Unidentified car on test

unknowncar1.jpg

A sneak peak into what we might be able to buy and drive on our local roads soon, this spyshot was taken by reader Prem. A heavily disguised car was making it rounds around the Segambut area near Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s assembly plant which assembles Nissan vehicles as well as the Renault Kangoo.

I did some research and was unable to identify the car from body shape and a peek at the rear lights showing from underneath the disguise, though even that might be a decoy. What could it be?

[UPDATE: Some possibilities after the jump…]

[UPDATE: More sightings after the jump…]

1. Renault Megane Saloon? – by Maxtek

meganesaloon.jpg

meganesaloon2.jpg

meganesaloon3.jpg

meganesaloon4.jpg

meganesaloon5.jpg

2. Renault Laguna III Sedan on test?

I found this artist’s impression of the future 2007 Renault Laguna on the internet. The 2007 Renault Laguna will be replacing the model above.

I’m not sure who did this artist’s impression, but it’s uncanny how much resemblance there is to the disguised car.

2007laguna.jpg

2007laguna2.jpg

UPDATE #2: (22 December 2006)

small_logo_nissan.jpgReader Ching sighted the same car around Wisma TKS in Segambut, heading towards Jalan Parlimen. The car was painted in silver and only half-disguised and the logo seen through the covers was circular in shape (like a Nissan logo?) and not exactly like a Renault’s diamond-like shape, though that might also be a disguise of sorts. The guessing game goes on…

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 3:42 pm

paul could tht be a nissan primera? judging by the car's rear wiper or a renault laguna?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 4:07 pm

Can't see much. Might be able to identify the car if there was a side profile shot.

• Taro_gonzalez (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 4:09 pm

Hmm..my 1st comment..lets start with my wild guess..Its sooo Proton Gen2!! maybe facelift ??

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 4:11 pm

Only car I can pull off my head at the moment with that rear profile is the previous generation Seat Leon.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 4:30 pm

or saab 9-3….looks like a hatch..kinda big..probably same size as the new civic…wat could it be?

i mus say it does have alot of renault laguna dna…probably a nissan since thy r a sis company..maybe a new nissan sentra…? its been in the market longer than waja!

anyway my take is its probably a european car rather than japanese origine…bt its difinatly not a proton/perodua…i luv spy shots!

• Taro_gonzalez (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 4:35 pm

it might be gen2 facelift..anyone??

• gawieong (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 4:53 pm

yop…since it's running about near Edaran Tan Chong Motor's assembly plant in Segambut, it's either a Renault or Nissan.

Since it's big and hatchy, I would say it's a Renault Laguna. A few are running here in the UK. Take a peek at the pic I found at Renault's website. It fits the profile, and especially the door handle and the rim.

http://www.renault.fr/PUD/FR/PROD_FR/MEL_PROD/fr/…

• gawieong (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 4:54 pm

those rear lights sure tipu punya….haha

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:00 pm

Agree with gawieong, quite certain it's a laguna hatch. Apart from the profile, door handle and the rims, check out the rear wiper

• Hikaru (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:04 pm

Hey i remember seeing this car as i was heading back to my work place yesterday (or the day before i can't remember). It was distinct because it's so rare to see disguised car (besides proton's). It noticed it was it was turning out of Jln Segambut to the Duta roundabout.

Nonetheless i have no idea what car it is.

• morpheuzneo (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:06 pm

my take would be new Nissan Sentra 2007.

I have seen this few days ago on Nissan Canada website.

look at this rear photo of said car, looks quite similar to me.

http://www.motiontrends.com/2006/m01/nissan/new_s…

• kendo (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:26 pm

It is the

Nissan Sentra new,

sporty!

1.8 ABS/ 4 airbag,

price only USD 15K at US, taiwan.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:31 pm

yea might be d new sentra….. the shape might be so cos renault owns nissan so the newer nissan might share renault's more euro design… hmmmmmmm

• ed0r (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:34 pm

anything look like this?

http://www.motiontrends.com/2006/m01/nissan/sentr…

*shrugs*

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:39 pm

If the car is already in production somewhere else in the world, why do they still need to disguise it? Its like telling whole malaysia… look look… im a new car going to be lunch soon !!! Might as well drive it around without disguise rite? Ppl wont take notice and just would think tht its a grey import car. Unless… its on purpose…hmmm

• transformer (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:40 pm

If its comes out from ETCM then sure its would be a Renault or a Nissan!

I'm not familiar with Renault…

If its a Nissan, then its a replacement for our current "old" Sentra's, might be a Sylphy, based on that shot its round shape, not wide and tall car too… and the rear light look similar too…. Shouldn't be a Latio as Latios is boxy, slim but tall…

I would prefer Niss than a Ren….. Ren is not reliable than a Niss(heard from few Singapore frens)

• kington (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 5:40 pm

Can't see much from here, but such body design could well be the Nissan Primera, but since this car has never been available here other than Singapore, i doubt they are prepared to bring it in.

Anyway, ETCM still has a lot more to work on as of now, coz the Cefiro is well overdue, the next Nissan Sunny/Sentra is already somwehere on the horizon in some countries, the Latio is hitting the Honda City hard in Singapore but there no plans to bring it in yet; while they have still yet to solve the AP problems affecting their imports for the Subaru range. ETCM is still selling the old GDB WRX STi 202 while the latest Type F (widely called the flying vagina) is only available at NAZA.

Another vehicle under ETCM that might be brought in, based on the photo could be the current Renault Laguna. It has a wide following especially in EU but so long as the price is right, Renault and non Renault fans might just ignore the salability and reliability issues to get one.

• sQew (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 6:08 pm

I dont know also from the rear lights there but my friend engineer in nissan tc there said now they are assemble 1 new models nissan latio known in spore or nissan tida known in thai. that model they will produce in sedan in hatchback version. but i dont know is it this model that u spot in that pictures

• Fox (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 6:10 pm

Through my undertanding, the existing model (if any around the world yg dah ada dalam market) wouldn't get those masking tapes or whatever you call that thing except if the model will be assemble locally under a new emblem like Naza, Perodua and Proton. If there are such model in the market I doubt they're going to disguise the car rite?

Or maybe somebody have a better explanation.

• gawieong (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 6:42 pm

sQew: Yop, the Nissan Tiida/Latio is a Renault Megane lookalike. Itu midsize, doesn't fit that pic profile at all.

http://www.nissanphp.com/thai/tiida/gallery.php

New Sentra? Please…Sentra doesn't have rear wipers and it's not that hatchy. Unless, Malaysia gets the honour of launching a new design Sentra? Kekeke. Highly impossible.

From my worldwide research, no Nissan cars fit the rear profile. Renault Laguna lah weh…cross-fingers :p

• khimfoh (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 7:05 pm

Hard to tell what car model it is. But for one thing that I am dead sure is that your friend Prem is sitting in a Proton Savvy whilst taking a photo.

• carenthusiast (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 7:14 pm

I'm think that is Renault Laguna. It's a hatchback and it's rear profile is quite similar except for it's rear light. The tyre rim is quite similar too.

• honda_driver (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 7:30 pm

new cars, in any market, regardless if it has been launched in the world or otherwise are disguised before launch. It doesnt just apply to new cars that have not been launched to the world.

Car companies spend hundreds of thousands, if not millions to launch new models, this is top secret corporate info that could aid a competitor in their strategy. Thats why they try to keep it under wraps until the day of launch.

• adilatif (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 7:53 pm

is that a LOTUS logo just below the road tax?

• honda_driver (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 7:59 pm

doesn't look like either the laguna, or even the us-spec sentra. those cars still have a noticeable bootline. this car doesnt. its glass, straight down to the tailgate… hmmm?

• adilatif (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 8:01 pm

why not someone check with JPJ connection and check the trade plate belong to whom….

• carview (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 8:05 pm

Well since ETCM will be launching the Nissan Tiida (if the press speculations are true), then most likely the mysterious test car could be the Renault Laguna as some of the members have pointed out. Further evidence supporting the Laguna theory: http://www.renault.com.au/images/laguna/Laguna-2-…

• pigass20 (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 8:38 pm

this looks like the laguna 2002 model from the shape n rear windscreen angle from the boot. Its rear headlamps seems to have moved to the vertical edge of the boot. Guess Malaysia's models just hve to be dated n renamed from the newer models to remain price competitive continental vehicles.

• zanggief (Member) on Dec 20, 2006 at 11:33 pm

perhaps tiida hatchbac…edaran tan chong will bring in 4 model nex year..

d model will be murano,teana, tiida sedan n hatch n oso livina genesis…

so paul try to introduce the model as i mention above…

d tiida will compete with city,vios n accent….

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 12:57 am

Whatever it is, it will be a good news to most car enthusiasts and another big blow to Proton :) I think ETCM will bring in new Nissan Model rather than Renault cause Renault not selling well here.

Anyway, it looks more like a Proton Gen-2 to me. Could be a facelift model.. just my guess…

• maxtek (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:10 am

The car shown is a Nissan Latio sedan variant. it's planned to be on sale next year. But since it's been on sale in other countries, the disguise shouldn't be on unless the car is a new Proton, the car has a mild facelift or that's just about it.

Back to basics, disguised cars in Malaysia USUALLY are cars which are badged Proton or Perodua, I believe a disguised Naza wouldn't be strange at all then…

• Mb_321 (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:11 am

KHIMFOH, he is Savoc members too. noticed the sticker.

tht car.. either facelift Gen.2 or Laguna, but both have the same cue lah.

Proton secretly co-operate wth them ka?

• theking (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:18 am

Thai G2 facelift!

• theking (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:19 am

Sorry, G2 facelift.

• adilatif (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:24 am

maybe it was a Gen2 sedan…

• maxtek (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:36 am

Okay, personal research produced this result…

http://www.renault.co.uk/Cars_Information.aspx?m=…

The first one is the Renault Megane Saloon. Key points are the "fake" tail-lights on the rear boot and also the shape of the number plate area. Not to mention the rear boot shape as well…

• maxtek (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:39 am

Paul, did you get a proper front shot of the car from the guy? With the side and the front, it's bound to be revealed…

• Paul Tan on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:49 am

thats the only shot i have leh.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:53 am

from the spyshot you can see it had a quite tall round butt(rear)….

IMHO, it should be higher than Laguna(boxy too)!

check this out:
    http://www2.nissan.co.jp/SYLPHY/G11/0512/STYLE/ma…

don't think its a Latio as its "boxy" instead or roundish butt….

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 1:55 am

my first tought is the new C5,but the rear end a bit higher, could be not,

more of a fastback interm of shape here,

• transformer (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 2:40 am

yeah Paul !

that artist impression fit the bill ACCURATELY !!!

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 2:48 am

Could be the new Renault Laguna III Sedan if looking to the rear wiper. Renault testing their new car in Malaysia???

• prem@jack (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 3:44 am

halo guys,

me the guy who took the car pic, sorry couldnt get other profiles..

Paul, bravo it does look like the renault laguna III artist impression!..

oh ya, its not lotus sticker in my car, its mutiara motors, stick for fun, n yeahs has savoc sticker…im a member. kimfoh u knon me…will pm u in savoc…ehhe…

heard news there goin to be a new waja MC3(dono y that name, probably code name), i thought this could be the car, but i think it is the renault…

they use malaysia as a test area probably for the humid climate of our country…very taxing for any car…

• happymeal (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 4:18 am

i m swaying to the Gen.2 facelift camp…. the door handle resembles the Gen.2 … although the rear wiper position is different, it could be a different placement perhaps. gen.2 has its exhaust outlet on the left as well.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 4:57 am

proton no lah, if there is one the photo spread 6 month or year before release the actual, remember gen 2 it self, neo..,(minimal disguise, infact real photo)

perhaps this is french. like what what paul show up there ….

• mahut (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 5:19 am

who want to bet? lets put some money in this to make it more interesting.

.. just kidding ..

• engtaokia (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 5:21 am

this thread become kuiz teka-teki already…

• maxtek (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 6:29 am

To whoever suggested/is in the idea that this might be a Gen-2 facelift, it's not. Research shown that for 2K7, Proton will be busy with the "Lotus" Neo or R3 Neo. And the other would be the Mitsubishi 360 being badge to be a Perdana…

However, I couldn't imagine why it's a heavily disguised car, yet still in Segambut where it's so obvious.

But if it really is the Megane, well, woo-hoo! I've been waiting for the Renault range! Spotted the 195 Clio at KLIMS 06, salesman claimed that the car is coming in after a few months.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 7:27 am

I just don't like the way they put and design the rear wiper.

• luke74 (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 8:19 am

well.. my guess would be the Gen2 Sedan, as i just got back from one of the proton showroom and the sales person there was saying that there is a Gen2 Sedan coming out in June/July 2007. its confirmed … so hey maybe they're just testing it out.. to see if it "rattles" hahah . – just my 2 cents.

• luke74 (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 8:25 am

hmmm.. didnt see my comment come up. so thought i'd give it another go..

like i said, it could be a Gen2 Sedan. As i got this confirmation from a salesperson at Proton that they are releasing a Gen2 Sedan in June/July 2007.

This might be it.. Guess they're just testing to see if the car "Rattles"haha.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 9:22 am

SEAT LEON

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 9:48 am

luke74,

Normal sedan don't need read wiper. So i guess its not a Gen2 Sedan. furthermore, it doesn't look like a conventional Proton sedan.

• diz_zek (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 10:03 am

it could be a citroen!!

• freeze (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 10:15 am

EVERYBODY: Try saving the picture then zooming in. You can see that those are not actually the tail lights. There is a gap between the lamp on the fender and the tailgate and you can see the real lights there.

Rims look like the Neo bling rims…

Perhaps a Waja Aeroback? Not likely. Its can't be a Proton.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 10:54 am

Its a transparent coat to let driver from behind see the brake light and signal.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 11:31 am

its a laguna! iam very sure! firstly.. renault dont have any other big CC model under their brand here in malaysia. cannot be proton because thier cars are tested in europe or roads around shah alam..

its cant be another nisssan model because they have to launch the cefiro first before any other models. the cefiro is seriusly outdate like my old furniture!

cheers

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 4:22 pm

Hehehe, but the rims looks like Waja 4G18………hmmmm……fishy

• waimak (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 5:01 pm

rear wiper and plate number are Gen2's look-alike. Whta could it be? Lets speculate more.. :D

• jehutyz (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 5:16 pm

My guess will be a Latio. Since if i not mistaken Nissan did said will goin to bring in Latio by end of the year or early 2007. Price will be slighty above RM100K.

I not sure where i read this news. I think from PaulTan site.

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 5:28 pm

There's talk that Proton will be launching 3 new models/facelifts next year. The Gen-2 sedan, Waja Aeroback and of course the now-that-everybody knows, Savvy facelift. But from close examination (I did save and enlarge the picture) as freeze recommended, it does really look like the Laguna III. Also when doing tests, manufacturers will deliberately use other brand's rims to confuse the public like us. They also use other brands badging in some cases.

I really hope that it is the Laguna III as Malaysia is definitely a bad place for European cars with most of the public opting for Japanese cars. At least it shows that the French still have some faith in our Japanese dominated market.

• mr42 (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 6:15 pm

Hi…

I saw the car myself last week in Teluk Chempedak, Kuantan….I managed to take a peek of the car, and even touch it…NIce big car, and even come complete with twin sunroofs (or roof mirror????)

The car was covered completely, except for it's mirror, headlights and rear lights, and its twin sunroofs….even the labels of the car on the windows were taped and could not be seen…

But from the front, the covered front hood had marking labels that looks really like Renault emblems….

• transformer (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 6:59 pm

OH… based on mr42 peeks… its look like a "Renaults", waste my time only…

Last weekend, i been to Singapore… a rainny day….considered heavy rain…

saw 2 R cars broken down with their double hazard-signal blinking…

one on highway(on left side) a CLIO(Silver) and the other in front of the traffic light a MEGANE(Light Blue)… sad to say its the first car in front… both are still very new i think, based on the appearance…

* looklike rainny days is bad for R cars…(IMHO)

* i heard from few fren accrossed our border commented that "they" won't buy any "R" cars after "they" had owned one before…. i think ME too… i prefer the Cit/Pugs… no thanks for "F" cars too…

• transformer (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 7:01 pm

ETCM, pls bring in more "Niss" car…

Thank you!

• dzat46 (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 8:08 pm

My guess will be the Nissan Latio….seen quite a few already driven by singaporean. Look nice & quite similar to Honda City (especially its wing mirror). Nissan will need to keep the price compareable to City/Vios to sell here.

• KARL (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 8:11 pm

Hi,

I guess it must be Tiida/Latio/Versa whatever you may call it in our market. Why? Because ETCM never been dare enough to bet with newest NISSAN offerings in other market, for instance when market almost got newest Navara/Frontier pickup we just happy with outgoing model (we and ASEAN: maybe Nissan regard we inferior than other markets). Also prevail in other case i.e Nissan Serena just facelift, Cefiro twice facelift when others got newest version more than 2 years already, need to say more? X-trail already made debut in 2001 we got in very late 2003.

BTW Tiida can compete with the likes of Vios or City. I reall go for it if compared to other two Japs. Previously we never offered sub-Corolla alternative even though US also got Soluna/VIOS for few generations. BUT in Malaysia also long as people saw Toyota emblem they'll buy it. For me Hilux for instance can't match Hilux-based pickup (TACOMA in US) thats'why US market get no Hilux from Thailand.

Sylphy can win some new buyers as it look more mature and according to www.globalautoindex.com Tiida with HR15DE CVT 80kW/148Nm will give 5.5L every 100km. New Toyota Axio 1.5 81/140Nm (new ALtis will based on this model but with very front end 'nose-job') consumed same 5.5L and Civic 1.8 103kW/174Nm used little more, 5.9L. Not bad. Our very own Gen2 1.6A 82kW/148Nm 7.2L. FYI in Japan they don't have oild field like us, so their car little efficient in fuel consumption.

I don't think ETCM's guy want to compete with Honda or Toyota, as always history will rewrite unprecedent history on ETCM business practice.

ETCM is worst than Proton is some aspect, toooo careful to introduce newer and current model.Perhaps Nissan/Renault Alliance should give 'em a lesson. Otherwise they'll slow and steady. They can sell sentra due to good trade in customer entitled when trade their car for a Nissan but later will customer's car lower resale value. Menang membeli tewas menjual balik.

My two cent to ETCM:

1: Don't bring Teana (2003 model) to replace aged Cefiro, simply give way to new Skyline 2.5. Nissan's image will boost among younder motorist.

2: Livina Geniss (Nov 2006 model) maybe can give fresh advantage to ETCM if customer pick ut over Toyota Innova.

3: Tiida (2004) can give customer choice instaed of City or Vios if pricing is RIGHT.

4. Sylphy G11 (2005) can beat current Altis again if price and trade in value in right.

5. Dualis/Qashqai is good especially diesel 1.5dCI or 2.0dCi. I don't think they'll bring the new Nissan jewel. Baby MURANO.

6. Even though Murano already over two years it still OK.

• jared323f (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 2:55 am

Hello my friends.

A logical question would be….. would foreign carmakers do testings here in Malayisa… a distant possibility right? So it must be the P2 or P1 or Naza hiding something up their sleeve…

Looks kinda nice though..

• ali38hak (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 6:41 am

rear lights look the same as citroen c5, but the rear is shorter than it..??

i hope its a new proton…but it were better a wagon than a hatchback..for we in europe.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 8:45 am

Why not put a bet of RM5 and lets see what make is it in the end… I see an opportunity to make money!

• luke74 (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 9:57 am

I totally agree with Jared323f..

Would a CBU car be running their cars here espcially for testing on malaysian roads. Not possible.

Which only leaves out a Proton, or a rebadge-ing of Naza's. Unless Perodua has something up their sleeves.. hmmmm..

Well this anxiety is killing us..

• luke74 (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 10:00 am

Hey just did a Zoom on the photo.. that is not the rear lights. If u noticed.. the "rear lights" are just part of the black cloth.. try zooming into it.. seriouslly its not it.

So to be honest, thats not a Laguna III ( 100% certain ).

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 1:41 pm

luke74,

Its a transparent coat to let driver from behind see the brake light and signal.

• tanasi (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 6:36 pm

I looked at the picture. I see a Proton Savvy.

• V_Satrian (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 7:17 pm

Hiii….

Im new to this blog even thought im visiting this blog for a couple of years and it is my daily routine to jump in this site every morning….ok guys please welcome my self to join u all…….and thanks to Paul for this great blog……

ok guys regarding the unidentified car on test is actually Nissan Latio according to one of my frein from ETCM . For ur info they will lounch 4 models next year . Confirm models are Lation , Teana , sylphy . Sentra they are going to phased out.

Take care and bye…..

• luke74 (Member) on Dec 23, 2006 at 2:21 am

MyBoy,

already checked and double checked. Thats not a transparent cover..as u will notice that there is a gap inbetween.. and because the car is moving, wind is sorta lifting that cover up.. and u can see the difference.. try looking properly.. u will notice that its not a trasparent cover.. as u can see the lights under it..

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 23, 2006 at 2:45 am

well luke it a bit transparent , unless people cant react to the brake or turning light,

by the way,

fot the gen 2 sibling to be, its not, ,,just look at the front wheel lower arch where usually the placement of mud flap, this look almost look like a subtle side skirt which gen 2 dont have,

prem should have overtook that car aaaaa, story more laa.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 10:39 am

V_Satrian,

As u can see. Nissan Tiida = Latio (Sport) rear wiper is totaly different in design and placing.

Nissan Teana = Maxima = Cefiro….The same car with different name for different market…..For Nissan Sylphy = Bluebird (or a combination of those names).

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 10:42 am

luke74,

From my imperfect observation, it is a transparent cover.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 7:20 pm

My guess is Cefiro replacement = Maxima, log on: –

http://autos.msn.com/research/vip/overview.aspx?y…

Not likely they will introduce Renault model since conti car receive lukewarm response from our auto market. Also, "market talk" indicated ETCM will introduce aging Cefiro replacement!

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 8:55 pm

Joe Ooi,

ETCM will surely at some point introduce Maxima but i can assure u that the car in the pic is NOT Maxima.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 11:27 am

if its a nissan, then my guess is its a tiida. coz it sells so bad around the world they had to dump excess stock in malaysia.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 4:34 pm

well topgun, the tiida is less fastback look, and it dont have rear wiper on its 5th door,

and the uncovered front part of the disguised car is not simmilar,

so tiida is unlikely,

07 maxima of course not,right joe because its got radically slunting rear end with higher bumper line, got no wiper as well, front uncover part doesnt match,

so i guess, nissan has'nt fit in this guessing game so far ,

• Tracks (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 6:11 pm

If I am not mistaken, it's a Nissan Sylphy. However, it's supposed to be a Cefiro replacement instead of a Sentra replacement. Let's wait and see.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 11:56 pm

sory la too much into this guess guess, well sylphy rear light position is lower and the reg plate is on the rear boot not on the bumper, and the whole silhoutte of sylphy although a bit fastback ,its more toward normal sedan, wiper ,,sylphy dont have one,

so again not yet nissan,

aiyaa whats aaa,

• ck1 (Member) on Dec 27, 2006 at 7:39 am

Hi,

I spotted the similar car today along Jusco area in Kepong heading towards the LDP Damansara. I noticed that the model had two exhaust pipes next split like what you see in the picture above

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 9:13 am

protonGL, the wiper might be decoy as well to confuse the "paparazzi".

My guess is still Nissan car as "market talk" mentioned there is Cefiro replacement and another new model for economy entry level sub-compact car that will compete with Vios and City.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 2:16 am

well if it nissan, it is possible, because nowadays nissan do revamp some of the renaults with nissan brand,

good possibility,

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 29, 2006 at 2:37 am

probally nissan badged on laguna iii

• sureshn (Member) on Dec 30, 2006 at 6:00 am

saw this car, all covered up, going up to genting, via batang kali road today. there were two of them. i was on the opposite road, wanted to turn around and chase for photos, but then i realised i was in my 1969 car …. cannot chase!

• brusli (Member) on Jan 03, 2007 at 7:05 am

Saw this car on the way to Ipoh about 3 weeks ago. Its a big car, about the same size as Citroen C5.

Could it be a Waja hatch? But Waja is smaller….