Mahathir Returns Company Cars

Proton advisor Tun Dr. Mahathir returned the seven vehicles given to him by Proton for personal and official use supposedly to show displeasure over the removal of Tengku Mahaleel as chief executive.

He returned the cars – 3 Volkswagens and 4 Protons – after some serious reflection on the issue.

If I’m not mistaken, one of the Volkswagens he returned should be the super luxurious Volkswagen Phaeton. Friend of mine had a peek at the road tax sticker of the Volkswagen Phaeton one day at the Proton Savvy launch and discovered the road tax for the car is exactly RM46,513.00.

Source: Yahoo Finance

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 29, 2005 at 8:45 pm

Even the father now is disappointed with his BABY, POTONG. Wake uplah! POTONG, Dreams is over! Back to the reality don't keep on dreaming!!!!

You should focus on making good quality cars to Malaysian and not just hoping for protection!

• cameljoe on Aug 29, 2005 at 8:49 pm

BTW wot proton is doing with VW cars? Wot message are proton conveying? While some advisor driving a super expensive imported car, the rakyat driving around some old mitsu junk or dysfuntional proton designs. Even the gahmen is using perdanas. Guess Dr. M wise up to return those non-local made cars. He still got his Cayanne.

• davors on Aug 29, 2005 at 8:56 pm

hmmmm.. maybe Tun Mahathir knows peak oil is becoming a serious matter…

now oil soared to $70…

so less car is the better choice

• Perhaps he was not too happy to be only given potong or VW cars…he wants company car such as Cayanne or carrera or spider leh…then potong has to buy it from his son ma…*duh :p

• holy_cow on Aug 29, 2005 at 9:33 pm

Actually, I think it's a good thing that Mahathir is displeased with Proton, means that he might finally wash his hands of it and then maybe, just maybe, some real progress might be possible.

I always thought it was kind of nice, though, that he showed up in a Proton Perdana wherever he went – now all that respect is gone. Turns out by turning up in Protons everywhere he wasn't supporting the nation, he was supporting himself. Now that Proton has diverged from his own opinions, he won't support it anymore lah. So much for patriotism. Good riddance, I say.

Maybe he just got tired of being in a Proton all the time with no hope of escape…I know lots of his fellow citizens who feel that way.

• centerpide on Aug 29, 2005 at 9:49 pm

okay what's so great about this Tengku Mahadeel guy for Dr. M to make such a publicity move like this? Why is this tengku dude so special??

• Verne on Aug 29, 2005 at 10:08 pm

Hope he didn't get rid of the Satria R3 (#004)! That would be such a waste!

• Button on Aug 29, 2005 at 10:32 pm

Good moves by Dr Mahathir.. It would be cool to see Dr Mahathir sit in one of the BMWs or Mercedes…. hahaha…

• armandd on Aug 29, 2005 at 11:45 pm

yeah

• armandd on Aug 29, 2005 at 11:50 pm

is it the price of Proton Savvy + road tax, or the road tax alone cost RM46,513.00? there must be some typo error here…

• The road tax for the Volkswagen Phaeton costs RM46,513.00 yearly.

• teslarage on Aug 30, 2005 at 12:03 am

roadtax of the Volkswagen Phaeton la. nothing to do with proton savvy :D

• hfrshah on Aug 30, 2005 at 12:12 am

wow, i wonder why he chose the V10 TDi variant over the W12.

• hfrshah on Aug 30, 2005 at 12:18 am

or maybe its a W12 registered as a company car

• It's the W12 model, registered as a company car. Belongs to Proton what.

• hfrshah on Aug 30, 2005 at 12:42 am

lucky bastard.. if he can return it he must have tonnes more in reserve huh?

• Marmitecrab on Aug 30, 2005 at 12:55 am

Don't underestimate "The Tun"!!! He almost never does anything without trying to make a statement and it's usually only later we'll know what it is. At best, he's trying to come clean, at worst….who knows…

• moo_t on Aug 30, 2005 at 1:39 am

How can it be possible a 4L car charged with RM 46K road tax, even under commercial tariff.

• The Volkswagen Phaeton W12 is a 6 liter car, not 4 liter.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 30, 2005 at 1:54 am

I guess……Dr M must not using VW LUXURY car cause someone will said bad to him, not supporting POTONG products. Therefore next Dr M might thinking of driving a SAWI, mainly to show the world that his babe is tough enough, almost close to bullet proof vehicle and he don't afraid of driving this without a bodyguard, also to show POTONG BOLEH.

What a Fun if I see DR M driving SAWI to work or even around KL city. It will become a Global news, will get FREE advertising from CNN, ABC, ..CCTV…..NHK,…etc.

Mr. BEAN also loose man!!!!….WHAT A BAD Joke!!

I agreed with Marmitecrab said,

August 29, 2005 @ 4:55 pm

Don’t underestimate “The Tun”!!!

• yusmady on Aug 30, 2005 at 1:56 am

baru je lepas jumpa tun masa konvo di kuittho bp sabtu lepas. well… genius person…

• Rajan R on Aug 30, 2005 at 2:32 am

Wait, why does a car company give out company cars from, well currently, competing companies?

And what exactly does Tun M intend to accomplish? The new exco probably go "Yippee! Less money to squander around!"

• Rajan: I remember reading in a news article once that Mahathir said Proton bought it for 'research' purposes on how to design their next luxury Perdana model, and had given it to him to test drive.

• aksMS on Aug 30, 2005 at 3:14 am

I don't know why, but somehow, there's chance that we, all the proud Malaysian we lose Proton for good. Call it a hunch. But looking at the current situation, if these drama inside Proton keeps goin, well, prepare to say goodbye. I heard somewhere that VW wanted to acquire 30% of Proton. Correct me if Im wrong. But if the deal goes through, VW will be the major shareholder in Proton.

I may not bought a Proton (yet). Whatever that happens I just want to see Proton survive the globalisation with its quality product under MALAYSIAN flag instead of ze Germans. We should have a positive attitude towards Proton. Not only us, the consumers, but also attitude make over from those assembly linesmen up to those big heads up there sitting on a comfy chair inside the board room.

• hfrshah on Aug 30, 2005 at 3:40 am

research purposes? then why buy the top-the-line model?? the 3.2 would have more then sufficed. hell a C-Class would do the job and more.. what can they possibly get from the mighty Phaeton? air suspention tech? the Phaeton is hardly class leading anyway.

its cool Proton wants to learn from successful manufacturers but isnt this taking it too far? if, IF the new Perdana can hold its own against, say, a Cefiro, thats a hell of job well done already

• Harry on Aug 30, 2005 at 3:51 am

Interesting….one of AP kings, Naza's boss, Nashimuddin, threw the 80th birdday party for TM recently at Naza assembly plant in Gurun and Naza also donated RM300K to the Perdana Leadership Foundation. Hmmm..maybe TM is driving Naza Ria and Citra instead?

• Kanasai on Aug 30, 2005 at 4:13 am

i think the power window cannot work again.. that's y too fed up with it so ma return to proton lo… i bet his driver face this power window problem a lot… and complain it to Dr M. if anyone can return with money back, i guess 70 % of us will do it… just my guess… u guys tell me

• cool man on Aug 30, 2005 at 5:09 am

Reading these comments. I just realise how ethnocentric Malaysia is become in the 21st century!

They sit in parliament to make laws, head ministries who they themselves have no confident in, fail to raise it above level and send their own children to overseas because they know, the quality of education in Malaysia is not good.

First, Malaysians……….you have been cheated by BN politicians and second, Malaysians……….the BN leaders sucked you, they use your tax money to finance their children overseas but your children have been neglected…………double fool.

Have commented that malays including intellectuals want non-meritocracy and NEP to stay or implemented. Even malay intellectuals distrust feelings against multiracial parties even though they are against Umno.

They believe that only Umno can protect malays rights. Therefore it is imperative that non-malays vote opposition to change the present system otherwise non-malays will continue to send their children overseas for education because they have no choice, whilst malays politicians and wealthy ones will continue to send their children overseas because the education standard here is low.

How ironic.

MAS case is only the tip of the iceberg. The whole country administration machinery, privatized or not privatized, is governed by a bunch of incompetents.

We can't trust our schools and universities as the BN leaders also send their children overseas to study, as they themselves also can't trust the education system.

In case of sickness, our BN leaders also rush to Singapore or overseas to seek treatments, as they themselves also can't trust our own medical system. The only thing we can hear is the boastfulness everywhere in this Bolehland.

If we correct from our mistakes we are still men. But the trouble is that we keep on repeating mistakes, and instead of correcting, we keep on fining excuses.

Worst still we want to imagine that we are great, sending astronaut to the space using other people's spaceship.

In the end, the money come from the taxpayers again to fund these losses while the political leaders and top management get away with huge pay packages, and to make matters worst, they will just run away with it.

Yes, this is the secret recipe called 'Boleh' only available in Bolehland!

• I agree with cool man

i'm an 18-year old malay boy and taking my A-Level right now. I passionately hate the gov policy of protecting the malays rights. Why? it's because i believe Malaysia should be a multi-racial country, not a malay country. The burden of developing the malays is the burden for malay biz and pro community not the whole Malaysian government. The Malays politicians put taxes on the non-bumi and gave it to the Malays. Wtf!!, if i'm into politic i'll be joining the Gerakan. Nor the UMNO neither the PAS.

And i am just a malay boy. I never really proud to be born as a Malay. To me I'm a Muslim first, a Malaysian second, and a Malay third and i have my symphath toward the non-bumi

• HANG JEBAT on Aug 30, 2005 at 6:15 am

Cool Man… agree with you 100%..

• Philip on Aug 30, 2005 at 6:35 am

I agree with COOL MAN and BOB the Malaysian Muslim. You guys are the man. How can one grow if it is not given the chance? Over protection is going to destroy ones future. Pak Lah must see to this matter quickly and the other cabinet ministers and leaders should fight for the Malaysians not the race they represent. We are Malaysians.

Why must Proton benchmark against the VW??? They don't make the best cars. Dull design. BMW or Merc or Honda would be anytime better.

• i have more than enough qualification for the matriculation. But i did'nt go for it because i want to avoid the 'bumis quota'. That's why i choose the A-Level(Form 6) so i can compete fairly with everyone in the class. Moreover if when i succeed in the future, i can proudly telling people that never been using my status as bumiputera to reach my goal. Fair Play!!

*sorry about my english, still improving it as a teenager*

• armandd on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:53 am

bob said,

August 29, 2005 @ 10:07 pm

"I agree with cool man

i’m an 18-year old malay boy and taking my A-Level right now. I passionately hate the gov policy of protecting the malays rights. Why? it’s because i believe Malaysia should be a multi-racial country, not a malay country. The burden of developing the malays is the burden for malay biz and pro community not the whole Malaysian government. The Malays politicians put taxes on the non-bumi and gave it to the Malays. Wtf!!, if i’m into politic i’ll be joining the Gerakan. Nor the UMNO neither the PAS.

And i am just a malay boy. I never really proud to be born as a Malay. To me I’m a Muslim first, a Malaysian second, and a Malay third and i have my symphath toward the non-bumi"

—————————————————————-

dear stupid bob,

hmm, it seems to me that, while i agree with most of your points (including the overprotection of the malays and YES, there are MANY corrupted people in the government), there's ONE thing i beg to differ…

didn't u learn some history lesson back in secondary school?

before and during the british occupation, this LAND is named Tanah Melayu, and is named MALAYSIA today. why? because the malays are the natives of this LAND. this also explains the terms bumiputra and non-bumiputra.

all three major parties which represented the three major races, (malay, chinese and indian) had agreed on this, and it was also stated in the constitution. only after this was agreed by all that the brits gave us the independence.

don't get so cocky kid, u may be taking A-Level, but u are ungrateful and know nothing bout the history of this beautiful country…

• FiveElements on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:58 am

TO BOB……………..

My SALUTE to you. Thousands of praises for you…….Now this is what we needed for Malaysia…….

Sigh…unfortunately there are not many with qualities like u BOB. i think the other RACES would not mind helping the needy MALAYS out there……but definately not those holding tens of thousand of APs while those in the KAMPUNG still leaving in RUMAH PAPAN. And definately not those "MINISTER SON" who holds the sole distributor right of "PORCHE".

The policy now is helping the the rich MALAYs richer and the poor MALAYs poorer.

To the SMART MALAYS out there like BOB….open your eyes and see the real issue…..

• VW is conservative,practical,and simplistic when it comes to design. Most European buyers prefers VW designs because they believes it's 'unpretentious'. We must remember that VW is winning buyers all over EU and China although not very much in America and Asia.

We should'nt judge VW by its design. VW is a champion in giving the customer great car perfomances. If u look at the top10 list of best fuel consumption in US, more than half are VW models while the rest are the Toyota,Honda, and Ford 'hybrid' models. Even the American Chrysler has decided to uses VW engine in their models. The VW prices are also affordable in global market, although are expensive in Malaysia

Buying VW in Malaysia is just like buying book here……..expensive!!

But the content is so beneficial and worthful.

If you don't judge a book by it's cover, you'll choose VW

I hope i can afford one in the future

So there are reasonable reasons why Proton working with VW

• FiveElements on Aug 30, 2005 at 8:15 am

TO STUPID ARMANDD,

As you are so well versed in history, may i ask what makes a country stronger???

Is it UNITY????? Let me clear your thick head….what we wanted here is not "RACISM". What Malay??? What Chinnese??? What Indian???? What we wanted here is " WE WANT TO CALL OURSELF MALAYSIAN" not malay Malaysian, not chinese malaysian and not Indian Malaysian when a foreigner ask us.

DO U UNDERSTAND NOW!!!! RELIGIONS AND RACES SEPERATE PEOPLE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BELIEVE IS WHAT MAKE PEOPLE UNITE!!!!

AND YES WE WANT BELIEVE WE ARE MALAYSIAN……!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AND YES AGAIN I THINK MAJORITY OUT THERE BELIEVE YOU ARE JUST ANOTHER CLOWN OUT THERE WHO JUST WAITING TO SUCK ON THE GOVERNMENT NIPPLES……

• dear respected armandd,

i think u get irrelevent in this matter and saying not the right thing about me

the name of Tanah Melayu and Malaysia are completely out of point while the independence constitution is thing of the past, irrelevent with present time, and also can be change. The MCA and MIC had to agree at time because they also want independence and i suppose they used to hope that this 'racist' constitution would be replaced in the future. Hey, the Indian and the Chinese has did so much for this country but what this country has did for them?

Most kids nowadays are ungrateful right? We don't care much about the past and just want ourselves and our multi-racial friends to be treated fairly. We are afterall the future or better say the fate of this country.

Oh, one more thing for you 'Uncle armandd'. I got A1 in History for both my PMR and SPM. So please don't say that i know nothing about this country

• armandd on Aug 30, 2005 at 8:40 am

gagaga… the comments have went off the topics. let me tell u something, if u were born and live in indon and say things like that, u will surely be in some big trouble… u're so LUCKY to be born in this country…

think of it… non-malays there even have to change their names to malay names… get what i mean?

• armandd on Aug 30, 2005 at 8:43 am

okay, back to the main issue, mahathir returns company cars…

• I'm lucky to be born in this country……….just want to make this country as a better place for the non-bumi. Life in this country is good, but does'nt u can't make it better.

*this uncle still thinks he can keeps things around as it were in the past, forgots the younger ones would change it in the future*

• forgive me, forgive me, forgive me

let's go back to the main issue!

• aksMS on Aug 30, 2005 at 8:59 am

Armandd, cool it man. Thats a bit harsh there calling Bob stupid. I wouldnt go as far as calling him stupid. He got some good points there. Probably being young he hasn't learn deep enough about our nation's history and malay's in particular. But sometimes when you knows too much, it hurts. Believe me it does.

I don't care if Proton wants to use VW experties or Beemers or Hondas. Getting new technologies and experties are good but 'selling' them out through the acquisition or whatever you call it, the only people who will benefited from it are only those who wanted this deal to go through. For the rest, we lose something that we can call our own.

• Baboonz on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:06 am

dear bob and armandd,

bob, i agree with you. Respect. You do understand te plight of us non-bumis. I hope that there are more like you out there.

armandd, go take a long walk off a short pier. Quoting history, Tanah Melayu and shit. Then was then. Now is now. Now Malaysia is a multicultural, multiracial country. Look at your IC. What does it say? Warganegara. Which also means you are a citizen of Malaysia. Look at your passport. What passport is it? Correct. Its a Malaysian Passport. Malaysian. We are all the same. All citizens of Malaysia.

Please don't rip bob apart and call him cocky. He is more educated than you. Open your eyes and see reality. Wake up and smell the roses. Dont hide behind some "screen" pretending that all is ok. IT AINT and deep down you know it.

I am a chinese Malaysian, and although I am patrotic to my country, I am disatisfied at the way "things" are progressing.

I feel like a second class citizen in my own country. Why should this be? I work overseas and get treated much better here than if I did work in Malaysia (pay aside) and get given the same amount of respect as the locals here. Back home? No farking way. Some sausage sucker would get higher up, and why? Because of skin colour and religion. Bullshit.

We are all Malaysians, born on the same soil, smelt the same air, drank the same water, eaten the same salt. Why should some people "be more equal than others"? Why is it that people like me do not want to come back and contribute to our country? Well, because the governtment would rather scratch their own balls than give us any recognition. Our children would still be sent overseas to study, the govrnement would still protect themselves. Nothing would change.

I would rather be a second class citizen in a foreign country, than my own. At least that is justified.

Good riddence. The government can continue to scratch its own balls. No farking way would i chip in and help.

• aksMS on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:16 am

As for what Tun did, he's getting emotional I think. Most people at that age would easily get's emotional. But I would not go as far as calling him 'nyanyuk'. As he is a man of honour and priciple. He has every right to get emotional as Proton is his brainchild. When someone tries to take 'em out and brings it down he'll feel sad.

I know I would. I just hope the new CEO is not someone who cant be bought and someone who can take Proton to where we wanted it to be, a world class brand and a world class automaker WITHOUT the goverment's help and protection. Enough is enough.

Ps: Eh, how do we make Proton world class if vast majority of us (consumers and citizen) doesn't have a world class mentality and attitude? Heh.

• Baboonz on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:18 am

Back to the topic at hand,

It is afterall a business, not a "project" as some put it. Proton are out there to make money. Not make citizens happy.

It seems that Proton are not making as much money as they should. Thats why the panic at the moment. It does not matter who they want to tie up with. What matters is who wants to tie up with Proton, and what they would get out of it. Nothing is free. If VW wants to linkup with Proton, what is it that VW gets out of it?

We'll see what happens in a month, after the cars are returned. Perhaps Tun wont be the special advisor no more. Perhaps, Proton would benifit from the lack of political influence in their decission making. Politics and business dont mix. And Proton are trying to run a business. Failing or not, it is a business and logic demands that the main aim of running a business is to make money.

Perhaps te government should stop protection of Proton and its Vendors. The world is now a market place and it is Sink or Swim time baby!

• Baboonz on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:22 am

hmmm notice the repeating theme of TM.

Tanah Melayu

Tengku Mahaleel

Tanjung Malim

Tun Mahathir

coincidence?

• hokkien lang. on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:52 am

walao eh…. more and more people turn their skin to green …..

well 1stly i wan talk our TM ; it is good to him now that he 'over manja' to proton,and became very bad seeds….err…

psst(whisper) do you think our TM read this site? and comment under different user name?

secondly i want to tell a true story , actually is history… correct me if i'm wrong

this land found by Parameswara, running away from Sumarta under Srivijaya rules. before that he was in Temasik(singapore now) before arrive in malacca(check out this name at laughs in this blogs,date april 4)in few century it became a advance town in malacca,another century to go, portugesecame and attack an finally 'empayar melaka' was over……. . then dutch came and defeat portugese and dutch win.finally englishman came, no war just exchange only . and from that day englishman rule until W.W.2.. . i skip the japanese part and english came back. fromthat day our ancestor are fight for freedom….. and they achive at 31st august 1957 with singapore….what i'm going to say now i'm not saying about racism now. i want to say our technologies same as singapore right now. e.g.1 example:when singapore get their 1st LRT?, when we get our 1st LRT?

we get our free dom along with singapore but they ahead of us, i mean more then us , is not they 'kiasu' becoz their government do for 'rakyat' not here…

And finally what fiveelement say is tru

we must called ourself by ONLY 1 WORD MALAYSIAN not 2 or 3 but 1! 1! 1!

you can see that 'iklan pensil se-tah-bilo direka untuk peperiksaan'….

non-malay got 18A' or perfect score in exam cannot be their maskot

right?.

• armandd on Aug 30, 2005 at 10:11 am

yes, when people get old, they tend to get emotional easily.

hmm, did anybody notice that proton actually gave SEVEN cars to Tun Dr. M? too many huh?

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 30, 2005 at 4:07 pm

What a long discussion on the same issue again and again????

I feel a bit BORING LAH!!!……..Now I am drinking a COKE! ARRRRR…..Still feel very HOT. Let me smoke first…….2 minutes.

After smoking for 2 pack! I got an idea!!!

May I suggest you all to joint the Parties, MCA, UMNO, MIC or Keadilan, GERAKAN……to be a member first and voice up all these during the meeting. That's make the most sense rights!!

We need NEW BLOOD like you all since you all already know the weakness of Government and Malaysian problems some much!

If you haven't join any party then please find one now. If you all don't wanna to participate then stop COMPLIANT it OKAY!………BOLEH LAND BOLEH, MERDEKA!!!! TOMORROW IS OUR MERDEKA DAY!! Make a good start tomorrow it is our time to change!!!!! THERE IS NOTHING TOO LATE to start doing something.

• FiveElements on Aug 30, 2005 at 4:11 pm

TO ARMANDD

Quoting:

gagaga… the comments have went off the topics. let me tell u something, if u were born and live in indon and say things like that, u will surely be in some big trouble… u’re so LUCKY to be born in this country…

think of it… non-malays there even have to change their names to malay names… get what i mean?

Dear ARMANDD…..

Why are you comparing us with the worst??? With the mentality of yours……we will get no where…..lets hope the majority of Malaysian are not like you…….

IF what you said are true why is NEP there???? why special priviledges to the BUMI???? They should be gratefull without it….see people in AFRICA…they dont even have food to eat……

So Armandd grow up and stop dragging the whole country down the ocean with your conservative thinking……

• jgn bicara tentang patriotik jika mempertahankan negara diserahkan pada satu2 bangsa sahaja…

adakah gaji polis dan tentera terlalu kecil utk menjadi patriotik?

jika semua bersifat patriotik.. tidak ada pembunuhan, jenayah, along, vcd haram, spare-part tiruan, dan mcm2 lagi..

melayu, cina dan india semuanya adalah rakyat malaysia… bersama2 kita pertahankannya…MERDEKA..

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 30, 2005 at 4:23 pm

Hei latest info. on UTUSAN MALAYSIA.

Check this out….
    http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=200…

• to: ARMANDD

wtf, pls dun talk anymore, i think u shoouldn't be a malaysian here, wat i suggest to u is : GET THE FUCK OUT FROM MALAYSIA, GO TO INDONESIA LAH, stupid f**ker!

opps, sorry, let us bk to our topic…….by the way, i also a malay boy, but to tell u all, i can converse in mandarin and hock kien (not so fluently, but at least i try….), bob, i agree with u, u did a good job! so..guys , happy merdeka to all of us, except ARMANDD the PAK INDON!

• Button said,

August 29, 2005 @ 2:32 pm

Good moves by Dr Mahathir.. It would be cool to see Dr Mahathir sit in one of the BMWs or Mercedes…. hahaha…

—-> man you are damn rite…he was using a BMW 735 to attend the conference in UIM!!

• armandd said,

August 30, 2005 @ 2:11 am

yes, when people get old, they tend to get emotional easily.

—-> Talking abt urself? Well I would suppose you are abt the same age like our TM…starting to tok kok without thinking properly coz most of the braincell not functioned properly. If we dont work together and share the wealth…u think today u can see a lot of celebration going on for our merdeka? where the $ came from? ur butt can print a bank notes? looks like my JJ can think better than u man…so pathetic. If you still lives to 2020. You will witness urself why the vision is hardly achieve by then. Becoz of ppl like u still around!!!!!

BOZO ~!

• cameljoe on Aug 30, 2005 at 5:36 pm

It is safe to say that Proton is a hotly debated issue and a national concern to all. It seems that whether we are talking about proton, national car industry, MAS, AP and performance of the gov't there is a deep seeded frustration that lead to one common path. After 48 years on our own, we still experience much growing pains.

• uefa2k on Aug 30, 2005 at 5:48 pm

to tahi babi armandd, dun talk history whn u dun know history. Tanah Melayu land is occupied by orang asli at 1st.

Such freak like u SHD kick out of M'sia to Indon. MIC, MCA, Punjabi everyone I wld say work hard for their life. Why shd we work on our hard earned $ being sucked by gahmen to support bunch of idiots like u. Why u? Bcos u get double std privileges set by de gahmen! U better SHUT de FUCK UP!!!

IDIOT!!! FOOL!!! ASSHOLE!!! BABI!!! If u dont want indon, go cover urself with tanah melayu dibawah tanah so tt a new breed of u become 2nd class citizen so tt u will feel the heat. Or else u be a dog! ANJING!!!

• Stop it guys… biarkan Luncai terjun dengan labu-labunya… layan orang gila kita pun boleh jadi gila… we are so near to the MERDEKA day celebrations right…? just make muhibah among us… MERDEKA! MERDEKA! MERDEKA!

• hmm…this topic cant ran away from the races issue…none of the topic would!! juz becoz the policies is not of a fair deal to all of us as a Malaysian! its abt to ppl such as armandd, making the wealth to their cronies, and keep 'squeezing' from other races to ensure the mission is achieved. Who would be happily to give away their wealth after their hardwork..and see all their contribution going down to the longkang???? crap project…failed project…where is all this $ came from? need not have to ask around to get an answer would you?

So…its still back to the root – unfair policies

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 30, 2005 at 6:00 pm

No wonder people now are saying the RICH re getting RICHER, and the POOR are getting POORER. TM is already RICH and on top of that they gave him 7 high end, top range cars that cost hundreds of thousand. Maaannn..This is not fair. They should have given it to me…the POOR guy..I don't expect la VW Phateon or Toureg…Toyota ALTIS pun cukup la….Jangan Proton sudah….

• eCUN said,

August 30, 2005 @ 9:58 am

Stop it guys… biarkan Luncai terjun dengan labu-labunya… layan orang gila kita pun boleh jadi gila

—> Cool it mate..we will not be gila such as that crabs. Atlease our comment is sensible and we have a point to make! unlike those dick head…really use their JJ to think ahead of their brain.

• Marmitecrab on Aug 30, 2005 at 6:09 pm

Sigh! So many issues under one topic….

First, Proton needs a foreign car partner to help in two areas – Financial and R&D. Both are critical for a car manufacturer's survival in this globalised world. It is not a matter of who but what is at stake. VW wants 51% of Proton and obviously that is not acceptable. VW is a global player with many years history and is financially sound. They own Audi and also Lamborghini. They couldn't give two hoots about Proton. They just want to partner with Proton so that they can use us as a starting base to penetrate ASEAN market which they have very little presence in. Simple business logic.

Second, while we all want to be Malaysian, esp during Merdeka season, the truth of the matter is it is not so easy as the majority of the public does not want to. This is the reality. Only Bob and a few of his friends will find that they are the only ones who think this. Majority would rather see us on the next boat back to China and India. This is the reality. Sorry Bob!

Third, our rights are enshrined in the constitution and as long as the Bumis are in the majority, don't hope for it to be changed anytime in the future.

So what to do? Follow Baboonz and take the next flight to Neverland…..

• To really make this country strong, we do need ppl like bob…but guess that could only happened at post-Abdullah and he successor. However, sad to say that ppl like armandd still rule UMNO. Thus if ppl like bob cannot make up a strong group to fight the conservative, things will never be changed.

My advise to bob: oni step into politics if you have enough strong support (i mean really strong 1) else somehow later u will end up in jail being charged with sodomy :p

• nuggyn on Aug 30, 2005 at 6:23 pm

i know some truth hurts….hurts real bad.

but this is what i see in this country….during the pre-merdeka period, the G and the VVIPs talk about multiracial harmony, muhibbah, one nation – one race, bla bla bla bla.

After 31 August, 30% lah, quota for the "Earth" lah, this lah, that lah…

Sigh! sad sad sad.

• News Update on Aug 30, 2005 at 6:37 pm

KUALA LUMPUR: No government in the world can maintain fuel prices at the current level if the price of crude oil continues to spiral, said Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

Thus the people should not blame the Government if there was another hike in fuel prices, the Deputy Prime Minister said when commenting on the record high price of light sweet crude, which jumped to more than US$70 per barrel.

Are you prepare for the next price increase in petrol ? it will hit RM2.00 on the next increase.

• News Update on Aug 30, 2005 at 6:46 pm

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia Airlines (MAS), which may be open to hiring a foreigner as its new managing director, should consider the matter carefully, said Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

The former prime minister said MAS should also gauge the response of its staff.

Had anyone notice that newspaper are interviewing and printing more news from the former prime minister then current prime minister , is Dr Mahathir Mohamad consider the ADVISOR to the government too. Can we have two driver in a car at the same time. My final words to Tun M, ………………………..SHUTUP.

• armandd on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:16 pm

gagaga, it seems that i'm getting quite popular here… don't be so emotional maa… hehehe… this is a free country, i can say what i want…

• SEE FU on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:19 pm

ERrrr..eERR>>>>>WANT TO FLIGHT arrr!! apa mau!

DON'T waste your energy to TALKS to IDIOT lah (This ….armandd BUMI)

He/she is "REAL BUMI", still living in TANAH MALAYOU time. MO TOK SHIIII (Tak baca buku)….MANG CHOON! (Buta huruf!!!)…..SAKAI!

SAKAI will never understand, the world had been changed, including BOLEHLAND. If I were you, I will jump from Top of TWIN TOWERs, Mati terus!! YAU MO KAU …….CHOU!!

• SEE FU on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:27 pm

BOB, I will support you!! YOU ARE Normal, we are Malaysian not BUMI or Non-bumi ……..Muslim or Hindu……That is not important. We should get EQUAL in terms of everything in BOLEHLAND.

• sad malaysian driver on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:29 pm

I say the government should bring in HYBRID CARS!!! Tun should drive a prius!!!

• armandd said,

August 30, 2005 @ 11:16 am

gagaga, it seems that i’m getting quite popular here… don’t be so emotional maa… hehehe… this is a free country, i can say what i want…

—-> hoiks…that just proved my words – you did used your JJ to think har?! Yea this is a free you can say wat u want…but do be sensible not to chant other stupid la this and that. Only ppl who do not possess the truth would launch such a personal attack. We are also free to tok and most of us here think you are a stupid babi…99% here. Except 1% "which" is yourself.

Can you DIG that? SUCKAAAA!!

• guys… please relax and discuss without personal attacks from now on.

• MutantTomato on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:49 pm

Guys guys GUYSSSSS!!! I don't get it la… How does a discussion about a former PM returning a car turn into a racial slander fest? :( Look, we all have our own opinions and grouses. We are all unhappy about something; the Malays feel it is their birthright to get special privilleges, the non-Malays want equal rights. And so on and so forth.

What I'm trying to humbly say here is, if you want to discuss this, then discuss it, but choose your words carefully and TRY to provide some proof to back up what you're saying. Don't just shoot your mouth off like a loose cannon.

More so, it could get our mate, Paul, into trouble. Remember Jeff's Blog, where he had posted something on Islam Hadhari and some idiot reader wrote some stupid comment? JEFF got into trouble and not so much the reader! So guys, do we really want Paul to get into trouble? I for one certainly don't!!!

Think about it man… :|

• xamel on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:56 pm

I've been pondering on why the top of the line VW were given to Tun Dr. Mahathir for "test drive"… could it be b'coz VW (interest) in buying over Proton? Or is it Proton trying to show Tun Dr. Mahathir that 'colaboration' with VW is a good move, thus gave him a few VWs for a "test drive"?

Hmmmm….

In The Star today Tun Dr. Mahathir said: "The cars do not belong to me"

• And See Fu…keep your composure as a master…Dont fumble with a sakai. Sakai cannot be educated since they have live that long without properly education. All they were told by their clan leader are:

1) If you are short of food, go to other minor clan and demand from them. They will have to contribute 30% of the food to you. If they refuse to, tell them your 'keris' man will go after them.

2) If you fell short of a transport tools, clan leader will ensure you got a cheap 1 or even a free 1. As they can import it from other clan. Minority clan who wish to own this will need to pay 300% price on that.

3) If your leg was broken (too lazy?), no fear coz clan leader will offer u the 'tongkat' to assist you and make sure you walk properly. oh ya little info. material of tongkat actually is robbed from the minority clan.

Welcome to Sakai world ~~~

• Proton: Economics of on Aug 30, 2005 at 8:29 pm

Dr.M making mistake again…Last time he didnt promote Proton to big lucrative U.S. market just because of his look-east-policy n anti-U.S. stance unlike Hyundai which gone through tortorous U.S. market n now become the closest Asian-brand rival to Toyota, Honda. Proton just missed the big boat opportunity for possible economic of scale from big market. Learn from Hyundai ok.

Now, Dr.M try berjnak2 with German cars..what is this crap? Dr.M fond of car produced by once Nazi-supported manufacturer?

So which one is worst; ignored the evil-imperialist U.S. market or kiss some Nazi products? Or let Hyundai, Kia, Ssangyong grow bigger while Proton become lesser n minute?

Dr.M is undoubtly a great leader but not really a great salesman/ marketing guy. Cheap/ good product but at the wrong/ small market…missed chances for economic of scale…that's Proton main problem. Plus design that consumers hate it. All bad mistakes from Proton that will lead to more bad jokes from Jeremy Clarkson n disasters.

***Just like Dr.M, i just read a college textbook on economics n easily proclaimed myself as economic guru. Professional lunatics.

• Kanasai on Aug 30, 2005 at 8:38 pm

sigh… just make proton power window work enuf la… when i visited proton show room at Auto City Penang, i try to open one of the Gen-2 Door. it is the H-Line (High Line) model which come only in black. Guess what happen.. well, the door din came out and fall down BUT IT CANNOT OPEN!!! WTF!!!! the well known TUV approval damm sux to me now… even HL Gen-2 have door problem….. F**K!! F**K!! F**K!!… don believe me just drop by and verify…

• Kanasai on Aug 30, 2005 at 8:44 pm

by the way.. it doesn't mean that it is lock and cannot open, is just DAMM hard to open….sigh… cool down lioa

• Hallo kanasai…TUV oni for savvy…who told u for gen2? :D

• SEE FU on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:22 pm

Abu thanks for stopping me! I nearly kill a Sakai man!

It only made my hands dirty and my KERIS, no benefit at all. EM KOI SAI….YA! (terima Kasih)

I am WONG See Fu. WONG FA HONG master!! MERDEKA!! HAPPY birthday to BOLEHLAND!!…..I wish …..not to see a SAKAI anymore.

• MutantTomato said,

August 30, 2005 @ 11:49 am

More so, it could get our mate, Paul, into trouble.

—–> Not bad to celebrate your merdeka in the lockup ngek ngek ngek. Well we are humble enough not to 'blast' some stupid nuts into pieces. And by far the issue is discussed, its not really out of nothing. Relax mate, of coz we all want this blog to carry on even though there were stupid comments around.

Cheers~!

• FiveElements on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:31 pm

I think Dr M getting ridiculous. If the local people can't do it right, bring in the foreigners. This applies to MAS ans PROTON…

If the approach use by Proton now doesnt work….change then!!!!!!! You are running and u saw a brickwall infront of you…would you still running towars it until you bang your head….or would stop and turn away….

What proton does now….is merely running towards the wall full speed head on.

IF proton can't come out with a good design or good engine bring in the foreigners as consultant and advisor. Dont get DR M as advisor….He know nothing about cars, and i bet he doesnt even know how to change the engine oil!!!!

Well we are sure that PROTON is rich enough to hire foreigners rite????

So pls if the people at PROTON cant do their job get others who are more capable of.

• cameljoe on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:58 pm

Just look at S'pore, full of expat there, look at how their country and nation progress compare to Malaysia. Remember, theirs is a land without natural resources other than manpower.

If already try local and not working, so why not try other ways? Examples? A swedish leading the England team, Ghosen leading Nissan and Perodua. These are "national pride" being lead by non-locals.

Have to be a little open minded and get the best possible solution, local or non-local. It is not to say a non-local solution is a sure bet and will always work, its all about survival.

• Well towards merdeka…lets not forget that we were British colonies and some of our old foe still carry the same thinking as what British think – Patriotic…but I would say this is simply pathetic!!! isit that the government going to spend another few bil on Proton juz to ensure that it is still alive and running?

• Michael Lee on Aug 31, 2005 at 1:33 am

In the case of Proton, and MAS, they are 2 brands that add to what foreigners see as Malaysia. They are an important part of our face that the world sees.

Any marketeer will tell you that given the importance of these brands, you have to be very careful how you treat them. That is why it is vital that you get the BEST pair of hands ( and brains ), and not waste any time on emotionally misplaced nationalism as to whether a Malay, or non Malay, or foreigner, or Martian …and all this talk about resurgent colonialism shows a complete misunderstanding of Branding Malaysia. e.g. Mercedes is German – who is the CEO? – dunno, and don't care, but it is a quality car coming from Germany. Ferrari is Italian – who is the CEO ? – cannot care less, but it a sexy car that many of us will die for, and comes from the craftsmen of Italy.

As long as we get the best person for the job, then maybe we can put our face back into the international arena. Right now, malu … or maybe, some people just cannot look beyond the shores of our beloved country ?

• FiveElements on Aug 31, 2005 at 3:16 am

Sigh…..as long as the same clowns are still in PROTON….they will not improve…

• shabib on Aug 31, 2005 at 4:20 am

harap-harap proton tak jadi seperti perwaja…. bilion RM duit rakyat hilang kerana perwaja… simpati kepada orang bangsa Sakai… mereka juga warga negara malaysia…(etnik peribumi) … harap tak guna perkataan itu lagi untuk perkara yang tak baik

• wa i seldom see any malay guy like bob who dare to be outstanding and respectful. my salute to u.

i think u could either chose to be dare to compete with the best there is in the real world and be respected or

chose to be protected and be in the lower quality world.

for ie. STPM and matriculation.

i believe without me saying here, the ppl already know who they feel more comfortable with; a bumi doctor who entered university with lower marks or a non bumi who need 5 As in STPM as entry qualification.

i am just saying that bob is respected as he wants to be the best he could. not the best only among the malays. then the country also can progress.

history fix the present. but there is always someone oustanding like bob. if i am born bumi, i hope i have the courage like bob. so that people GENUINELY and REALLY respect me for what i am capable. hope this is good thought.

excuse me if i talk crep. just sharing thought. no offense.

• hfrshah on Aug 31, 2005 at 6:19 am

i wouldnt say STPM is of a lower standard compared to A-Levels. im an A-Level student too, and in college it is widely known that STPM uses an older A-Level syllabus and thus is evidently more complex than Cambridge A-Levels(what im taking), which in turn is harder than London-based A-Levels.. so its no easy picking.. no way.

im a malay by the way, and i too am against this whole racial discrimination farce were all subjected too. were all equal, we should be treated that way. but that wasnt the reason why i walked away from STPM ar Matrikulasi(my SPM results would have granted me an offer anytime), well partly i guess so, but mainly its bcoz i wouldnt fit in with all the 'typical' malay dudes..

so yeah, i love Malaysia to death, but until we can achieve perfect amalgamation between races, i doubt we can get the respect we truly deserve from others

• until now, still have many politician claim that the matric student that enter the uni are same standard with the stpm student. but why in local uni, almost all the book prizes winner are non bumi?

im taking STPM in 1999, that is the hardest exam i even taken in my life. is it matric oso like that? i dun think so, give a exp:

as we know, now chinese oso can enter matric. i notice tat for the student with similar spm result, the person enter matric after spm will get almost full As in matric, however, for the student continue STPM, sometime can only get one or two A. it is mean tat after enter matric will become clever? no! it is because stpm are far more dificult to get full As. just because of this double standard, many non bumi cant get in to local uni.

non bumi usually with better result because they know tat they dun have any protection, so if wana survive must work harder. and only with work harder then we can success.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 31, 2005 at 4:03 pm

abc you are correct!! I agreed Matric and STPM are not the same level/standard. Why DOUBLE standard ar???

• Guys…………. thank for the supports and comments. I knew I'm not alone in this matter and now I definitely sure.

Anyway hfrshah, your english sounds good and you're very knowledgeble in automotive world as a youngster. Makes me feel bit jealous to you.

MERDEKA!!!MERDEKA!!!MERDEKA!!!

MALAYSIA= Reform it or lose it…..by the newer generations

• hfrshah on Aug 31, 2005 at 6:45 pm

thank bob. ive been a car nut since forever and i read a lot of car mags and automotive sites..

MERDEKA!!!MERDEKA!!!MERDEKA!!!

• Dr. Mahathir's Porsche is actually present fron his son. Go to glenmarie, see the Porsche showroom. His son got AP's to bring in the cars. ProTUN-Proton and Tun Dr. Mahathir. His brainchild. He must be sad..

• ferrari on Sep 01, 2005 at 12:22 am

We Malaysians are heading for trouble in our 48th anniversary, symptoms of troubles are:-

When we have unemployable graduates, they are from public universities, in the 70's only the cream of the crop go to public universities, the rest of us go to private colleges or overseas if we have money….. Now public universities churn up graduates that can't do math?

When we are sick, we visit public hospitals. When Pak Lah's wife got sick, have to be treated in U.S. … talk about working with him, not FOR HIM!

When Proton cannot sell cars, it cancel APs, increase tax of 30-38% for other cars that it sees as threat. Blame the whole world. If proton have only read about its own shortcomings in the news and blogs and design better cars that are truly affordable, sales would not suffer as much. But, no, all they do is keep designing outdated or terrible looking cars that nobody wants and then shove them down our throats by asking for government intervention. Even West Asia's proton dealers are complaining that nobody wants proton cars as it is so outdated. Stop pretending that our exports are good. Yeah, we sold some cars in UK because they were so cheeeeeap! In US , this would be called dumping if one sell cars cheaper overseas than at home base. Nobody in the world wants proton cars.

Anybody remember MEC which was launched with much fun flair? It have some good designs but most of the appliances were outdated and old. The silly sandwich maker sold in 1997 looked exactly like the one I had in 1980 by another brand. It tried to sell to Harrods England. After the 1st batch, there was no reorder and it died a natural death. I still have a very good liquidiser by MEC but no parts for the jug. Another Malaysia boleh? Pensonic is still around and kicking.

MAS have been protected by the government since the 1950's till now. Air Asia is only 4 years old and have won so many awards and world wide recognition. You can read about Air Asia in world's aviation magazine like Aviation Business, Professional Pilot, etc. I have never seen MAS being mentioned except as a national carier for Malaysia. No accolates of achievement except "best cabin crew". If Fernandes can be voted the best CEO of a LCC airline, why do we have to look overseas for a foreigner to head MAS? Foreigners are no better when in come to managing airlines… Pan Am was headed by white, it failed. Other "white" managed airlines also made loss. So "white is not the best" – please lose the colonial mentality. The best CEO is right in town, in the same building as MAS!

All in all, I would say that any government back organisation is in trouble, just one after another.

• WORLD on Sep 01, 2005 at 9:49 pm

armandd .. where are you ?

or just change to the other nickname already :)

• armandd on Sep 02, 2005 at 10:35 pm

dun worry, i'm still here…

• SEE FU on Sep 06, 2005 at 1:29 am

Err!! armandd aRrrr, you should change your nickname to "SAKAI" more MATCHING LAH!! KUak…kuak..kuak!! Bye2 SAKAI armandd Hei hei hei!!

YOU Arrr ………KA KA CAU CAU!! (Kacau only)

• need to make this 100th comments…

Tun Mahathir, you were such a brilliant PM… i salute you wholeheartedly…

your high time (as to me) was when you intoduce the capital control in september 1998, such a brilliant move, imagine how much soros lossess..billions and billions of usd and so did greedy malaysian who sold down our money to singapore..served them good!

• Sadam on Oct 23, 2005 at 10:14 am

Dear Paul,

I am really shock to read your readers mail/comment. Really sad to know that our fellow Malaysian or foreigners have no respect on others. Aiya.. no censors kaa..? These guys not actually maki other people but these guys maki their own father. Paul , please do something about it. No more comment.

• SADAM on Nov 01, 2005 at 11:01 pm

I would thank the guys who really knows best about TUN Mahathir. For those who condems you should be ashame of your self. Your are good to tell bad about people. Maybe some of you guys did not realise , that if you are Melayu if not because of Tun Education Policy most Melayu have chance to be Engineers, Doctors, and many more proffesionals as what Melayu today. In the 60's you can't see any bank managers only office boys or clerical clerks , or jaga pintu. Look arround the towns , shop houses who owns it the Melayu…? the answer is no. For the non Melayu what do you expact Melayu to be RED INDIANS in this country…? Tun not only helps the Melayu he help the Chinese the Indians also. If given chance to be a PM can be fair to every races..?