NAP under review, possible changes end-2008

Minister of International Trade and Industry Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has announced that his ministry will begin a review of the National Automotive Policy and if any changes are deemed necessary to increase the competitiveness of the Malaysian automotive industry, it will table the changes to the Cabinet before the end of 2008.

“A lot of issues need to be tackles as some areas have not been clearly specified under the policy. Industry players are not happy as the National Automotive Policy is more protective towards national cars,” said the minister. He also recently admitted that billions of ringgit worth of investment have been lost to other countries over the years as a result of policies that were not proactive.

NAP policies also seem susceptible to flipflopism, with the stand on automotive grey import permits being “no new open APs” at one moment and “new open APs issued for testing purposes” in another.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mattyboy (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 4:18 pm

How to kill the motor industry until a further announcement is made! Things like this should not be released until they are going to be implemented, who in their right mind would purcahse an imported car from now until a firm decision is made?

• I my (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 4:24 pm

haha… tock tock.. just take out the APs lah.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 4:40 pm

CHEAP CARS..NO MORE IMPORT TAXES PLEASE

• redwings (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 5:01 pm

Agreed with Mattyboy, no point brought up this issue…talk only no action. Just give the consumer high only….

They have been doing the talking and talking for so long…see what they have done the AP…They are greedy…, sigh…

• blaze (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 5:04 pm

Okay old cows, time to get shot!!! New cows please get ready!!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 5:14 pm

No one wants to invest in Malaysia for long term because Malaysia doesn’t have a long term plan!

Mitsubishi doesn’t even want to do CKD, likewise Chevrolet (Daewoo), Renault, Citroen, etc.

India has a 2006-2016 Ten Year Automotive Mission Plan to ensure India becomes an automotive hub for the region. I humbly suggest our politicians take a look into it. Policies on duties, emissions, fuel quality, type approvals, seatbelt policies, airbags, etc. need to be clearly mentioned.

http://www.dhi.nic.in/draft_automotive_mission_plan.pdf

Sudden changes like the gazetted prices, requirement for Type Approval, NAP, etc. were all done without prior warning or proper grace period to manufacturers.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 5:18 pm

I think more cronies will get new AP’s. :-) This will definately be the new policy. Don’t have to wait.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 5:49 pm

APs are one thing but more importantly is the overall picture and the points which I mentioned above. The wholistic overview of the entire auto industry and where Malaysia wants to be, the direction its heading in, what does DOE, JPJ and the Govt. actually want? They should put it in writing so that automotive companies can plan.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 5:52 pm

i don’t trust anything that G announce anymore… they’ll lie at the end of the day (flip-flop system)…. plus a smile on their face like nothing had been said before…

hey, if the most powerfull person in this country can lie, imagine the bilis2 ones…

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 6:32 pm

one announcement after another. these guys can lie through their teeth. what have they done to promote a fair and level playing field? in the past years, they were clamoring for proton’s protection. now they have lost a huge majority in the parliamentary seats. this seems like a desperate attempt to pull back votes. you think they will do it? i mean actually do something for the non-local players who have big bags to invest? to me it seems like nothing more than hot air.

i totally agree with all you guys. all talk and no action.

• ly60 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 6:44 pm

Now only G are talking. The automotive policy in Thailand already enter 2nd phase. Here, the G extend the AP’s policy for another 10 years. So what the automotive policy are talking about. Even if the G are talking, i totally agree with all you guys – NO ACTION AND TALK ONLY.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 7:37 pm

when NAP comes out, you finish reading that article, has no value at all. Just a long text of nothingness. Now gov suffer, just so that can let proton survive, go loose all kinds of contracts

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 8:11 pm

redwings said,
    July 15, 2008 @ 5:01 pm

Agreed with Mattyboy, no point brought up this issue…talk only no action.

lowprofile said,
    July 15, 2008 @ 6:32 pm

i totally agree with all you guys. all talk and no action.
    —————————————————————-
    Yes!! NO ACTION TALK ONLY!!! SAY MY NAME EVERYBODY!!

• mattyboy (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 8:42 pm

Ok, here is my idea for a plan that could work and be a winner for everyone involved – the G, the people, foreign car companies and even the national cars.

Here goes – locally assembeled CKD cars enjoy that same level playing field as national cars when it comes to tax but ONLY if they export 50% of what they produce.

That would force the car makers to use Malaysia as an assembly point not just for the local market but for ASEAN as a whole (so the G wins with the investment and the people with jobs), if they choose not to then their cars will still be taxed heavily (G wins again as do P1 and P2)

Now to me that just seen like a really simple plan that works for everyone, you can even make the 50% rise to 75% over time.

Anyone think of a reason why that would not be workable?

• David9988 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 10:56 pm

I want the import tax to be abolished but replaced by a vehicle tax that is applicable to all cars( including proton). However, an additional import tax should be imposed on cbu units to encourage foreign car manufacturers to build factories here. Abolishing taxes altogether for cars would have devastating consequences on the economy. And i do not want to see more cars on the roads just because it has become more affordable.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:44 pm

Tipuuuuuuuu la….

• delos3nos (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 11:45 pm

for those who make money from AP will find a way to stop the AP been abolish.
    so do u think the AP will be abolish? Looks like we are smarter then the gov cuss they puppet by cronies. Well people if AP abolish then it have been long gone already so its not going to go its will stay.

LONG LIVE AP KING
    THE AP WILL NEVER GO PEOPLE its too difficult to let GO.
    But you can dream

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:04 am

Yawwnn… Greed will never ends, even until the person died his family legacy will also continue the greed also… T.T

Want fair AP, open too all and not just a few…

• rajtheboss (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:12 am

NAP need to be revised immediately to revise which are fully in favour of proton. Until today we can see that proton unable to produce world standard car despite many protection and fund given n our true malaysian support given.

Still producing low quality in car in terms of technology and material quality

• csv (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:37 am

NATO. NO ACTION, TALK ONLY.

unless i see things done, i know they’re probably bullshitting inside the meeting room, or sodomizing each other. hahaha.

anyway, remove AP system, no penalty for us anymore, death of P1 and P2, cheaper cars on the roads, less tax for imports, and market rate for fuel to counter the effects.

this are what alot of people want. wonder if they’ll do it.

nah…..too happy counting money, who cares about the rakyat!?

• adil2008 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 1:55 am

ai yoh, before end 2008, until 2020 still remain unchage, forget it, dont proposed before act, act it, then announced, ok.

• pippen (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 5:09 pm

even if the G now realized that the country has no future, Thailand has been setup and running for the Toyota, Mazda plan worth over 100millions. Now only the G want to do that? Let’s stop buying any cars until the Potong cronis close down. The G like always think doing the talking can change the world or the country. God bless Msia. The globalisation has been eating up Msia if you dont realized, and we are too late to react already.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 7:58 pm

this country is dead, long live the ap kings, bloody ap kings and queens faggots

• hamster (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 11:05 am

NAP = No Action Policy

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 12:34 pm

he might have nothing to show since become the MITI minister (does he have any?), so harped on NAP review since its an issue that truly piss off many malaysian and potential foreign investor.

its clear plain stupid and downright humilating (at least in rakyat heart) for Malaysia as the biggest passenger car market in ASEAN to witness all the relevant FDI and setting up of manufacturing hub for passenger cars is in Thailand (and Indonesia is picking up now).
    More so when its getting bigger and up to the point of no return. When majority of car manufacturers, part suppliers, vendors etc are in Thailand, there is no point or synergy for investment in Malaysia.

Malaysia need to buckle up its manufacturing sector. It contribute little to the economy nowadays. We cant rely on income from O&G tax. Do that for a few years more and the future gonna be bleak.

So now Malaysia look Thailand not only with red-envy-eyes but pure embarrassment. To rub salt to the wound, the fact is.. Thailand is in long-drawn-out political turmoil of its own since thaksin been kickout (fews years already) but the automotive FDI keep coming in….. thats how idiotic and ‘dengkel’ our NAP is.

Malaysia NAP just confirm and reaffirm foreign investors is not welcome. Its like the best-case-scenario news for Thailand (and corrupt AP Kings, cronies and more importantly shadowy AP King’s Master a.k.a. the real AP KING). This echelon might exist.. Who knows?

I bet Thailand could not believe their eyes and ears when NAP was officially annonced back then. For AP King and their Master, perhaps its a non-event.. they might be the shadow behind the NAP. Possibilities are abundant.

His words look more like step to gain favour with the public (for what?). konon-konon good news la.. Its not qualified to be trusted as a Government announcement. Beside nobody, nobody trust anything from the politician anymore. More like another b*llsh*t lip service..

• torque (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 7:39 pm

A cow that can bullsh*ting…imagine that…what a sight!!

• og?oszenia towarzyskie on Dec 27, 2011 at 10:36 pm

Only desire to express your main commentary is just as outrageous. The entire understanding inside of your publish is exactly really good and i can easily think you’re an experienced about this content. Ok with your own concur i can to grab your feed to have just updated that includes next information. Appreciation millions of and you need to maintain the particular gratifying operate.