Cars used in the Bond movie Quantum of Solace

OlgaI just caught the latest installment in the James Bond universe – the Quantum of Solace over the weekend. I’m abit disappointed that the sexy Aston Martin DBS did not get much screentime other than an initial heated car chase scene.

Instead, Bond goes on to drive a few SUVs from the Ford group of marques, though the makers did try to “balance” them out with a fuel efficient small car.

Let’s have a look at the cars of the Quantum Solace.

Aston Martin DBS

The Aston Martin DBS replaces the Vanquish V12 as the new flagship of the marque. The GT is powered by a 6.0 litre V12 engine producing 510 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 569Nm of torque at 5,750rpm. It also had carbon ceramic disc brakes, which is a first for a road-going Aston Martin.

Everyone probably looked forward to seeing this in action the most. It’s expected really, since the DBS is pure Aston Martin design language, which is possibly the sexiest of all with all the right curves and lines in all the right places. Plus the DBS was also first revealed to the public in Casino Royale (though they were actually reskinned DB9s), and only made a public physical appearance a year later at Pebble Beach 2007.

The vehicles in the Bond movie is probably a deal with Ford, so I suspect the Aston Martin DBS got KO-ed so early because Aston Martin is no longer part of the Ford group. The movie opens with a car chase scene with plenty of flying bullets, and Bond in the DBS is being chased by delicious-looking Alfa 159s. The 159s end up getting wrecked of course, that’s not even a spoiler as it’s so predictable.

Alfa Romeo 159

While we have to be content here with Sime Darby Auto Connexxion still flogging the 156 (though the 159 is promised soon), its successor has been on sale since 2005, long enough for the producers of Quantum of Solace to buy a few and destroy them in a heated car chase scene in Italy.

The 159 is available in both front wheel drive and Q4 all-wheel drive configuration, with the top of the line being the JTS Q4 powered by a 3.2 litre V6 engine putting out 260 PS at 6,200rpm and 322Nm of torque, though most Europeans may opt for the 2.4 JTDM turbodiesel with 210 PS and 400Nm of torque instead.

Jaguar Daimler Double-Six

Villain Dominic Greene (apparently inspired by Nicolas Sarkozy and Tony Blair) sometimes rides in a big Daimler Double-Six whenever he’s bored of his silent hydrogen fuel cell vehicles. Greene Planet for a “Greener” planet, he says?

Range Rover Sport

This is one of the two SUVs featured in the movie, but this one’s powered by a regular combustion engine, and a powerful one at that. The Range Rover Sport isn’t just a Range Rover with a powerful engine, its actually a completely different and smaller vehicle based on the Discovery.

It’s powered by a 390 PS 4.2 litre Jaguar V8 supercharged engine, though a normally aspirated version was also previous available but since dropped due to lack of popularity. It’s also rather infamous – it seems that it was made a target of Greenpeace protests in 2005 because it was such an inefficient vehicle.

The Range Rover is piloted by a certain “Miss Fields” and later by Bond.

Ford Ka

Ford Ka

The Ford Ka is the Bond Girl’s car. Olga Kurylenko plays Camille, the leading lady picks Bond up in her golden Ford Ka – who wants to bet a special edition will be sold by Ford in a similiar golden paint in a movie tie-up? A similiar scene is repeated later in a classic Volkswagen Beetle… I’m pretty sure Volkswagen didn’t pay for that!

The Ka is even smaller than the Ford Fiesta and in its original iteration it was truly low-cost in the sense that Ford even resorted to using a 1.3 litre Ford Kent pushrod engine under its hood. The new Ka has Italian origins – its based on Fiat Panda/500 underpinings and uses modern petrol and diesel engines.

Volvo S40

Volvo S40

Bond drives a Volvo S40 rental car in Austria. The facelifted Volvo S40 was recently launched in Malaysia in locally assembled form and offers European premium motoring at a price of under RM200,000. Though it’s one size smaller, those considering Japanese 2.4 litre D-segment cars but don’t really need the space should consider it.

Ford Edge powered by Hydrogen

Ford Edge Hydrogen

The Ford Edge is a crossover SUV but no real hydrogen-powered version of it currently exists, though Ford has announced a “HySeries Drive” version that combines electric drive powered by either an on-board hydrogen fuel cell or lithium ion batteries that have plug-in charging capabilities.

In the movie, the Edge is part of a fleet of green vehicles owned by the villain’s company Greene Planet. Bond ends up driving one of these, and this just so happens to take place in a desert where the fuel cell’s pure water exhaust would be most appreciated.

So what’s your favourite vehicle in the movie, and what did you think of the movie? My favourite is of course the Aston Martin DBS and I didn’t think any of the other cars had very much of a stage presence except for the Range Rover Sport.

Bond Girl

Bond Girl

PHOTO GALLERY: Aston Martin DBS
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:144]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 10:08 pm

My personal fav, Ford Ka
    Such a cutey!

• RacingCELL (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 10:36 pm

Paul, there’s typing error on line 21, “The movie opens with a car chase scene with plenty of flying bullets, and Bond in the DBS is being chased by delicious-looking Aston Martin 159s.” Should be Alfa Romeo 159 rite.

• ragnahse (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Olga Kurylenko….

tats my favorite car in the movie…hehe….

tat aside….its got to be the dbs..a manual dbs sumore..awesome driving skills..but te movie plot is a dull though…n they didnt tell till te end about te evil organization…arghhh

• harsher (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:34 pm

the last photo… the rear wheel looks… fitted terbalik?

• ignas (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:47 pm

Olga Kurylenko….zzz

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:47 pm

There is still a Volvo S40 in the movie which u have missed out…

• ignas (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:50 pm

she was brutally killed in max payne lol.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:57 pm

That Romeo 159 looks so Perdana. Haha.

• knight_templar (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:59 pm

There is another Alfa, i may be mistaken here. When Bond goes to meet Mathis (the guy from the Casino Royale) for help, there is a car parked in front of his villa. I think it may be an Alfa Giulietta or Veloce, Im not sure. Thx Paul, I was wishing you’d do this piece.

• Infinitt (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:03 am

Last photo the best hehe..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:08 am

Where is the VW beetle?!? I tot the bond girl also driven it to fetch bond right?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 12:09 am

I mean picture.. hehe..

• csv (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 1:03 am

aston martin forever man.

it’s the itineration of a gentlemen’s sports car.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:32 am

yes theres a volvo s40 and this 007 movie sucked so bad compared to casino royale. everything is so rushed and i guess they have milked every ian fleming plots. too much action with no plots! not even smart like casino royale

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 7:16 am

The 159s were so sexy in the movie man… and the Aston too… real pity it was so short… I was expecting it to be the climax or something. And yeah, spotted the bug too, nice touch there… :)

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 8:15 am

159 look so perdana? come on la….then alfa romeo designer have to reevaluate their design lor……sigh….

• jehutyz (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 8:37 am

Seriously Ford Ka is the best in the movie.
    So sad for the AM DBS

• droll (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 8:43 am

omg, those legs…..those leegsss….my eyes….!!

• Hikaru (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:00 am

As I always said, the modern day James Bond are nothing more than a salesperson, thinking he has a license to kill……

Not just cars that are being sold by him, TV, phones, and even touch ‘n’ go cards……Not that i hate him or anything but it gets annoying (especially when you just want a regular T’n’G card, unless is ogla which in case is fine).

The bottom line is James Bond = Sold out

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:54 am

In the movie. I think the Ford KA is an electronic car. I don’t hear any engine sound but electric motor sound inside. I doubt it’s running a hybrid engine or full electric motor.

Btw, wasted for the Aston Martin, just appear awhile and it crushed like hell. Lost its door summore. But who cares? Bond don’t care either. Money not a problem to them.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 1:54 pm

i prefer the bmw days of bond. or the triumph in dr.no

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:50 pm

The only reason I’m clicking this website is that beautiful Olga Kurylenko wearing that black-short skirt-dress… :P~~~~~~ (meleleh air liur beb)….

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 4:27 pm

DBS………………. sleek design…………………….

• szw (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:34 pm

disappointed with the amount of time of the car being on screen…

• chrtien (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 9:35 pm

You forgot the Nissan Bluebird taxi that Bond, Mathis and Miss Fields rode around in…!!!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:06 am

SY0H said,

November 17, 2008 @ 2:50 pm

The only reason I’m clicking this website is that beautiful Olga Kurylenko wearing that black-short skirt-dress… :P~~~~~~ (meleleh air liur beb)….
    ———————————-
    thats nothing, i saw her nude in HITMAN!!!!

• i dont thing that 159's can handle AM DB9. Maybe because of road; it goes up and it's a lot of turns, and than quarry… But it stil have 4wheal drive so,.. KA is so sexy. It is like created for OK.

• Arslan on Dec 12, 2009 at 11:25 am

Range Rover Sport and Aston Martin r ma most favrt 4ever.