Saudi King slashes petrol prices

small_king_abdullah.jpgSaudi Arabia is a country which is really oil-rich. While the rest of the world is struggling with high oil prices, King Abdullah of Saudi Arabia has decreed that oil prices in Saudi Arabia will be reduced to 0.60 riyals per litre, 30% down from the previous price of 0.90 riyals. 0.60 riyals is equivalent to roughly 0.57 ringgit here in Malaysia. Malaysians currently pay RM1.92 (roughly 1.98 riyals) per litre for RON97 grade petrol and RM1.88 (roughly .94 riyals) per litre for RON92 grade petrol.

King Abdullah said this is for the public good and to improve the standards of living for citizens. This price will be in effect until January next year.

Anyway, happy labour day to all Malaysian citizens. We’ll surely have to labour more and more if the prices of oil continues to go up. Kthxbai!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sintiansai (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 1:39 am

you are the man V-.-, King Abdullah!!!… we malaysian need you… come come

• drM (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 2:16 am

u are the MAN…long live the KING..we give u penang, then u give us 50% price cut for 200 years..how? nego? hhehehehehehehhehhhhehehehhehe

• i'm run (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 2:17 am

Wow… I should moved to Saudi Arabia…

• mystvearn (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 3:44 am

What malaysia needs is the petrol, then the king. Makes sense that tons of supercars are there.

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 4:01 am

I can't believe we're buying their oil and selling ours to them and still we can't have properly subsidised petrol…Haih sadness.

• paradoxx (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 5:27 am

all hail king abdullah… the real people's leader..!

"for the public good and to improve the standards of living for citizens"… hai! why doesn't our govt think like wise…

• Jason (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 6:03 am

But i still rather stay in Malaysia. Anyway, i downloaded this show called Modern Marvel – Sugar. They can make ethanol using sugar, damn. Brazil already using them in their cars from the 80's. Their dependence on petroleum is only 20-30%. I think Malaysia also can, if it wants. We can use palm oil instead.

• motorhead (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 6:08 am

Yeah.. hail the King!!.. long live the King.. Allahuakbar!!!

This is what i call a true people's champion.. not like our leaders.. self proclaim as caring leaders, but keep increasing the oil price, regardless increase or decrease in world market.. & recently made a caring step, by increasing the interest rate!!!.. how stupid!!!.. they claim by doing that can reduce the inflation, when they have forgot or purposely forgot what the actual cause of inflation!!!.. now i have to pay more house interest, & if i am a shop owner, sure i will increase the goods price to keep up with rising cost of living!!!.. i wish our caring leaders go to hell, & replace with a leader like King Abdullah!! not Paklah!!!

*This is my imagination only.

• DAN (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 7:05 am

long live the King!.

that what we call is the king.

• hypermount (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 1:08 pm

bs lah…it's a political move..the king knows the monarchy's grip on power is loosening, read about saudi, USA, terrorism, relations etc…that's the way to make unhappy people happy…the my governmen is thinking way ahead, country's reserves would not last long..it's a long term adjustment…if the oild reserves run out when still using cheap subsidised oil, wanna point the finger to who then.

• sintiansai (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 2:19 pm

Our supports to King Abdullah's move of reducing price have nothing to do with politics… we support him because he dares to reduce oil price at this critical moment (the world is struggling with high oil prices)… Hard to believe… what a daring move, unbelievable decision, truely astonishing… V~.~ > ~.~V… I only can dream in malaysia…. yaallah….

• waimak (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 4:31 pm

Very good move. Does the news appear in any of our papers here?

• Ralliace (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 5:13 pm

It's ironic when one looks at it as a Tale of the 2 Abdullahs! One Abdullah slashed petrol prices and the other constantly increases petrol prices.

• ruykava (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 5:55 pm

well, i think this is too simplistic.

sure, it's nice to have cheap petrol, but if we had the same thing in Malaysia the roads were be jammed like siao as car sales go up and the infrastructure just cannot keep up.

what we need is a good public transport system – on time, safe, and comfortable. train, bus, whatever. then the cost of petrol will hardly matter as one only might need to drive in the weekends for outings, or at night for, ahm, "testing" the car.

but the government so far has not shown its commitment to improving this.

• Ricc (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 6:00 pm

I wonder if our G will decrease our petrol by 50 cents…

SUN RISE FROM WEST IF THEY DO

• whatsoever (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 6:12 pm

this piece of info should send to some one that ask us to change life style. tell some peoples that changing life style can be the other way round.

• pendek (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 7:05 pm

that abdullah made a popular decision, our abdullah made unpopular move.

agree with Ralliace

• kimikim (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 7:07 pm

in bolehland, it takes years for the rakyat to experience fuel price deduction (if any) but an overnite for any fuel increase…

• REDDEVIL (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 7:22 pm

LONG LIVE THE SAUDI KING……….. i envy the people of saudi kingdom.. cheap car and cheap petrol..

Do hope he can increase the crude oil production in order to stabalise the oil price now.. FOR THE GOOD OF THE WORLD…

• rexis (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 8:24 pm

Really for the good of the world? Burning more fossile fuel and you say it is for the good of the world? Is anybody still think that increased fuel consumption is NOT causing global warming? Too many people around and not too much resources left, obviously we must find more susainable solution, rather then let the current generation enjoy the depleting resource and let our children suffer.

However, i still wish long live the Saudi King. His present is still very important to the world crude oil price stability.

• honda_driver (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 8:59 pm

He is making petrol prices cheaper for his countrymen, not us, so i have no idea why you guys are so appreciative.

They are sitting on more oil than most of us can hope for, thats the only reason why they can afford to do so, plus the fact that they are a whole lot richer than us as well. So how does that help world crude oil price stability or us?

• Initial D (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 10:23 pm

the grass is always greener on the other side, hehehehe….

In MAS, y dun we diy our own ethanol n add abt

• rexis (Member) on May 02, 2006 at 10:50 pm

The fact is that anything bad happened to Saudi King will have a direct impact on the world crude oil price. So i wish he will live long and healthy, otherwise, has already planned out a successor plan.

They are already injecting sea water into oil drill to boost up pressure for oil recover. Their oil wont last forever.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 2:33 am

Long life King Abdullah with lower fuel price, long life Saudi Arabian for lower price and safer cars, better the lifestyle! ………..

Long life PM Abdullah with high fuel price, short life Malaysian for high price and unsafe cars, change the lifestyle! ………..

• kendo (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 4:36 am

true accounts of Bolehland Petrol hike and etc…

spread da word"

http://www.jeffooi.com/2006/05/rm44b_subsidy_scor…
    nts

• DAN (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 5:10 am

where go our oil , even our country produce a oil in MIRI SAREWAK even a GES ,so why still government cant give n protect our country to deserve to have a good resources!

SAREWAK produce a GES, TIMBER, OIL, so and GOLD, where all the money n resources n even TEX that we pay going to !.

this people in government not even can plant will only burdens the citizen our Malaysians.

Singapore not even have nothing but 5 time reserve n 5 time better then us even in same time in this 35 years independent , but we only can see n pretend like we can, but only do a thing that not balance to our country n recess!.