Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Concept

Even as the Mitsubishi Evolution IX reached the shores of Malaysia, Mitsubishi already has the Evolution X in the works and plans to unveil a concept version at the Frankfurt Motorshow next month.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X

I have to say that this concept has a very Skyline-ish front and I like the bumper. The overall feel of the look seems to have gone back to the Evolution VI tough and fierce looks instead of the more tame and streamlined look from the Evolution VIII onwards. This picture was sourced from Auto Express and the footnote credits the picture to MA Design which leads me to believe this is just an artist’s impression.

The car is believed to be based on the Mitsubishi Sportsback Concept which have been released by Mitsubishif or quite some time now.

Under the hood will be the classic Evo 4G63 2.0 litre four cylinder engine making a minimum of 320bhp, with high spec versions making over 400bhp in stock form, mated to an advanced all-wheel drive system.

We aren’t sure yet how the final car will look like, so let’s wait for the Frankfurt Motor Show.

Source: Auto Express

Related:
Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX Wagon
Mitsubishi Concept-X

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 21, 2005 at 4:23 pm

Yeah! Finally Mitsubishi released a rights Models and shape!

I like it very much, especialy the back and the hood.

• Yes finally, the tough masculine Evo look has returned! And the Imprezza WRX is getting more feminine instead.

However, it looks very similar to a Toyota Altezza…the front part of the car. And it actually brings to the mind the Mitsubishi Galant Styling.

In fact, we should all boycott Evo 9 and pressure them to release Evo 10 NOW!

• 8555: u are right… i just realised now. Toyota Altezza! I wish I had the chance to 'boycott' Evo 9… but how can you boycott when you cannot afford it LOL

• a guy from your frie on Aug 21, 2005 at 11:10 pm

haha~ boycott. i too can't afford 1. actually, the red "artist impression" so called evo X is not that great. i stil prefer the good old evo VI. but of coz, the engine of evo IX is irresistable, not to say the "soon to come" evo X.

holly crap! the mitsu concept! its awesome! that's wad i call a concept car! the nose looks a lil' like aston martin, and yet it looked so fierce! really a nice car!

• sinleong on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:37 am

Its a killer!!!!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:49 am

Hei 8555,

You are correct! The front head lamps was cut and paste from Altezza (The Red picture) I agreed it does not matched with the actual sketches from Mitsubishi. Your eyes are Sharp………>lei!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:52 am

Also the spoiler at the back, bumper and hood too!

No no….completely different from the sketches, except the Mitsubishi LOGO is the same!

• lawrence on Aug 22, 2005 at 6:08 am

A mini skyline has arrived but the blueprint stolen by mitsubishi. Man are u guys sure this is the artist impression. I guess we have been fooled again as usual. It is exactly a skyline look with altezza lighting and a bmw 3series mid body styling… well sad this person actually does this impression where he wasted so much time why not create his own impression and send in to mitsubishi.

• Hy!. paul, how about subaru STI the killer. can u show us some new concept car for it?. that will b hot thing to competent.

• naruto on Aug 22, 2005 at 8:52 am

i dont know abt u guys but i still adore the EVO 9 the most….esp a silver one…i can get on my knees for it

• AlexC on Aug 22, 2005 at 2:55 pm

I'd say the Evos are a fine breed of car… no matter how it evolves, its still one of the top of the range car… wont be able to afford one yet, but wouldnt mind getting one someday… wont know how it would look then, but there's a peace of mind and confidence when it comes to Mitsubishi; Evos especially…

• izudeen on Aug 22, 2005 at 8:18 pm

Have a look at this, wouldn't this be the next EVO X? it looks almost similar to the sportback, but the rear look like a sedan…

http://img64.exs.cx/img64/8164/Mitsu.jpg

• rafreez on Aug 22, 2005 at 11:58 pm

hot…hot…hot…It will be an honour to be roll over by this evo X.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 23, 2005 at 2:10 am

Hei, Which one will you choice between BMW 3 series model 2005 and EVO X if the price is the same?

• Isnt the Evo X supposed to be based on new Lancer platform?

Dog the Wan:

C'mon:) I know we are fantasizing but an M3 vs an Evo9 at the SAME price? An Evo9 is nearly HALF the price of an M3:)

Ok but i ll let my imagination stretch… and pick an Evo9. Value-for-money is the most obvious factor, purity in purpose is the less obvious one. I know an M3 would get me more credibility, envious stares and daily driving/ cruising comfort but if i ever consider any of these cars as presumably what they were made for (i know some of us would buy one out of budget limitation but cmon, you cant be honest if you tell yourself the M3 or E9 were ever meant to be your primary car. Esp not in our market).

And theE9 scares the bejeesuz outta me. And I like the idea I can give cars 10x its price a fright (hellooooo ferraris, porsches, etc).

• hfrshah on Aug 23, 2005 at 3:25 am

tai dude, dog the wan said a BMW 3-series, not the M3. fair evaluation of Evo9 and M3 tho..

currently the EVO9 retails at RM284,363 while the BME 320i(E90) is RM268,800. me, i'd take the Beemer, mainly for its street credentials. personally for me the Evo just screams 'boy-racer', and i truly prefer my ass not to be sore after each drive.. in a perfect world, i'd have both.. one can dream right??

• the back end macam the upcoming satria replacement jer…

• omg

sorry for the incredulous oversight. what was i thinking.

3 series vs an E9? Not a fair comparo no.. hehe

Largely depends on what you want – i ve never had a true boy-racer and i m quickly running out of the age bracket to reallly have fun with an out-and-out stomper like the E9. I will somewhere down the line purchase a ultra luxo swanky or 'yuppie' (hate this term, but its a common denominator) 3-series/ A4/ C (GASP!) but in the meantime, make mine an E9!

:)

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 24, 2005 at 12:11 am

Pratically Majority of you will choose BMW 3 series instead of EVO. Besides Performance, ppl want comfort and image of course with less maintenance cost! Honestly I will choose BMW more than EVO….GAYA MUTU KEUNGGULAN it is BMW not Dunhill…..

• Verne on Aug 24, 2005 at 1:53 am

Front actually looks a little like the new Alfa 159. Kinda mean! Nice!

• narrowband on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:47 am

whoa. damn nice. got that slight impreza-look though (the old impreza). The new (latest) facelift of Impreza is sissy (like 8555 said).

• Urbie on Aug 31, 2005 at 4:06 pm

Nice looking Lancer.

• tituba on Aug 31, 2005 at 7:37 pm

Wow, I dunno weather I should wait for the 07 STi or this badboy. It wouldn't matter though, I still won't be able afford either of them,lol.

• Nélson on Sep 26, 2005 at 1:55 am

Yes, is very nice, but is not lines to road in rallyes, just in road_

• Konsaltant on Oct 15, 2005 at 9:18 pm

Evo 9 for me, like the road feel and performance. It has very linear accelaration, better damper and improved sound insulation, so comfort wise is best among all other predessesors. E90 is a lil too refine for me, and even when compared to E46. Unless i'm being chauffered, i don't think i want to give up the road feel, part of the fun and enjoyment of driving.. IMP

• jamaicayute on Nov 05, 2005 at 10:26 pm

well i must say this is rather different from the other evos. i actually dont like it and prefer the more rally look that the 6 and so has. this looks too much like the othersupercars or so and not so much like a sports car. sorry. i speak 4 alot of jamaicans. we dont really like the concept down here. the red one doesnt look that bad tho.

• tommy on Nov 15, 2005 at 6:39 am

it's more than just a sedan it's like a monster than a sedan!!!

• cerempetnye on Dec 05, 2005 at 9:17 pm

Copy-paste image? Maybe…