Proton Saga, Savvy and Satria Neo appear in Netflix’s hit action film Extraction, starring Chris Hemsworth

Everybody loves a good cameo. Whether it be your favourite movie star, stand-up comedian or comic book legend, a fleeting but well-placed moment on the silver screen can make for quite a lasting impact, sometimes a heartfelt one at that.

If you’ve been lounging away in your couch (or bed) over the weekend just cycling through various streaming platforms, you might have come across Netflix’s new action thriller movie Extraction, starring Chris Hemsworth. The film, released on April 24, was produced by Joe and Anthony Russo (the Russo Brothers), Hemsworth himself, and a few others.

In it, Hemsworth plays the character Tyler Rake (who at one point did kill someone with a rake), a lethal mercenary who was hired on the black market to rescue the son of India’s biggest drug lord from Bangladesh, after he was kidnapped and held for ransom. While the plot may seem basic, the camera work and fight scenes are two things that will bind you to your seats.

Stunt coordination also weighs heavily in this film, largely influenced by first-time director Sam Hargrave, who is one of Hollywood’s most in-demand stuntmen. Prior to this, Hargrave had also worked with the Russo Brothers for several films in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, so that’s certainly something for you to look forward to tonight.

Okay, we’re digressing. It’s easy to get lost in the action packed scenes (there’s also an epic, 12-minute long one-take-ish scene), but eagle-eyed viewers will clearly spot at least one of the three Proton cars that made their cameo appearances in the film. The Proton Satria Neo, Savvy and Saga FL were seen on screen several times, amongst a sea of other popular Japanese cars like the Toyota Vios.

Now, the Satria Neo and Savvy are two models not offered in Bangladesh, so the fact that they were even featured in this film was because the movie was largely shot in Ratchaburi, Thailand. Proton is officially represented by PHP Automobile in Bangladesh, which also assembles the Preve there. Proton is also sold in Pakistan, with an assembly plant set to open later this year.

If your schedule is free and you feel like indulging in some good gun fighting and hand-to-hand combat scenes, we happily recommend this film. For those who have seen it, did you manage to spot more Proton cars other than those featured here? Also, what is your favourite Proton appearance in movies or TV shows?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Proton fans dont know bannga or what. Trying so hard to kiss ass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 39
    • vodka on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:28 pm

I most like the Proton in telemovie Kereta kita…

• Avenger on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:52 pm

Proton and an Avengers. Match made in Valhalla.

• Vader on Apr 27, 2020 at 5:04 pm

I’m not a proton fan but I too don’t know what is a “bannga”. Is it something like “cowabunnga”?

Proton cowabunnga dudes!

• jom minum Teh halia 3 cawan on Apr 27, 2020 at 5:13 pm

Nobody wants the old Proton cars anymore in Thailand as those cars are already Game Over. This is why the movie crew buys cheap Proton cars and use them to be destroyed during the scene

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Thor.
      MCU.
      Proton.

Earth’s mightiest representative in their fields.

• Medic on Apr 27, 2020 at 3:48 pm

My favorite proton cameo was in Mr Bean (the one he got the golf ball stuck in proton sage exhaust pipe). Was so proud they used proton…later only i realised they used saga probably because it was the cheapest car in uk to dispose off

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
    • Yes, that is definitely the best Proton scene ever.

• Avenger on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:55 pm

Scrolling thru my vast memory. My fave is still Jeremy mightily impressed with Satria Neo S2000 that he got 2 and on the flip side of him dynamiting a Perodua Kelisa. That will go down in the annals of Midgard history.

• erwin karim on Apr 27, 2020 at 3:49 pm

P1 now stand among the big boys… Ironman got their dose of Audi cars & Bond with Aston Martins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • M & B on Apr 27, 2020 at 6:22 pm

Toyota was also inside for some movies like spider man, avengers and so on. And if you watch Mission Impossible Movies, you will also see BMW cars

• Benny on Apr 27, 2020 at 3:51 pm

Is that a Perodua Kancil behind the Satria in the first picture? It sure looks like the first-gen Kancil in there.

• infinity on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:15 pm

One of my favourite Proton appearance in TV is from Mr Bean, the golf ball that went into the exhaust of a purple Proton Saga Iswara.
    The not so favourite scene is by Top Gear (poor kelisa).

• M & B on Apr 27, 2020 at 6:42 pm

Brands in Popular hollywood movies
      – Toyota: Fast and Furious, Terminator, Toy Story and Back to The Future
      – BMW: Mission Impossible, Transporter and Red Sparrow
      – Nissan: Stubber and Herbie
      – Proton: Mr Bean and Extraction
      – Volkswagen: Herbie
      – Kia: Robocop
      – Mercedes Men In Black Franchise, A Good Day To Die Hard & Jurassic Movie Franchise

• M & B on Apr 27, 2020 at 6:55 pm

Not to forget that, even Hyundai and Kia are also playing in many popular Korean Movies too.

• Sonyman on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:16 pm

Didn’t realise that.

• azrai on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:18 pm

Chinese also saw x70 in their movie, but wait. Different badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • sugarhill on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:29 pm

PKP season..even paultan crew is making content out of netflix

• Johnweak on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:33 pm

Nothing to be proud of, it is probably the cheapest car for them to dispose..lel

• MeiLi on Apr 27, 2020 at 4:49 pm

Tarak idea apa mau tulis ka, PaulTan? Daripada ‘car reviewer’, lu org sudah jadi ‘film reviewer’?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • it actually don’t feel great at all…. the directors are indirectly telling viewers that these cars are cheap junks driven by low lives in some dirty poor parts of the corruption infested countries…. only fools and idiots feel proud.

• sohai on Apr 30, 2020 at 12:59 pm

Exactly, it’s not as if the Proton cars were used by Vin Diesel for a car racing scene in Fast & Furious

• Hansum on Apr 27, 2020 at 5:24 pm

Errr is that such a big achievement that it deserves an article? Cars are everywhere in movies

• why is this news?

• When I saw Extraction on Netflix on Friday, I saw those cars too, I didn’t think too much about it because guess what, cars often appears in movies. No big deal at all.

But I knew some people here will over-bangga and make news out of it (just like this post). Senang nak trigger the locals here.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Apr 27, 2020 at 6:03 pm

It’s sad that these cars were probably destined for the scrapyard.

Original owners probably neglected the cars after they were too expensive to keep on the road

• ring41835 on Apr 27, 2020 at 6:14 pm

u guys missed the KE70 corolla at the start of the movie when Chris sits having a drink roadside…

• vivizurianti on Apr 27, 2020 at 6:51 pm

I sense there is a sudden burst of happiness and syoikness……among P1 fanboizz.

• Pathetic on Apr 27, 2020 at 7:02 pm

Hyundai/Kia which started around the same time as proton making it into actual Hollywood films where the main characters drive their cars while Malaysian cars didn’t make an inch of progress and is being used as cheap movie props to destroy. Sad.

• Jeremy on Apr 28, 2020 at 7:06 pm

yawn. Still with the fake news that Hyundai/Kia is same age as Proton? Wiki tells otherwise, Hyundai setup way back in 1970 and Kia even further back in 1947. Whatever you say is cheap movie props to destroy, like a certain Kelisa.

• Lex Gor on Apr 27, 2020 at 7:35 pm

Yawn. Like this also post ah. No news ah?

• shibby on Apr 27, 2020 at 8:05 pm

Mebe the whole movie was shot in selayang

• Great gt on Apr 28, 2020 at 5:56 am

The crook guy lost in brutal chase because he used vios jepunis junk and masuk longkang whole hero used excellent handling neo

• Sadly to see our car used by third world countries only

• Ben Reddington on Apr 28, 2020 at 12:18 pm

Wow, this must be an important and a patriotic imperative to write an article about. There were several Bengali rickshaws featured as well, the Bangladeshi must be having a very proud moment.

• Slash on Apr 29, 2020 at 12:03 am

Just nak bagitau. My Uncle pilot for that Movie. So one more thing to be proud. For Malaysian. On Netflix minit 1:50:29 masa credit. Hassan bin Zahari. Look it up.

• Sitting on the toilet bowl. on Apr 29, 2020 at 8:33 pm

Dear fellow Malaysian.

If you think Malaysian products are a junk, you can stay in developed countries for your brain to grow. You have never been lucky enough to live in Malaysia.