Proton Gen2 1.3 in showrooms
The Proton Gen2 finally comes with a 1.3 engine despite it being available overseas in markets such as the UK for some time. With the introduction, Proton introduces a new colour for the Gen2 - WHITE! I have to admit white looks hot on the Gen2.
![]()
The Gen2 1.3 will come in both manual and auto models. Good news is the 1.3 auto comes with a 4-speed automatic gearbox instead of the 3-speed that the Wira and Iswara 1.5 gets.
The 1.3 16V DOHC S4PH engine makes 95hp at 6000rpm and 120Nm of torque at 4000rpm, compared to the 1.6 S4PH which makes 110hp and 148Nm torque.
It looks like the 1.3 and 1.6 Campro is basically the same engine but with the stroke shortened to 73.mm instead of 78mm with the 1.6 Campro. Bore is 76mm.
Interior trim is basic. The back seats do not have headrests and the dashboard only comes with a casette player. No integrated CD player there.
As for the exterior, there are no spotlights, and no sports rims. Only metal rims with covers that look like the 1.6 Alfa-ripoff sports rim design. The door handles and the body strip is not body colour coordinated, but black in colour.
The Gen2 1.3(M) and the Gen2 1.3(A) cost 45K and 48K respectively.
There is also a high-line (HL) 1.6 Gen2 model that comes in white, for those that desire a little more with their white car
Thanks to Rushdi for the notification.

August 3, 2005 @ 7:37 pm
I’ve seen the white coloured Gen2 in Australia for quite sometime at the showroom, and I’m not so sure whether they offer special bodykits here, I’ve seen one white Gen 2 which is pretty hot, low profiles and sharp side skirts, haven’t seen any in Malaysia when I was back in Malaysia for my holidays tho…
August 3, 2005 @ 7:41 pm
Wow! cheap lets buy it now..no waiting list.
August 3, 2005 @ 7:44 pm
this gen2 ada side skirting yg berbeza dengan gen2 biasa. perhatikan betul2.
August 3, 2005 @ 7:50 pm
45k? wow! People might even consider this over the Myvi.
August 3, 2005 @ 8:19 pm
But for some reason it might stole attention from Savvy..
Bigger interior.. slightly bigger engine.. no cd player but that can be fixed. And the price is not much different..
Another weird move by Proton.. Let’s hope this time Proton don’t bash over Savvy for this.. Like what they did to Wira..
What do you guys think?
August 3, 2005 @ 8:30 pm
Proton is trying to fill in the budget family car gap ler.
August 3, 2005 @ 8:54 pm
I suspect it is make so as a Myvi killer, after they fail on Savvy.
It is time for people who order Savvy to mourn.
August 3, 2005 @ 9:33 pm
If this edition is in responses to the Savvy’s failure, then SYABAS to Proton for listening to the PEOPLE.
August 3, 2005 @ 10:36 pm
they made this version for export market when gen2 first launch. campro was designed as 1.3 and 1.6.
i think it wasnt launch here so that it wouldnt cannibalise the wira/iswara market.. which proton needs to milk money from.
August 3, 2005 @ 10:48 pm
Js vy curious wheter this ver 1.3(M) Gen2 was underpower?? My bro’s 1.3 Satria ,was underpower… the car drag like cow,with lighter body compare to Gen2 .
Anyone test drive 1.3’s Gen2 before?Care to comment its perfomance?
August 3, 2005 @ 11:15 pm
Don’t think it’ll really sell. Sat at the back of the car, when the car goes over the bump, your head bumps the roof, not the car I want. But if they can sell something else at the price with e.g. perhaps a 1.3L SRM, I’ll take it.
August 3, 2005 @ 11:41 pm
wow this really will stop some ppl who going to book myvi, with the price 48k + no waiting list for now, n he confirm kill savvy @@ what they thinking??? holy proton
August 3, 2005 @ 11:42 pm
What is the price diff between the high end and low end models?
August 4, 2005 @ 12:07 am
For those uninformed, this model was FINALLY released locally because there is NO DEMAND in the overseas market and there is NO STORAGE room in the Rawang factory to accomodate this OVER Production.
August 4, 2005 @ 12:30 am
Haihhhh Proton Proton Proton… you make a nice looking car but everything else gives problems… what la you!!
Do ya really think this model would help Proton boost sales and possibly outdo/overtake MyVi? I personally don’t think so la. This is just another Gen2 with different specs. What I mean is, even though it boasts a 4 speed gearbox and quite a good power and torque output, it is still basically a Gen2. We all know the perennial problems with ALL Proton models. I think people are choosing the MyVi over Protons simply because of one thing; reliability. If it were pricing, then logically, the Savvy would be selling more right? But it is not the case? Why? No quality la brother!
If you were to change the engine, strap on a nice bodykit, put some “ganas” rims, do a good paintjob with some smart looking vinyls and decals, I think this car would even be suitable for “Need For Speed: Underground.” However, it would have to be “NFS: The Malaysian Rule Breaker.” Race on Federal Highway, score major points for breaking as many traffic rules as possible, try to not get your head smashed in by “mat rempets” and earn enough dough to pay off the cops who stop you!
:) 
August 4, 2005 @ 2:11 am
mutantTomato; your owned gen2 ? you’ve tested gen2 ? drive it more than 1 month ? if not. don’t say a word lah. I have one gen2 and it’s better than Myvi lah. Not all proton models problem. 1.6 gen2 with 1.3 myvi.. ohhh tinggal belakang lah Myvi.
I’m very proud ada malaysian people like you suka kondem you punya own product. Very good negative impression you have. Maybe you can design one car lah, engine bikin sendiri lah ye. Let see you can or not… buleh cakap je lah.
August 4, 2005 @ 2:30 am
Manage do some get some data… i think Gen2 1.3 are underpower, isnt it?
Satria 1.3
Power (hp) 83 @ 6000rpm
Torque (Nm) 100 @ 4000rpm
Curb Weight 910kg
Wheel 13 inch steel
Tyre 155SR/13 = underpower
Gen2 1.3
Power (hp) 95 @ 6000rpm
Torque (Nm) 120 @ 4000rpm
Curb Weight 1175kg
Wheel Alloy 15 X 6.0 JJ
Tyre 195/55 R 15 = ?
August 4, 2005 @ 9:01 am
last yr got campaign selling 1.3 gen2 for proton staffs to test the performance of the engine. one of my friends have one. he tested his 1.3 M gen2 - climbed up genting, engine dies off… he is a technical guy (trainer in automotive)… he told me that he cannot high rev the engine in order to climb up genting or else the engine dies off. so he went back to KL coz afraid that the car won’t start at all after that…
maybe now the problem solve already. I hope…, coz proton already release the car to public.. other issue was not highlighted but i don’t think accessories issue is major problem. other equipment taken out from 1.6 is rear disc brake replace with drums.
overall performance wise = got dragging when started to accelerate from 0, maybe similar to myvi 1.0
absorbers = Wira 1.6
August 4, 2005 @ 9:17 am
MOST IMPORTANTLY: HAS IT GOT A BLOODY GLOVE COMPARTMENT? HEHEHE!!!
on a more serious note, i think the next move proton should do is stop producing wiras and iswaras, so the gen2 1.3 would really become a wira replacement and cut savvy starting price to 33K…..
August 4, 2005 @ 9:33 am
Guys,
Think twice if you want to buy a Gen-2 (JIN-2 I called). Mine…. 7 weeks at EON Glenmarie….got to replace the whole engine…. till now no status and maybe have to wait for another weeks. I’m thinking of bringing them to the tribunal. Kasi hentam satu kali…. What are you guys think.
August 4, 2005 @ 10:04 am
Dear napps ,
“next move proton should do is stop producing wiras and iswaras”
they can stop producing wira and iswara, BUT they cannot stop selling it..
look at the OVER stock that all the dealers have…. this dealer are looking for empty land to park the cars now.
Gen2 1.3 at RM45k and RM48K…. i will consider,…. but U buy first to so that if the review is good, then I buy.
August 4, 2005 @ 10:05 am
What you mean by “stop producing wiras and iswaras, so the gen2 1.3 would really become a wira replacement” ? Not so fast lar please, I was going to buy WIRA ler. gen2???.. test drive liao…. personally I dun think I like gen2.. still prefer WIRA.
August 4, 2005 @ 10:05 am
Yeah. Wth are they still doing producing Iswaras?
I doubt that the new Gen2 has any glove compartments… The black door handle and side bumper in black, very the ugly ler. And since no spotlight, the decided to leave two gaping holes at the front bumper izit…
The engine performance aside, that plastic-cover-on-metal rims has got to go… It’s a huge turn-off (on any car).
The 1.6 Campro (M) I know, is thirsty. Wonder how this new one compares.
Noise level also higher than Waja 1.8 at high speeds.
August 4, 2005 @ 11:11 am
the worst car of the year……..
August 4, 2005 @ 11:15 am
Dear guys,
If u wonder whether Gen2 1.3 is underpower, let me tell u something. My housemate drove the Gen2 1.6 (A) on our PLUS highway, straight line, flat surface, and she pushes the paddle to the limit and maintain that for sometime, guess what is the top speed? What a shocking 170km/h only !!!, even my fren’s wira 1.5(A) and go for 180km/h.
Can any Gen2 1.6(A)/(M) owner clarify this? Thanks
August 4, 2005 @ 11:42 am
i think good move by p1
p1 should consider 1.3 Waja (or any 1.4?) also
fuel price going up, 1.3 cars good enough for city driving
August 4, 2005 @ 11:53 am
To “Gen2owner,” what crawled up your ass and died?! I know many people who bought a Gen2 and regretted it! I have tested a Gen2. I said I wanted to buy one if not for all the standard problems. When I say standard problems, I mean power windows, leaking seals, low roof for rear seats, noisy engine at high revs, lack of power, etc. I had a Proton Wira for 10 years. I know Protons quite well…
Look at the stupid comparison you’ve made… ” 1.6 gen2 with 1.3 myvi.. ohhh tinggal belakang lah Myvi.” Gee… YA THINK?! An RX7 is RATED as a 1.3 although it is a rotary turbo… So? If RX7 and Gen2 race, how? The RX7 will rip the metal off your Gen2!
I’m saying it again; the Gen2 looks nice. I wouldn’t mind buying one if not for the standard problems. “Gen2owner,” if you talk so much, have you ever driven an export quality Proton? I have, in UK! Its a dream come true! The quality, driveability, handling, interior quality, EVERYTHING is good! So, do you still think I’m simply condemning Proton? Do you still think I’m making baseless judgements and allegations?
Don’t simply flame people if you don’t understand what they are saying you F**KING MORON…
August 4, 2005 @ 11:58 am
my god..read this = > http://www.whatcar.co.uk/RoadTest_FullVerdict.asp?DL=0&RT=214224
wonder what are the ppl at proton were thinking when designing cars…cut corners n give crappy components (to save costs cost their supply chains are crappy??)..under table $$, then make few ppl rich..then pass all the sucky products to malaysia…
actually i wonder, why are we NOT using the export model of all protons..?? they purposely give us non-compliant models so we die faster arr??
AARRGGHHHH!!!!
August 4, 2005 @ 12:15 pm
awesome… the price is right, it already has the looks… hope it’ll sell well.
now, will they EVER stop selling the Saga and Wiras, or will the Saga continue to the year 2020? :-p
August 4, 2005 @ 12:24 pm
hey xxx tomato, before you go n fxxxing the moron,
wait…
you said ’bout export quality proton
if what ‘notorp’ said (refer up!) ’bout this gen.2 1.3 being unsold export stocks
& what yo said ’bout the export quality proton… then what we have here,
go & check it out…
August 4, 2005 @ 1:11 pm
Dear Mr. Philip Quek,
I’m one of the owner. I dunno the others who claims they own a G2 or test drive a G2. I owned this machine since July 2004 and Till now I’ve recorded about 75,000km on the trip meter. (U can check with Mutiara Damansara coz I used to send there for service, is there any G2 with the trip meter like that?… It’s mine).
So far, I have drive the machine from KL - Kuala Perlis, KL - Skudai, KL - Terengganu. I drive along every highway in Peninsular Malaysia. So far I’ve recorded 210km/h. I dun dare to push any further afraid the tyre will burst. If that lady can drive bout 170km/h I bet it’s the auto one.
To others…… Please refer to G2 owner if U want further details of the car. It’s unfair to compare it with Waja, Wira or Iswara. G2 is G2. Do I have anything to complain?… Yesss… power window failure but they fixed it already. They give us 100k warranty. SO, WHAT’S DA PROB HERE?
August 4, 2005 @ 1:38 pm
Mr. Sharfox,
You are a very lucky person ha! let me tell ya da prob. My Gen-2, power window motor not working, side mirror switch not working, two of the tyres bengkak, wiper water tube putusssss, now the whole engine is jahanam. I bought this car on March this year you know.
Toyota standard, only 4 defect per car. If you compare it with my Gen-2 I think it shuold be scrapped already.
August 4, 2005 @ 2:47 pm
whosoever choose gen 2 compared to myvi…..they r digging their own GRAVE….proton has been traditionally known to produce SHIT quality cars…when i mean SHIT …it is really BIG SHIT quality….sorry proton …i m just telling the truth
August 4, 2005 @ 5:16 pm
Saga Iswara will never die… Proton are not paying royalty anymore for this model… price keep on increasing which means Proton lagi banyak untung loh… why need EOL…
August 5, 2005 @ 12:32 am
what kind of a 1.5(A) wira your friend has? mine only hit 160km/h flat out. My friend tested his waja…flat out 190+km/h..a manual…the wira is only a 3 speed auto. I doubt it can hit 180km/h unless some parts has been tweaked.
August 5, 2005 @ 3:17 am
Fantastic move proton! This is Myvi payback time!
August 5, 2005 @ 11:18 am
when and saw it. the quality has improved alot(waaaaay better than myvi’squality)and it handles great not underpowed at all.
August 5, 2005 @ 1:40 pm
Is 180km/h really that hard to reach? I don’t really know much about cars but i manage to clock my mom’s old iswara carb 1.5(A) at 170 - 180 not to sure what is the exact speed but i know it wouldn’t budge anymore. No modifications at all. If you think i am just saying for the sake of saying i would be happy to show you.
August 5, 2005 @ 5:35 pm
I cannot find this Gen2 in Melaka showroom, the SA say Gen2 1.3cc “mana ada”.
waiting to see the car before I comment again.
August 5, 2005 @ 7:47 pm
even cut down to 45k,the GEN 2 price still too high consider to the performance and quality. sad!
August 5, 2005 @ 7:53 pm
MyVi really meet the market’s demand,with reasonable price, somemore it
is DVTi engin man,wat about GEN 2 and savvy ? inferior technology …..
problem here and there….hopefully proton learn something from perodua.
August 6, 2005 @ 1:40 am
why we must proud we myvi? 2nd national car? bullshit..
Perodua Owned By daihatsu.. and. Daihatsu curently owned by TOYOTA!..
i still remeber those in dahatsu said..
Toyota bought us.. then we(daihatsu) became as a CHEAP CAR manufacturer..
Then toyota swith to EXspensive car like Camry, Etc etc lexus harrier bla bla..
Avansa = cheap.. build at P2 factory after p2 owned by daihatsu..
Wah! So proud lah stupid people..
Dont be sooo fanatic.. buy what u can afford.
For me it’s better use my old toyota le 1.6 ratther than 1.6 Gen2. fork off to myvi too!.. because i have toyota.. toyota own all of their benefits.. i dun care..
August 6, 2005 @ 7:57 am
Yalah pomen_kette,
This time your comment is CORRECT. Paro2 is not a national own factory.
But they still call national car because as Latok Raf fee dah said before if the local parts acheive errr…let say about 30% (to be confirmed by Latok, just forgoten) or more it can call national car.
Buy Myvi or Sawi or JIN2 will support Local vendors.
August 6, 2005 @ 8:12 am
Special to pomen_kete,
Your expression is too soft!
Which one is better? Let’s other to judge Okay.
Option 1:
Wah! So proud lah stupid people..
Dont be sooo fanatic.. buy what u can afford.
or
Option 2:
WahAI! So proud KAH you people who use ass to think ….
Dont be sooo fanaticLAH.. buy what u can afford ONLY. Aiyah….faka….huha huha..
August 6, 2005 @ 10:37 am
Mr. Philip Quek;
210km/j Gen2 manual
Mutanttomato;
go to hell with your tomato…
August 6, 2005 @ 11:56 am
it is always applaudable to be patriotric but come one lahhh if your home team sucks big time, u canT support them blindly!!! im using a wholly own national car because i cant afford anything else; if not for the proctection scheme we have i’ll be driving a ford falcon or something. proton has protection for ten years, they should buck up and perform- look at the koreans! iswara/saga is a decade old and still in production w/o significant improvement.. wira apart from face lift is basically the same… perodua is slightly more innovative; so what if they are not 100% malaysian own.. but they are still a mile behind daihatsu (let alone toyota)… some people have no physical problem with their car; good for them- my car went in; in one year 4 time for reverse sensor problem 3 for power window; is that what i am paying for…? even with no such problem the sound proofing or wind proofing is horrible is anY local made car.. why are we being fed sub standard car just because we are patriotic and ought to support our country’s produce??? or just because we are poor and cant afford something better??? or both? this is a poor man’s and a blind patriot’s problem.
with a decade of protection it is time for them to buck up… if their quality is as good as daihatsu to say the least, I’ll gladly buy them and never ever buy a non malaysian car…
a poor runner should not be given a head start to finish on par or better with a better runner- encourangement and head start at first okie lahhhh but not forever and ever… how is he going to improve and where is fair play..? *sigh*
August 6, 2005 @ 3:57 pm
If Proton can produce QUALITY cars, they no need any protection whatsoever. People always support a good product. Any brand come in imported Toyota, Brabus, Lincoln, Lexus, Infinity, Acura, Cadillac, JiangLing, DongFeng, Alado, Maruti, Mahindra, TATA, n other car brand even sounds like canned food from China, all come here to Malaysia - no problem for Proton as long it produce QUALITY cars. Dont worry about China cars - its all can food quality. Dont worry about India cars - its all drunken with toddi. Straight f*ck face competition with Toyota n Cheverolet in any car categories offered. To be the best got to f*ck the best in or outside country like they did here locally.
August 6, 2005 @ 4:59 pm
if you guys really believe in ‘no protection’, remove all the ‘protection’ (don’t be hypocrite) and believe me in no time we will be swamp by the people from indonesia and china, who any time willing to do our jobs at half pay or lower - think about that!
we will be ‘tuan’ but no $$$$
and you buy your ‘Toyota’ with your shit!
think, don’t be hypocrite,
August 6, 2005 @ 6:28 pm
Agree with jet
August 6, 2005 @ 6:33 pm
Went to proton showroom in subang and salesman says “GEN.2 1.3 tak adalah. ONLY FOR STAFF. 1.6 ONLY FOR SALE.
August 6, 2005 @ 10:36 pm
put an average B grader in a C average class.. he will be the best but he wouldn’t improve much.. but a B grader in a A average class .. he might not be the best but he will have to work harder not to be left behind. I think the B grader would perform his personal best in the later situation than the former.
I personally belief that any sort of favourtism is bad for fair play. Human excellence strive in competition… but we are in Malaysia and the playing field is not level- for better or for worse in many cases; But the formula seem to work and we are doing OK, so don’t fix it if it aint broken (??)
tis dun really bother me… but what does is that people that blast proton are often called unpatriotic and people who support perodua are often reminded that it is not 100% wholly local owned…
why do proton and perodua for (all the matter) always get bad review overseas? a. they are bias and hate malaysia b. our cars are not good comparatively (?) ….i think B.
so why cant proton take all this cricticsm and improve, instead of doing so many facelift but everything inside stays the same..? why do we blindly defend thm just because it’s made in Malaysia…?
that’s all, i dun run m’sia or proton but i do hope it can really improve and comparable to other more established makers and i can stop taking leave for repair appointments.
August 6, 2005 @ 10:46 pm
wilnet: what you said is true but we should give our national car makers another chance ( failure is the stepping stone to sucess ) i know they have failed us many times. But i own a proton too. it has several small problems, however overall it is not too bad.
August 8, 2005 @ 8:56 am
I own a 3 year old Wira 1.3 manual. It shows few problem like aircond system, engine suddenly stop for no reason. But it all had been rectify and I can’t do anything about it. My wages just enough for this national car.Had to live with it. At the moment I’m still supporting proton, eventhough I don’t like Gen2 and Savvy, Waja is OK. Yet Proton forgot their loyal national buyer by giving an inferior product compared to what they offer to international buyer. Hopefully new Proton’s CEO can do something about this. VW involvement should bring technolgy and design wise for proton.Local buyer will support as long as you hear what people want.
August 8, 2005 @ 2:48 pm
Dear Jet,
the government should protect our labour not our national car.
August 8, 2005 @ 3:48 pm
Jet
Please dont conclude that all Malaysians are dependant on Proton national project.Where’s the fact that the majority of Malaysians/industries are NOT dependant on Proton at all.
Get your facts clear.
August 8, 2005 @ 5:22 pm
Best of luck to GEN2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
I support you PROTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
August 8, 2005 @ 6:25 pm
Dear Accord Kial,
i was just highligting one of the obvious considerations when discussing about ‘protection’
anyway, globalisation is coming soon.. not just our ‘national car’ will be swallowed, our lives too; so be ready everyone
engineers/technicians in proton/perodua will easily find jobs with the automotive giants; how about us the ‘car buyers’?
from the recent fuel price increases, our government has shown its unwillingness to subsidise/protect us forever (probably, this means proton will be sold to volks?)
have a nice day,
August 8, 2005 @ 6:30 pm
Dear Accord Kia,
sorry for the misspelling (typo error) of your name
August 8, 2005 @ 6:43 pm
Nexona
you misunderstand my statement; it’s not in supporting of proton/perodua or about proton/perodua only
it’s just, ‘be careful with what you wish, you might get more than what you bargain for’
no need to request for the lifting of the ‘protection’, we’ll soon lose it, in every aspects; remember this word - globalisation
enjoy it while we still have it
August 9, 2005 @ 12:22 am
‘Mat Singapore’ also support proton,what la..u ppls here..so malu lah!anyway…dun lupa to stick the minature flag on u ppl cars this month!..MERDEKA DAY la!…what else!…already lupa ka?…MERDEKA!
August 9, 2005 @ 6:50 am
Im not Robinhood, I pay my $ for quality car. If i can afford, i wouldnt low quality proton. Stupid Gov make stupid car corn poor ppl.
August 9, 2005 @ 10:50 am
yep…
crazy proton do stupid things. They better get a CEO in quickly… It looks like they have no direction what evey in what they’re doing…
Maybe it’s just a plot to sell off all the stock they have before they sell proton to VW?
August 9, 2005 @ 10:54 am
ps… anyone been to the proton website… what the heck is proton doing selling leather chequebook / passport holder???
August 9, 2005 @ 2:18 pm
look great…
August 10, 2005 @ 4:24 pm
I think with that kind of protection (rebate,kickbacks, govt. grant, lotus to help me), and impose ahem…. protection money (AP, excise duty, import duty and whatnot) on the others, and at the same time, importing/employing foreign engineers/consultant to “transfer technology” and of coz (haha) a ready market whose deprived of valuable good model for years! I think the rest is a no brainer. As Myvi has proven. Tell you what, if you give that kind of benefit to anyone with some common sense, they will perform much better than proton. so where’s the problem? it’s proton and prolly the adviser. They have the money, the expertise, the AP, the support (govt) and the scapegoat market. What else does they want?
August 15, 2005 @ 10:27 am
Wah~This web help alot before i get myself a gen 2…anyway…promotion time!merdeka!!!!! I’ll put malaysia flag on my “BMW 5 Series”
August 15, 2005 @ 2:57 pm
I want that gen 2 auto……….. the price is right and it is a beaut….. gen 2 has the best backside too….. cheers.
August 16, 2005 @ 10:27 pm
I have already book that car, its coming in 2 mths time…. Went to inspect the car…very nice…except it comes with a cassete player…and also no sports rim….and also drum rear brakes…
still overall all this can be overlooked with the price and also WHITE color….very striking….. I can’t wait for my car to come……
yeah…
August 18, 2005 @ 11:54 pm
I think when it comes to Proton cars, we should reflect on the age old wisdom
“IN THE KINGDOM OF THE BLIND THE ONE EYED MAN IS KING”
August 30, 2005 @ 11:02 am
Only white color available for Gen 2 1.3? Any others colors??
September 2, 2005 @ 5:39 pm
Just test drove Gen2 1.3cc, a bit disappointed, becoz it seems like a little bit underpowered if compared to Saga 1.3cc … other’s is still ok… and when the car is on 100km/hrs, it’s a bit too noisy inside the car, the wind sounds and the engine sound as well … but it’s still can be considered since it’s price is quite reasonable …
September 4, 2005 @ 5:10 pm
Hey Jry,where u test drive it? I just went to Jln Genting Klang show room. no test drive for Gen 2 1.3. u drive auto or manual??
September 5, 2005 @ 11:10 am
These are just rejected cheap things returned from other countries becoz of failed the QC checking. these cheap things then re-sell in malaysia and boasting that they are new model or new technology or whatever, in fact they are just returned items because of failure. Malaysians, PLEASE OPEN UR EYES!!!
September 16, 2005 @ 6:22 pm
Huh..2 months need to wait? I’ve just booked gen2 1.3 manual also last week but the shit dealer told me shortest 2 weeks, longest mayb jz 1 month..Shit..I’ve been waiting n waiting..It’s gona end of year n d car value is reducing man..Hey bro, when u get any notice pls notify me..I cant wait 4 that long..
September 16, 2005 @ 10:01 pm
Dun cheat…..there no such thing as gen2 1.3
September 16, 2005 @ 10:31 pm
O-P: there is… check the showrooms.
September 16, 2005 @ 11:19 pm
aku pakai gen2 1.6(a), lepas pantang 1000km trus masuk highway plus.. bole speed 190km/h ooo tu pun bole pegi lagi tapi jalan dah jam la.. gen 2 ok apa, cuma tak bes bila compressor air con on bunyi bising kat dalam, pastu nak letak barang tak ada laci dashbord.. para2 mcm rumah stingan je..jutera gentu tlg la buat laci dashboard.. semua kete ada beb..
October 5, 2005 @ 11:55 am
why there is no glovebox in jentu ? simply b`coz they don`t know how to construct a proper glovebox as what happen to waja lousy glovebox that can`t close properly. The solutions ? just eliminate the glovebox in jentu and replace it with kicap shelf. habis cerita.
October 8, 2005 @ 10:00 pm
Yaya..i just saw it this morning. 49k on the road then deduct 2.9k during promotion….but, 1. can it go up genting? i wondering… really under power?
October 9, 2005 @ 3:57 pm
well…the white gen2 1.3 looks cool..i was thinking of getting1…especially now that it’s only 46k..but i would really glad to know if the car is good…when i say good, i dun mean to have something like city or vios…is it value for money??is the 1.3campro enough for the car??btw, i dun drive at 180 or 210km/h..i follow the speed limit..max maybe 120km/h…no money pay saman…later blackmark lagi susah…
October 10, 2005 @ 12:39 am
yaya…i’m thinking to get 1…
1.3 is eco enuf & during promotion it;s really cheap!
“value of money”…just dun wan a new car that affcet my monthly saving.
some info here :
gen2 1.3 (A)
OTR price : RM 49K
Discount : RM 2.9K
Loan % rate : 2.9
9 years : RM 512/ month
Spec : No sport rim, no egine imobollizer captor, no spoiler, 1.3cc & no backward sensor, others same as gen2 1.6 (standard).
subang show room : only grey colour available, kota kemuining : white, puchong : Chili Red
Book it now before 23/OCT (proton promotion time)
October 11, 2005 @ 8:17 am
I remember reading about quite a few owners complaining about the lack of power, even on the 1.6. Now, will the 1.3 (A) redefine the meaning of insufficient power? Wonder if it’ll beat the Wira 1.5 (A) in this category?? ^_^
Hmm.. I can already anticipate what the Proton guys will tell the new 1.3 owners regarding complaints on lack of power: “itu sebab maksimum torque kat 4,000 rpm!” So all drivers of this car are expected to upshift only at 4k rpm!
October 11, 2005 @ 1:42 pm
beli Gen2 1.3 pastu carik la half cut Gen2 1.6, tukar enjin dia…hehehehe..
October 11, 2005 @ 4:15 pm
about the power…it’s very relative…depends on the driver…if u drive like a grand prix driver,then only a grand prix car satisfies u..u dun expect to drive a RM46k car like a RM460k car..otherwise,i believe this gen2 1.3 can satisfy your need…and pocket..as i said earlier…i dun expect to get smth like city or vios with my RM46k..perhaps half of it..anyway…it’s stylish…doesn’t it??i dunno bout u guys…but i love the white machine…LOL!!!
October 11, 2005 @ 4:25 pm
btw…it also depends wat car u were driving b4 buying gen2 1.3…for ppl like me who are using kancil…then gen2 certainly have greater power…welll…slowly slowly go up ma…after got gen2 for sometime…then change la to city or vios…then can compare again…heheh…
October 11, 2005 @ 5:50 pm
Pelan-pelan kayuh!
October 12, 2005 @ 5:19 pm
About the Gen2.
I have owned one since February. A 1.6 with complimentary leather seats for CNY.
The day we collected the car, we arrived at the showroom at 830pm but left at 945pm. Why? The side mirrors didn’t work. The fuse had to be changed TWICE.
Great.
By day 5, the car had been in Mutiara Damansara 3 times. The 3rd time? The whole joystick and housing of the side mirrors came of from the centre console!
Wonderful.
The weather-strip has been changed 3 times since; the engine has been re-tuned twice due to lack of power; the undercarriage has been re-tightened twice. The screwcover for the left front door keeps coming off each time you close the door.
The sunvisor has been replaced once as it keeps coming down.
POWER: For a 1.6 it really disappoints. My lady drives that car, and even my 1.4 litre Japanese car can outdo it on stretches.
We are considering selling the car as it’s just a bad car. I gave up on PROTONs this year, when I bought the Japanese car. I gave up on my 16 month old Perdana V6! The interior flooded due to gaping holes in the firewall between the engine bay and passenger compartment.
Don’t even think of saying I’m not patriotic. But I won’t buy anything just because it’s Malaysian; please realise that we need to help others of course but if you help others at the cost of your own happiness/money, then its simply dumb!
I promised myself I will never buy another PROTON until it gets at least a 3-star rating by a veritable car review magazine in UK or Australia.
Anyone willing to bet if I’ll ever get to eat my words?
October 13, 2005 @ 4:17 pm
There is still no 1.3 Gen.2 Manual yet, only automatic available - sure underpower la. Funny thing, now they launch a1.3 Gen.2 automatic first compared to when they first launch 1.6 Gen.2 manual back then. But 1.3 Gen.2 automatic ? will be like kura-kura
October 14, 2005 @ 2:22 pm
Does the Gen-2 1.3 Automatic consumes more fuel compared to the Gen-2 1.6 Automatic? Hopefully someone out there can furnish me with the answer to this question.
Which of the two cars is more economical in terms of fuel consumption and maintenance; a Proton Iswara 1.3 (M) or a Gen-2 1.3 (A)? Hope to get some opinion from the people out there.
Any idea when the Gen-2 1.3 Manual will be in the market? How much will it cost?
All the best to all of you!
October 14, 2005 @ 3:16 pm
Wife just book gen 2 1.3 auto, grey colour…. why, b’ cos it is a beautiful car, just the right price, auto (wife has a sore left knee), excellent ride and handling and a big booth. Cheers…..
October 14, 2005 @ 11:40 pm
Unlucky Twoxer Hayzen! So far my fren around me nvr face dthis kind of problem..u r just bad luck! I’m waiting my white colour gen2…about the perfomance…tell u later after i get my car!
October 15, 2005 @ 11:29 pm
I wonder have Zool has driven the Gen-2 1.3 Automatic. Is the handling the same as the Gen-21.6’s? Thank you.
October 16, 2005 @ 12:12 am
i dun think so…..gen2 1.3 no test drive provided
October 17, 2005 @ 7:30 am
If they can sell gen 2 in UK then its ok. As for me I am still driving my faithful WIRA auto 1.5. Bought it in 2001, trouble free, no trouble going up bukit mantin, bukit putus (kuala pilah) or bukit tangga (Jolobu) or Karak Highway.
October 17, 2005 @ 7:38 am
In Seremban my wife is the first buyer, now it is selling like hot cakes. Many people are ordering it…. there are lots of SAVVY too in Seremban with the latest number plates NBR……
October 17, 2005 @ 1:41 pm
Is it true that the Gen-2 1.3 A is selling like hot cakes now? Maybe Dzul can furnish me with some evidences on it.
October 17, 2005 @ 3:36 pm
i bought my proton only a year ago. but now,i am counting the day when can i sell that car…
October 17, 2005 @ 9:12 pm
any 1 have bought this 1.3 auto already? tested ok? i just wonder now this 1.3(a) gen2 got improve annot….or still a SHIT car…
October 18, 2005 @ 12:33 pm
Hei, proton is a good car what.
October 18, 2005 @ 3:01 pm
GEN2….it’s okay……
October 18, 2005 @ 5:00 pm
Tested! QA PASSES….Good handling and more power than wira 1.5 (A)!
Price & spec is reasonable!…who haven’t book….sorry….it’s out of order already!
October 18, 2005 @ 9:53 pm
just saw in the showroom. considering price same as myvi , i deffinately buy gen.2 1.3. looks nicer handle better and more unique. too many people buy myvi.
October 18, 2005 @ 9:54 pm
just saw in the showroom. considering price same as myvi , i deffinately buy gen.2 1.3 auto. (no manual for me. too much traffic jam )looks nicer handle better and more unique than myvi. too many people buy myvi.
October 19, 2005 @ 7:27 am
Balik raya or deepavali, sure can put more stuff or kueh raya and lemang in gen 2’s booth…..
October 19, 2005 @ 8:02 am
Wow!!! it has a compression ratio of 10.0:1 … thats very good.
October 21, 2005 @ 7:40 am
Wife’ got gen 2 1.3 on thursday after 8 working days… she’s loving it… soaks pot holes and undulating roads with ease … no back ache.. or sore knees… thanks proton for lovely car. Now we can balik kampong in comfort. So Fendi have you book your gen 2… I am sure you will have to wait until raya to get your car… cheers…
October 21, 2005 @ 10:31 am
When u get ur car?why mine still not yet get?!!!!!!!!!!!!!! where u buy the car?—zool
October 21, 2005 @ 11:15 am
Hi, Zool, would you mind share more with your new gen2 1.3? How about the power and fc? Thank you.
October 21, 2005 @ 12:09 pm
My wife got it from EON Seremban. This raya we will convoy balik kampung (me in my faithful reliable WIRA auto with 2 kids and wife with lovely Gen 2 with my other 3 kids) cheers…..
October 21, 2005 @ 12:41 pm
It’s nice. Now the price more less. It became a killer for MyVi.
October 21, 2005 @ 4:42 pm
i think zool cheat…i ask around….gen2 1.3 still not yet reach!shyt…..wen only it come..price less?less how much?
October 21, 2005 @ 8:47 pm
i ask proton edar at jln ipoh, they said gen.2 1.3 car only can delivery after hari raya. Red and white color need to wait longer time. I might book tomorrow.
October 21, 2005 @ 9:27 pm
dem it…i had booked last 2 weeks, that time th SA said it will reach before oct. Now…delayed…mean i’m going to pay for another rm 2.9K (which a discount during oct promotion)
October 22, 2005 @ 12:01 pm
6.5/10
October 22, 2005 @ 12:46 pm
6.5/10 mean?
October 23, 2005 @ 1:08 pm
Hello guys,
It’s really nice to see all the new or future Gen.2 buyers waxing lyrical about their car.
If you noted from my previous entry, we had a lot of problems with the car. I don’t mean to sound cocky but this car was bought not via a salesman, but via the CEO’s office, i.e. under the watchful eye of the (now retired) CEO.
The car was given an absolute priority in terms of service; it went through TWO pre-delivery inspections, even the factory tag attached to the keys had “VVIP” posted on it, and yet we experienced all that.
We tolerated the problems mainly because we were able to secure excellent service from PEdar, due to the connection. But we rarely snitched to the CEO when there was a problem; we merely called the Mutiara manager and got things fixed.
But in our regular lunches and SMS to the CEO, we always updated him on the issues.
We’re always wondering what kind of service a regular Joe or Jill gets from PEdar. Going by my previous experience before being accorded VVIP treatment, its always “It;s a PROTON, so the problem is common”, or “There’s nothing wrong with the car”, or “We’ve fixed the problem” - only to have the same problem within hours of getting the car back.
Back to the car, on October 4th we sent the car to Mutiara for its regular service and pointed out the following issues:
* sluggish engine
* rattling sound inside the front RH side door
* loose weather strip on front RH side door
* loose weather strip on rear LH side door
NOTE: ALL weather stripping was changed from colour-coordinated brown to ugly black about 2 month into ownership
We collected the car on the morning of October 7th.
Verdict:
* engine returned to normal (We re-tuned it sir, maam)
* rear LH side weather strip came off when checked at the centre (We changed it sir. Ok. I’ll change it again)
* driver’s side weather strip worked ok
* rattling sound fixed
Today’s update:
* both weather strips loose again
* rattling returned
My lady, the main driver of the car says, “I’ve stopped listening and counting”.
When we tried to tarde in the car last weekend, we were quoted an astrounding RM40k! That’s an unbelievable RM18k loss, or 31%!
Why?
The current promotions. It may seem like a winning situation for current promo buyers, but please note the value of the freebies is around about RM3,500, or about a 6% discount:
* they pay road tax & insurance for first year (RM1,600 + halved road tax at RM125 (1.6L). Lets say RM1,800.
* they pay first 3 months instalment (about RM1,500 value)
* freebies (tinting, some other cheap accesories)
In the first year typically you lose 10% of the car’s value, but give Gen.2’s reputation, used car dealers now place a 5% premium, totalling 15%. This is a real bummer.
Selling the car won’t be easy either. Note that AFTA will be in full force by 2008 or earlier. Newer, better cars will come out from names like Honda, Nissan and Toyota, and they will be cheaper. This means the demand for PROTONs will fall, making their used value even poorer.
Effective last week, PROTON no longer qualify for the 50% duty rebate. But PROTON said today they will not raise car prices, for now. On the surface it looks like a winning position again for you.
But understand deeper. 50% is not a small issue. PROTON cannot change their prices now as tyey are contracted to dealers, insurers and finance companies of volume under the promotion. Any price increase will mean a sales decline, as the public awaits the new car prices for foreign marques, expected to trickle in beginning tomorrow. PLEASE NOTE THIS LAST LINE.
That 50% is going to cut into their margins. Any company’s financial position is usually tabulated on a 5 year projection, including an annual breakdown. PROTON has incorporated their 50% rebate for the next 5 years, but everything’s down the drain now.
Where will they recover the 50%?
Cheaper parts, poorer quality. Case in point? The “all-new” PROTON Saga.
The top-of-the-range Saga now retails at RM38,000. There are many reasons for this really cheap price.
* Investment into the dies recovered a long time ago
* More local (read “poor quality, cheap”) components
Point number 2 is pertinent.
The Saga has a very thin door panelling, and the plasticky feel of the interior (despite looking very sporty, I admit) will not get by even the most lax of car reviewers.
The quality of the foam used for the seat is also lower than an Iswara (the sucessor to the original Saga), even compared to ones made 3 years ago.
That’s how PROTON reduces on their price.
True, the Savvy and Gen.2 belong to a newer generaton of PROTONs aimed for the international market.
But domestic pressures will ensure that PROTON continues to cut corners to improve margins, which means the users will end up with cars that lack quality.
Monthly payments will still be cheaper though. Through EON Bank and PROTON - Commerce, they should be able to counter slightly cheaper foreign brands.
News is there will be a reverse of what is happening now. National cars now attract a higher interest rate because finance companies see the money in volume. But to counter an expected slower sales due to higher prices and similar priced Nissans and Hondas, the interesr rate for national cars will decline.
Cheaper installments, yes, BUT poor quality cars.
I am so glad I put my Perdana V6 “to sleep” 2 months ago.
I’ll end my entry just as I did the last one:
I promised myself I will never buy another PROTON until it gets at least a 3-star rating by a veritable car review magazine in UK or Australia.
Anyone willing to bet if I’ll ever get to eat my words?
October 24, 2005 @ 8:34 am
The children enjoyed the ride in the gen 2 1.3. Saw a red one in a show room in Senawang while servicing my Wira Auto, looks ok. But it is sold. A grey one seen earlier have been registered. Proton must have painted the cars by batches… soon the white coloured gen 2 will arrive. A friend of mine who saw my wife’s gen2 wants to buy it for his wife… he sells and rent out computers… he thinks the booth is large enough to put computers.
Of course any car you buy now will depreciate a lot the next day. Why? There are too many second hand cars around and its easy to buy new cars with low percentage for car financing. We bought gen2 by trading our kelisa manual cos my wife needed an auto. Gen 2 1.3 is the cheapest and modern loooking auto car around, and will all round disk brakes
October 24, 2005 @ 12:43 pm
Regarding cutting corners, all car manufacturer do it. My friend’s new foreign car does not even have a clock???? Some cars sent here use cheaper parts than the one in EU. Others opted out certain things and get parts from other developing countries. Anyway my wife’s kelisa had a very big drop even though it is only about one year old, luckily insurance and road tax was free, therefore just enough to get a deposit without forking out any extra money.
October 24, 2005 @ 6:44 pm
Zool stop bluffing! gen2 1.3 still not available yet!!!!!!
the stupid proton delay it again….cham, promotion end soon..am i going to get a more expensive gen2?
October 24, 2005 @ 9:40 pm
http://www.caranddriving.com/exchange/ncrt_c.asp?id={FEAB6717-FE94-4E35-B597-FACB417228B9}&maker=PROTON Gen2 1.3 review
Hence the importance of the 94bhp 1.3-litre GLS entry-level variant we’re looking at here. The performance isn’t much different from that of the 1.6-litre models with rest to sixty taking 15.4s (as opposed to 12.6s for the 1.6-litre) and maximum speed of 112mph (118mph for the 1.6). Unfortunately, the fuel consumption story is likewise (40.4mpg combined as opposed to 39.2mpg for the 1.6). What is different is the price - £8,795 (or £9,595 if you go for the automatic) that could make all the difference between getting potential buyers into the showroom and losing them to more established rivals.
Upon reaching said showrooms, those potential customers should be favourably impressed – and not just by the car. A recent national dealer survey saw Proton’s dealers rated as second only to Lexus for helpfulness, which shows how the network has been pulling its socks up in recent times. As for the car, well despite the more affordable price, 1.3 GLS buyers still get the same specification as 1.6-litre GLS customers. And that means air conditioning, alloy wheels, a CD player with a 10-disc autochanger, twin airbags, remote central locking with an alarm/immobiliser, electric front windows and reverse parking sensors. Try asking for that little lot for under £13,000 from your local Ford or Vauxhall dealer.
“To sum up the Proton GEN-2 1.3 GLS is easy. Just get yourself a Ford price list and see how much you pay for less…”
Otherwise the GEN-2 package is as you were. The chassis is shared with the Impian saloon and that’s a good start. The Impian is one of the better handling compact cars and the dimensions, when translated to the GEN-2, give it a squatly purposeful, wheel at each corner stance. The exterior detailing shows a number of well-judged contemporary features from the sculpted headlamp units to the bold design of the hatch and the coupe-like window line.
Although the GEN-2 will doubtless sell on the basis of its looks and value proposition, a great deal of attention has been paid to how the car drives. Proton now own 100 per cent of Lotus and they want a return on that investment. Quick witted steering and an alert feel are Lotus trademarks and the GEN-2 isn’t found wanting in this department. Factor in a chassis that corners without a great deal of understeer or body roll and you have a setup which will be more than adequate for most of the target market. The more demanding minority may well find themselves wishing for a little more engine so good is the ride and handling. The ride is firm without lapsing into harshness and float over longer undulations is well suppressed.
The cabin is a bit of a treat if you’re used to acres of dull grey and boring details. It’s styled by – you guessed it – the Lotus Design Studio and features a set of vertical air-conditioning knobs on the centre console support and a nice metallic finish that together really are a cut above the class standard in terms of aesthetics. The steering wheel is also massively more sporting looking than the apologetic tillers seen in most cars of the Proton’s ilk as is the instrument panel with its twin cowled binnacle and metallic look to the dials themselves. Everywhere you look there are neat design touches, from the unorthodox handbrake grip to the semi-circular door pulls.
As we’ve said, equipment levels are very competitive, though metallic paint will require you to dip further into your pocket. The only really significant grouse in this respect is that anti lock brakes aren’t featured across the range with only the top 1.6-litre GSX model getting ABS as standard. Work that one out.
To sum up the Proton GEN-2 1.3 GLS is easy. Just get yourself a Ford price list and look at the £11,500 price tag attached to the cheapest, most basically specified entry-level version. Were the Malaysian car to be a world away in terms of build quality and dynamics, the cost difference could be justified but it isn’t. All right, so this Proton still isn’t screwed together quite as well, nor is the quality of materials used quite as good – but there’s not too much in it. Against that, the handling is just as good, the styling more attractive and the specification on another planet. All of which ought to be enough to elevate this car to a place on your shopping list, even if you were thinking of spending a good deal more than £8,800 on a Family Hatchback. Pricier isn’t necessarily better.
October 25, 2005 @ 9:47 am
FACTS AT A GLANCE
CAR: Proton GEN-2 1.3 GLS
PERFORMANCE: 0-60mph 15.4s / Max Speed 112mph
FUEL CONSUMPTION: (urban) 27.7mpg / (extra urban) 54.3mpg / (combined) 40.4mpg
October 25, 2005 @ 1:13 pm
Fuel consumption looks ok, with 1.3 Double Overhead Cam Engine (DOHC), MPI and a compression ratio of 10:1
October 25, 2005 @ 7:00 pm
finally proton extend the promotion till end of nov.
And my white gen2 only will reach after raya….
October 25, 2005 @ 8:19 pm
My wife just booked this car today, she feel ok about the power, just same as our old Iswara 1.5A.
October 25, 2005 @ 9:56 pm
manson, where u buy the gen2? got test drive?
October 26, 2005 @ 11:09 am
Its been a week since we got the car (gen 2 1.3), and has gone 800 km, must reach 1,000 km at the end of the week so that we could do the first service before raya. At present we never drive it more than 90 km/hour and it is a pleasure to drive, good response and excellent ride and handling. Its well crated and I think it is a beautiful car. My wife’s colleagues looked and enquired about it, some thinking of getting one.
October 26, 2005 @ 2:04 pm
You need to be a sincere buyer then you can test drive at Proton Edar Jln Ipoh branch, but it depend on they got the car for test or not, so you better book the time with them first.
October 27, 2005 @ 6:47 pm
I just visiting Proton Edar Glenmary and they have Gen2 Centennial Edition (MCKK). Its white and come with leather seat, double airbag, refined interior. Its really nice, the price around RM70k but get a discount around RM9,000.00, so its good or not..Planning to get either Wira SE or this one.
Zool may I ask your opinion about the Gen2 1.3 fuel consumption, its really o.k or like the wira 1.5 auto. Right now I’am driving Wira 1.3 manual. So can explain little bit..thanks in advance.
October 28, 2005 @ 12:02 am
nvr listen to zool…he bluff alot..
October 28, 2005 @ 7:48 am
At present our gen 2 1.3 is about 995 km, thus will service it this saturday. Regarding fuel comsumption, have not tested it yet because have not had our first service. From data given in websites the fuel comsumption is slightly better than gen 2 1.6 auto. One EON salesman who is driving a gen 2 1.6 auto said that the gen 2 1.6 auto has better fuel comsumption than WAJA 1.6 auto and Wira 1.5 auto (he once owned all of them)…. hence gen 2 1.3 auto should be tha best. My daughter saw a red gen 2 1.3 last wednesday on the road. One thing for sure gen 2 1.3 auto has all four disk brakes unlike my wira auto, drum brakes at the rear.
October 28, 2005 @ 2:22 pm
Zool said,
October 21, 2005 @ 7:40 am
Wife’ got gen 2 1.3 on thursday after 8 working days… she’s loving it… soaks pot holes and undulating roads with ease … no back ache.. or sore knees… thanks proton for lovely car. Now we can balik kampong in comfort. So Fendi have you book your gen 2… I am sure you will have to wait until raya to get your car… cheers…
–> Congratulation, Zool! I hope the car will serve your wife, children and you well (for good causes, of course).
I have not bought any new car yet, as I think my Iswara 1.3 is still working fine. A Gen-2 1.3, with its current price, seems interesting. However, it comes with Automatic transmission, and I am afraid I will lose my clutch-control and gear-shifting skills if I were to have one. Besides, its headroom is rather small for people like me (my height is 175cm). However, if it comes with manual transmission, maybe I might get interested to have one.
I have driven a Waja 1.6 A. I thought it is a small car until I drove it. It is spacious and feels good when driving it. The steering system is quite light; the wheel is not shaken at high speed. Is it a Waja’s characteristic?
Point to ponder on: If Proton does not manage to sell cars anymore, what will happen to its workers? There are thousands of people earning their living by working with the manufacturer. Their incomes part of our country’s economy too. If they all lose their jobs, what would be its possible consequences on us? Any idea, anyone? These questions are not the sarcastic ones: They are truly to elicit information.
Keep commenting, people!
October 30, 2005 @ 7:40 am
Wife’s gen 2 1.3 had our first 1000 km service on saturday. Due to promotion ererything was free, labour, lubricant and oil filter. Services for 5,000 and 10,000 are also free. This is the first gen 2 1.3 to be serviced by EON Seremban. I have two cars but when we go shopping nearby I cramp all 5 children and wife in the gen 2. Guess what? It amaze me to find the pick up and cruzing speed are not affected. It has no problems going up 4 stories to a shopping mall’s packing space. After service I tested the car up bukit mantin and back…… passed with flying colours… truly amazing …. overtake a honda accord and a new sentra on the way.
We once had 2 iswaras, mine a 1.3 sedan and wife a 1.3 aeroback. They serve us a good 7 and 5 years respectively free of trouble. I only send them to EON for service in the first year, after that to an ordinary foreman to change just the lubricant oil and filter, and sometimes the fuel filter and air filter. Once a year I do electronic tuning at a tyre shop. It is truly a peoples’ car.
October 31, 2005 @ 6:52 am
Took the gen 2 1.3 to KL from Seremban yesterday (Sunday). Fill the car full of petrol before going and fill it again after coming back from Seremban. It is a crude way of measuring petrol comsumption and not a perfect way. Anyway travelled 176 km. with about RM 20 of petrol. When driving in Seremban speed was about 70 km/h and KL 80 km/h but along the Highway it was 110 km/h accept near bangi 90 km/h. I always believe in driving at national speed and using the indicators when changing lanes or going in and coming out of junctions. Have use indicators for years and believe me it never fails on me. Along the way to KL I felt sleepy so took a 10 minutes nap at the Nilai R & R with the engine and air cont running. Not sure if the gen 2 1.3 has been tuned electronically. Used to electronicaaly tune my other cars immediately when I first got them. Probably will do it after raya and do more testing on the Mileage. Selamat Hari Raya/ Eid Mubarak… Maaf Zahir Batin and Happy Deepavali/ Divali to all Malaysians and people of the world.
October 31, 2005 @ 1:23 pm
wat the the gen2 price now…the promotion until end of nov….if after this promotion..??? wat price will be?
October 31, 2005 @ 7:52 pm
zool: what is your gen2 1.3 top speed?
i want to know coz i want to buy want too.
November 2, 2005 @ 12:16 am
I do not know the top speed as I seldom do more than 110 km/h. However whenever I drive the gen 2 1.3, I can’t smiling from ear to ear… its so comfortable. I think it has stabiliser bars both front and back as well as disk brakes front and rear. Cheers..
November 2, 2005 @ 12:21 am
I do not know the top speed as I have not done more than 110 km/h. Anyway whenever I drive this car it makes me smile from ear to ear as it is so comfortable. It has stabiliser bars both front and rear bulit in when I look under the car. It has also front and rear disk brakes and 15 inches tyres. Cheers
November 3, 2005 @ 4:18 pm
Hello Zool
how is 0-100kmh time?
fast or not for your gen2?
November 4, 2005 @ 8:15 am
Not sure about the time, but there is a boost of power in between. Maybe it is comparable with my Wira 1.5 auto. At stanstill from trafic lights it could be quite quick. Probably b’cos of DOHC. One think for sure even with 5 people on board there is no loss of power or feel a drag un