Proton Satria Neo-X – two-door crossover rendered

The Proton Satria Neo has somewhat made a resurgence into public view with its cameo appearance in the hit Netflix action movie Extraction, where it was also joined in the movie by the Savvy and the Saga FL.

Proton’s three-door hatch form has also be given a reinterpretation courtesy of digital rendering maestro Theophilus Chin, who gave a rendition of what could be a shortened Proton Iriz with two fewer doors, dubbed the Iriz Neo. Here, though, is a set of renditions by Saharudin Busri who, instead of using the more recent Iriz as a base, employed the form of the Satria Neo as the basis for his graphic renditions.

The lifted bodystyle is apt, given that Proton’s recent focus on SUVs such as the X70, which has since been offered as a locally assembled model, and a forthcoming B-segment SUV based on the Geely Binyue/Coolray – widely tipped to be named the X50 – is slated for debut later this year.

The Satria Neo’s more rounded glasshouse and roofline relative to those of the Iriz remain evident here, and the design on show here employs a selection of SUV/crossover styling cues, such as roof rails, extended black plastic wheel arch cladding, faux skid plate trim at the base of the front bumper with matching pieces beneath the side sills and rear bumper, with larger wheels shod in tyres in the style of all-terrain items.

The rear bumper features a twin exhaust outlet arrangement which recalls the Satria GTi of the late ’90s, while further up from here is a roof spoiler for additional sporting flair. At both ends, the Satria Neo’s headlamp and tail light clusters have been brought up to date with a more modern design, each corner featuring a four-element design and joined by a circular LED DRL surrounding each foglamp.

To these eyes, this rendition offers a nice element of sportiness to the lifted, crossover look, even if it has been applied to the discontinued Satria Neo instead of a model from the current Proton model range. What do you think of these, dear readers? Might these translate well to the current crop of Geely-based Proton SUVs, should these be applied?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Engineer on May 14, 2020 at 3:31 pm

I have to say, this is a wholly better render than Theo’s. It oozes originality with not a hint of any other cars mashed into the final images as so obviously seen from Theo’s own creations (sorry to say).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Sack the designer on May 14, 2020 at 5:09 pm

Saharudin the design head honcho of national MIMOS … His originality and local flavor cues. Proton gotta outsource all design jobs to Mimos..

• Copy pasting sucks on May 14, 2020 at 3:31 pm

You know whats the difference between these designer and theophilus chin?

These designer come out entirely new design. No copy paste. Ugly or beautiful is on another matter.

While theophilus chin? Take a model from geely, copy and paste and post online. And people render him as the wizard while other designer get negative complain. What the actual f?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Kunyit merah on May 14, 2020 at 3:53 pm

Nice render Theophilus Chin, but I don’t think Proton is going to create a Game Changer like what you designed since Proton now is only doing Game Over rebadging business by changing logo. No more creativity like before as Geely now fully controls Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • Copy pasting sucks on May 14, 2020 at 5:36 pm

You blind or just plain ignorance? The above rendering is not done by Copymaster Theo Chin. Is made by Saharudin Busri.

If u say proton no more creativity by doing rebadging business then what u think copymaster Theo is doing with hia rendering? All new design??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Optimus on May 14, 2020 at 10:11 pm

When you failed to read(again!) all you do is digging deeper into utter fail by upliking your own comment and downliking others.

• Engineer on May 14, 2020 at 4:02 pm

You took the words out of my mouth, literally. I don’t know why my similar comment didn’t appear but oh well. it was trying to be insulting to Theo but the above dude said it in the best way.

• Good try son, I doubt you even know where to start the copy and paste. Talk is cheap son.

• 2 articles in one day for a discontinued car? Coincidence I think not! Come on PT writers, are you telling us a surprise is upcoming from Proton? Perhaps a new Satria maybe? Give us a bone here.

• alldisc on May 14, 2020 at 4:32 pm

With almost all body panels look new, it could have been named Satria Beta or Gamma.

Neo was launched 15 years ago, almost Jurassic.

And stop dreaming. Even japanese giant car makers not planning to make 2 door SUV even though they have 30-60 times bigger market in the entire planet than proton. This includes Toyota, Honda and Mazda.

Suzuki can do so with a huge customer base on the Jimny while Land Rover had billionaire Rattan Tata as it’s owner but the business venture was a successful one. Deep financial trouble though now.

• Land Rover? Success? Sure boh?
      https://paultan.org/2019/05/21/jaguar-land-rover-posts-3-6-billion-loss-for-2018/

• Fiat Multipla Designer on May 14, 2020 at 4:43 pm

Theo just trying to be realistic, making his rendering look closer to a possible production car. Of course he’s taking a cue from current line-up family-look and from parent company’s products. But that’s not how a car designer create hype in automotive world.

This above render is unrealistic. It can go as far as a concept car only. But this is how you create hype. A designer is given utmost freedom to create a render of his own design without any engineering limitations on how it will look in production stage. But I do actually hope he doesn’t left any essential latest proton design cue like “infinite weave” grille.

• Optimus on May 14, 2020 at 10:09 pm

There is no design if all he does is slap images of other cars onto one. How is it unrealistic? IMHO only the headlamps does, but that can be easily changed in the production model.

• Fiat Multipla Designer on May 15, 2020 at 11:24 am

Yeahh I never said Theo was designing. He’s merely came out with something that will POSSIBLY produced by Proton, complete with production look. In other words: if proton come out with something, that’s how it gonna look in the end.

This render above shows creativity of a designer, that’s why concept car look cool. Not only the headlamp, but the wheel size also unrealistic. If that wheel size got into production, proton may end up having to modify the key chassis points where the new position for suspension mounting is required. That may end up changing the whole chassis dynamic & structure, and may skewed away from original design look. Other than that, it was pretty realistic.

• Stop copy pasting on May 14, 2020 at 5:26 pm

You know what is true talent? The designer who come out with the design above. Not some shitty wizard where people see him as legendrary blabla when all he did was just copy and paste from geely model.

Even the recently wagon saga is also copy and paste.. Exact same front and back and side. Just edit the roof higher to become a wagon and people praise him and say he is a wizard and legendary? What a joke

• Ollie on May 14, 2020 at 5:41 pm

Nothing positive to say about Proton, but these renderings are great.

• Been following his IG account @saharudindesign since last year. Just lovee his design and ideas. The renderings are top notch too! Hopefully can be implemented la in the near future

• seancorr (Member) on May 14, 2020 at 6:23 pm

One can only dream. Any two door roadster, coupe, convertible from main stream brands not selling well unless you are Ferrari or Lamborghini but then even Lambo also ventured into the SUV segment too.

• FudgeMeSideways on May 14, 2020 at 6:36 pm

As long as it is not crap MIMOS design that will never see production in any way, shape or form.

• FooLingYew on May 14, 2020 at 6:58 pm

First its Guuli Buaya but this has potential to be Proton Panda haha

• i must admit, these rendering are good…visually and graphically.
    Look at that realistic reflections.

Perhaps Theo need to update his hardware and/or software ^^

• Optimus on May 14, 2020 at 10:10 pm

Nah, perhaps PaulTan need to update their inhouse render designer!

• Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on May 15, 2020 at 2:33 am

Pergh.. kalau mcm ni lah.. kompem ramai org akan support produk malaysia balik.. sbnrya kt malaysia ni… selain dari harga (ni no.1 la).. design pun main peranan utama tau (no.2)…. kalau jimat minyak ni (no.3)…. lebih pada kereta2 kompak atau mampu milik la..

• The proportions are not right. Tyres are too large, and unrealistic. not one of the better efforts. sorry.