Rafidah’s Cheap Shots At Mahaleel

An article in The Edge Daily on 28th June 2005…

Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz has told Proton Holdings Bhd not to point fingers at others for its own shortcomings, but to look inwards for solutions and find its own market segment to remain competitive.

This is probably in response to this.

“I have confidence in the new (Proton) chairman and Im sure (Datuk Mohd) Azlan (Hashim) would do his best to make Proton more dynamic in the context of global competition.

A cheap shot at Tengku Mahaleel.

Rafidah reiterated her previous statements that she did not have any interests, financially or otherwise, in the NAZA group. “I have nothing to do with Tan Sri Nasimuddin Amin, business wise or anything. I have no connection to NAZA Motors,” she said.

For the full article archived at my site from The Edge, click more.

28-06-2005: Proton should not blame others for its problems, says Rafidah
By Tamimi Omar

Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz has told Proton Holdings Bhd not to point fingers at others for its own shortcomings, but to look inwards for solutions and find its own market segment to remain competitive.

“I hope Proton would stop looking for others to blame and look inwards for re-thinking,” she said, adding that unless Proton re-looked at its market target, it would be hard-pressed to compete globally with other makes, especially those from Korea, price-wise.

Rafidah said competitors were few relative to the total number of imports, which was only 10% of total cars produced a year and the imports also included cars which were not in direct competition with Proton such as Mercedes Benz and BMW.

“So find your own niches and there will be niches. We used to export 27,000 cars and we can do that again,” Rafidah said.

“So if Proton cannot compete, then there must be something wrong with Proton.”

Rafidah quoted one Korean-made car priced at US$8,000 (RM30,400) a unit, which even beat Japanese-made cars in terms of quality and pricing.

“Im telling you (that you) cannot compete with Korean cars, either in Korea or Malaysia; it is out of the question because they are so cheap they bring big mass production,” Rafidah said after launching NAZA Group of Companies Auto Mall on June 28.

Rafidah said MITI was protecting local automotive manufacturers such as Proton and Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn Bhd (Perodua) to allow them to hold over 80% of the local market share. “We only bring in 10% of total production; Proton and Perodua can capture more than 80% of market share,” Rafidah said.

“I have confidence in the new (Proton) chairman and Im sure (Datuk Mohd) Azlan (Hashim) would do his best to make Proton more dynamic in the context of global competition.

Rafidah reiterated her previous statements that she did not have any interests, financially or otherwise, in the NAZA group. “I have nothing to do with Tan Sri Nasimuddin Amin, business wise or anything. I have no connection to NAZA Motors,” she said.

On the new automotive policy, Rafidah said she had informed the cabinet that MITI in collaboration with industry players were formulating strategies to expand the local automotive industry.

“This involves not just automobiles but also motorcycles and components and parts as we would want to make Malaysia a manufacturing hub for all items related to the automotive industry in this region,” she said.

“To achieve that we need to create an atmosphere which would get locals and foreigners to invest heavily in the various activities in the automotive industry.

“We are refining the draft. Ive taken a look at the draft and there are a few things that we have to discuss, this involves not just duties, as we all know the duties will be reduced to Asean standards. This will be announced by the Finance Ministry,” she said.

She clarified that the automotive policy was not related to the duty structure but on strategies, such as other incentives and prudent measures to make Malaysia a regional hub for investors.

“I cannot elaborate on the details at the moment, I will bring this forward to the Cabinet and this would be like a master plan or blueprint for the way forward for the national automotive industry,” she said.

Rafidah added that the blueprint was being fine-tuned into a more comprehensive working paper.

“There is no problem, the industry already knows the new rates; its just the announcement,” she said.

On the ringgit peg, she said: “The government has studied on a daily basis the movements of the foreign exchange especially on strong currencies such as the Euro, Yen and dollar, other currencies in the region and other currencies in competition with our own and analysed the effects of the movement of the forex on our economy”.

“If there is feedback from industries to Bank Negara that our competitiveness is compromised, then it would be prudent for our currency to be revalued.

“But as I am speaking to you now, there is no indication to change the number from RM3.80 per dollar to three point something; monitoring is currently done by Bank Negara, the Finance Ministry and Economic Planning Unit,” she said.

Original Source

Rafidah remains tight lipped
Government Commited to removing protection for Proton
Rafidah instructed to reply Dr. M
Misconceptions over Proton subsidy unfortunate
Proton vs. MITI Round 3
Mahaleel’s job safe for now
Tengku Mahaleel given 1 week to explain
Mahaleel’s job on the line
Rafidah’s cheap shots at Mahaleel
Malaysia’s new automotive policy delayed
Tengku Mahaleel critics government auto policies
AP holders told not to compete with Proton

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• don't u like it when teh fatlady sings/farts ?

• akari on Jun 30, 2005 at 6:36 am

war liau war liau……

• Wingz on Jun 30, 2005 at 6:57 am

I also no koneksyen with naza orso la !!! trust me!!

• teikkin on Jun 30, 2005 at 7:35 am

Yeh right there's no connection. Damn you can't be epecting the Fat 'Lardy' to admit to the fact that she has connection with NAZA or Nasim whatsoever right. The situation is just the same with asking a murderer to admit to murder since the sentence is mandatory death so might as well deny Everything thrown at her.

Lets face facts here, it's a cheap shot(shit) at Mahaleel but neither is Mahaleel a 'saint'

Show me the day AP is removed and I'll show you the day Proton will go into liquidation.

AS for the other news on Maheleel giving an interview on how we should be proud of out National Automobile industry and not let foreigners buy over. For all i care, I don't give Phuc who owns Them, We must be a little more economical in our thinking and not digress. As long as the company is profiting there's no way that's going to harm the country in any manner.

Down with AP down with Victimisation

• Proton bankkrup on Jun 30, 2005 at 4:53 pm

1. To my view , another failure to proton no matter how hard to improve it with take advantage of government company bringing 20 yrs of overpriced and protection to proton , out of dated , low ,low quality materials . there is no value for your money to get a price of any potong . Think twice to choose proton potong car . tired of using my current suck car ( NO STD of car ). Never ending problems seems in proton after you have it. It will mostly be a failure with poor sales and its associated spare parts problems and bad resale value. Poor workmanship and bad materials quality associated hardship to malaysian public. Proton cheated malaysian money in the past 20 yrs just government to protect potong and raised foreign car price . It is unfair to our hard earn money

• karheng on Jun 30, 2005 at 6:16 pm

isn't rafidah nasimuddin's cousin or sister? How can she claim to be of no connection? disown meh???

heheheh…

• karheng on Jun 30, 2005 at 6:27 pm

After reading it, I do think that she's right about having MITI protect Proton and Perodua. I think Proton is still all dazed about this protection, enjoying life as it is, while Perodua is really outsourcing and doing much more to improve. I reckon that without the protection, Perodua will be better off compared to Proton as they can afford to lower costs which are shared jointly with Toyota and Daihatsu.

Korean Chaebols (govt supported giant organizations) have become very strong of late and it's no surprise to why Kia and Hyundai have been doing so much better nowadays. Korean technology is almost par with Japan if none of you here reading this knew..

• napps on Jun 30, 2005 at 6:35 pm

most ppl think that nasimuddin is rafidah's son-in-law…a reliable source says actually nasimuddin is her step son from her first marriage…

• bangau on Jul 01, 2005 at 4:48 am

What makes you think that proton is being protected? Check how many national brands have a real R&D facility? For all that I know, you can rebadge a car, slap a local name on it and hey presto, you got a national car with the same tax structure proton is enjoying.

So now, don't you think proton has the right to whine? They were forced to come out with their own car and this is what they get?

• bangau on Jul 01, 2005 at 4:56 am

And speaking of her relationship with nasimuddin, I can see that most of you know nuts. Shut up and dont worsen the situation.

• teikkin on Jul 01, 2005 at 5:48 am

so it seems to me that bangau know loads bout the relationship between rafidah and nasim..

so if u are asking us to shut up and don't make matters worse kindly explain to us the issue and i will be more than willing to shut up and sit down if it's reasonable.

• maestro on Jul 01, 2005 at 6:47 pm

…if someone actually reveals the shits rafidah aziz is involved with, she'd be locked away for a significant number of years… the fat bitch is so corrupt…

so, i would like to invite people to speak about her activities in public… it might do some good…

• teikkin on Jul 02, 2005 at 12:57 am

It seems to me no one's gonna be dumb enough to do that at the moment. Remember there's still the draconian but yet convenient Internal Securities Act (ISA)..

so it's gonna be swept under the rug again..

• pHaTzLaN on Jul 02, 2005 at 7:14 am

she should resign….its been to long….Pak Lah should replace her…..and since when the Naza Ria become a national car? its Korean! She should think b4 she starts talking……