RM625 fuel subsidy a one-time payment only!

When the Prime Minister’s Office released the full announcement on the new petrol and diesel prices for Malaysia as well as the new subsidy structure last week, it was mentioned that the RM625 subsidy would be issued for cars (and RM125 for bikes) with road tax renewable between the 1st of April 2008 until the 31st of March 2009, with payments to be issued via postal orders from July onwards.

At that point we were unsure on what this meant as it seemed to indicate that the RM625 subsidy was a one-off thing only.

Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop has cleared up this uncertainty on the subsidy, clarifying that it is indeed a one-time payment only, and not a yearly thing as some had hoped. Anyone who is planning to cheat the system and try to profit from a yearly subsidy scheme by stocking up on old cars that are nearing scrap-metal condition can forget about it now.

It is still not clear at the moment whether cars and bikes with engine displacements above 2000cc and above 250cc respectively would have their road tax cut by RM200 and RM50 permanently, or just for one year as with the fuel subsidy.

Price controls are supposed to be lifted in August, which is when fuel price controls are to be lifted and allowed to be determined by market rates, free of government restrictions. The government will maintain an RM0.30 per litre subsidy on whatever the price is, which means if the market rate is RM7, we will pay RM6.70 per litre. With crude oil prices touching a record high of US$139.12 a few days ago, its anyone’s guess what August’s fuel prices will be like… and I shudder to think how much it’ll cost to refuel next year.

I guess compared with our per capita income, cars are now officially a luxury and thanks to our pathetic public transport system, a necessity at the same time! We will have to find alternate ways to cut our fuel bill without relying on public transport, such as minimizing travel and car pooling.

UPDATE: Datuk Shahrir Samad says the current prices of RM2.70 per litre will be maintained until March 2009, so there will not be any lift of price controls in August 2008. However looking at the government’s flip flop style of dissemination of information, this intention may change anytime in the future without warning.

New Petrol and Diesel Prices Effective 5th June 2008

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• giyzmo (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 3:03 am

Hah!!! i knew it was too good to be true!!!

• aliBaPa (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 3:03 am

shock!!!

• kazai (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 3:05 am

damn…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 3:19 am

brace urself for more crime rates…and more ppl living below poverty lines…the way they plan tings is rediculously inexperienced n vague…

• 9166 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 3:22 am

Wow, another surprise…Now I know why he keeps all the accounts under OSA.
    Maybe his last “kopek”.

• blaze (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 3:25 am

Yup…. We are screwed big time…

Higher price for petrol and diesel, ngv price still the same, but u have to spend $ to convert, difficult to get a station that sells ngv n long2 q…

Lower tax and duty for cars? Hey, that will renders the open AP sumhow useless… MOST of them brought in cars that were declared USED, undervalued etc… By doing that, the cars are slightly cheaper, and that is their selling point…
    Scrap the system? AP is like a cash cow to some people here okay….
    Then we have the PERSATUAN PENGIMPORT and PENGEDAR this and that, that surely will be crying and begging saying that its their livehood.. Must have AP to live…
    Dont forget that the secondhand value of ALL cars will drop as well, then the used car dealers also will join the fray..

Used the savings from fuel subsidy to buy back the toll roads? Dream on… Even the agreement is classified under OSA.. The most is maybe some reduction or no increament for this moment..

Electricity gone up, even the lawyers are gonna raised up their fees… Yikes.. Seems like we are going into open economy for the masses, but closed and control for some..

• ynnad (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 4:49 am

agree with e-nabill… watch out for crime rate escalation when the man on the street cannot feed his family.

We have a short sighted govt. whose actions only cause more confusion and loss of confidence to FDI and investors.

if the BN govt is thinking that it is punishing the rakyat for voting opposition, they have really got it coming (as I for 1 will not forget to educate my future generations on the treason of UMNO and all those politicians that use the malay grassroot / sentiments to establish their political career. Even Dr M started out like Khairy.

Float the price of petrol if you have to (As it is a global phenomenon) but only after you have a concrete plan on curbing inflation and cost of living wont go haywire. Was bank negara, relevant NGOs brought into discussion before hand?

withdraw subsidies that are abused. but no… the fishermen arent going to risk their lives goin out to sea now that the govt is subsidising their bungalow by selling their diesel quota. enforcement agencies for such abuses.. where are they? surely they can plug this loophole unless they have their own selfish reasons for not wanting to do so…

what have we the rakyat done to ourselves in 2004 by giving the crooks such a big mandate? After making sure that we boot these crooks out in march, it’s sickening to see that they are still up there making the lives of those who voted them out (as well as those that voted for them) miserable.

• jepakazoid (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 5:22 am

Why government, why? Why do you have to push us this far? Why do we have to suffer the traffic and the toll while the ministers get the police to clear up the road for them? Why is it that I see the police is only good for 2 things in Malaysia which are controlling the traffic and clearing the road for VIPs. Damm I am planning to migrate soon.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 6:02 am

Hahaha, Malaysians get caught up by surprise again. That’s y gov encourage ppl to change your pathetic lifestyle. Dun be panic and embrace for more shocks in the future. U give them mandate and they rip u off till u r begging for survival….hahaha. Greed and ignorance have blindfolded the ruling party and overshadowed proper planning and strategic management of the country. In the end of the day, nobody will benefit as the country will be doomed with deficits, debts and social breakdown. Who’s to be blamed?

• droll (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 7:00 am

give them mandate??? i don’t think they got any mandate this time.

it’s game over guys!!

• digiman (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 7:32 am

you know what? i welcome anyone but uncle lah.. no offence, but seriously, this is not a good sh!t happening to us.. i mean, even if the government wants us to be more self sufficient, but not to the point of force feeding us with all the cost all at once! and we have already given him a chance… and he ripped our face off! dude!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:04 am

When they increase the petrol price, they claim it is a “one-off” or “one-time” effect. That’s why they are giving this “one-off” rebate.

In that case, why not the government impose a “one-off” reduction of car taxes for all imported cars below 2000cc including hybrid and diesel vehicles.

Why not impose a “one-off” minimum wage scale regulation for all occupation so that all rakyat can survive.

It’s simple really. Just give a “one-off” solution for everything.

• hk_loo (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:14 am

ubahlar cara hidup …

smoke less
    club less
    eat less
    drink less
    f*** less -> less children less burden

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:22 am

BN(UMNO) is swallowing poison pill.

The real system shock is coming on august. $2.70 is nothing compared to what is coming.

While I agree that they should remove subsidies, having such a big change in a short time will be detrimental. I seriously hope Bank negara will step in, but knowing what jokers run Bank Negara and the government, I really doubt it.

Lets face it, the BN government has bankcrupted the country already, when the economy nose dives past August, they wont have the cash to stimulate the economy via fiscal policies which has long been abused and only help those who are in line with BN.

I wonder if this is another BN ploy to make everyone worst off so they are more likely to hop on the BN gravy train for survival?

I shall qoute my friend..”Vote for BN sum more lah….”

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:28 am

I feel sorry for those who spent hrs writing and debating about the use of Mykad, fleet card, ePetrol etc which are good for the rakyat. At the end, still the rakyat kena screwed (kaw2 this time), foreigners continues to win for another 2 months. You know I know who the forever winners are…

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:28 am

I have only one thing to say… WTF?!

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:30 am

fxxx more more children lah u idiot

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:37 am

Indeed. If this is just a one time rebate, they should reduce the roadtax!

The gomen’s short term plans are really hitting us now. What’s the use of creating world class buildings when the most basic and important factor of PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION is SO BADLY PLANNED??? Instead of MRT, they went and installed LRT. Instead of LRT, they allowed Berjaya to lobby for a hopeless Monorail which they have to bailout later! At peak hours, passengers have to wait for 4-5 trains before they’re able to get into the train and still be packed like sardines. At switching stations, one have to cross the street and not be able to use the same ticket system. And the brilliant KL Sentral… name inplies that all lines will centralise there BUT only has the Putra and KTM line. Monorail is 1km walk away without shade and Star is nowhere to be seen. Excellent design that only our brillant gomen can implement. Even the train system in Bangkok was much much better than ours! I was initially shocked but wasn’t surprised. If the leaders have the interest of the people at heart, they will implement systems to solve our problems. But when they have their OWN interest, they will say that they can built the trains and we the Rakyat END UP with INFERIOR systems!

Their arrogance of always wanting to do their own things have got the better of them but WHO SUFFERS???

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:41 am

I can’t blame the government for the fuel hike, since its a global phenomenon and Malaysians have too long living in the comfort zone under the G subsidy. Remember that the G also subsidized the cooking palm oil oil, cooking gas, flour, bread etc.

What I’m really mad about is our car taxes are still astronomically & insanely high and the efficiency of our public transportion are light years away behind!

And those corrupt politicians are still running the government while laundering the taxpayers money. If the G spends the money wisely (open tender for procurement, zero corruption), all this mess can be avoided in the first place.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:46 am

this is stupid… really…

• droll (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:52 am

i readanother article at thestar.com.my with more confusion. from the domestic trade minister saying no more price increases till march 2009 inline with the date range of the rm625 subsidy. then he goes on to say that he cannot guarantee price changes in the next few months. huh? whatabout the august dateline? i’ve been hearing news about august being the date when petrol price would be floated with a 30sen subsidy. then i also read from thestar that global oil prices monitoring mechanism not up n running yet so the monthly adjustment mechanism of petrol prices is not inplace yet. this govt is hopeless. the head doesn’t know what the tail is saying.

and remember a few days ago the pump price for ron97 was 2.704?? now it’s back to 2.700. good for us but damn…….it gives a very bad impression of the gov. feels like they are a bunch of clowns running around. can’t even do such a simple thing properly.

hopeless!!

• neo2 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:57 am

Floating fuel price by market price brought about long term economic benefits as subsidy policy has severe financial burden on a nation growth, expeically a developing country with deficit budget. As Malaysia will become a net oil importer by 2014, the administratin is preparing and bracing itself for the future financial distress. However, considering current poor public tranport system in and around its major cities, like KL, Selangor, Penang and JB, the mass in general is forced to travel on private cars over inefficient public transport system, if there is ever one. One of the most controversial question raised is “Where the hell does the P (I give you a hint:our one and only national oil company) money go to?” Well, we are given a “very good” reason by the authority that subsidies saved from fuel hike are for development projects and so forth while luctrative industries such as palm oil plantation and independent power supplier (IPP) are imposed additional “windfall levy tax” for its higher gross profit margin. One would ponder, how about our most profitable P (you know what I am talking about)? Why not we also apply the same principle on P? Well, even so, I am most regretted to inform you that P’s audited accounts are under OSA, which is not publicly available. Therefore, at the end, this drastic and sudden and lack of proper planning and transparency shift of fuel hike policy is likely to bring about more adverse impacts than its desired advantages. I hope I do not provoke any forumer here, what I am proposing is based on some factual information rather than some blindfolded and emotional bashing towards our administration.

• droll (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:57 am

time to switch from those expnsive cars to somthing cheaper like a perodua naughty car.

• raverus (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 9:01 am

Smoke screen……..everyone knows the subsidy plan isn’t a smart 1.
    Malaysians are going to hell….sigh…..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 9:05 am

i can’t wait for september.. let settle all this thing one & for all

• tikus (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 9:14 am

We need hybrid car .Hope G will consider reduce tax for hybrid car.

• mofo (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 9:15 am

RM 625 ? I could give you back but in condition, please step down immediate.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 9:29 am

Still, the thing that we can’t accept the government, is that they’re trying to cheat us into believing they’re also in a state of difficulty.

Petronas gets exclusive contracts to all of Malaysia’s oil. Petronas is NOT A PUBLIC LISTED COMPANY, Petronas’ shareholders are the cronies in UMNO, MCA, MIC; they get dividends and shares from Petronas, whereas the very Malaysia Government that Barisan Nasional controls will be forced to buy from the private company that they personally own, at MARKET VALUE.

If the Government is in such difficulty? Why do our country needs to privatise Gasoline production? it should be of the state governments, it should be OUR resources; other countries privatized government sectors for competition, for improvement, ours privatized for cronism, nepotism, and only ONE company runs the show, earn all the profits, for if they loss money, again the citizen’s hard earned tax money are used to pay them back, where at the end, all money, be it private or public was siphoned to their personal bank accounts.

This is the tactic that Mahathir used back in 1980s to counter off signs of uprise in his leadership, to privatized government sectors to make money for his followers, to contain and retain their support, in the name of creating Malay Heroes, in the name of NEP, in the name of Wawasan 2020.

Fully neglecting the thousands and millions of Melayu, India, Cina, Kadazan, Iban, minority of Thais, Bangladeshi, Sikh, that are still very poor.

Its really saddening that the country, with such a strong heritage, perfect governmental and educational, economy system handed over by the British (perfect economy system if you studied it, dont ever use UMNO’s teaching lessons of Malays become Nelayan, Chinese become Businessmen, Indian become Rubber Tapper – story to attack my comment); and yet we have come to this state, this sad state of being totally ripped off by our government, who all deserves to be hanged for their wrong doings, corruptions.

I want to fix this country, but I had to leave. K let’s talk cars, at least they only rust and not corrupt.

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:06 am

RM625 is going to be one time only, NGV is cheap but not available everywhere, hybrid cars still expensive, high possibility that fuel price will increase some more in the future…haiyaa.

• stewpid (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:16 am

if you wanna the Petronas to give out subsidy also no use lah… the also struggle to cover their operating cost that keep increasing year after year…yup they maybe untung if the world oil price increse, but also pay more tax to gov laa… petronas also have only about 30+% market share of the domestic market, the other are foreign oil companies. as somebody here know that we are going to be the net importer of oil near 2015, so means that we have decreasing storage of crude oil in our bolehland and maybe in 2020 we dont have any of it! so after the Petronas gulung tikar on 2020 so after then you all satisfied eh?

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:20 am

normaluser said,

June 9, 2008 @ 8:41 am

I can’t blame the government for the fuel hike, since its a global phenomenon and Malaysians have too long living in the comfort zone under the G subsidy. Remember that the G also subsidized the cooking palm oil oil, cooking gas, flour, bread etc.

What I’m really mad about is our car taxes are still astronomically & insanely high and the efficiency of our public transportion are…..
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I don’t mind if they stop/ never subsidized us on wateva thingy since then, but please, and please at the mean time, be fair to us, by charging us the original wateva price, please abolish the sales tax as well. Forget about P1, it’s not working at all, it only burden the Rakyat shoulder by paying more maintenance fees than repayment.
    And still, the G only focus on Macro econ, not the micro. And true enough, what’s the point of setting up tal tal building, or sending people to the outer space when the basic NEEDS of the Rakyat was not fulfilled yet? Please go back to basic 101, since you’re talking about the NEEDs.
    And G, believe me, the opposition is not death for other to make wateva decisions likely.
    Some day the Rakyat is going to burn their head and crash on wateva is happening here. Don’t forget, we’re the main pillar on supporting the economic of the country.

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:23 am

droll said,

June 9, 2008 @ 8:57 am

time to switch from those expnsive cars to somthing cheaper like a perodua naughty car.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………

It’s not cheap thou

• paxter (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:26 am

wow… we are getting fucked big time… actually lost for words at the moment….

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:26 am

yup they maybe untung if the world oil price increse, but also pay more tax to gov laa… petronas…

And so where the tax gone? I only need maybe 4k subsidy for 1 year.

• dr_carz (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 11:08 am

KENAIKAN harga minyak di negara ini memang tidak dapat dielakkan. Bagi sesetengah orang ia tidak menjadi masalah, tetapi bagi golongan berpendapatan rendah pula, ia agak membebankan. Namun, pengumuman kerajaan mengenai pembayaran rebat RM625 sedikit melegakan kami yang berpendapatan rendah.

Bagaimanapun, apa yang mendukacitakan kami ialah pemberian rebat itu hanya kepada kenderaan bawah 2000cc saja. Ia diandaikan bahawa kenderaan di atas 2000cc adalah kenderaan mewah yang tentunya juga terdiri daripada pemilik berada.

Andaian ini mungkin perlu diberi perhatian kerajaan. Ia kerana jika dilihat pada masa sekarang, kenderaan berharga ratusan ribu ringgit masih mengekalkan penggunaan kuasa enjin bawah 2000cc.

Bagaimana pula dengan nasib kami yang menggunakan MPV seperti Naza Ria yang berkapasiti 2500cc. Kenderaan ini tidak tergolong dalam kenderaan mewah. Ia dapat dilihat dari segi harga kenderaan itu di bawah RM90,000 dan kebanyakannya dimiliki golongan berpendapatan rendah yang mempunyai bilangan ahli keluarga ramai.

Sekiranya kenderaan jenis ini tidak termasuk untuk mendapat rebat yang diumumkan kerajaan, adalah malang nasib kami yang memiliki kenderaan MPV jenis ini.

Pembeli yang membeli kenderaan ini biasanya mempunyai bilangan anak ramai dan pendapatan rendah tentunya akan berdepan beban dengan masalah minyak yang meningkat ini.

Sudahlah kami tidak dapat menikmati rebat sebagai mana dinikmati pemilik kenderaan bawah 2000cc, kecuali potongan RM200 bagi cukai jalan, kami juga tidak mendapat perhatian sewajarnya berkaitan pemberian rebat membeli minyak.

Oleh itu, saya merayu kepada pihak kerajaan agar dapat menimbangkan semula pemberian rebat kepada kenderaan MPV jenis ini.

PEMILIK NAZA RIA,
    Taman Minang, Cheras.

—————————————————————-

u sell the naza to me for 625 lah hahahahahhahaha

oil guzzler naza ria …. hahahahaha

• dr_carz (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 11:22 am

Removal of subsidy necessary

MAYBE I am one of the few who believe that reducing the fuel subsidy is a good move.

As a government managing a “family” of approximately 22 million, the Government must not only manage based on current needs but also future needs of the family.

Based on figures available, we are fast running out of oil and gas. We will be a net importer of oil in several years based on current reserves and production.

The price of oil is currently about US$130 a barrel in the world market compared with some US$20 a barrel 10 years ago.

Everyone else in the world is suffering from these prices, why should Malaysia be any different? Because we have Petronas? Because we have produced oil? Because we expect Petronas to subsidise and cushion these price increases?

If Petronas were forced to pay for things from building bridges to subsidising petrol, how is Petronas going to have the money to run the business, to explore, and find new oil for the country?

Saudi Arabia produces about 25% of the world’s oil, its population is about the same as Malaysia, its budgeted expenditure for 2008 is some RM700bil compared with Malaysia’s RM90bil, and yet the prices of goods and food here are also increasing sharply, with high inflation rates.

The money that is not lost by subsidising petrol in Malaysia should be used to provide better education and training for our human capital, better healthcare, and a better public transportation system as well as to improve the production of locally produced food.

Yes there will be setbacks to our lives, but the removal of the petrol subsidy is something that needs to be done now. The effect would and could be worse if we delay any longer.

ADRI HEMY ABDUL GHANI,
    Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

• mytouch (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 11:46 am

Stupid Gov try to make the rakyat suffer again & again…pls stop comparing our petrol with neighbour ASEAN in the tv news,we are not stupid,pls stop making fool of us…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 12:08 pm

Actually any hybrid, electric, hydrogen or ngv vehicles of private registration should be tax free of any kind. At least for this year and next year.

This hydrogen engine developed by local university should be given more fund to excellerate it’s progress, testing and sale!

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 12:13 pm

• stewpid (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 12:44 pm

speechless already..
    There are many reasons why PETRONAS should not continue subsidising the petrol increase: (I took tis from some forum..i agree with it)

Subsidy is like candu. once you took it you will not stop taking it. subsidising will create artificial demand in the market, people will use petrol as if it were unlimited resources. Demand should be controlled so that we have enough for our future generation.
    Why Shell and Esso and etc. foreign oil companies not subsidising the petrol? They should rite? After all they also extract oil from our bolehland. We should get more money from them for consuming our resources.
    If we extract more money from petronas, what else left for them to use to pay their staff? Their staff are very underpaid in comparison to other companies in the industry. Would you give your own pocket money to pay for other people’s luxury? Seriously when you think about it! Additionally, petronas need money to explore fields outside the recent off-shore. Exploration is risky, sometimes you hit the jackpot, sometimes you don’t. Each oil well costs more than RM 50 million to explore!
    What happens if we no longer have petronas that is no longer producing oil and gas? This could happen in 8 years time if PETRONAS don’t continue to explore and look for oil. They need to build capabilities in deepwater. All these cost money and not in millions but billions my friend! and it keeps increasing. If we don’t have Petronas, more than 30% of MALAYSIAN annual GDP income is gone! Who’s gonna pay for your health care, child education, scholarships, public transport etc. These all cost as we know is increasing every time loh. Do you think to manage a country is free kah?

Everybody know also the saving by cutting off the oil subsidy will be use to pay another subsidy: (just paste it, lazy to type again):

subsidi petrol, diesel dan gas (still pay the 30cent per litre) (RM7.5 bilion);
    dasar jaminan bekalan makanan negara (RM4 bilion);
    subsidi minyak masak (RM1.5 bilion);
    subsidi pembelian beras import bagi penyeragaman harga beras di Sabah dan Sarawak (RM0.4 bilion);
    subsidi tepung (RM0.2 bilion);
    subsidi roti (RM0.1 bilion).
    Total = RM13.7 bilion rite?

• waimak (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 12:50 pm

It’s just a one off payment? Wow, that doesnt come as expected. There goes the so called “ease the burden of the rakyat” tag mentioned when all our big family members gathered in front of the TV that 4th June evening to hear what the government wanted to say.

I’m frustrated.

They say the price increase will consolidate people’s activities, more will rely on public transportation, prudent spending habits will be cultivated, prices of other goods and services should not be increased and so forth.

But I want to know where is the planning? What level of service is our public transport at? What are the steps that the government is taking to help the rakyat, short-term and in the long run? and to the quality of life for those of lower income?

• ys (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 1:12 pm

wtf.. this is a suiside call for BN..
    you wanna teach malaysian a lesson.. i think we malaysian going to teach u a good lesson in next election.
    what a joke for this..
    have they ever consider those low income malaysian?
    do this big shot know that the basic pay for a factory operator is on RM400 and this is before EPF reduction.
    so these poor fellows need to work day and night to “live on” (not to say buying a car.. makan pun tak cukup)
    Malaysia is screwed up by those brainless leader… OMG ….

• scottloeb (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 2:00 pm

if you can afford
    RM 60/hr Karaoke (minus the GRO),
    RM 10 Coffee in the form of Starfukcs, Kopibean etc,
    Rm 68 for full body oil massage (minus the urut batin),
    RM 30 for hair cut and RM 150 for colour/perm/rebond,
    RM 35 to 50 per 10 Kg AAA Siam Wangi beras,
    Drive a RM 1000 monthly installment car,
    Then you dont deserved the subsidies. I know because I do.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 2:19 pm

Buy cranking cars(electirc generator) now :/ .. sigh..

• matijai (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 2:22 pm

The major problem with the gov is probably that they are still comparing our petrol price with other countries.I don’t blame the petrol hike because it is based on the world’s recent hike.

However, they need to compare the income, tax and toll rate of other countries too.

Restructuring the wage structure (not only gov sectors, the private sectors need a lot of help) will definitely solve the problems.

• najibest (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 3:41 pm

that’s typical of our government. they always offer short term solutions without anything planned for the long term. just like the fuel price hike. they announce the hike 1st then starts to think about the consequences….now need to plan how to combat the food+goods price increase etc2…

anyway they always promise price of public transport won’t go up, price of food won’t go up etc, but has this ever materialized? i mean the LPKP is useless, even the cabbies problem they cannot solve even though it’s been going on for like forever…KDNHEP is about the same, always giving assurance and nothing else…sick and tired of this…

• ganz (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 3:58 pm

i’m getting my fuel subsidy soon.. :D
    i’m just renew my insurance and roadtax today..
    already start to use motorcycle.. pain in the a$$.. ride from shah alam to KL (dang wangi) daily trip..what to do… my precious Gen2 suck petrol at rm0.17/km (previous petrol price).. RM 10/ daily trip shah alam – KL only

now it turn into Rm.0.27/km.. just imagine. almost RM17/trip..

** scottleb.. i think i desrved.. since i never go to karoeke/starbuck/ oil massage :D

• crasher7 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 4:05 pm

another lie

• Apathy (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 4:18 pm

hurmmmm some ppl still argue about the car tax….is it worth it to drive a Beamer-Langkawi price tag car when your food, fuel, and everything else going sky high?

• Apathy (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 4:35 pm

hmmm some ppl still argue about the car tax….is it worth it to drive a Beamer-Langkawi price tag car when your food, fuel and everything else going sky high?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 4:47 pm

how much is that bimmer scooter with the roof? demak scooter with roof also can make a comeback… how to ferry four kids in the scooter?

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 5:08 pm

just ask yourself the question what the 30k-50krm tax u paid for the car. what in the hell is it subsidizing. a few dollars discount in petrol and food a month???

so much for breaking the 2/3 majority BN had. absolutely no effect in terms of governing the country.

good luck taking public transport when there is so much crime on the streets.

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 5:40 pm

ys said,

June 9, 2008 @ 1:12 pm

wtf.. this is a suiside call for BN..
    you wanna teach malaysian a lesson.. i think we malaysian going to teach u a good lesson in next election.
    what a joke for this..
    have they ever consider those low income malaysian?
    do this big shot know that the basic pay for a factory operator is on RM400 and this is before EPF reduction.
    so these poor fellows need to work day and night to “live on” (not to say buying a car.. makan pun tak cukup)
    Malaysia is screwed up by those brainless leader… OMG ….
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………..

He can thick up his face not to step down after seriously defeated, anything can happen in the “short future”, because he’s capable in selecting anyhow someone to take over his position, just like what MM did.
    http://www.malaysia-today.net/blog2006/corridors.php?itemid=2566
    Something will happen in a short while, see what happens..

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 6:03 pm

Apathy said,

June 9, 2008 @ 4:35 pm

hmmm some ppl still argue about the car tax….is it worth it to drive a Beamer-Langkawi price tag car when your food, fuel and everything else going sky high?
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    Check this in, the point of pin-pointing out sales tax of car is to let the G know that we had paid much than they need to subsidy us long time ago. Where’re those money, the question is?..
    Saying an import car, a vios, is selling at 80k, while Langkawi is selling at 55k, which equal to Waja in K.L?(55k included some not-necessary charges too), end up instead of paying the G sales tax, those money(RM80k-55k=RM25k) RM25k might enough to ‘self-subsidy’ in almost 6years at about RM300 every month, ehm…for me, don’t you think so?
    Whereas, who on earth satisfy with the quality of P1? Maybe I’m unlucky enough to get a “sorry” car.
    Says I have a 96′ Satria for almost 13years now, it gave me wracking sounds in 1month right i bought it (then i was brain washed it’s normal for a car to make noises that time). Then average i spent RM2-3k to repair the car for 2nd and 3rd year, which round up an extra payment of RM230 every month + my repayment RM600 = RM830, 4th – 5th years? And it sounds funny when the Vios/ City came out then..Since it was so troublesome and much problem I had engage, I intended to sold it off, but guess what..The market price was and is always lower than the total loan i owe the bank every quarter of the year (at least 3k). Who suffers? The G?I think by implying the sales tax, they have enough to save their P1 Sales. All this happened simply just because for the sake of Macro Economics and to promote P1 for every Rakyat Malaysia. End up my Altis only cost RM60-65k in Australia and I need to go for a loan of 100k, just for the sake of less problem.
    Check-in..

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 6:14 pm

Sg fresh grads, initial paid was 2k,
    2k-400 (20% EPF)-500(rental for MBRoom)-300(Food damn cheap,dabao)-100(transport, damn convenient)-wat else??
    still have 700SGD x 2.2 = RM1,540.00

Malaysia fresh grads
    2k (some say difficult to get this paid)-220 (11% EPF)-300(rental for MBRoom)-450(Chicken price also increased)-500(Hire Purchase, Myvi)-400(Office boy, petrol)
    yay= RM130..
    RM130, the G will says, “Baik, inilah cara utk mengubah cara hidup anda LAH.., Tak yah untung banyak, cuma cukup tu baik LAH,” RM130 tuh masih blh service kereta..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 7:51 pm

May God bless the Hardcore poor Malaysia….

• ah liew (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 8:42 pm

subsidise my ass….

• h2k (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 9:01 pm

one time rebate of RM625? wat kind of stupid ‘subsidy’ is dat? funny this kind of things never happen in other countries with oil producing capabilities…aren’t petronas government owned? where the hell all the profits go? whose pocket? wtf!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 9:08 pm

Hopefully China and India lessen their demand on fuel so that the price will go down.
    My forecast, it will be like $300 a barrel before it really goes down or country economies collapse because of the high price

• RCM (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 9:52 pm

Totally agreed with ‘stewpid’ about the Petronas thing.

Nothing is wrong with the way Petronas run its bisnez, its one of the successful great oil company in the world what?

Instead the way Government handling the money they get from Petronas and others that should be argued.

• abb200 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:19 pm

high oil prices spells change in the auto industry too.

check out below, urban mass produced electric cars like this mitsubishi miev are coming sooner than we think. this might just revolutionize the whole automobile industry since the ford model T was introduced.

http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/Drives/FirstDrives/articleId=124867

100 miles(160km) per charge for no a/c driving..maybe 100km with a/c on
    very interesting car indeed. no nid to worry about fuel hike..but traffic hike may affect tho..hahaha

but then again, i wonder how much our ‘beloved’ country gonna tax this car…argh

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 11:45 pm

I wanna see ministers being driven in small engine cars. Let see whether they can change their livestyle.

You know, everytime some big shot/VIP/minister moves from a place to another on our road, the convoy involves 10 or 20 vehicles (mix of SUV, limo, superbike etc). So my question is:

Are the minister/vip/big shot being considerate, understanding and know the wastage of petrol for this stupid convoy?? (the wastage was paid by taxpayers money, of course!) What’s worst is that Other road users are interupted and the fuel and time are wasted for these stupid VIP/minister/bigshot on the move.

hell, I have no respect for these so call “VIP/minister/bigshot”. Why?? They are the one that arrives LATE and FIRST to leave. and worst they use up more petrol than anyone else.

• Paul Tan on Jun 10, 2008 at 12:38 am

The following are the figures for how much ministers get for ENTERTAINMENT ALLOWANCE per month, this is on top of salary and other benefits.

Prime minister RM18,865; deputy prime minister RM15,015; minister RM12,320; deputy minister RM6,000.

http://themalaysianinsider.com/mni/pm-s-cost-cutting-plan-to-ease-public-burden.html

• droll (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 1:02 am

bloody hell, that’s a lot of allowance for entertainment! who the heck do they entertain every month????!!!! themselves!?

• BW (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 1:25 am

haih go to hell la gov

• kiddy (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 2:18 am

damn…get 1 time?..wth…fraud ppl non stop..eventhough they said 2.70/liter until nex march 2009?…haha..sudd aug increase again..neva eva trust da claim..

• Realeyes (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 8:40 am

What I’ve initially heard was “Rm625 Setahun” that means yearly..not one time payment.. The goverment has shown their indecisive again..

Only 10% cut from their entertainment allaowence!?..that is not enough. They are not serious in helping the rakyat.

• hk_loo (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 9:17 am

hey, the money save from those entertainment will masuk their pocket 1

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 9:30 am

These people are goin down and they know it. And I guess they have three years to raid and pillage their own village and making a run for it. It’s like they simply ignore what we’re saying and there is no tangible temporary solution to ease the burden of the people.

Take take take, give a little something back that’s vague and not worth much only… How can we give back to the beloved country when the country leave us to fend for ourselves at a time of need. So easy to ask the majority to change our lifestyle while the minority rich stay in business. These people are eliminating the middle income group, only left is rich and poor.

Bring in those green cars at dirt cheap prices. We’re not asking for it, we’re demanding it. Give something tangible that we can look, touch.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 4:32 pm

those who say the subsidy should be removed so soon and for the future generation…they are very wrong..atleast for now…

there are many simple solution here the G can make or take in order to help they so claim future generation or so called previous leaders mistake…

some here had a good point…why PETRONAS should be a private company??
    and when we are going to be a net importer in the near future why should we continue selling petroleum to make profit??we should just use the so claim high grade petroleum for our national usage which is not much so we can save the rest for our future generation..why should we then buy it at the market price???i dont understand their system at all…if petronas is a nation company own by the country why thier profit should be paid through taxes and not directly??this wat the G should make more money am i right??ok forget about petroleum

what about cooking oil??we are one of the largest producer of palm oil…and yet why the G is subsidying it??we can supply our country with the current price sell the excess with market price outside the country..because the G have played a very big role in palm oil industry and rubber too..(so hike of rubber products should be minimum too) most of the time..they supply seeds,land and etc but buy from the producers at a high price…why is tis concept implemented??

the bottom line is the country is mismanaged…maybe from the begining but when we had capable leaders the impact was minimum…but when a mismanaged country ended up with a misleading and zero capability leader..we already see whats da effect…please people..after never vote for race,party or sentiments…vote for good leaders or educated people who has a proven track record…i am so frustrated with the current situation and i really hope pakatan rakyat will rule the country after september!!i just cant take it anymore….especially with their stupid reasons….future generation,cheapest in the region,running out of fuel and the worst..change life style….

future generation..by hiking the price future generation will be alrite??how??what kind of development the G has in plan???and how are they goin to help the the future generation if the present generation already wondering about their future and survival??tell me bloody G..

if you running of out of fuel, then why biodiesel has yet to make it in da market??we can grow palm tree,sugarcane and corn…so why not use the available money for setting up Ethanol plant,biodiesel plant and use rubbish to produce methane and supply back to TNB…if you have those kind of investment in Plan our malaysians dont really mind the hike and not worried about future generation….we dont really need millions in R&D since we already have those technology available…in india a third world country..they already using cow dunk to produce methane to power a small township…and our leaders using the cow dunk to fill their skull replacing thier unusable brain!!!

cheapest in the region??are you competely with an island??with a nation which has 5 times our population?or a nation with no national resources??dumb comparison but thanks for that because we malaysian now know how dumb u people are…before this we knew u ppl are dumb..but now we can rate u guys…and u rated the DUMBEST if you care to know!!!

and a bout change of life style…how??leader should show example of cost cutting…if you cycle to work or use public transport then we will do so…have ever been on a bus or lrt during peak hours??obviously no am i right??if say this they say look at JAPAN…yah u just look how they squeezed themselves in da train…but u dont realise the population amount..the speed the train travel,the time concern they have..the accuracy of their public transport and the technology of their public transport…i dont mind spending 5 min in a packed train but not 30 min to reach my destination…i dont mind waiting for a bus if i know what time they exactly come but not like here..u never know when a bus is coming unless its about 100 meters away frm the bus stop!!i would like to reach my work place before my job starts…like japanese but here..nothing is certain same like our leaders..always late to even enter the parliment!!u show us how to change our lifestyle then we will follow..cycle to work or drive alone with police escorts to clear the jam and use the public transports regularly..then we dont mind and wont complain!!!!

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Agree Prem!
    i always wanted to see on leader change their life style, but this condition only applies to that fellow staying in a old house at Penang there. But i never see those ppl in P taking bike to work, or sitting economical class flight……
    I can’t imagine that M’s would be falling into pieces by the time we reach 2020.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 10, 2008 at 9:58 pm

Malaysia’s public transport sys. is a joke.

Only now the GOVT indicated they want to improve the system, ar??. hahahaha —What have they been doing all the past donkey years?? Oooi..The Govt can’t even handle those airport taxis (all these while) and now they are talking about public transport sys.??

Fuiiiyohhhh!!!!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 6:37 pm

Whatever.