NAP After-Effects: Mitsubishi cuts Lancer price

small_lancer16.jpgMitsubishi Motors Malaysia has lowered the price of it’s Mitsubishi Lancer GLX 1.6 sedan by 2%, which translates to a reduction of RM2000 to RM97,425.30, excluding insurance. Buyers who have booked the car but have yet to register it will also get to enjoy the new price. The Mitsubishi Lancer GLX is a CBU model.

Prices of other Mitsubishi cars distributed by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia like the Grandis, Outlander, Colt and Evolution 9 will not change.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• E-Nabill (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 10:32 pm

i tink dis lancer model is the most overprice car ive seen,considering its almost a waja , btw,waja has bigger interior and obviously miles beter to drive,all for under 60k…this lancer DEFINATLY NOT Worth 40k over the waja , hardly 10k i must say…i havent seen any on the road so far to be honest,so that explains my opinion!

• Paul Tan on Apr 07, 2006 at 10:52 pm

I think it's quite ok, as it's CBU and has a CVT gearbox.

• matthewx (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 11:05 pm

mitsu… keep your 2k la…. SUCH A BIG DIFFERENCE!!!

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 11:20 pm

hmm… good that they have a cut, but it's still out of reach for poor ppl like me… hehe… :P

• Long (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 11:22 pm

My opinion is the Lancer is a good car, in fact quite good car. Test driven the car in Feb06 and found that the car is a pleasure to drive, handling is tout, good NVH and a smooth transmisson (due to its CVT). In fact comparing to current Altis 1.8G and City IDSI ( I driven both too), I will give Lancer the high score in terms of driving experience. But the interior is very spartan, in fact super spartan. Was offered good discounts for 2005 models at that time, but defer the decision to have a go at other model(s) ….. till now still driving my old car.

Agreed the engine is the same as the old Waja but it stops there. Open the bonnet and you will see a very clean and clever engine compartment layout … its CBU from Japan man.

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 12:16 am

but the exterior design.. doesnt look like a Lancer to me. I mean, it looks more like a feminine version of it, a sub-standard Lancer from a first impression. I havent test it yet n im sure driving it is a pleasure.. its just that the design that i dont like.

If they cut off RM2k and charge a new higher interest rate, then itd be totally nonsense.

• kody (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 12:19 am

Wahlaueh,

Long, are u sure mitsu still using same engine as WAJA?

If same engine also NVM lah, the important things is the driving pleasure as u mention. Althought the interior is not innovative enough as compare to Honda, infact Mitsu are really good b'cos their EVO VIII MR was outperfrom a Lamborhghini in handling & cornering race by top gear program.

i like Mitsu, but the P1 is holding them down & give us some impression that the cars are not worth that price. The LANCER with skirting also show a macho look. Hope P1 can have assembly this model after tech alliance with mitsu. imagine if a really up to date high quality WAJA/gen2 with INVECT III transmission…. hoohooo… no jerking at all… i dun mind to support P1 again if they really can prove the quality is at top but not under ground level .

• Long (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:01 am

Kody , Yep that is right. Old Waja (2005 and below) used exactly the same engine as current Mitsui Lancer GLX ( 2006 Waja are all Campro S4PH): 4G18 with the same 106/6000 hp and 142/2750 torque. For NVH, lots of things involved around it: Firewall insulation, engine bushes, suspension bushes, weatherstrip etc just to quote a few, thus they are better than Waja in terms of NVH. The interior is very basic and safe, considering I will spent 99.9% time inside rather than outside the car, that thing puts me off a little bit. Had a go at the new Civic (but unable to book test drive yet) and left impressed but personally still find the new Ford Focus interior & styling top notch between both cars …..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:24 am

-Nabill said,

April 7, 2006 @ 2:32 pm

i tink dis lancer model is the most overprice car ive seen,considering its almost a waja , btw,waja has bigger interior and obviously miles beter to drive,all for under 60k…this lancer DEFINATLY NOT Worth 40k over the waja , hardly 10k i must say…i havent seen any on the road so far to be honest,so that explains my opinion!

this type of people that together with BIG BULLY PROTON slowly kill us (Malaysians) IF YOU WANT TO COMPARE A CAR….

TAKE A GOOD LOOK NOT ONLY COMPARE PRICES.IN MALAYSIA ALL CAR ARE OVERPRICE.

the lancer far better perfomance than the mild (waja) THE GEAR BOX ALREADY BIG DIFFERENT.HAVE SPORT BUTTON SOME MORE.

and it is a well known brand if you drive one, and you have one american friend asking what car you are driving then you dont need to elaborate all teh answers it as simple as MITSUBISHI…..

• kody (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:33 am

Mitsu is performing very well in Taiwan… you can see the actors are driving mitsu cars in the drama.

Even with the same engine with WAJA, LANCER has a lots that different from WAJA, i think when tech alliance, p1 can ask for upgrade WAJA to same standard as the LANCER by using similar high quality parts.

• Tourist (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 1:39 am

If you see Mitsu drven by actors in drama, that's called advertising.

• kendo (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 3:39 am

that u called CUT PRICE?!!!

what Mits lancer should do here,

is Rebadged as PROTON waja,

price at RM60k, comes with ABS and airbag,

that will be fair to RAKYAT!

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 3:55 am

No offense Long but i have to question your review.

You are the only person that i know of who claims the Lancer has a "tout handling".

I test drove the car quite extensively over a couple of days and I think the Waja offers better driving experience than the Lancer.

The Lancer has a soft suspension set up which is obviously slated for comfort rather than performance. I went up genting and awana and bukit tinggi in the lancer and the car started to understeer at the very first corner. It was going half of the normal speed i would take in the Waja.

The engine "feels" more powerful. it might be but what I believe the engineers did was to bring forward the torque curve so that the engine feels punchier at early RPMs. If you have the guts to push this car faster, you soon notice it will run out of breath quickly. the Waja engine on the other hand feels very torquey in areas where we do most of our driving (midrange).

Finally the car itself. It has looks that even make the school walls far more lively. The crapy bodykit does look like it is cource from Balakong and the interior is so spartan (quoting Long), I think a rollercoaster has more buttons on its control panel.

Who will buy the lancer? Those who cannot differentiate between understeer and oversteer AND those who drive slower than my grand dad.

Sorry folks but I'll take the Waja anytime and pocket the extra RM30k change for a nice secondhand Kelisa to drive around town.

• GT27 (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 7:41 am

In term of quality, I prefer Honda and Toyota, I did own a sporty Mitsubishi car, the handling is good, the seat is comfortable, a lot of torqe, but only the okay interior, the engine not as quiet as Honda and Toyota, the idle is bad, and the car just not durable like Honda and Toyota.

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 8:20 am

If you call this overpriced, what do you call a 90k – 100k supermini like the Jazz?

The Lancer is CBU which puts it at a clear disadvantage price wise compared to its rivals from Toyota, Honda and Nissan.

And comparisons to the Waja is so funny it should stop. I mean, that's like suggesting people should buy a Waja and save the balance that they would have spent for a Altis or a Civic or a Sentra.

• syokz (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 7:04 pm

ha… just drop 2K.. but nvm.. i just bought it last 2 weeks for 87K…

• kendo (Member) on Apr 10, 2006 at 5:26 am

drb now sources AP directly,

cut the fxxx AP kings,

price should drop by 10K!!!

• Driven2020 (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 12:59 am

Hmm still does not quite make the logic.

price slash but loan interest go up.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 4:13 am

What's so funny about comparing the Waja and the Lancer? Cars are cars and as a true enthusiast, you should know better that badge values should not interfere with your judgement. A good car is a good car.

The Jazz is a very interesting subject to talk about. It is a CBU too, eventhough it is from Thailand. Unlike the Lancer, the Jazz has proven to be a hit in many market. And for its price, you are getting a lot of equipment, not forgetting its cool looks.

The Lancer on the other hand, is so basic that it even makes the old Super Touring looks better.

All I am saying is not all CBU cars are nice to drive!

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 07, 2006 at 9:05 pm

:(