Good start to 2006 for Proton Cars UK

Proton Cars UK has been doing quite well and is on track for a successful 2006. Proton sales in the Uk is up by 82% in a market which is down overall by 13%. Proton GEN-2 sales are up by 80% in January 2006.

The Proton Savvy is also doing pretty well, and reports are that demand is more than supply. Proton UK tripled it’s sales forecasts for 2006 and expects the Proton Savvy to account for 50% of all new Protons sold in the UK for 2006.

CAP Motor Research, UK has valued the Proton Savvy’s 2nd hand residual value at 34% of the sticker price after 3 years or 60,000 miles. Does anyone know if this is good or bad by UK standards?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jason (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 7:58 am

January 2005 or January 2006 la? Well, this is great news and being Malaysian, i am abit proud.

• Paul Tan on Feb 09, 2006 at 8:54 am

oops typo.

• akari (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 9:15 am

i dont get what it mean…

jan 2006 their gen2 sales up 80%, is compare with jan 2005 1 month only?

let's say if jan 05 they sold 10 Gen2, jan 06 they sold 18? izzit like this?

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 9:49 am

how come only percentages are available bt nt the real numbers of how many units sold….? bt gd to hear a gd news from proton,thy need a break!

• izudeen (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 9:55 am

I don't know about UK car pricing,

But 1/3 of original price for a car that is 3 years old is kinda low dont you think?

Its like getting a 2003 Waja 1.6 at RM23k….

which is quite 'unimaginable'….

• gawieong (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 10:18 am

"Proton Savvy’s 2nd hand residual value at 34% of the sticker price after 3 years or 60,000 miles"

Lets see, according to the depreciation index from WhatCar UK website,lets check out 2 cars and also residual value after 3 years:

Toyota Aygo £6745 –(3yrs)–> £3485 = 51.6%

Hyundai Getz £8495 –(3yrs)–> £3822 = 45%

These two cars can hold their value much longer than the Savvy.Other Proton cars suffer bad depreciation as well:

Gen.2 –> 38.2%

Impian(Waja) –> 35.8%

And I'm a subscriber of Top Gear magazine here in the UK.There is a New Car guide every issue and it states Proton as "Malaysian company known here for making cars for pensioners." Hahaha…

• KingKong (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 12:00 pm

“Proton Savvy’s 2nd hand residual value at 34% of the sticker price after 3 years or 60,000 miles”

honestly, its quite bad. but no different than korean cars.

korean & malaysian cars residual value are too bad compare to Toyota.

basically, the FC & maintenance cost quite high compare to other makers.

here, Brit low-income-group preferred a Japanese or Vauxhall than a Korean/Malaysian cars.

you know, that's why Jeremy against Korean & Malaysian cars.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 4:20 pm

Are they still selling the other models like the Wira or Satria in those countries?? If not, that should be the reason for the higher percentage for the Gen-2 and the Savvy as they are the only ones up for sale in the first place if compared to the range of models here in Malaysia.

If it is based on that kind of comparison, it is probably undoubtedly just a nice way of saying that their sales are up "80% in the first quarter"

• honda_driver (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 4:28 pm

to my knowledge, residual value for cars in the UK also go up when there are more of the cars around. factors like better warranty packages, good after sales & service also help. So with their sales going up, it might help boost their residual values as well.

i also read that their exports to the middle east is growing as well, especially in eqypt, turkey and qatar.

jeremy is against korean and malaysia cars because its good fun for him to do it. i dont think he is against our cars because of bad residual value. but one things for sure, he hates korean cars more than our cars. personally, i just think he is part of a minority of loud mouth brits. They still think they are superior to us asians. anyways.. you'll be surprised that most brits dont know that lotus is owned by malaysians.

• stewpid (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 8:04 pm

proton cars in UK for pensioners? i cant imagine that when all protons is driven by pakcik-makcik :) differ in this bolehland proton is for newbies or budget users…. depreciation of price like that is unacceptable here, unless we have the market which keep introducing new models which better than the previous one. moreover i think proton second hand value price is like that becoz of the factors like honda_driver said.

• catborg (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 9:03 pm

stewpid :

you just under estimate the savvy i think so.

let see some of the fresh and honest review from them (not poisoned by Myvi Issue).

Street Savvy supermini

TRUE to its name, the Proton Savvy is a wise buy – funky, roomy and great value.

But in an already over-crowded supermini sector, is there room for this Malaysian small car?

My answer would probably have been No — before three days testing the Savvy changed my mind.

THE SUN UK.
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2003090001-200…

and this too..

2 seconds quite a bit more rapid than I was expecting for a car of this type, as was the 106mph top speed. I was also surprised to find it not too uncomfortable a drive at motorway speeds. Cars of this kind have come a long way since the only thing you could reasonably do in them was go to the shops. Around the twisty stuff, theres more good news, the Savvy lacking the usual roly-poly ride that characterises some cars of this ilk.

http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/car-reviews/car-and-driv…

Maybe it's just MYVI make many people poisened mind.

At least.. UK-ian (yang susah nak terima ORANG PUNYA PRODUCT ) pun dah sanggup mengaku dan berubah pendapatnya tentang savvy.

Iff all of this reamin toward, good review etc..

Dont be suprise Savvy gonna be hotcake in UK.. And make much profit to proton..

or it's just me think this way? .. i dont think so.. ;)

• rexis (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 9:37 pm

Paul, you might want to post this up here too.

http://www.bernama.com.my/bernama/v3/news_busines…

Myvi To Enter British Mart In Q3

Savvy… really up to personal taste la. Although ang mo people size is big but might love small car.

But actually whenever I found a Savvy on the road i tends to stare at it. Really can say real head turner.

Just like akari said, i dont get what it means too, up 80% in Jan is comparing to what? 80% annual sale increase is a lot you know(except if you mean increase 8 cars from 10cars)

• Jake (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 9:53 pm

wahh savvy must be real good, brits like it! ;-)

• ingolstadt (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 10:01 pm

30% after three years? considered healthy. Alfa Romeo left 30% after 1 year. in UK. It depreciates almost 50 pounds a day for the Alfa 166.

• catborg (Member) on Feb 09, 2006 at 10:48 pm

WHAT? Myvi to UK?

WTH.. my friends punya pun tak dapat lagi dah berbulan-bulan menunggu!..

Clear now? Toyota using Perodua to sell their junk to UK.. but their name tak terjejas pun.. yang rosak nama ialah perodua.. not toyota, la la laa.

What a great making money starategy toyota, just leave bad name to perodua and Malaysia :o :D..

no wonder jeremy hates kelisa.

Please proton, clear this all out.. :)

Faster! Launch the SRm, (but it must be better than savvy and waja.. or proton go to die-lah!).

• KingKong (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 12:22 am

check this out, Auto Express UK review about Savvy:

"The cabin feels low budget – not least because of the vast expanse of grey plastic and a flimsy glovebox, which unbelievably opens to reveal the metal subframe and wiring. The steering wheel is also spoiled by the firm's use of cheap materials."

"Unfortunately, funds didn't stretch to electric mirrors – realising you need to shift the angle on the passenger side once you've pulled away is an irritation we thought we'd left in the Nineties."

"the gearbox is one of the worst we've tested. "

"1.2-litre engine is no fun, either. It takes too long to build up speed, allowing virtually every other driver to overtake you, and then quickly runs out of steam."

"Proton hopes to shift 6,000 new Savvys this year, but most buyers will be better off looking elsewhere."

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/previews/64367/proto…

draw your own conclusion. a junk will always be a junk.

im looking forward for new SRM. the new chief delayed the SRM in order to revise the quality, good move by Syed!!

• honda_driver (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 1:56 am

king kong, many people have different opinions. you yourself have your own opinions as well. have you tested the savvy before? i have, and it surprised me greatly. i would even consider buying one if i needed a city car to cut down on fuel expenses. Sure, the car looks cheap on the inside. i really hate the plastic feel and quality, and the steering wheel is horrible. but at least the fabric on the seats is off a decent quality. but to say the car takes too long to buildup speed, i dont agree at all. for a 1.2, you can drive it on the highway, and stay in 5th gear all the way. the car doesnt feel like running out of puff at all. the example i drove had 14,000km on the clock, has been abused by journalist, and yet, there wasnt a single rattle or squeak at all, even when going over bumpy roads. Handling wise? definitely one of the best around in its class.

but for you to call the car a junk based on one review from autoexpress.. maybe you should go try out a savvy first.

• catborg (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 2:39 am

i bet KingKong never test drive a savvy.. same like jerk said " I wont! drive it . if give free for me, i will throw it". So dont think ever you're good reviewer at all.

THE SUN – is their national paper.. Autoexspress = just another person those drived BMW everyday.. but never try other small car? .. huh!

• akari (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 6:31 am

catborg u must know everyone have different view,

example like a shirt, sometimes ppl just dont try it because of the look, or something else, b4 it go to comfort try. are you gotta wear a freaking begger alike shirt that u dont like at all, even it real comfort?

maybe savvy did real good in term of handing, but hey, not everyone looking for that.

for me, the look is definitely not my taste, not exterior nor interior, so why m i gotta test drive it? even it feel like driving a real lotus, sorry no thanks.

customer always go for what only they like.

what about if i want full auto transmission? sorry sir, we dont have.

colour choice? real limited.

air-bag or abs? we have harder metal which could save ur life too.

believe the success of myvi, n the result of savvy. no one is poisoned. think urself y ppl can selling like hot cake, the reason always is urself, dont blame other. face the fact.

we cant live like proton company, who always crap their thing not selling due to other foreign competitor, which gorv already raise their price to more than hundred percent to help them. they seem like ppl terpaksa buy their products instead of choose their product. so yeah, we "sold" this amount, we are success.

hope that new head from perodua will awake proton, open their blind eyes, learn to accept the fact.

• handsfree (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 6:51 am

Proton…. well done… go for more..

as for those still complain … and compared with Toyota car….Proton is too new to match… is not a fair comparison… but dones means that… Proton got excuse….. Proton.. shows malaysian more ….

good luck…

• holy_cow (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 8:15 am

Are they putting airbags, ABS and EBD in Malaysian Savvys yet? Last time I checked they weren't, somebody please correct me if I'm wrong.

Head down to http://www.proton.co.uk and you'll see that ALL Savvys over there come with airbags and ABS+EBD as standard. Standard! This is to me one of the most worrying issues about Proton – why shortchange your own people on safety features? Shortchange us on cabin quality, tolerable, shortchange us on performance, annoying at worst, but shortchanging on safety? What does this say about how the company views its home market? Seems a bit off since they're meant to be our national car, source of pride and patriotic warm fuzziness. It appears they want to be a source of rear-end collisions and facial reconstruction surgery instead.

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 8:26 am

akari said,

———————————————–

You are real savvy in comparing the choice of car to buying a shirt… real savvy.

but I got to agree on the freedom of choice of the paymaster.

Looks maybe important to lots of ppl. But this does not apply to all.

Here is my not so savvy comparison :

My experience in a bar :-

1) Sexy blonde with big boobs exterior , silicon implant interior. Performance wise,

turn out to be pondan. ( with Boy George voice !!! )

2) Exterior , exactly looked like Mariah Carey , interior double implant ,

performance ( action wise ) , might as well play with barbie dolls.

3) Average & simple looking exterior ( tom boyish ) , interior fair & neat,

performance …. whao ! made me understand what 7.5 richter scale is all about !

Morale of the story , freedom of choice …. and the need to try out.

Wonder why Ssangyong " chairman " is not selling as well as Merc even though sharing the same exterior ??? Must be the fault of Boy George and Mariah Carey again. It can sings but it can't " drive "

Akari , again you are right , it's your choice !

Cheers.

• akari (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 10:11 am

i talking about look because that's what i cant accept on savvy, i're said there's more example such as auto transmission, colour, air-bag or abs might cause people stop from buying a savvy.

how about that fella mention about poisoned? lol

• akari (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 10:12 am

fiat multipa(unsure spelling) is a good, darm spacious, car too, buy why we cant see it much OTR, i bet that's look prob right?

• rexis (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 5:43 pm

Aiyoo, people likes savvy let it be, its their own money they hv the right to either burn it or spend it. Although recommend to donate it then burn it, but its still up to them.

Everything like this, cant do the basic good good but always want to do sth extraordinary, like to play play with designs. So much with the middle exsos pipe and cat eye(or tiger cub eye), oh and the toilet seat cover..

But it someone give it for free to me, i still want it, free mar… dont say like its a junk, its still a car with lotus handling.

• kody (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 7:37 pm

Wahlaueh…

good to proton, but still bad in the home country… i am not sure how good will the SRM be… look at spy shoots… just like front & back light shape modifications, still same old satria body… may be good in handling. so… go proton… time will prove u still stand or die or so so!!…

• Jake (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 10:26 pm

hey, the savvy street version got no air-cond, come on, like the 70s, 80s car in Malaysia here…i repeat again, no air-cond! got ABS, EBD and airbags but no air-cond, what/ it puzzles me….pening, peninnn….

heard also, myvi auto goinn to UK, i predict its goinn to be a disaster; a winner in Malaysia (jaguh kampung) here- 'jungle clearing' not necessarily… no, definitely not a winner in UK, just like the savvy in Malaysia lose out to Myvi but in UK demand outstrip supply ma…

and UK got passo what, why buy clone? hahaha… ;-)

• dd (Member) on Feb 11, 2006 at 9:29 am

good la… at least they're doing well there… good news… keep it up Proton UK… now how about Malaysia?

• nizam80 (Member) on Feb 11, 2006 at 8:09 pm

Hmm.. ya i agree with stevarac and akari. It depends on the people's chioce.

Honestly, i prefer Savvy. I test drove both already.

MYVI interior looks expensive and nice.

For me, the MYVI drives like an Oversized Kancil.

MYVI front looks like a Frog.

MYVI rear looks like a Big Butt.

So, to me the car looks like a Frog with a Big Butt.

Do you notice that MYVI looks like the Toyota Ractis. Only the back looks different.

• outspoken (Member) on Feb 14, 2006 at 1:32 am

i would not mind if the negative comments are from the internet. The opinions of main stream media are the ones that are important. The Sun has a lot of readers ( might be for their page3 girls :-) ), so it was a good publicity for proton

• Tourist (Member) on Feb 19, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Hi akari. The disadvantages of a full auto transmission are serious power loss and increase fuel consumption and that’s where automated manual transmission comes in. Several big name car manufacturers also use it like Alfa Romeo, Audi, BMW, Ferrari and Renault and now Proton. So please don’t “look down” on Savvy’s ATM for lack of real understanding.

May be this website will enlighten you about the pro and con of Fully Auto (the type you wanted) and Semi-Auto (the type you didn’t want).
    http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/gearbox/…