardly see Geely in tier-1 cities in China with better education and knowledge.

• suomynona on Nov 16, 2018 at 1:47 pm

First of all with the above statement I’m just saying it doesn’t matter ‘what world country’ we are, or where the car comes from, that determines the value of a car maker. In 2012, Chinese carmakers sold more than 12,000 of their cars in Australia. Sure it’s not just Haval, its all Chinese brands combined (and mostly commercial vehicles too)

Secondly, you’re right. Haval has been contributing to the rising sales figure of Chinese vehicles in 2012 but things went downhill from there since, reason for that being that their cars had been found containing asbestos. And their cars aren’t really attractive in other aspects other than price. Plus, it seems like their dealership expansion plan has frozen.

Personally, I don’t find Havals products attractive either. That’s one of several things they have to take seriously if they want to change in the years to come. And even then, it would take a miraculous series of events or scandals that would repel owners from their Japanese or Korean cars and eventually pick up Chinese cars as an alternative.

Maybe I’m all up for young carmakers to show what they’ve got, its the spirit of competition.

• Some China brands r gud (Geely, BAIC) but some r terrible (Zoyte). Do understand which is which.

• newme on Nov 15, 2018 at 9:56 am

Naza should quit automotive business altogether since they are so bad at it and concentrate on their F&B business. Oh wait, they are lousy at F&B too… look at Bubbagump and tuttifruti.

• djlcs on Nov 15, 2018 at 11:32 am

I am driving a Chevrolet as a second car, and my sister is driving a Peugeot. Just wanted to say that the cars are very good, but is let down my typically bad services from Naza.
    In the case of Chevrolet. It has very nice cars in their foreign line-up but was not brought into Malaysia. Chevrolet/GM had changed hands so many times and it is hard to believe whether they still have the confidence of Malaysians..

• thepolygon on Nov 15, 2018 at 11:32 am

Please bring in Bolt EV

• Haidi on Nov 15, 2018 at 11:37 am

Once there are a lot of AVEO on the road. But what after that? Quality problems? Expensive parts?

• djlcs on Nov 15, 2018 at 12:43 pm

Am having an Aveo as a second car. The model is already 14 years old. I am still seeing quite a number of them on the road considering the age of the cars. The parts are expensive but quality is OK.

• The Chevrolet brand is gone here in Singapore. In comes the return of SEAT and Skoda.

• Basher logic says they gone its cuz Chevy SG is not run by Mat Sallehs, the locals there r incapable & useless.

• Pro Chevy on Nov 15, 2018 at 1:43 pm

Please la add new lineup model in msia…need more new Chevy pickups and SUV

• The distributers are not good. Chevrolet is behind its competitors and will be lucky to regain the publics trust and survive. The way that Chevrolet Chevrolet Captiva was promoted in the Malaysian market back in 2013 is scandalous: Warranty of “300,000KM or 3 years”, made it look as if the SUV was a good deal, but only to be taken out of the market a couple of years later. This left consumers high & dry with no answers. The brand has suffered because the Principal Distributer was below par, numerous Agents closed down. Chevrolet can just get lost and its resale value speaks volumes. Bye Bye!

• benzs on Nov 15, 2018 at 3:29 pm

Very little Chevy OTR. Wonder how they manage to remain in business.

• Naza please give up KIA as well

• Aero (Member) on Nov 15, 2018 at 4:49 pm

This was bound to happen sooner or later. Chevrolet Malaysia/ Naza Quest are very quiet these days. The last major new Chevrolet model launch I can recall is the Malibu. A decent, surprisingly well-priced car considering it’s a CBU model.

As a matter of fact, all Chevrolet cars are surprisingly well-priced here, even though they’re all CBU (Thai and Korean) models. Meanwhile, Ford Malaysia/ SDAC also has a full CBU (Thai, German, American and Spanish) line-up, but Ford prices here are generally more expensive.

Both Chevrolet and Ford would be irrelevant in Malaysia if it weren’t for their pickup trucks. According to MAA sales reports, 98.5 % of all Fords sold in Malaysia so far this year was a Ranger ! Meanwhile, 78 % of all Chevrolets were a Colorado.

Anyway, coming back to Chevrolet, I think it must be said that General Motors are equally responsible for Chevrolet’s miserable sales here. Yes, everyone knows Naza’s aftersales is one of the worst in the country, but GM has made a lot of stupid decisions in the past few years too. GM recently gave up their plans and plants in Indonesia and Vietnam, they’ve stopped selling cars in India, they’ve completely abandoned Europe and they’ve threatened to close down their Korean plant.

If it weren’t for strong sales in China, GM would have gone bankrupt by now. It would be 2008 all over again, and like Obama, Trump would surely bail out GM again because the U.S. government knows that if GM falls, it would take Ford and FCA Group down with them too. That won’t do.

Personally, I doubt Chevrolet is genuinely serious about Malaysia, they might not find a new local partner at all. They sell so few cars here each year, it just isn’t worth the time, effort, resources and risk to ‘reboot’ their Malaysian market. Anyway, we’ll see what ultimately happens.

• Ahmadjr on Nov 16, 2018 at 2:15 am

GM ni sama je dengan proton. Berapa belas kali dah kena bail out dengan usa gov. Naza memang tak fokus pun dengan chevrolet, mungkin nak penuhkan showroom atau conquer market je

• Khalid on Nov 16, 2018 at 7:26 am

Chevrolet a good car????

9 out of 10 Chevrolet car designs are as ugly and lousy so call made in the USA.
    The only appealing designs.are those from Opel and Holden.

This USA junk brand always produce massive muscle car with very Big engines. Those big engines more than 3,000 cc consume very high road tax in Malaysia and those paying is like pulling a teeth from their mouths

Furthermore, the Chevrolet engines are thirsty and air polluting to Malaysia environment unlike those more environmental friendly smaller European design engines.

So who would want to buy a Chevrolet car in Malaysia given the same pricing like the NON Premium VW or Peugeot ??

• Isuzuki on Nov 28, 2018 at 8:06 pm

No wonder website is not found.. ps: gmc canyon looks nice….

• spare part should be no diffrent with honda part price . naza put triple of the price.. thats why people wont take a risk to buy chevrolet car.
    your price lots diffrent from after market we can get this day. you should learn better what internet can do this day.
    why im saying this. because i m the user an own chevrolet cruze. still use it. 6 years already.
    i love this car. people today already lots diffrent from najib. in making decision an iq. too much cheating is bad for business.the smell of it come out itself.

• Choong on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:11 pm

I bought colorado less then 2yrs.. Have few issue on warranty claim… Many parts claim unavailable. Now warranty service can’t be done. I’m from penang.