Chevrolet Concept Cars: Trax, Beat and Groove

chevrolet-small-car1.jpg

This trio of new minicars are part of Chevrolet’s initiative to introduce new minicars because of the recent market shift to a preferance for economical and fuel efficient cars. The cars were designed by GM Daewoo in Incheon, South Korea and were designed with GM’s Global Product Development Process which ensures cars have design elements that can be targetted at any international market, but at the same time responsive to regional needs, whatever that means :P

Please have a look at the three cars after the jump.

Chevrolet Trax

chevrolet-trax-front.jpg

chevrolet-trax-rear.jpg

Chevrolet Beat

chevrolet-beat-front.jpg

chevrolet-beat-rear.jpg

Chevrolet Groove

chevrolet-groove-front.jpg

chevrolet-groove-rear.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 10:35 pm

Pretty cool lineup there… Very nice… I really like the Beat…

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 10:35 pm

Nice lookin"…Myvi on steriods!!!

• motherker (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 10:53 pm

if they were seriously gonna launch the beat, im sure it'll beat the crap out of smartfortwo

• Phisto (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 10:59 pm

WOW i like all 3 of them! Looks stubby and cute. Fun too!

The Groove is my favourite though. :)

• azrai (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 11:04 pm

These car look funky and catchy. But I see it clearly evolved from our Savvy design. Didn't you all notice it.

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 11:05 pm

yummy!!

• lowprofile (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 11:31 pm

i love the groove!! just like a scaled down, meaner toyota bb. cool!! but, all 3 look fantasticlah. Hope market response is strong enough for chevy to have the balls to build them and not just leave them at concept level.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 11:34 pm

Will these trio make it to production?

They all look funky and playful

So niceeeeeee

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 11:38 pm

I like Trax !!

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 11:42 pm

Wow, these 3 concepts are designed by Koreans?! Frakking amazing! I love the looks of all 3 cars!

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 12:01 am

me guess dat these might become replacement models :)

trax = spark

beat = aveo

groove = cruze

nice designs :)

• kazai (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 12:14 am

yeah…the groove's front looks like savvy

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 12:28 am

Should make all three models into production!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sooooooooooooo damn nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 12:33 am

my wife just bought a myvi…

quite comfy..

This new chevy cars…wow..

i wonder if it has bigger space than miyvi…

trax, beat and groove are soooo cool…

hopefully i can get one and drive to office everyday..

hehehe…

savvy should be like this..then more people will buy it…

no need to do face lift, skirting etc anymore…

• sarawakguy (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 12:42 am

THE KOREANS ARE COMING…!!!! Koreans sure know how to be "eye-grabbers" nowadays….I dont mind buying one of the above if they're ever going to be on the production line…I like the BEAT…laaah!

• transformer (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 12:47 am

COOL! hope any of these 3 able to makes its way to bolehland with "reasonable pricing" !!!

• retrofuturism (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 12:59 am

if you like one of them, you may vote for it!!

http://www.vote4chevrolet.com
    for the current vote result, Groove is in the first place,

frankly speaking, all of them are just awesome…

P.s. i vote for trax =)

• spencerlws (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 3:55 am

if these cars selling at Myvi's price…. huhuhu….

BUY all!!! easy to match my mood!! =D

• jasonlow (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 4:41 am

they r soooo cute! doesn't look mini to me.. hehe.. wanna see the actual siza one to make sure…

• infinity (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 5:00 am

they look so cartoon…hahah…especially trax…

• renyeo (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 5:08 am

I am either Trax or Groove.

No – the Beat looks like an Opel/Vauxhall Corsa clone

• jtshin (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 5:46 am

I love Beat and Groove. Gotta be Daewoo badge here in the UK if it starts selling…

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 5:58 am

If Chevy can produce those cars and retain 95% of the concept design, I'm 100% sure it will sell like hot cakes! Superb creativity & testament that the designers think 'out of the box'.

• fumi (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 6:39 am

I saw the Beat concept car b4 CNY cos I was invited to Perodua survey b4 their cars replacement launching that held in Mid Valley Exhibition Hall. Perodua using it for survey, they erased the logo by photoshop so ppl that interviewed wont know is from Chevrolet. They ask our opinion when we look at the photos, they showed us perspective , rear, side view. And the Beat is in silver color, the interior is trendy, sort like Honda. If not mistaken the market price on the road is below 50k, is the main rival for new Kelisa while the rival. If not Paul Tan post it on9 ,I still hoping that Beat is the new replacement for Kelisa n I think this design will kick Proton to hell. I like all new range of Chevrolet,looks like pick up truck haha

• chanel (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 6:48 am

hey everybody out there….

Currently Chevrolet are offering huge discount for Aveo, I has been quoted a discount of RM 14k for it. There are some news that Chevrolet will shut down their business unit in Malaysia, hence offering huge discount make sense.

Any idea or related news our fellows car enthusiast?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 8:39 am

Well good design! i like the groove and beat look nice! Becarefull the Koreans+ Americans are coming to chanllenge the K-car category by Japs! haha!

I got 1 announcement! To anyone who Living near Kamunting , Taiping Dont GO TO "MEGA ACE" TO BUY HIS SECONDHAND CARS! The boss is a mamak mix with malay islam guy who really discriminating races! and his attitude sucks!

I went to this shop this afternoon, I saw 1 1992 toyota corolla AE101 1.6M which i like. So i go in and ask the price. He told me 25k, i am shock and he say cash term! I ask why this car so special? He told me this car is 20v! So i do my calculation. (I got friend working in Nissan and other second hand shops and they told me the price for 1992 toyota cost only between 13-15k, if modified engine add 2-3k wif sport rims 15' add 1k. So i add the most the person who take this car must be selling 18-20k for him. So the boss can earn almost 5k from that car. So i started to negotiate with the boss, i say the car already 1992 and the engine is not original can minus 1 or 2 thousands? the boss say to me " IF U DONT HAVE 25K DONT COME TO MY SHOP AND BUY! MAMPUS KELUAR! SEMUA CINA PUN MACAM INI!" I ask you all, if u want to buy a car? dont you wanna ask for discount? If he dont want to give, can you answer me in a polite way? Now after you shouted me like this, Even i have the cash to buy the car i also rather just skip your shop! I will also tell all my friends not to go to your shop!

After i went to another shop, the other boss is more friendlier and also is a malay guy who offer me 20k for 1992 1.6 auto, and 17k for 1.3 manual. If you do the calculation for 1.3manual transfer to 20v, the cost is like this… 17k car + 2.8k 20v halfcut + 15' 2nd sport rims wif tires 1.5k + 2k labour and JPJ approve = total RM23300 you still can save 1 or 2 thousand from that blood sucking mamak boss fellow!

To those people who want to buy secondhand cars remember to survey the market before buying it! Dont just becoz the car is pretty and powerfull then buy, sometime is worst when reselling it and doing maintenence job.

• Jesus Bristow (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 9:19 am

I can't believe Chevrolet, after all these years, is readying to really enter the small car market. The fact these were designed in Korea, however, gives away what took so long.

I'm a Los Angeles resident, where all three Toyota Scions are everywhere. Two of these three Chevy Concept cars are merely revisions of Scions. Beat is just a flashier Xa, and Groove a less boxed Xb. If you go look at Scion's own replacements for these cars, you see Scion is about to lose a lot of business that Chevy may pick up, depending on how well these cars actually run.

My favorite of the lot is the Trax. It's where the Suzuki Vitara should have gone.

I hope ALL three cars are released along with the Chevy Akino. I think Chevy underestimates the impact all four cars will have. If they run well, it will not only send shivers through America, but Japan as well.

Don't wait guys: DO IT!

• acbc (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 9:26 am

The idea must have come from Transformers… name also sound the same.

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 6:25 pm

Hmm…. why alway others manufacture have this concept….but where Proton? Perodua it like carboncopy of Daihatsu, so there no need for concept. But Proton, where yours? Show some la, to get feedback. Don't just do and sell (if you get some)….. Don't be shy. Malu bertanya, sesat jalan…..

• avanza (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 7:30 pm

Too radical. May be a bit tough for the general public to swallow. Ok if you are a transformer or japanese anime toon fan. But seriously….

• kjryth300 (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 9:01 pm

i was roped in for a Market study on february this year, Chevy ( they didnot mention any Brand and oso try very hard to cover all the Logo and whatnot on the car, but my suspicion it's the new Aveo,( got to see the Singapore model of it) together with the new aveo, they oso show the Beat's 3D image, complete with the interior, (it looks like the current Civic's dash…)

• moha774 (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 11:49 pm

All above looks fun enough…and I'm sure they wont do any wrong by releasing all of them….love the look of Trax…chunky and yet sporty

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 11:55 pm

i wanna have'em all!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 7:26 am

I really like the Chevrolet Trax, looks like a mini Jeep Compass!

• gokibin (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 6:51 pm

I'd go for the groove. it looks like a hearse (how do u spell that?) but looks really angry. i do hope it goes into production looking menacing jus like the prototype. GRRR… ooove….

• gokibin (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 7:15 pm

Paul, I know this is out of topic but do u know how can we in malaysia get hold of a Hummer? H3 is perfect for people like me who like in Sarawak. I can drive back to my village with ease. Please do info. TQ.

• AMG (Member) on Apr 08, 2007 at 2:12 am

I think the Beat will be the next GEN of Aveo..

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 08, 2007 at 10:29 pm

yea. daewoo just copying the tcion concept and also the new mazda 2 design even down to the same colour.

• lowmilesmike (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 9:34 pm

The Groove, is a Groove, is a Groove!

• GreenLatrine on Feb 16, 2009 at 9:45 am

Watch for at least two of these cars in the upcoming Transformers movie! I saw a photo with the Chevy Corvette, Camraro, Beat, Volt, and Groove all in a row alongside Optimus and Ironhide.

• kulup on Apr 10, 2009 at 5:20 pm

sebijik macam myvi la

• it’s very cool..
    if i have three of them..