Government extends AP cashcow lifespan

The government’s flip-flop policies continue with the recent announcement that it would not go ahead with the abolishment of APs by 2010, instead giving the notorious AP system an extended lifetime that will last the next 10 to 11 years at least.

“A decision has been made and we are not changing it. We are keeping the AP system to prepare present traders for a time when there were no more APs, so that they would be able to stand on their own without relying on APs anymore,” explained Minister of International Trade and Industry Muhyiddin Yassin.

He added that MITI would be hiring consultants to evaluate the performance of AP holders over the past 20 years, but from the way he said it, it seems that it is purely for the government’s knowledge on whether “the companies have achieved good results more than just selling and producing vehicles.” There is no mention of punishment for AP holders who become nothing more than middle-men, flogging them off for obscene amounts of cash.

But when the 10 to 11 year period ends, the minister mentioned anyone will be able to bring in any car they want. Of course, the value of his assurance is pretty much next to nothing in these flip flop times.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 8:35 am

The way this flip flop government is heading, they wont last the next 4 years.

AP bullshit. Only richens the cronies.

• jhuan (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 10:33 am

First, MITI (under Puan Rafixxx’s time) said sales tax on cars is to partial subsidise petrol. Now petrol price is increased till a level close to real price, then new MITI head said no reduce in sales tax. Also no uplift the AP usage, so we are now in the world that paying the HIGHEST for car price and also joining the gang of no subsidy in petrol!!

Thanks G and his Bee-eNd gang. Now you all should go!!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 10:48 am

Fli flop G is also a cheater G. Just look at who those persons who get the APs. It is not us, ordinary citizen. It must be someone in somewhere. Siakap senohong gelama ikan duri. Just look at Sharir Samad, talam 2 muka. Previously when he was in PAC things look quite good, the nit is flip floping now. The history of flip flop begin when Pak Lah told us on 12 March that the parliament will not dissolve on 13 March, then it is still dissolve on the 13th. After that the inedible ink flip flopping. Whatever. They must go for now. The allowance have to go to.

• samuraiiii79 (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 11:15 am

“Suka hati kaulah, Pak Lah”………it’s so obvious they are protecting their own interest. 10-11 years to prepare for what? his retirement plan?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 11:25 am

It infuriates me to read about AP.

Why now? Jsut to secure the gravy train for a few more years?

10 years so that “they can prepare themselves”? What bullshit. Like you could have given the rakyat 10 years to brace for the recent fuel hike…lol.Why does the government need APs for in the first place? I’m sure JPJ can give you all the statistical data that you can digest.

If the government want APs, sell them like Singapore’s CoE. Treat everyone equally. AP passes the price premium onto consumers anyway, which are already heavily taxed. Why is the government making a big fuss about fuel subsidies, when they are giving potential income “free” to a few people? lets see, 20k ish per AP, how many cars we bring in a year?

Of course those “companies” will show an improvement. No cost, big revenue.

• mr_em (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 1:04 pm

AP saga still have no ends? After fuel hike, want to announce this some more?…

Situation is getting from worst to “worse than worst”…. there no word to describe it.

The worst blunder in the history of Malaysia where you announce something like a drastic fuel hike but you do not give the people a ‘REAL’ practical alternatives. Eg:

1)There no ‘world-class’ public transport to use as alternatives, to build one takes ages, yet we got the fuel hike upfront and made to wait for this to be made (if it ever got started or get done in the first place).

2)To get more mileages from our cars, we don’t even get good alternatives like the ‘developed’ countries get eg. high efficiency small modern turbodiesels where you can get more mpg’s (60 and above) to save fuel consumptions. Yet we are asked to pay the same level as ‘developed’ status market price for fuel. At the same time we are not earning “developed’ status level of salaries. We’re getting a double whammy hit here.

3)Then there’s this artificial sales taxes & duties to ‘supplement’ supposedly ‘LOCAL’ auto industries which prohibit us from importing energy efficient cars such as those hybrids (Civic Hybrid costs a bomb) or small diesel cars like those VW TDIs, Ford TDCi etc. Again, paying artificial price for cars, while at the same time paying ‘real’ price for fuel. Even ‘developed’ countries are not paying artificial price for their mode of transport.

Add this on top of the ridiculous AP requirement and there you have it. Every bad policies you can think of, in a country called Malaysia.

All I can say is people like Muhyiddin and gang lives in an artificial world created by themselves. I believe most of their intentions are also artificial eg they are not deciding what’s best for the people of Malaysia. Whatever policies they made and decide have no negative impact whatsoever on them, it’s only on the normal people like most of us that get to take the bad hits from their ill-judged policies.

The common people like most of us here, where everything is ‘real’ and not artificial, our suffering continues with every announcement like this…..

but our lives have to go on…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 2:01 pm

Really sickening. Maybe the minister has his thumb in the pie?

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 4:21 pm

I have to take issue with the minister’s statement.
    First he says that they have to look after the traders in the business. Just how many are there actually doing the business of importing and selling the cars. Even if there are 500 of them, is it fair to look after their welfare at the expense of thousands of car buyers?
    Secondly, how long have they been in business? As far as I know, they have been there for ages and yet cannot survive without the AP’s. So what makes the minister think that they will ever survive?
    If the ministry is genuinely interested in developing the imported car business, then they should send out their officers to pose as BUYERS OF AP’s and see for themselves whether the sale of AP is going on or not.
    As far as I know, these people are definitely not car traders but AP traders.
    The govt seem to have their head in the sand, and the only explanation that I can think of is that many of those who get AP’s are those who are in the inner circle and who are all untouchables.
    As a malay, I am deeply ashamed at these bloodsuckers who, at the slightest suggestion that AP’s be abolished will jump and say that they are bumiputras and therefore it’s their right to perpetuate the AP system.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 5:42 pm

All bull shit things again la. Just few days ago, petrol price increased, then later AP’s issue pula! Then later what else? It’s like testing the rakyat’s patient?
    If the G really stress out of this nonsence issues again, i don’t think this G will last for few more years. I do not wan to scare all of you, but reallitily, this rules implementation thing is only benifit to who? The G, and it will always be the G.
    Let’s get ready for the Inflation or should i call stagflation!

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 5:43 pm

All bull shit things again la. Just few days ago, petrol price increased, then later AP’s issue pula! Then later what else? It’s like testing the rakyat’s patient?
    If the G really stress out of this nonsence issues again, i don’t think this G will last for few more years. I do not wan to scare all of you, but reallitily, this rules implementation thing is only benifit to who? The G, and it will always be the G.
    Let’s get ready for the Inflation or should i call stagflation! Way to go G!~

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 5:52 pm

LOL :) cashcow… how old is this cow already?

it’s very sickening to see what happen… & I don’t know what to say anymore…

• neo2 (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 5:57 pm

Many have generalized statement based on the assumption that AP system benefits the so claimed “cronies of the inner circle or politicians” in Malaysia. If this is the case, shouldn’t this AP system be brought to Dewan Rakyat for open debate? Any parlimentary representative here? But one fact that is true and rightly uphold is that nowadays Malaysian is paying fuel price in line with world market abd yet paying excessive or so called artificial import duties or taxes on cars. It would certainly not a proper fiscal policy that should be in place, at least not near to the concept of “rich people paying more, poor people paying less” as “rich people is getting richer, poor people getting poorer and not rich not poor people like you is getting poor”. Why would such abused policy could be made legally imposed on Malaysian. Well, first of all, we “elected” the administration. I use the word “elected” because I am not sure of the “election”. Secondly, although you dislike, hate, detest, object or even protest against the “elected” administration, you will have to bear with it, at least for another 4 years or 1,460 or so days. Finally, by proving me wrong, Malaysia is among those “developing” countries where its people is easily manipulated by a few politicians. Please wake up, everybody!

• peter1 (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 6:04 pm

There is no logical, rational explanation left to maintain the AP. If the AP was paid to the govt and the revenues gained was used to defray the fuel subsidy, everyone would agree to keep it even for the next 100 years….but I guess BN has not learned the lesson of the last elections and have completely misread the political tsunami. So ignore the signs at your own peril dear MIinister!!!

• blaze (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 6:08 pm

Hey.. `AP cashcow’… I used it first…. Anyway… Hah… See… as i predicted, no way they would abolish this…

Before any open discussion about it, the AP holders have probably pre-empted to the ministry by saying… `Huhu.. we still need more time to establish ourselves as car traders… Please, in this trying times, we need the protection… SOB*SOB*…’ WTF..Still need time hah???

Anyway, it reads….
    “A decision has been made and we are not changing it. We are keeping the AP system to prepare present traders for a time when there were no more APs, so that they would be able to stand on their own without relying on APs anymore,” explained the Minister… But in other words…???? Give us the chance lah… we only got grip of these AP after the b****h has been controlling it for decades…

.. still need more time hah?… I m sick oredi…. PTUIIIIII>>>>>>……

• csv (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 6:18 pm

hahaha!

my prediction came true, i knew the afta implementation in 2011 would be too good to be true.

knew they gonna delay the AP issue.

god bless us all, the motor industry here is gonna fall and fall lower.

now you all know what to do, vote for the right party with the right people, not some last minute swayers who use crocodile tear’s to buy votes, rig votes and waste our funds.

bloody hell, i pay so much tax and bullshit, just so you CABINET MINISTER’S can fly off to holiday destination with all EXPENSES PAID? fantastic….

screw the G.

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 7:22 pm

Yeah right we’re preparing them to make more money. Save the traders slay the buyers. REALLY NICE MOVE this one is. Pah!

• cetait (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 8:03 pm

Yawn, what a huge non-surprise. No problem telling the rakyat they have to get tough and deal with the fuel increase, but when it comes to their little cronies it’s “ooh our poor helpless cronies need a decade to prepare for a time without free money boohoo”

Nevermind that the 2010 date was known for ages. Can save some time, change the dates and reprint this article in 2020, guaranteed it will be spot on.

Considering these AP holders have been inventive enough to illegally import new cars under second-hand duty rates, then sell them as new, you’d have thought they’d be able to manage alright on their own?
    link: http://aarvidi.wordpress.com/2008/05/03/uk-probe-into-dead-tycoons-business-practices/

• dr_carz (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 8:12 pm

lucky i bought my swift sport if i waited than i just wait lah…

i dont know this not a case bumi vs non..

the ap holders are non bumis too..

the ap holders has loads of money so they lobby the MITI …

good effort by the ap holders…

just like USA!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 8:56 pm

Anyway for AP to stop for good? AFTA thing. Malaysia still want to pays penalty every year…

• h2k (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 9:20 pm

guess they love the feeling when they drive their ultra expensive cars passed by us poor folks who can’t afford it looking at them with envious eyes….they like to creat hierarchy level in society splitting them the rich n the poor….i guess some1 might be stepping down at the end of year soon…so he is trying to make one last dash for the money b4 all over

• mits27 (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 9:52 pm

This is the excuse for them so they can suck out the money from people as much as possible, so corrupted, so selfish, so ignorent… no help for this gov… cannot wait fo the next election anymore, I want to vote it now…

• ProtonSucks (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 10:00 pm

extend AP = extend corruptions
    WELL DONE!!

• ProtonSucks (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 10:03 pm

extend AP = extend corruptions
    WELL DONE!

• williaml (Member) on Jun 11, 2008 at 10:53 pm

Even without AP, overall pricing of majority CKD models would not going down much, due to stupid Potong!

• delos3nos (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 12:00 am

Yahooooooooooooo AP KING WILL BE HAPPY TO HEAR THIS LONG LIVE AP LONG LIVE AP KING AND ALL THE AP GANG

• csv (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 12:20 am

WRONG!

with abolishment of AP, prices will defitnely go down because……

No AP=No Cronism=No protectionism=Proton/Perodua dies=Lower car prices

this equation roughly fits the bill.

good luck to everyone. now how to survive with high fuel price and high car prices.

• delos3nos (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 1:53 am

AP KING RULE AGAIN FOR ANOTHER 20 YEARS YIPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE THANKS FOR YOUR GREAT SUPPORT WE CANT MAKE THING MORE INTERESTING AS THIS AFTER ALL THE NO,,,, AHHHHHHH OR MAYBE………EMMMM …….. WELL WE CANT LIVE WITHOUT YOU AP

• paxter (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 2:20 am

meh… applied for travel-working visa in the uk di, f**k this g.

• paxter (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 2:24 am

ever since the elections, the g has been in flip flop mode… its ok screw them, they are undoing themselves anyway. Country really needs to be reformated, trash the viruses, and trojans, only way i see that happening is getting rid of the gov. Malaysia For Republic! Time to bring out the guillotine

• raverus (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 9:17 am

……so that they would be able to stand on their own without relying on APs anymore,” explained Minister of International Trade and Industry Muhyiddin Yassin.

WOW, AND THEY ARE USING HELICOPTERS TO TRAVEL AROUND? POOR MALAYSIANS, FUEL HIKE YET HAVE TO PAY FOR CRAPPY APS IN ORDER TO FEED BUAYAS.

• I my (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 9:27 am

I think in 10 years time the G/ our country will be in chp 11.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 9:33 am

Since some of us voted these people into power, is there any way to take ’em out? So depressing to have to wait another 10-11 years. By then so many cars to buy already. Beemer bukak atap for me, Escalade for the wife, Scirocco for the boy, Mk8 Gti for the girls… cannot start saving if cars now too expensive.

Since we voted for them, they should do as we tell them to, innit… well, thats exactly what they’re not doing, thinking they’re smarter than us. New G in three years time only, why announce AP for next ten years, makes no sense. Or, is there udang sebalik batu here…

No more artificial prices. These ministers must do as they’re told! THEY WORK FOR US.

• a18 (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 12:11 pm

am wondering our G. or Ministers read any of d Rakyat comments here or in others Forum….???

how wud them feel???

• lchan (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 2:37 pm

You think they read or can read? If they do, just want to let them know they are a bunch of dumbf**k monkeys.

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 2:53 pm

the AP will be abolish in 10 years time or on 2010? kinda confuse..
    someone reply me~
    I’m getting a car soon..

• n8cky (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 2:59 pm

lol..kinda joke..mayb the Sg/ other countries ministry laughing out loud now in their offices~
    Joke Joke joke

• superookie (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 4:53 pm

I just wish other countries apply AP and high import tax only for proton cars.. see how proton fail..

The G Mission = suck rakyat cash every single drop..

• dota (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 9:59 pm

AP will be abolish in 10 years time or on 2010? kinda confuse..
    someone reply me~
    I’m getting a car soon..
    n8cky said,
    hei i think the G will stop the ap end 2010 or early 2011after their ready to get in afta you should be patient and wait

• kruzer (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 1:13 am

Both PM and DPM had issued ‘never mind’ & ‘tidak apa’ statements in the past with respect to the NAP. It doesn’t hurt them to repeat this same statement.
    The only person who is affected is the commoner… but to them, tidak apa lah, as long as good friends (cronies) are well taken care of.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 1:47 am

haha. u got to be kidding me. the ap system is more than an ‘extra’ income….its a billionaire creating machine. creates billionaires out of thin air. first the import tax or excise duty your car. and now u have to pay more for the ap. while they save some cash by revoking fuel subsidy.

sad part is when the country falls apart….these cronies will just head to thier overseas mansions and ski resorts and live the high life with cash to last them generations.

just when i thought things were getting better and the country was heading towards meritocracy….the government goes and turns you around 180 degrees.

pathetic. pathetic people.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 2:43 pm

stupid government
    AP HOLDERS = DOG FUCKING PEDOPHILIC FAGGOTS = Malaysian Minister of International Trade and Industries = Muhyiddin Yassin

• the man (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 10:40 pm

hehhehe…this MITI new guy thought that the AP will last 10~11 years. think again my ‘friend’….even your position will in doubt this coming September….PKR Rules….of course rakyat like us understand the need to increase petrol price, but to maintain car price with all AP, non tariff barrier f**cking thing….no way man…..even people will think 100 times to buy 3.8L twin turbo nissan GTR with the increasing fuel price that may reach to rm 5 per liter, but we deserved the affordable to have decent new technology fuel saving car like prius or honda civic hybrid that can save our usage of petrol….just can’t wait to see the new malaysia order….free from stupid crony and and barrier….

• vicky68 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 12:49 pm

BN guys really don’t think for public. The AP really a failure in the entire system. Still want to use for another 10 years. Only short sided people having this kind of idea. Ask them read some article publish on globalization and cost structure.