Petrol up 87% in Indonesia

Indonesia raised it’s fuel prices almost 87 percent yesterday in efforts to revive it’s economy as oil subsidies took up more than 25% of Indonesia’s yearly budget.

Naturally such a ridiculously high hike in such a short time caused riots and demonstrators burned tires and blocked roads, causing havoc across the archipelago. Before the announcement, their rakyat already knew a hike was coming but rumours were going around that it was going to be less than 50%.

Price of premium gasoline is now Rp 4,500 (RM1.65) per litre, from Rp 2,400 (RM0.88). Diesel fuel is now Rp 4,300 (RM1.58) from Rp 2,100 (RM0.77) and kerosene, mostly used for cooking in low-income households, nearly tripling to Rp 2,000 (RM0.73), from Rp 700 (RM0.26).

This definitely hurts the rakyat of Indonesia. Half of it’s 220 million population lives on less than USD$2 a day.

Indonesia is Southeast Asia‘s only OPEC (Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries) member. But it has to import oil because of decades of declining investment in exploration and extraction due to corruption and a weak legal system that makes people wary of doing business here.

The oil prices are really hurting everyone and we should be thankful our government did not raise prices so suddenly, instead letting us get used to it by raising it in small increments.

Source: Associated Press via Yahoo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• when will our gov follows suit? globalisation is very near. we bark at the 'proton protection' but want gov to protect us against petrol hikes, foreign labour etc. we might be able to buy cheap cars in future but also have to beware world market priced petrol, foreign labour taken over our job etc…

• E-Nabill on Oct 03, 2005 at 2:31 am

we should be gratful that here go up only 10cents.seriously u see the amount of percentage thy raise petrol in indonesia n thailand,u,we all should be lucky here….even if thy increase the price here again,i dont think its gonna be more thna a 10cents increment…anyting more wil be too sensitive…

• diabloCruiser on Oct 03, 2005 at 3:09 am

hey E-Nabilll are u from sunway college, now living in a condo in melbourne???….play counter strike under the nick "GENERAL" or "Bunny???" ……just want to comfirm a known fren of mine…thks

• E-Nabill on Oct 03, 2005 at 4:14 am

i was in sunway college in 2001,nt now,living in kl hapily ever after!….n i dont play games….mistaken identity!

• how are the these people are going to survive? now need to keep paying the monthly installment n the blood water for their cars?? aren`t they have sooo many petroleum sources? :-(

• Apex: the problem is no one wants to come in and dig the petroleum. it's still in the ground. too much corruption.

• Jason on Oct 03, 2005 at 8:03 am

Wah, 87%, crazy! Thank God i live in Malaysia!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 03, 2005 at 10:34 am

Thank god for that.

An 87% Raise here would result in about Rm3.02 per litre.

Although that is theroetically impossible , unless the G wants a riot , hehe.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 03, 2005 at 3:55 pm

Poor ppl Poor Country……Poor management…….Poor control…….>BIG CORRUPTION

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 03, 2005 at 4:01 pm

I heard the Fossil oil will be finished soon…..only left 40 years from now!!

Soon or later we will use Full Electricity vehicle or Biomass (Palm oil) combustion engine vehicles. This gasoline price up will be a history!! Sayonara!! Good bye!! Selamat tinggal!!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 03, 2005 at 10:03 pm

hah! all the kaki bashing n barking do again-lah to our gov. !! ape lagi..

naik 10 dulu2 pun bising..

isn't that so lucky being malaysian? !!!!

only 10 – 20 cent rise mah.. but they suffer up to 2times.. haha..

imagine if we're up2times : RM+-3.30/litre..

ok what..

// just tention with almost people complaint to much b4 :D .. but then when refer to another coutry = they sokong plak our gov is ok.

What a kind of Lalang people.. takdak pendirian.. ;)

• :O

• thank the govt for what? compareus to thailand? read your fact. toyota VIOS cost only RM 40K in thailand whereas here is RM50K. I would rather higher fuel price but lower car price. Lower car price so everyone can own one, but higher fuel so less car on road. Less car price so less installment . more money to spend. in Malaysia buying a car is like buying a house in overseas .

• neurra on Oct 04, 2005 at 1:52 am

phil: on a 4+ years basis, we're cheaper..

• narquis on Oct 04, 2005 at 1:59 am

fuel price in Malaysia might raise up to RM3 per litre. From an internal source.

• Hahaha… RM3 per litre??? bullshit… Indon already riot when the price raised to RM1.70 only… If really RM3 per litre… you will see somebody burn down the petrol station and hot news in the front page for every newspaper the next morning… paling bangsat pun burn himself alive… believe me…

——–

Kenaikan 87 peratus cetus bantahan rakyat

JAKARTA: Kerajaan Indonesia menaikkan harga minyak lebih dua kali ganda berbanding kos purata semalam dalam usaha mengelakkan krisis ekonomi, tindakan yang mencetuskan mogok pengangkutan dan bantahan ganas daripada rakyat yang sudah sekian lama menikmati harga minyak terendah dunia.

Kenaikan yang jauh lebih tinggi daripada jangkaan, diumumkan selepas mesyuarat Kabinet kelmarin dan dilaksanakan semalam menyaksikan kenaikan minyak petrol sebanyak 87 peratus kepada 44 sen Amerika Syarikat (RM1.70) seliter, lebih dua kali ganda daripada harga diesel dan tiga kali ganda kos minyak tanah.

Peningkatan akan menaikkan harga semua barang daripada beras kepada rokok di republik yang mempunyai 220 juta penduduk, separuh daripadanya memperoleh pendapatan tidak sampai AS$2 (RM7.60) sehari.

Penunjuk perasaan juga membakar tayar dan patung yang menyerupai Presiden Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono manakala yang lain merampas trak diesel dan menghalang jalan raya.

Susilo berkata, kerajaan yang sudah sekian lama menanggung subsidi minyak bagi membolehkan pemilik kenderaan mengisi petrol pada harga tidak sampai 24 sen AS (RM0.90 sen) tidak mampu lagi berbuat demikian berikutan peningkatan harga minyak global.

Beberapa pakar ekonomi memuji tindakan Susilo dengan berkata ia satu tindakan berani yang dapat menghalang peningkatan pada masa depan manakala yang lain mempersoalkan sama ada negara miskin itu mampu menanggung kesan sampingan.

“Ia terlalu drastik. Harga sedia ada pun sudah terlalu tinggi. Kini ia sudah melampaui siling,” kata Udin, 58, pengawal keselamatan dan bapa kepada kembar lelaki berusia tiga tahun.

Dalam usaha untuk membantu penduduk miskin, kerajaan memberikan baucar minyak kepada 15 juta orang sebanyak RM35 bagi tempoh tiga bulan. – AP

• honourMe on Oct 04, 2005 at 5:47 am

toyota malaysia should bring in toyota prius and so do honda malayisa for its civic hybrid now. i believe the response would be better than smart vehicles. if the oil price hike wont stop anytime soon, i doubt that even driving a toyota prius would cost u more than ur kancil 5 years ago.

With our abundant supply of palm oil, being the national car manufacturer, i hope proton could seriously venture into biofuel technology. And who knows maybe this would make proton becomes a pioneer in biofuel car engine?

Sadly, the world is run by the greeds and black gold.

• ViperVR on Oct 04, 2005 at 10:25 am

Guys,

Read this article sometime ago regarding the oil is running out, not sure how accurate is that but it sure sounds convincing though.

http://www.lifeaftertheoilcrash.net

• Tujuh Yu Pe (7UP) on Oct 04, 2005 at 6:36 pm

HUUUhhaaaHHUhaa….RM3.02 per litre????….Small matter…Malaysia BOLEEEEEEHHHHH

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Oct 04, 2005 at 8:50 pm

Why Oil price increase = harga barang2 pn naik, ikan naik, ayam pun naik, daging pun naik? ..

Simple answer, back to the base..

Fish = Catch by fisher man.. do fisherman use tangan to make their baot goim to the big sea?.. hah!? Do they only use dayung or sampan kecil? they use big boat maa… That every boat cos diesel is same as a lorry.. not only RM 20 RM 30 perday like US to fullfill our car tank. but the boat use RM 150 up to 500 diesel!.. and they are not only pegi kerja jam 9 back home after 5.. somethime 2 or 3 day at the sea..

but the cost still exspensive.. ini kita tidak tahu, kita tahu marah saja harga ikan kat pasar naik, fisherman suffer in the sea..

then.. the boat back.. the tauke buy from them.. load all into their lorry oso.. let say, from somewhere in port klang.. Ah.. port klang manade kapal nelayan.. :D let say somewhere-lah.. to take the fish from the depot to the Pasar Borong elayang = Use a lorry.. n not only cost RM 2, RM 10 .. but oso cost 2 – 3 hundred maybe..

sayur, Vegetables, from Cameron Hill .. eh.. sayur need baja maa.. baja oso mau beli.. lori angkut baja pakai ape? pakai air ka? . aiya.. racun kene beli juga.. lori bawak racun pakai apaa a? pakai tanah?

So.. same as other thing lah..

IT's Better THE CAR, LORRY, ETC price is higher.. RATHER THAN Petrol / diesel price is higher? so car is cheap? hah! makan laa sekali bayar RM 10 … you see that PHIL!

So.. want to FERRARI. dont wokr as a KULI.. be a taukeh!.. Be a ANANDA KRISNA or dato Lim Goh Tong.. not be ah tong, ah chai ah ali, ah abu, ah raju.. ah SAMY VELU is okay jugak laa…

So.. wanna VIOS instead of P2?.. working more hard lah.. malaysia is open.. those hard and brilliant can archive something maa.. takde sapa larang nak jadi kaya pun.. ;)

• ganime on Oct 05, 2005 at 12:01 am

lucky i am a malaysian!!!!!!!!!!!!!

so vote for malaysian gov….dont be alike indonesian..more coruption…..so disaster come to met them like tsunami b4….so damn! so all malaysian dont to be like that….work with ur honestly…….hoping malaysia is stil the best for fortune….

• Malaysia also many corruption maaa… AP cases no curruption meh? Sendiri mau ingat laaa…

• Streamyx User on Oct 05, 2005 at 6:08 am

FIRE RAPOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOODAH.

• armandd on Oct 06, 2005 at 12:27 pm

be grateful everyone… our government is not that bad…

don't just listen to the "kedai kopi politics talk" and believe everything…

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 06, 2005 at 7:31 pm

read newspaper, if u go to nz or most part of the world, the price changing everyday according to the current market price. if our gov implement that here, i wonder how the ungrateful rakyat will act.

however, the only things bother me is the petronas price should be cheap la. and best case, the normal people like me can hedge the petrol. i'm willing to take the risk as there risk no risk at all.

• nohiddenagenda on Oct 06, 2005 at 7:32 pm

Jake:

we bark at the ‘proton protection’ but want gov to protect us against petrol hikes, foreign labour etc.

Good comment :-)

• armandd on Oct 07, 2005 at 9:16 am

i support u nohiddenagenda!

• Wolf12 on Oct 23, 2009 at 2:48 am

Bahrain is a de-facto Christian naval base. ,