RON95 is coming soon, are you prepared?

Fuel Wallet GaugeSo, has anyone tried out the RON95 fuel with their cars at the stations in Putrajaya yet? I have yet to try it out on my cars. I know some of you who have been happily using RON92 perfectly all this while must be a little miffed by having to pay a little more money unnecessarily for a better octane grade that you don’t require. But the introduction of RON95 replacing RON92 will be beneficial for those who have cars that support RON95 and have so far been paying a small premium for the jump between 95 and 97.

First of all I think it’s necessarily to clear some misconceptions between the levels of fuel grades available in Malaysia. First of all, all petrol sold at consumer pumps in Malaysia are unleaded. This includes the current RON92, and the upcoming RON95. There are only a few stations that sell RON92 in Malaysia due to low demand. Some petrol stations like Shell sell Shell Regular RON92 at some stations which are usually stations that used to be Projet stations in the past. These stations do not sell V-Power. Only some Petronas stations sell a “red” Prima 92 alongside their Primax 3 which is RON97. The problem is with the usage of a red instead of green colour for RON92 fuel, which leads consumers to believe RON92 is leaded fuel. Stations like BHPetrol and Caltex sell RON92 and RON97 consistently at every station.

Secondly, fuel octane does not necessarily represent fuel quality. All petrol come from the same if not similiar base supply. Most of the time it is the additive package that is mixed together with the fuel that determines whether fuel performs better than another. Shell Super and Shell V-Power Racing are both RON97, but V-Power Racing uses a different additive mix. Companies like BHPetrol and Caltex use identical additive packages for both their RON92 and RON97 products, and furthermore BHPetrol actually mixes 800ppm which is double the recommended amount of additives of 400ppm by their supplier into their fuel.

These additive packages can contain ingredients such as detergents to clean your engine, or friction modifiers to help reduce friction between the various engine components that are being flung around at such high speeds and temperatures.

What you need to do is find out whether your car can run on RON95 or not. This information should be available in your car’s manual or on a sticker near your fuel flap. I wrote to Proton and they claim that all Proton cars should be able to run fine on RON95 except some older carburetor cars, which need an ignition timing adjustment fix. You may want to contact your Proton service center to see if they can do this adjustment for you before you start to fill up with RON95. This is so that you can avoid any damage no matter how little or significant caused by knocking due to insufficient fuel octane.

And then of course there will be some of you who will decide to continue to use the more expensive RON97. In fact some companies which offer both a regular and premium RON97 product now may decide to discontinue the regular RON97. Which brings us to another matter…

I would like to request a favour from you dear readers – if you have the free time to answer a short survey consisting of less than 10 yes or no (including a few A or B) answers. It should not take you more than 3 minutes. The questions revolve around your thoughts on the type of fuel grades in Malaysia.

Please take a fuel survey?

At the end of the survey you will also be asked if you would like to participate in a fuel product test, where selected respondents will be given a free tankful of a new fuel in exchange for your opinion on how the new fuel feels like. If you would like to help further, please also spread the word and let everyone know about the survey – the more data obtained, the most accurate the results will be. Thank you so much!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i expect priced at 1.50 per litre…hehe

• and then baru boleh pangkah dacing in next lection

• nmh , so senang can win back ur heart . hahaha …

i accidently pumped in RON92 in my gen2, which is supposed to run ron95 and above. well , normal town driving still nothing much different. except uphill.

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2009 at 9:43 am

Hi lo, what happens when you drive it uphill?

• Paul Tan on Jun 08, 2009 at 9:47 am

I know other than the key question of whether there is knocking or not, some people claim to experience differences in performance such as less or more mileage or even difference in power levels or smoothness when pumping RON92 and RON97. This could be due to a worn engine, or the differences in additive packages.

It should be interesting to compare whether BHP and Caltex RON92 and RON97 feel any different on a new engine since they claim the additive package used is exactly the same between the two octane grades.

• infinity on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:13 am

Paul, i understand that most cars are claimed to be able to run on RON95 petrol, and i am sure that it will operate smoothly if it is new and RON95 is used from the very beginning.

However, what about old cars. For example, my dad's wira 1.6xli has been using RON97 petrol for 14years. will it be alright to change it to RON95 right away? or do i need to use octane booster for some time for the engine to "familiarise" with RON95?

thanks!

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:31 am

WHY it's soo hard for the current government to see that the PR is on the rise because they make promises that POPULAR to the PEOPLE.

Hiking the fuel price IS NOT POPULAR! Can't you, you, the current government see… NOT HIKING THE PRICE WILL MAKE YOU POPULAR? And not to mention REDUCING IT!

STOP comparing us to another countries… because we DON'T VOTE AT THAT COUNTRIES, we vote here, IN MALAYSIA!

We dont mind about you protecting P1 or P2 because those GLCs are providing people with thousand and thousand of JOBs… but even those people in jobs are going TO BE AFFECTED if you hike the fuel price at the current time where there's NO ALTERNATIVE FUEL!

You can charge up to RM5 per litre for all we care if there's an alternative that cheap & practical but currently WE DO NOT!

But please remember, there are ALTERNATIVE PARTY. People dont give a toss whether they CAN DELIVER OR NOT, they WILL put them into administration TO SEE FOR THEMSELVES. If that doesn't work out, people MAYBE vote you into government AGAIN…But smart people knows this process going to take what… 4? 8? or 12 YEARS?

So BE SMART… BE POPULAR NOW! Not just until the election! You don't get married tomorrow but only today you go out to tackle a girl, do you?

It's simple math, really. A win-win situation. You make popular decision to the people, and YOU ARE POPULAR to the PEOPLE.

A little hint, necessities now are not only food or water… FUEL is consider necessity until there's a cheap & accessible alternative energy in the open market.

There's a saying… to win a customer it takes a long time (4/5 years?) but to lost a customer it can happen in blink of an eye… something to think about.

Rgds,

• bmpower on Jun 08, 2009 at 11:01 am

actually.. i'm a kind of don't care much what ron im using.

I just pay, pump the usually green nozzle one.

that's all.

• hi paul ,

on normal city driving, there is nothing much different.

but once u drive uphill, u will the rev is struggling to chunk out torque or power, i would say a significant one, it feels like in the wrong gear while going up hill.

overtaking i would say the power isn't that bad, it is sluggish but it is very significant if u are driving up hill .

• ambipur on Jun 08, 2009 at 12:35 pm

will old cars be able to use the Ron95?

am using a 1974 lancer. carb of course, as a daily work commuter, problem is using ron97 for a couple of months made my car sluggish, very hard early morning cold starts and overall underpowered. changed back to ron92 and everything went back to normal as it was.

is Ron95 going to give me problems?

sad to let go of a good car if the fuel wont do well with it.

• CocoBear on Jun 08, 2009 at 1:28 pm

Good info from Paul Tan. RON 92 makes the car 'feels' heavy and gave me bad mileage. Need to rev higher n longer to change gear…

Damn it, I hate de la Rosa. The useless F1 driver in McLaren last time. Always rosak!

• akupalau on Jun 08, 2009 at 3:21 pm

I already using RON95 as I work in Cyberjaya and I just try it. I'm driving the Proton Saga and from what I can see from using RON95 is not much different. The power is still the same like RON97. Event when I calculate the mileage using the RON95 is the same with RON97 around 360 this is driving from my home SK to Cyber and to Putrajaya or Bangi.

• Salamander on Jun 08, 2009 at 3:25 pm

Im using 98 iswara carburator and last week I pump up these primax 95 (RON 95) for full tank. So far I dont hear any serious knocking from the engine.Overall its working fine so far, already done 350KM mileage and still have half bar of petrol left at the indicator.

• don't be eaten up by good promises!! what u can do with promises ?? put into administrtation and see?? prevention is better than cure. The price of fuels are not that high!! They are many things that the current government have done for the people.. and you only want to focus on this matter?

• EP Teh on Jun 08, 2009 at 4:02 pm

Just refer to your form 5 chemistry chapter 2, RON 92 contain 92 % octane and 8 % heptane while RON 97 contain 97% octane and 3 percent heptane. Means the lower the RON number, the more powerful the fuel would be. New car can use lower RON due to low carbon deposition and thus discourage knocking. Old car must use high octane fuel. This is not rocket science and I wonder why everybody seems confused.

• RS Raichand on Jun 08, 2009 at 4:26 pm

[quote comment="243570"]don't be eaten up by good promises!! what u can do with promises ?? put into administrtation and see?? prevention is better than cure. The price of fuels are not that high!! They are many things that the current government have done for the people.. and you only want to focus on this matter?[/quote]

I don't think you understand Calvin's intention. Read it again, he or she actually making a lot of sense and i believe he or she tipping the gov instead of bashing em'.

• like it or not, v still need to pump it at d prevailing price.

v hv no choice but to accept.

• B16a VTEC& 4G92 on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:13 pm

[quote comment="243559"]will old cars be able to use the Ron95?

am using a 1974 lancer. carb of course, as a daily work commuter, problem is using ron97 for a couple of months made my car sluggish, very hard early morning cold starts and overall underpowered. changed back to ron92 and everything went back to normal as it was.

sad to let go of a good car if the fuel wont do well with it.[/quote]

Certain old car will have to adjust the ignition timing (the distributer) to suit the new RON95 oil and some will not be able to cater higher RON rating fuel. Just like my auntie old 1980 Toyota corolla station wagon (work car) which only runs on Regular RON92. When tried on the RON97 the car engine hard to start in the cold morning and temperature noticable a little higher in the hot afternoon and the petrol indicator goes hairwire and show "E" empty even already fill…. Thought that the fuel tank sensor faulty, we try to switch back to RON92 regular from Shell and everything back to normal.

However in my state, there is no RON95 to test on it…

• Littlefire on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:39 pm

[quote comment="243570"]don't be eaten up by good promises!! what u can do with promises ?? put into administrtation and see?? prevention is better than cure. The price of fuels are not that high!! They are many things that the current government have done for the people.. and you only want to focus on this matter?[/quote]

Fuel is the main driving cause of price rising on the market…

First of all, do you believe those hawkers and transportation will not raise their fee once Ron97 shoot up to RM2? Even now floor, sugar and a few subsidize material have been put loose.. I have been seeing hawker waiting for September to raise their price at least 20sen above… Even we driver have a choice of paying Ron95, but did the Business people think like that?!?

You have to see the domino effect, not only to drivers only! But it involves a lot of area! Welcome to Boleh land..

• viva 850 can run ron95? 0.o? the car is already under-powered :(

• slum in bolehland on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:28 pm

i have try ron95 in crv 97 tht is my car so far very smooth.

no any extra mileage or what so ever…

all depend on ur driving style…

• RS Raichand on Jun 08, 2009 at 6:54 pm

[quote comment="243593"][quote comment="243570"]don't be eaten up by good promises!! what u can do with promises ?? put into administrtation and see?? prevention is better than cure. The price of fuels are not that high!! They are many things that the current government have done for the people.. and you only want to focus on this matter?[/quote]

First of all, do you believe those hawkers and transportation will not raise their fee once Ron97 shoot up to RM2? Even now floor, sugar and a few subsidize material have been put loose.. I have been seeing hawker waiting for September to raise their price at least 20sen above… Even we driver have a choice of paying Ron95, but did the Business people think like that?!?

You have to see the domino effect, not only to drivers only! But it involves a lot of area! Welcome to Boleh land..[/quote]

I agree with you… contrary to believe, retailers actually always welcome price hike. Even thought the upcoming RON95 is 5 cent cheaper than current 1 liter RON97… most likely they will raise the goods price base on the RM2 RON97.

For example, this stall in gurney drive, raised my fav plain Char Kway Teow from RM3.50 to .RM4.20 to match the last big hiked in fuel price! I mean come on… do they transport kway teow piece by piece from factory to the stall??

Even let say flour per kilo raised by 30 cent… you DONT use ONE KILOGRAM FLOUR TO MAKE ONE PLATE CHAR KWAY TEOW!

• Wilfred on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:02 pm

[quote comment="243593"][quote comment="243570"]don't be eaten up by good promises!! what u can do with promises ?? put into administrtation and see?? prevention is better than cure. The price of fuels are not that high!! They are many things that the current government have done for the people.. and you only want to focus on this matter?[/quote]

You have to see the domino effect, not only to drivers only! But it involves a lot of area! Welcome to Boleh land..[/quote]

Exactly got what you mean….and this is the thing i most worry about…

Business is business, and in malaysia, a lot business just like our std BeEnd Gov, con people to make rich.

there could be likely, they use RON95, then they gonna cry to you and say, our transport is not working well with RON95, hence we stuck with RON97, so we got no choice, and in real world they actually make use of RON95

so they make more with that margin, in the end, general public lose all!!!

• Sorry off topic here.

That is more like demand justify supplies value, if you think the price is too much to accept, don't dine there at all, it might not be able to get the effect instantly, but if everyone think the same way, that will affect their sales some how or rather. Or they may just end up with more Singaporean tourist customers. LOL.

• leong on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:18 pm

FYI, not all BHP petrol sell RON92

• initial R on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:29 pm

[quote comment="243552"]WHY it's soo hard for the current government to see that the PR is on the rise because they make promises that POPULAR to the PEOPLE.

Hiking the fuel price IS NOT POPULAR! Can't you, you, the current government see… NOT HIKING THE PRICE WILL MAKE YOU POPULAR? And not to mention REDUCING IT!

STOP comparing us to another countries… because we DON'T VOTE AT THAT COUNTRIES, we vote here, IN MALAYSIA!

We dont mind about you protecting P1 or P2 because those GLCs are providing people with thousand and thousand of JOBs… but even those people in jobs are going TO BE AFFECTED if you hike the fuel price at the current time where there's NO ALTERNATIVE FUEL!

You can charge up to RM5 per litre for all we care if there's an alternative that cheap & practical but currently WE DO NOT!

But please remember, there are ALTERNATIVE PARTY. People dont give a toss whether they CAN DELIVER OR NOT, they WILL put them into administration TO SEE FOR THEMSELVES. If that doesn't work out, people MAYBE vote you into government AGAIN…But smart people knows this process going to take what… 4? 8? or 12 YEARS?

So BE SMART… BE POPULAR NOW! Not just until the election! You don't get married tomorrow but only today you go out to tackle a girl, do you?

It's simple math, really. A win-win situation. You make popular decision to the people, and YOU ARE POPULAR to the PEOPLE.

A little hint, necessities now are not only food or water… FUEL is consider necessity until there's a cheap & accessible alternative energy in the open market.

There's a saying… to win a customer it takes a long time (4/5 years?) but to lost a customer it can happen in blink of an eye… something to think about.

Rgds,[/quote]

If i hanve to choose Popular promises & Practical action i would choose practical action coz popular promises like "Tanam tebu di bibir". Practical action are the best even not popular but at least working on current situation. If u want became popular try became "ARTIS" sure popular. Price goods hike actually not coz of fuel hike but the Vendor are simply want it to rise not coz of cost of transportation but they want more profit. Let's say fuel hike 20 sen per liter but goods increase 30 sen to 80 sen per item. But when the fuel drop 50 sen per liter, the goods are still at same price even the fuel drop 3 to 4 month & they always give dam crap excuse. :)

• RS Raichand on Jun 08, 2009 at 7:34 pm

[quote comment="243612"][quote comment="243593"][quote comment="243570"]don't be eaten up by good promises!! what u can do with promises ?? put into administrtation and see?? prevention is better than cure. The price of fuels are not that high!! They are many things that the current government have done for the people.. and you only want to focus on this matter?[/quote]

Exactly got what you mean….and this is the thing i most worry about…

Business is business, and in malaysia, a lot business just like our std BeEnd Gov, con people to make rich.

there could be likely, they use RON95, then they gonna cry to you and say, our transport is not working well with RON95, hence we stuck with RON97, so we got no choice, and in real world they actually make use of RON95

so they make more with that margin, in the end, general public lose all!!![/quote]

I dont see this is a problem from a singular political party. Because this type of decision is made at the cabinet level… and cabinet is consist of BN, PR & Bebas. ALL political parties are the same. The bigger culprit here is the unreasonable business people.

U see that moving vans that sell foods during night time at banks? Do you think they have difficult life as us, average salary earner? I live/renting in this one housing area which the minimum house per unit is RM440,000.00! Guess what… he OWN the house, a corner house for that matter, together with one 5 series, a Honda Accord and a kancil. Not to mention the moving van lah.

What im trying to imply here is SOME people in businesses especially in food business are enjoying a hefty profit margin actually. Instead of absorbing a little hike in raw materials… what they do they INCREASE the PROFIT margin… and yet they depend on us to buy their foods.

I know NOT ALL business people are like this. We cant live without them, and they cant live without us. So please be reasonable and next time you want to increase any price, please think about us, the paying customer.

• Alan Wong on Jun 08, 2009 at 8:49 pm

I've been using Ron 92 on my Wira 1.5 Carbie Manual with no problems after retarding my ignition timing to 4 deg BTDC which is actually the specified advance timing as per Haynes Manual…

usually, those w'shop guys will set the car timing to 6 or 7 deg BTDC and that's why a carbie car will know like hell when using Ron 92…

of course, if you are using an in-line fuel catalyst like myself (eg. Fuel Cat), then the low end torque performance will be maintained when switching over to Ron 92….happy driving…

• nabill on Jun 08, 2009 at 9:40 pm

i think most Campro's wil definalty have knocking wen goin uphill….use can use..bt wont be optimum…

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:18 pm

[quote comment="243633"]I've been using Ron 92 on my Wira 1.5 Carbie Manual with no problems after retarding my ignition timing to 4 deg BTDC which is actually the specified advance timing as per Haynes Manual…

usually, those w'shop guys will set the car timing to 6 or 7 deg BTDC and that's why a carbie car will know like hell when using Ron 92…

of course, if you are using an in-line fuel catalyst like myself (eg. Fuel Cat), then the low end torque performance will be maintained when switching over to Ron 92….happy driving…[/quote]

Man, you were making a lot of sense until the last paragraph…there hasn't been any concrete evidence from any independent test centre that proves these work. Its more likely a combination of behaviour modification (Placebo, and self fulfilled prophecy ) if there are indeed fuel savings/performance…if any.

4 degrees BTDC is very very low. Its not so bad when low down on the RPM band (when you have load), but very weak up top. Most cars run up to 8 degrees BTDC (if you have electronic ignition, the car will run anywere from 8 -40 BTDC, even if you set base timing at 5 BTDC via the cam/crank angle sensor)

And on the subject of RON97, I feel that I knock less using V-power than regular Super. I'm sure Shell has some sort of additive package that increases its predetonation resistance. Maybe its not RON97 but higher but god knows why they didn't rate it higher (maybe some backdoor restriction…)

Regardless, I think its a lose-lose for both ends. Current 92 users will have to pay more but not fully utilize it, older cars will have to run the expensive RON97. There will be those lucky ones that can make the switch to 95 without much issues, but I believe some that can ill afford this, will end up running either 97 or have to detune the car.

Rich buggers that can afford new cars wont really care what they run as fuel is still relatively cheap.

Humans are habitual beings, once we are used to something we tend to do it over and over. Sure, most new cars can run 92/95, but if it wasn't optimum, the power loss only means one thing, you unconciously "tekan" more….hence some people reporting worst mileage, while those that accepts the power loss and don;t tekan more to make up for it don't show FC differences.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:26 pm

BTW, the last paragraph was for Paul's query on they people report different things swithing petrol grades.

It may also be likely that certain cars's engine management system will effect this.

Lets assume your car NEEDS 97, and you pump in 92. Car will still run since the Knock sensor will tell the ECM that you are knocking and do one of 2 things, retard timing (the more obvious one) or increase fueling (most ECMs arn't that advance yet – it's possible but I've not worked on any car that does that yet) via longer injector pulse.

• BabyBoomer on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:27 pm

jadi apa macam sekarang…banyak comment nampak…tujuan banyak banyak ni nak release tension jer ke…mana results? adakah kerajaan akan tukar fikran mereka setelah baca comment berbanyak ni?

• Wak Rempit on Jun 08, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Haiyoo… why so much noise? it is just fuel lar… why talk politics? Go to Malaysia Today etc for that topic… sigh

Most modern cars will run with this RON95, the difference are just efficiency and power. Just tune your ECM to the right settings and problems solved.

If you are using RON97 why bother?

• ambipur on Jun 08, 2009 at 11:00 pm

[quote comment="243586"][quote comment="243559"]will old cars be able to use the Ron95?

sad to let go of a good car if the fuel wont do well with it.[/quote]

Certain old car will have to adjust the ignition timing (the distributer) to suit the new RON95 oil and some will not be able to cater higher RON rating fuel. Just like my auntie old 1980 Toyota corolla station wagon (work car) which only runs on Regular RON92. When tried on the RON97 the car engine hard to start in the cold morning and temperature noticable a little higher in the hot afternoon and the petrol indicator goes hairwire and show "E" empty even already fill…. Thought that the fuel tank sensor faulty, we try to switch back to RON92 regular from Shell and everything back to normal.

However in my state, there is no RON95 to test on it…[/quote]

thanks for your reply there. sadly though there is no RON95 in my state to try also. just have to wait and see. surprisingly similar it will run well with only Shell Ron92.

• ilhadi on Jun 09, 2009 at 1:06 am

Erm… Anybody care to explain how come the goods price will go up when it is the PETROL price (not diesel) that will go up?

I thought most lorries & trains used to transport goods in Bolehland uses Diesel.

Are we taken for a ride as consumers?

Cheers.

• Daniel Dan (Member) on Jun 09, 2009 at 2:06 am

Train, moto … i like this

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 09, 2009 at 2:59 am

[quote comment="243657"]Erm… Anybody care to explain how come the goods price will go up when it is the PETROL price (not diesel) that will go up?

I thought most lorries & trains used to transport goods in Bolehland uses Diesel.

Cheers.[/quote]

damn good point

• gavin on Jun 09, 2009 at 3:09 am

Survey done, waiting if get free full tank fuel hahah

• bobdbilder on Jun 09, 2009 at 3:58 am

Get the same car filled with the stuff and put in on a dyno. Drain it and put the other stuff in. Make sure to do it at the same ambient temperature/ barometric pressure. You'll only know the difference on an analytical machine. No good to have it on a personal test with your butt dyno, as additives might make it feel smoother but not necessarily faster. Same thing happened when this UK mag did with Tesco 99, BP 102 and Shell V Power. There was not much difference in torque and power but definitely difference in price (UK lah ). Methinks Tesco got their supply from Fina.

• Miss Janet on Jun 09, 2009 at 4:20 am

[quote comment="243657"]Erm… Anybody care to explain how come the goods price will go up when it is the PETROL price (not diesel) that will go up?

Cheers.[/quote]

A simple example, corporation hired a bunch of funny people known as the Auditors which is mandatory by laws, these funny people mostly drive a petrol cars to clients' premises to carry out their jobs. So if petrol price up, calculative auditors sure increase Audit fee rite? So corporations also must push the extra audit fee into their 'product & services' costing.

• Edward on Jun 09, 2009 at 4:41 am

Why are people so anxious over RON 95. Go to BHPetrol, use 1/2 amount of Ron 97 and 1/2 amount of Ron 92 and you will get Ron 94.5. Fuel up a bit more of Ron 97 is you are scared. If you hear very slight tapping sound (normally in the high revs), stop driving in the high revs or if it is really bad, drain all fuel away. You can't use Ron 95. The end!

• That's not a survey, it's more like a open ended questioned-information provider.It's giving knowledge by asking question, like those in Museum/ Pusat Science Negara. Smart, so we knew it, as well buy it.

• [quote comment="243544"]I know other than the key question of whether there is knocking or not, some people claim to experience differences in performance such as less or more mileage or even difference in power levels or smoothness when pumping RON92 and RON97. This could be due to a worn engine, or the differences in additive packages.

It should be interesting to compare whether BHP and Caltex RON92 and RON97 feel any different on a new engine since they claim the additive package used is exactly the same between the two octane grades.[/quote]

Paul, I'm not much a Mechanis person. But I felt there's a difference in performance after I accidentally pump in the Ron92 last time. It does show obvious knocking, as well gave me the 'almost-stop-by-the-road-side' feeling. Probably the engine does not used to it. It did freaked me out with the 'proton-break-down-anytime-feeling'.

• Screw Proton and its on Jun 09, 2009 at 6:52 am

I'm always prepared because I dont drive a car like Proton, which has abundant problems when such issues like the octane levels are presented, thus, I would be sitting down at home, laughing my ass off at Proton fan boys who cry over their engine knocking all the time. Yes, I am a Proton basher and what are ya gonna do about it? Obscenities? Curses? Go ahead. Keep supporting Proton for its obvious flaws and reasons. :-D

• frossonice on Jun 09, 2009 at 6:59 am

Have been using RON95 for the past 2 weeks. No knocking so far. Heck, I can't even find any difference between RON95 and 97. Even the fuel consumption is almost the same.

I wish they price it cheaper.

• aliBaPa on Jun 09, 2009 at 7:03 am

international oil price increase again.

die, inflation again.

• DK Tai on Jun 09, 2009 at 7:08 am

if the RON95 din affect car performance then only consider. Else rather use RON97.

So will RON97 better than RON95 in terms of affecting car pick up, high speed cruising?

• [quote comment="243699"]I'm always prepared because I dont drive a car like Proton, which has abundant problems when such issues like the octane levels are presented, thus, I would be sitting down at home, laughing my ass off at Proton fan boys who cry over their engine knocking all the time. Yes, I am a Proton basher and what are ya gonna do about it? Obscenities? Curses? Go ahead. Keep supporting Proton for its obvious flaws and reasons. :-D[/quote]

who cares of u..lol

• RON 95 VS RON 97 on Jun 09, 2009 at 8:49 am

[quote comment="243689"]Why are people so anxious over RON 95. Go to BHPetrol, use 1/2 amount of Ron 97 and 1/2 amount of Ron 92 and you will get Ron 94.5. Fuel up a bit more of Ron 97 is you are scared. If you hear very slight tapping sound (normally in the high revs), stop driving in the high revs or if it is really bad, drain all fuel away. You can't use Ron 95. The end![/quote]

my friend always to this for his wira 1.3 VDO system, hahaha……..sometimes knocking occur but sometimes not…………don't not why………and sometimes feel very power but sometimes not……..very pelik…..

• BabyBoomer on Jun 09, 2009 at 9:24 am

[quote comment="243673"][quote comment="243657"]Erm… Anybody care to explain how come the goods price will go up when it is the PETROL price (not diesel) that will go up?

Cheers.[/quote]

damn good point[/quote]

ask the government la brother

• BabyBoomer on Jun 09, 2009 at 9:26 am

[quote comment="243714"][quote comment="243699"]I'm always prepared because I dont drive a car like Proton, which has abundant problems when such issues like the octane levels are presented, thus, I would be sitting down at home, laughing my ass off at Proton fan boys who cry over their engine knocking all the time. Yes, I am a Proton basher and what are ya gonna do about it? Obscenities? Curses? Go ahead. Keep supporting Proton for its obvious flaws and reasons. :-D[/quote]

who cares of u..lol[/quote]

I do agree with Screw Proton..n i do care..cz its MY hard earned money being cheated in anyway possible by G

• Encikkaripintar on Jun 09, 2009 at 2:35 pm

some say they 'hear' the knocking?

for God sake, how would you know you heard a knocking?

a knocking can happen once in a thousand of rpm, that's a fraction of a second. ppl does not invent knock sensor for nothing.

YOU CAN'T HEAR ENGINE KNOCKING.

• Encikkaripintar on Jun 09, 2009 at 2:42 pm

[quote comment="243714"][quote comment="243699"]I'm always prepared because I dont drive a car like Proton, which has abundant problems when such issues like the octane levels are presented, thus, I would be sitting down at home, laughing my ass off at Proton fan boys who cry over their engine knocking all the time. Yes, I am a Proton basher and what are ya gonna do about it? Obscenities? Curses? Go ahead. Keep supporting Proton for its obvious flaws and reasons. :-D[/quote]

you are the stupid one. even if you do own a Bimmer or else, you did not realise that your bloody non-local car is not readily suited to the fuel quality we had here. ever heard of failings of Bimmer engines due to the fuel does not qualify to euro4 qualities? i bet you don't, because you, my friend are too damn ignorant to do a study. you're just another short minded Malaysian.

Oh, did I mention about how the new city does not even have the same rigidity and crash properties of exterior fitments compared to our protons/perodua? you better check them up, although same materials and design principle or even the same vendor, ppl just dont bother, they are japanese makes, dont they? also the bumper color is not the same with the body, ppl do not bother either, wont they?

GROW UP!

• Expect the price hike everywhere…prepare to suffer the hike again…

• peroempat on Jun 09, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Off politics, THX God to give my car cheap petrol to save my pocket money. I am prays everyday. FMG

• squall_shinoda on Jun 09, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Increasing the RON97 petrol price is obviously a stupid move by the obviously stupid gov't. Don't they know that most older cars with carburetors are designed to run on RON97 even though these cars are not performance cars at all? And don't they know that most of these cars are still owned by the lower-income rakyat? And most important of all, don't they know that the price of Shell V-Power petrol has gone down from RM2.15 to RM2.05 per litre?

If the V-Power petrol price is expensive, ok fine I can still understand the rationale and the logics, as V-Power can be considered as a performance-oriented premium petrol. But if the V-Power petrol price is going down but at the same time the regular "green" petrol aka ROM97 petrol price is going up, it is totally unacceptable and of course it is a foolish way to cheat the rakyat. Cheating us is bad enough, but assuming the rakyat to be fooled so easily is neither forgivable nor acceptable – in fact, it is a bloody insult to the rakyat. No wonder why there are more Klang Valley residents voting for Pakatan Rakyat than the "dacing senget sebelah".

Tipu terus menipu, kita tipu Melayu… poor the rakyat, especially among the Malays, asyik kena tipu jer by the power-greedy Be End gov't…

• the price of the world oil to rise,

hope this not effected, since it profits the petronas

• squall_shinoda on Jun 09, 2009 at 5:45 pm

[quote comment="243745"]the price of the world oil to rise,

hope this not effected, since it profits the petronas[/quote]

Yes you're right, because the OPEC countries are planning to reduce the production and increase the global oil price… so they are indeed the "lintah darat", and the gov't is waiting for this news to increase the petrol price…

• initial R on Jun 09, 2009 at 6:31 pm

Tip Nak Jimat Minyak (kalau nak ikut le…. :)

1. Isi minyak sebelah malam, apabila cuaca sudah sejuk. Dikatakan isi minyak pada waktu malam, kurang gas dalam petrol atau diesel. Kandungan gas dikatakan banyak pada waktu siang yang panas, di mana setiap liter yang di isi pengguna akan rugi sebab haba petrol bercampur lebihan gas dalam kandungannya. Benar atau tidak berdasarkan pengalaman sendiri. Memang benar. Ada perbezaannya. Penggunaan petrol lebih lama bertahan jika di isi pada waktu malam.

2. Isikan minyak sehingga tangki penuh. Minyak atau petrol cepat habis jika ruang tangki banyak yang kosong. Benarnya tips ini memang ada. Minyak atau petrol akan meruap. Semakin besar ruang semakin banyak minyak atau petrol meruap. Petrol yang meruap tidak dapat dibakar oleh enjin. Dicadangkan juga penuhkan semula tangki apabila tangki separuh kosong. Jangan tunggu sehingga meter pada tanda "E" baru diisi. Semakin banyak ruang kosong semakin banyak petrol meruap, maka lebih cepat habis.

3. Bawa kereta dalam kelajuan yang tetap. Tidak terlalu laju dan tidak terlalu perlahan. 70 – 90 km sejam adalah bersesuaian. Pastikan anda mematuhi had laju dan pandu pada lorong yang sesuai. Semakin laju kereta, semakin minyak digunakan. Pandu secara perlahan pula menyebabkan beban pada kereta. Ini menyebabkan enjin tertekan dan menyebabkan banyak minyak digunakan.

4. Patuhi jadual penyelenggaraan kereta atau kenderaan anda. Enjin yang diselenggara akan berfungsi dengan baik dan lebih berkesan. Pada jangka masa yang tetap, gunakan bahan rawatan petrol. Ini bertujuan untuk cucian pada injap minyak agar tidak tersumbat. Pastikan penapis petrol diperiksa atau ditukarkan apabila perlu.

5. Angin tayar perlu sentiasa pada tahap tekanan yang disyorkan pada model kereta dan jenis tayar yang digunakan. Seminggu sekali periksa tekanan tayar. Penjagaan tayar yang baik memastikan cengkaman tayar yang sesuai dan pada jumlah jarak yang jauh nyata menjimatkan minyak.

6. Kerata sesuai untuk perjalanan yang jauh. Jika tempat yang dituju boleh berjalan kaki atau berbasikal, adalah baik melakukannya. Banyak minyak boleh dijimatkan tetapi keselamatan penting jika jalan dilalui gelap, sunyi dan diragui keselamatannya adalah lebih baik bawa kereta.

7. Jika boleh kurangkan penggunaan penghawa dingin. Perjalanan pagi atau malam yang sejuk tidak perlu penghawa dingin. Buka tingkap sedikit dan biarkan angin luar masuk. Awas jangan buka tingkap terlalu luas sehingga tangan dari luar boleh mencapain ke dalam dengan mudah.

8. Kurangkan beban kereta. Barang-barang yang tidak perlu dalam kereta perlu dikeluarkan. Semakin banyak beban semakin banyak tenaga dan minyak digunakan.

9. Pemanasan enjin selama 30 saat. Panaskan enjin selama 30 saat sahaja. Enjin kereta panas lebih berkesan semasa kereta bergerak. Memanaskan enjin lebih 30 saat bukan sahaja membazir minyak tetapi boleh merosakkan enjin kerana pelinciran enjin lebih berkesan ketika kereta bergerak (maklumat dari PERSATUAN PENGGUNA P.PINANG – CAP)

10. Elakkan menunggu . Sekiranya anda terpaksa menunggu seseorang di dalam kereta, matikan enjin. Lebih murah untuk menghidupkan semula enjin daripada menunggu 1 minit di dalam kenderaan dengan enjin yang masih hidup.

11. Elakkan menggunakan gear rendah. Cuba kekalkan halaju kereta lebih daripada 35 km/jam. Langkah gear dari gear 1 terus ke gear 3 atau 4 ketika kereta menuruni bukit atau melalui jalan rata. Tukar gear secepat mungkin ketika menaiki bukit. Apabila memandu secara automatik, tingkatkan halaju anda dengan segera. Jangan andaikan bahawa anda perlu memandu di lebuhraya sahaja untuk menggunakan gear 5. Seboleh-bolehnya pandu dengan gear 5 di mana sahaja walaupun berada di dalam jalan yang kecil.

• since we have the technology for alternative fuels such as ethanol, methane or biodiesel, why didn't the government showed any interest in exploring the possibility of diversifying alternative fuels and do a R&D on suitable engine for P1 and P2 to developed so that we are not too dependent on fossil fuel as we all know that the fuel would dry up someday. With the economy recession + the fuel hike, if the end result would profit our country (not individual parties) then i wouldn't mind paying an extra cents for fuel.

• Off topic.

So what happen to the public transport? when they are using diesel or NGV and why do they need to increase price? Vehicles are poorly maintain, dispose dirty waste gas all the time. And buses are mostly not on time. Long distance bus travelers got to hand their lifes to some scumbags who has break multiple traffic offenses.

Taxi company can buy tax-free car from any manufacturer. Why must outbound travelers got to stuff in 2 travel bags into that tightly old Proton Saga rear seats? If the Xcange Programme are meant for National car manufacturers incentive. Those old sagas taxis should be scraped altogether. Make those Exora for Airport Taxi.

Taxi taunting is happening throughout KL, traveling from Jalan Imbi to KLCC will cost you RM10, and leaving bad impression to tourist. Try call for the complaint number behind buses and taxi, see whom you connect to on the other end.

Never have i seen any taxi in any part of the world that could choose whichever destination they like and charge whatever fare they deem enough for them.

Travel in overseas with roadside query on a busy road like in Malaysia, will get you scolded by the taxi driver.

• mdazhar on Jun 09, 2009 at 7:08 pm

when the fuel price up, the business community will benefit. But the one that get blame is the government. We should avoid the restaurant that increase the price not continue to buy it. I think RON 95 and RON97 fuel is not much different coz i already using it.

• RS Raichand on Jun 09, 2009 at 8:58 pm

[quote comment="243742"]Increasing the RON97 petrol price is obviously a stupid move by the obviously stupid gov't. Don't they know that most older cars with carburetors are designed to run on RON97 even though these cars are not performance cars at all? And don't they know that most of these cars are still owned by the lower-income rakyat? And most important of all, don't they know that the price of Shell V-Power petrol has gone down from RM2.15 to RM2.05 per litre?

If the V-Power petrol price is expensive, ok fine I can still understand the rationale and the logics, as V-Power can be considered as a performance-oriented premium petrol. But if the V-Power petrol price is going down but at the same time the regular "green" petrol aka ROM97 petrol price is going up, it is totally unacceptable and of course it is a foolish way to cheat the rakyat. Cheating us is bad enough, but assuming the rakyat to be fooled so easily is neither forgivable nor acceptable – in fact, it is a bloody insult to the rakyat. No wonder why there are more Klang Valley residents voting for Pakatan Rakyat than the "dacing senget sebelah".

Tipu terus menipu, kita tipu Melayu… poor the rakyat, especially among the Malays, asyik kena tipu jer by the power-greedy Be End gov't…[/quote]

Hahahaha… do YOU know that Shell V-Power IS RON97? Just with addictive?? Who looks stu pitt now : D

• Mohammad Suhaimi on Jun 09, 2009 at 9:03 pm

I luv to used less ron since 2003, the time I bought my 1991 proton saga megavalve, oto tranny.

Ron92 = abit lagg, but when i got the momentum, I managed to have speed while driving. If sudden brake, I have to switch gear position then back to D. Sometime can hear knocking, but I don't bother as long I managed to save RM in my pocket. However, engine oil easy to turn to dark, then need to replaced on time at 5k km!

Ron97 = good sucking my wallet. even though it good for my engines, but for what, since my engines can manage to drink ron92. Using ron97 cause me a lot of money but it's good for long distance drive from Kayell to Jaybee. The problem is, Ron97 for my car, I can smell un-burnt petrol compared to ron92 and my engines sound high too if drive long distance. Engine oil, still need 5k services and 1 more, I frequently visit petrol pump for refueling. Haih…

Ron95 = better than ron92, no knocking whatsoever, engine smooth running, no need to change my gear position if sudden brake, more silent than ron97, no un-burnt petrol at my exhaust, my engine oil still light color after long drive and now at 7k, I still not service my engines oil yet. 1 more thing, I no need to refuel my petrol tank frequently.

So I vote for Ron95, even though higher 5sen than ron92, but I save alot at my periodic engine oil service.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 09, 2009 at 11:09 pm

[quote comment="243720"][quote comment="243714"][quote comment="243699"]I'm always prepared because I dont drive a car like Proton, which has abundant problems when such issues like the octane levels are presented, thus, I would be sitting down at home, laughing my ass off at Proton fan boys who cry over their engine knocking all the time. Yes, I am a Proton basher and what are ya gonna do about it? Obscenities? Curses? Go ahead. Keep supporting Proton for its obvious flaws and reasons. :-D[/quote]

I do agree with Screw Proton..n i do care..cz its MY hard earned money being cheated in anyway possible by G[/quote]

any car can have issues with octane levels.. not just proton. so i dont see why some people continue to perservere with pointless comments. Personally, I cannot see why anyone in his right mind, who doesn't own a proton, would want to constantly moan and groan about them.

to me, as long as there is seen to be some effort by the govt. to prepare for the inevitable rise in fuel pricing, is better than nothing. i dont believe there is a perfect system that will make everyone happy. lets see how this plays out, and i'm also looking forward to try out ron95 for myself soon just to see what the fuss is all about.

• apalah BN on Jun 09, 2009 at 11:49 pm

Very good la BN.. Now my expenses will increase yet again for the 3rd time in 1 year!!!! Somemore this year and last got no increment/bonus. Income tax tarak kurang, tapi toll naik, petrol naik!

BN can spend RM5 bil+ to fund a failed PKFZ but cannot subsidise 20 cents for us?

Buggers!!!!

• BabyBoomer on Jun 10, 2009 at 12:41 am

[quote comment="243729"][quote comment="243714"][quote comment="243699"]I'm always prepared because I dont drive a car like Proton, which has abundant problems when such issues like the octane levels are presented, thus, I would be sitting down at home, laughing my ass off at Proton fan boys who cry over their engine knocking all the time. Yes, I am a Proton basher and what are ya gonna do about it? Obscenities? Curses? Go ahead. Keep supporting Proton for its obvious flaws and reasons. :-D[/quote]

you are the stupid one. even if you do own a Bimmer or else, you did not realise that your bloody non-local car is not readily suited to the fuel quality we had here. ever heard of failings of Bimmer engines due to the fuel does not qualify to euro4 qualities? i bet you don't, because you, my friend are too damn ignorant to do a study. you're just another short minded Malaysian.

Oh, did I mention about how the new city does not even have the same rigidity and crash properties of exterior fitments compared to our protons/perodua? you better check them up, although same materials and design principle or even the same vendor, ppl just dont bother, they are japanese makes, dont they? also the bumper color is not the same with the body, ppl do not bother either, wont they?

GROW UP![/quote]

Encikkaripintar..tau tak apa tu financial iq and business sense? nak kereta mewah boleh…nak support proton pun boleh..tapi masalahnya proton buat bisnes macam sial..nak disusukan dari G…sumenya boleh…tapi jgn bankrup selama lamanya…hutang kerajaan selamatkan proton bila nak bayar? asyik asyik minta duit dari bapak G…core value bisnes diolang dah korup…jgn cerita pasal nak colour bumper sume…kereta dan duit berkait rapat..fikir dulu duit kita sendiri..asyik kena tipu jer macam mana ni? lagi rela aku suap mulut orang luar negara tu…

pastu tgk la sikit korea…kereta nasional mereka begitu berjaya sekali ngan G tolong..jgn kata jgn banding…kan kita keturunan Hang Tuah…telur tu mesti ada..mesti berani la….haih dah hakikat macam sekarang ni…proton ni buat malu kaum jer la….

sekarang bukan pasal kereta jepun jer…kalau proton bagus, i reda dan duduk diam diam…ni tak..betul betul buat malu kaum jer…sekaligus dgn kroninya G yg tak ingat Tuhan..

Bila dah Proton nak sampai tahap boleh tepis brand lain dan betul betul bagus? Buat malu kaum jer kerja diolang yeh…

Satu nasihat..keliling satu universe satu dunia hanya akan beri respons positif kepada yang layak menerimanya dan bukannya kepada yg memerlukannya…proton dan G layak tak sekarang? tak layak kalau tepuk dada tanya selera…tau tak apa tu malu?

• EP Teh on Jun 10, 2009 at 3:37 am

Hi Encikkaripintar, I wonder how old are you and how many type of cars you have driven before ? You hear pinging sound once you accelerate and climbing uphill when you drive and old car filled with RON92. RON 92 perform perfect on new cars.

• Zafran on Jun 10, 2009 at 3:40 am

Dear all,

RON95 is available in Petronas near the Putrajaya Sentral Putrajaya (presint 9 i think) since may.

filled into my satria neo. and nuthing significant defferent as the campro engine is design to combust ron95 and above. i think there are misconception about the ron number. the ron number is the grading of the petrol to what certain temperature the petrol can stand before it auto-ignite. thus higher compression ratio of the engine, higher the RON the petrol the engine requires to run smoothly.

quote from wiki

"The octane rating is a measure of the resistance of gasoline and other fuels to detonation (engine knocking) in spark-ignition internal combustion engines. High-performance engines typically have higher compression ratios and are therefore more prone to detonation, so they require higher octane fuel. A lower-performance engine will not generally perform better with high-octane fuel, since the compression ratio is fixed by the engine design."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Research_Octane_Numb…

• Tiadaid on Jun 10, 2009 at 3:46 am

[quote comment="243800"][quote comment="243729"][quote comment="243714"][quote comment="243699"]I'm always prepared because I dont drive a car like Proton, which has abundant problems when such issues like the octane levels are presented, thus, I would be sitting down at home, laughing my ass off at Proton fan boys who cry over their engine knocking all the time. Yes, I am a Proton basher and what are ya gonna do about it? Obscenities? Curses? Go ahead. Keep supporting Proton for its obvious flaws and reasons. :-D[/quote]

GROW UP![/quote]

Encikkaripintar..tau tak apa tu financial iq and business sense? nak kereta mewah boleh…nak support proton pun boleh..tapi masalahnya proton buat bisnes macam sial..nak disusukan dari G…sumenya boleh…tapi jgn bankrup selama lamanya…hutang kerajaan selamatkan proton bila nak bayar? asyik asyik minta duit dari bapak G…core value bisnes diolang dah korup…jgn cerita pasal nak colour bumper sume…kereta dan duit berkait rapat..fikir dulu duit kita sendiri..asyik kena tipu jer macam mana ni? lagi rela aku suap mulut orang luar negara tu…

pastu tgk la sikit korea…kereta nasional mereka begitu berjaya sekali ngan G tolong..jgn kata jgn banding…kan kita keturunan Hang Tuah…telur tu mesti ada..mesti berani la….haih dah hakikat macam sekarang ni…proton ni buat malu kaum jer la….

sekarang bukan pasal kereta jepun jer…kalau proton bagus, i reda dan duduk diam diam…ni tak..betul betul buat malu kaum jer…sekaligus dgn kroninya G yg tak ingat Tuhan..

Bila dah Proton nak sampai tahap boleh tepis brand lain dan betul betul bagus? Buat malu kaum jer kerja diolang yeh…

Satu nasihat..keliling satu universe satu dunia hanya akan beri respons positif kepada yang layak menerimanya dan bukannya kepada yg memerlukannya…proton dan G layak tak sekarang? tak layak kalau tepuk dada tanya selera…tau tak apa tu malu?[/quote]

Kereta korea berjaya kerana sokongan dari orang2 Korea sendiri. Walaupun kereta dia teruk pun orang Korea pakai. Malaysia? Kalau barang Malaysia bagus sebagus2nya pun akan dikondem!

• wrongturn on Jun 10, 2009 at 3:54 am

i bet 90% of us not knowing how pinging sounds like?

i'll use RON92 no problemo, now u want me to use RON95?…also no problemo as well…

wait till u hear pinging from your engine.. then u can start worrying..

• Zafran on Jun 10, 2009 at 3:59 am

Dear all,

RON95 is available in Petronas near the Putrajaya Sentral Putrajaya (presint 9 i think) since may.

filled into my satria neo. and nuthing significant defferent as the campro engine is design to combust ron95 and above. i think there are misconception about the ron number. the ron number is the grading of the petrol to what certain temperature the petrol can stand before it auto-ignite. thus higher compression ratio of the engine, higher the RON the petrol the engine requires to run smoothly.

quote from wiki

“The octane rating is a measure of the resistance of gasoline and other fuels to detonation (engine knocking) in spark-ignition internal combustion engines. High-performance engines typically have higher compression ratios and are therefore more prone to detonation, so they require higher octane fuel. A lower-performance engine will not generally perform better with high-octane fuel, since the compression ratio is fixed by the engine design.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Research_Octane_Numb…

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/06/08/ron95-is-c…

• Kereta Korea=bagus!? Kat mana2 pon kat muka bumi ni depreciate tak hengat. Kat UK at least satria neo one of the least depreciate….but korean. Damn i had one in my garage

• [quote comment="243729"][quote comment="243714"][quote comment="243699"]I'm always prepared because I dont drive a car like Proton, which has abundant problems when such issues like the octane levels are presented, thus, I would be sitting down at home, laughing my ass off at Proton fan boys who cry over their engine knocking all the time. Yes, I am a Proton basher and what are ya gonna do about it? Obscenities? Curses? Go ahead. Keep supporting Proton for its obvious flaws and reasons. :-D[/quote]

GROW UP![/quote]

u get wat i mean mr. kari? im not that ignorant, im want to ignore wat proton basher say. if u really 'pintar' why bash the wrong person.

• peroenam on Jun 10, 2009 at 4:45 am

Kereta Korea sebagus apa pun taklah macam Proton ada Lotus punya handlinglah, tunbuhlah sedikit. Kereta Korea tak setanding dengan Protonlah, adapun mungkin qualiti baik sikit. Kereta Proton = Kereta Lotus = Kereta British dahulu = kereta Malaysia.

• Higher octane ratings correlate to higher activation energies. Activation energy is the amount of energy necessary to start a chemical reaction. Since higher octane fuels have higher activation energies, it is less likely that a given compression will cause detonation.

with higher octane ratings are used in more powerful engines, since such fuels explode less easily. However, an explosion is not desired in an internal combustion engine. An explosion will cause the pressure in the cylinder to rise far beyond the cylinder's design limits, before the force of the expanding gases can be absorbed by the piston traveling downward. This actually reduces power output, because much of the energy of combustion is absorbed as strain and heat in parts of the engine rather than being converted to torque at the crankshaft.

A fuel with a higher octane rating can be run at a higher compression ratio without detonating. Compression is directly related to power, so engines that require higher octane usually deliver more motive power. Engine power is a function of the fuel, as well as the engine design, and is related to octane rating of the fuel. Power is limited by the maximum amount of fuel-air mixture that can be forced into the combustion chamber. When the throttle is partially open, only a small fraction of the total available power is produced because the manifold is operating at pressures far below atmospheric. In this case, the octane requirement is far lower than when the throttle is opened fully and the manifold pressure increases to atmospheric pressure

• Salamander on Jun 10, 2009 at 5:51 am

[quote comment="243742"]Increasing the RON97 petrol price is obviously a stupid move by the obviously stupid gov't. Don't they know that most older cars with carburetors are designed to run on RON97 even though these cars are not performance cars at all? And don't they know that most of these cars are still owned by the lower-income rakyat? And most important of all, don't they know that the price of Shell V-Power petrol has gone down from RM2.15 to RM2.05 per litre?

Tipu terus menipu, kita tipu Melayu… poor the rakyat, especially among the Malays, asyik kena tipu jer by the power-greedy Be End gov't…[/quote]

The Government only set the Ceiling price for RON 97. I dont think that the price for the V-Power has anything to do with govenrment as the price is being set by Shell Malaysia. So please stop your baseless accusation.

• ambipur on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:25 am

[quote comment="243834"]Kereta Korea sebagus apa pun taklah macam Proton ada Lotus punya handlinglah, tunbuhlah sedikit. Kereta Korea tak setanding dengan Protonlah, adapun mungkin qualiti baik sikit. Kereta Proton = Kereta Lotus = Kereta British dahulu = kereta Malaysia.[/quote]

a division of lotus doesnt mean proton owns lotus

kereta proton = kereta lotus? dream on la, lotus only help with handling tuning.

the only success proton had with lotus handling is with the satria gti.

waja, gen 2 , neo cps, nothing comes close to the satria gti handling.

not forgetting mitsu still has proton shares, so

kereta mitsu= kereta proton = kereta lotus = kereta malaysia+jepun+british

• Keong on Jun 10, 2009 at 6:52 am

[quote comment="243716"][quote comment="243689"]Why are people so anxious over RON 95. Go to BHPetrol, use 1/2 amount of Ron 97 and 1/2 amount of Ron 92 and you will get Ron 94.5. Fuel up a bit more of Ron 97 is you are scared. If you hear very slight tapping sound (normally in the high revs), stop driving in the high revs or if it is really bad, drain all fuel away. You can't use Ron 95. The end![/quote]

my friend always to this for his wira 1.3 VDO system, hahaha……..sometimes knocking occur but sometimes not…………don't not why………and sometimes feel very power but sometimes not……..very pelik…..[/quote]

I'm driving 7 yrs old wira 1.3 ~ I only pump manly Shell petrol from day 1 ~ my car run smoother after switching to V-Power (after they reduced the price to RM2.05/ Ltr) as compared to Shell Regular. No more knocking sound. Both give me about the same mileage.

Yeah, i think I should mix it (50:50) when I go to the petrol station next time.

• slimershine on Jun 10, 2009 at 7:59 am

ron 92, ron 95 and ron 97 also no problem meh.. coz im using 2stroke bike..

• tikus on Jun 10, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Hey Paul , All bout RON 95, how bout diesel news? EURO2?

• jawerians on Jun 10, 2009 at 9:40 pm

i'm driving a 4g13p engine's car. currently ignition timing retarded to around 7'-8' (std proton 10'). i want to share my experience.

1st no timing adjustment (std 10' BTDC) then pour in ron 92 full tank then engine pinging like hell. 4k+ rpm still can hear pinging!! can't even climb hill or switch on air cond.

then retard to as low as 5' BTDC using ron 92. result: lot smoother engine. no more pinging even when you 'force' it to appear but idle speed, POWER & fc suffers a LOT. also dieseling occurs whenever i switch off the engine.

later advance a bit to current timing (try & error. using full tank of ron 92, advance it little by little until hear 1st pinging sound because this time no strobe light. my pomen refuse to lend me him).

never advance or retard since. can drink ron 92 with some 'acceptable' pinging. (even at std 10' BTDC proton using ron 97 can also ping what??) no more dieseling, idle ok, engine is smoother but power is little less than before (std 10' BTDC @ ron 97) but way better than 5' BTDC timing. so ron 95 shouldt be a problem.

try it at your own risk.

• shoryuken on Jun 11, 2009 at 4:14 am

From a consumer stand point, will u pump

At Petronas:

1) RON95 – 1.8/liter

2) RON97 – 2.0/liter

or Shell:

1) V-Power – 2.05/liter

oopss…now u see it.

• shoryuken on Jun 11, 2009 at 4:20 am

apalah BN said,

June 9, 2009 @ 3:49 pm · Quote

Very good la BN.. Now my expenses will increase yet again for the 3rd time in 1 year!!!! Somemore this year and last got no increment/bonus. Income tax tarak kurang, tapi toll naik, petrol naik!

BN can spend RM5 bil+ to fund a failed PKFZ but cannot subsidise 20 cents for us?

Buggers!!!!
    http://paultan.org/archives/2009/06/08/ron95-is-c…

You are the man!!!

• squall_shinoda on Jun 13, 2009 at 12:14 am

[quote comment="243839"][quote comment="243742"]Increasing the RON97 petrol price is obviously a stupid move by the obviously stupid gov't. Don't they know that most older cars with carburetors are designed to run on RON97 even though these cars are not performance cars at all? And don't they know that most of these cars are still owned by the lower-income rakyat? And most important of all, don't they know that the price of Shell V-Power petrol has gone down from RM2.15 to RM2.05 per litre?

The Government only set the Ceiling price for RON 97. I dont think that the price for the V-Power has anything to do with govenrment as the price is being set by Shell Malaysia. So please stop your baseless accusation.[/quote]

Don't be so stupid. The V-Power sold in Malaysia is actually RON97 petrol with premium performance additives. That is why it is so stupid for the government to raise the RON97 petrol while the V-Power petrol price is going down, as if the cost of the base petrol used for the fuel has become lesser.

• Investor guidebook.

now govt have no money.

no new investor that "really" invest in Msia.

It means no outside money coming in.

so its up to us as a "local investor" to pay more.

• proton saga90 on Jul 05, 2009 at 10:59 pm

can my proton saga '90(magma) use ron95 ??