Nissan Skyline R34 GT-R Z-tune

Nissan has given the Nissan Skyline GT-R R34 a new breath of life with this, and I have to say it’s awesome.

You’re looking at the Nissan Skyline GT-R Z-tune R34. This R34 should keep Nissan Skyline fans happy before the new R35 GT-R due to be revealed in 2007 at the Tokyo auto show.

The original 2.6-litre inline-6 twin-turbo engine, the venerable RB26DETT has been bored up to 2.8 litres, with reinforced internals and heavy-duty race-spec twin IHI turbos.

This ups the car’s original capped 280hp power up something more respectable by today’s standards – 500hp at 6800rpm and 398 lb-ft of torque at 5200rpm. A rechip could easily let 630hp stock out of the six-throttle engine but it would fail emissions regulations.

Torque starts to come in at 2000rpm, goes crazy when the boost kicks in at 3500rpm all the way to 7000rpm where the curve drops. Redline is at 9000rpm. I really want to listen to the six individual throttles (1 for each cylinder) sucking air in at 9000rpm. Anyone want to buy this car and record it for me? :P

The chassis has been reinforced and suspension upgrades are in the form of Sachs three-way adjustable dampers. Note that 1 set of these Sachs suspensions cost USD$20,000.

The car has the Atessa-Pro four-wheel-drive system and six-piston monoblock Brembo brakes. Those delicious 18″ LM GT4 GT500 rims manufactured by Rays are wrapped in Bridgestone Potenza RE-01R tyres.

The interior has also been upgraded a little with a new speedometer and a titanium gearknob.

The seats are leather and alacantra. *drool* Red and black seems to be the colour scheme of the year for sports car interiors this year. I’ve seen this colour in the Gen2 R3, RK Spyder, Maybach Excelero and now this.

The Z-tune also has carbon fibre side fenders and a carbon fibre hood so the front look is slightly facelifted. The hood and fenders are painted though, so you can’t really show off your carbon fibre hood.

Nissan stopped producing new R34s ages ago so for this release it had to buy back a few R34s with less than 20,000 miles on the odometer back and upgrade them. So basically the Z-tune is a refurbished car. But it sure does kick ass. Only 20 will be built. The car costs USD$ 80,000. I don’t even want to imagine how much it would cost in Malaysia with all the AP cost and tax factored in.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wilfred on Aug 13, 2005 at 4:00 pm

don worry….

i guess rafidah's son will get 1…..muahahahaaa

• sinleong on Aug 13, 2005 at 6:18 pm

I'm loving this car!!!!

500HP is damn fast!!! With 6 piston monoblock brakes, I better wear strong safety belts when I drive this megamonster!!! If I get that chance that is.. :(

• ya ya …. probably Rafidah will drive it tomorrow, she resign already, so better get this car in today, so she can drive it tomorrow.

• narrowband on Aug 13, 2005 at 7:22 pm

That's one hell of a sweet monster…

• gen2 gang on Aug 13, 2005 at 7:52 pm

fast and furios.good brake and powerful……design i no like.

• Ambayah on Aug 13, 2005 at 11:38 pm

OMG, Paul isnt this old news?

BTW nice blog, and I think you should change your motto :)

• this car will make your hand busy, n blow up your mind to the top of grade 1.

Malaysia boleh whit a AP so only boleh tengok. not much on it, s we all know rafidah son o few of AP holder that really can drive it. n the TeX of the car like u buy 1 car but u have to give government another unit free more then along o perompak kind of system o my b we not enough land like Singapore that why there do that!.

• neurra on Aug 14, 2005 at 10:43 am

that's enormous.. any anak dato' car to bid for it and do a video shoot pls?

• cbljkkj on Aug 15, 2005 at 4:35 am

I live and breathe for this car. Amazing how Nismo debuted this car at the Nismo Festival challenging all the GTRs from other tuning houses we all know and love and won the Nismo cup!

To think Nismo bought 20 used perfect conditioned below 16,000km GTRs and transformed them all to this. One note folks..all the cars have already been pre booked and sold so the only way to get it is in a used dealership.

Cheers

• syabassss proton

• DON SAKI on Aug 27, 2005 at 7:31 pm

YEH ATLEAST DES A NEWER MODEL FOR ME 2 DRIVE IN…MA FRIEND BAZ CANT TEL ME IM IN AN OLD CAR N CANT GET NE GIALZ…NEWAY DIS CAR IS DA SICKEST MA DREAM CAR N I WILL GET IT B4 IM 20 IF I LIVE…..INSHALLAH

• s_dahrin on Oct 04, 2005 at 12:46 am

wHO said rafidah son get 1…but HUSBAND..lol

• wan asaini anthony on Oct 04, 2005 at 8:39 pm

i admire at this car. i hope can own it someday. but i can't effort to have tis car. i only have my local car, proton saga that already change the engine. i put 4G67 mitsubishi engine. please send this R34 picture to my e-mail.

• extremeken on Oct 13, 2005 at 7:42 am

WOW….. BEA-UTIFUL… BUT KINDDA OVERPRICED FOR THAT CAR..

• Foxhound on Nov 10, 2005 at 8:50 am

overpriced??? how much is a Porche 911 GT3 then? and how much is a Ferrari? or any other car that can whip up as much performance as this without further tuning??

• hey everyone wanna root:)

• SakuraGuy on Nov 16, 2005 at 5:26 am

I'm sorry to say that, the price u have quoted is wrong. Its JP Yen 17 million or equivalent to USD$140k .. please have it adjusted and i mean by EXCLUDING TAX .. thats RM$530k malaysian ringgit without tax ! ..

• mathew on Nov 16, 2005 at 6:02 am

really nice car

• dildo on Nov 20, 2005 at 12:53 pm

Sick ass car man

• lantismazdaspeed on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:30 pm

leh blah ka keta ni

• mohamad on Dec 21, 2005 at 10:33 am

what is the price of this car?

• I own a nissan skyline Gt R34 but 500 BHP aint much i add a few modifications to my skyline and its pushing out way over a 1000 BHP.but its cost me abit but trust me its worth it.

• Alex (Member) on Feb 20, 2006 at 9:14 am

This car is a monster.. I love it !

• munna (Member) on Jun 14, 2006 at 7:38 pm

I love this car an absolute best

visit http://nissanskyline.6te.net for more specs and a video of the Z-tune against a Ferrari F360.

• This car is unbeliveble coolllll ! I think this car can body kit beat Lamborgini gallardo. With its BHP I think Nissan Skyline already beat Chevy Cobalt…………

• skyline lover on Nov 03, 2009 at 12:55 am

can this car enter to malaysia?

• shiva on Dec 03, 2009 at 9:51 pm

wat a super power machine…damn fast!!

i hav 1 nissan skyline gtr x tuner…bt it is only a burago collection model car…

i mean it is a toy….hehehe..wat 2 do..dun have money 2 buy tiz machine in real life.

• zack95 on Jan 14, 2010 at 12:20 am

hey,hey who want race with my NISSAN SKYLINE GTR r34,,i have looking for racer,,let"s fight with me,,,

• ikhwan on Jul 10, 2010 at 10:04 am

nice car.i want to buy itttt.

• 2ndStage on Jul 11, 2010 at 11:38 pm

i need another 100 years more in my life to get this car.. : (

• skyLine4ever on Nov 02, 2010 at 9:23 am

what a damn fast car…..
    truly amazing….
    as expected from a legend…..

• Daniel Farid on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Paul,how much is this car’s price?:-)

• Daniel Farid on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Paul,I mean how much is ur price to sellthis car to ur customer?