2007 Mercedes Benz CL class – CL500, CL600

benz_cl_1.jpg

Mercedes-Benz has officially revealed the new Mercedes Benz CL-class luxury coupe. The CL-class is a two-door coupe based on the Mercedes Benz S-class, and you know the world is starting to get ridiculous when I have to specifically say a coupe is two-door in order not to confuse it with “four-door coupes” like the Mercedes Benz CLS. More details after the jump.

benz_cl_2.jpg

The Mercedes Benz CL-class is essentially the Mercedes Benz S-class’ technical twin, being based on the same platform and even sharing similiar design cues. The Mercedes Benz CL-class is Mercedes Benz’s largest coupe, and it comes with two engines. The CL500 comes with a normally aspirated 5.5 litre V8 making 388hp at 6,000rpm and 530Nm of torque between 2,800-4,800rpm. This is mated to a Mercedes Benz 7G-Tronic transmission, which features 7 forward gears (two of them are overdrive) and a one reverse gear.

For the CL500, 0-100km/h takes 5.4 seconds and its’ top speed is 250km/h. The top of the range CL600 has a slightly larger 5.5 litre V12 (5513cc as compared to the V8’s 5461cc), but as it is twin-turbocharged, it makes 517hp at 5,000rpm and an amazing 830Nm of torque from as low as 1,900rpm to 3,500rpm. The V12 twin turbo only has a 5-speed auto instead of the 7-speed in the V8. 0-100km/h acceleration for the V12 is 4.6 seconds, and it’s top speed is an electronically limited 250km/h as well.

The monster coupe is heavy, with it’s kerb weight including 75kg for driver and luggage standing at a massive 1995kg for the V8 and 2185kg for the V12. Not suprising considering it’s size – it’s slightly over 5 meters long. The Mercedes Benz CL class has a fuel tank capacity of 90 litres, that would cost you RM172.80 to refill according to the current RM1.92 for RON97 fuel rates.

benz_cl_3.jpg

If you notice, there is no B-pillar interrupting the sleek curve of the side profile’s window into the interior. As expected from it’s luxury status, you get a very classy interior which looks like an entire forest had been chopped down for it. Leather is also everywhere, so you can assume a whole herd of cows went the same way as well. The hand brake lever and gear shift are not in traditional places, leaving the center console area free and simple. Parking brake is operated via a foot pedal instead, and you shift gears from a little stalk behind the steering wheel. The center console extends in a single unit all the way to the rear, just like the CLS, making this a 4-seater instead of a 5-seater. Hidden in the center console is a telephone handset.

Expect Brabus to do a whacked out monster-engined super coupe version of the CL-class soon, as it did with the E-class and the CLS-class. Mercedes Benz also has a CL55 AMG with a 5.5 litre 493hp supercharged V8 up it’s sleeves, as well as a CL65 AMG with a 6.0 litre twin-turbo V12 making 604hp.

Prices (US market):

Mercedes Benz CL500 – US$ 96,275 (RM 351,788.45)
Mercedes Benz CL600 – US$ 130,275 (RM 476,024.30)
Mercedes Benz CL55 AMG – US$ 121,275 (RM 443,138.34)
Mercedes Benz CL65 AMG – US$ 180,375 (RM 659,089.50)

benz_cl_9.jpg

benz_cl_10.jpg

benz_cl_4.jpg

benz_cl_5.jpg

benz_cl_6.jpg

benz_cl_7.jpg

benz_cl_8.jpg

benz_cl_lineage.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jul 12, 2006 at 11:46 pm

Hmmm look like a sedan car.

Don't have the sporty look.

Headlamp and rearlamp is not bad but based on the sideview picture it look a bit weird.

• magic (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 12:31 am

s**t man..damn nice model…

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 12:33 am

This car is a real techno classic… i think its sporty enuf, yet so elegan.. if u c the console, so simple & analog.. for this class of car, it has to maintain its look standard & reputation.. suit with the brand name.. this is not a street ah beng's car… power more than enuf.. more than 5000cc.. huyo, cant ask for more power… those who has budget to buy a Ferrari, can consider this sport & elegan car… any women sure will melt like ice la.. bcoz this car is HOT ma!!!…

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 12:53 am

a very nice car,

got classic, technology, big cc engine at one,

how about price?haha

i think quite expensixe,

paul,

isnt two dog seat behind?

• Fairman (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 1:39 am

Hm….definitely more than 1million on bolehland lah ! Another brother of slim CLS….

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 1:51 am

"you get a very classy interior which looks like an entire forest had been chopped down for it. Leather is also everywhere, so you can assume a whole herd of cows went the same way as well" LOL, i like the way you put it Paul. The car looks ok, but it's pretty weird viewed from the side, like some elephant leaned against the back of the car.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:16 am

my accord has gone…

no dog seat at the back…its comfortable one…this ccoupe is large ma…s-class coupe version…very big ma…

this is one of the rubbish dsg frm merc…still looks org tue…not like the s-class…muscular,elegant and handsome look…

haha…bole geng ngan cls,6 series….org tue punye dsg…

• DeaDLocK (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:23 am

Gorgeous!

• DtG (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:42 am

simply beautiful… it looks breathtaking in a classical and very sophisicated way… it's just too nice to look at… this model and the cls show that benz's know how to design total stunners…

• szw (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:55 am

da car can surely past by tagging made in korea if judging according da looks .

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 7:13 am

Pretty CooL….. i love it My Benz hehe

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 8:11 am

the white color matches the headlamps and taillights

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:36 pm

The wood trim on the dash looks like *you-know-what*. The rear lights are so-so. I like the aggressive yet elegant look at the front part though. I'd get one in black, without the interior wood trim. Add a set of AMG 5-spoke alloys and I'm ready to go. =)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:37 pm

Oh…it's either black or gunmetal grey for me…hehehe… =P

• rexis (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:59 pm

mmm, dunno why, mercedes just sound uncle to me, always prefer a bmw hahaha…

With more then 5000 cc of pure muscles, you can expect this thing to burn down our atmosphere and petroleum pretty fast. So i prefer E320 CDi here.

*pufff* ohh ohh yeah yeah, the report! Ok i will hand it to you in a moment boss… *woke up and continued do work*

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 5:21 pm

wah yesterday so one Brabus B7…

crazy one..la that car…

the owner said that is his company car..

he just "chauffeur driven"…

next 18/24 months the car is up for sale…

anyone???? I just smile it is just unrealistic maybe for you guys outside please befriend your MD/CEO/COO maybe you can buy cheaper company cars.

• terenceg (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:10 pm

i can't imagine driving a car that cost a intermediate lot of some prestige housing area….RM 1.2mil ? or more ?

why whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:35 pm

Some people wouldn't know car design if it slapped them in the face and sporty to them probably equates to pointy and exagerated bodykits.

This is another great piece of work by Mercedes. Elegance, class and presence by the abundance.It does look slightly stretched from the side, like it needs another door because its so long. Anyway, some tweaking by AMG or Brabus will easily make this look better. I've got no complaints about the other parts of the car because its great. Apart from the price.

• elite (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 10:03 pm

looks like a big white elephant

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Really need big cc n horsepower for this monster… so heavy… I won't get this model even though if i got tat money… I like CLS's design more… this CL too luxurious until not sporty… n I just dunno why I don't like all those wood trimmings inside the car… why rich ppl like wood in the car?? hmmm… btw, this model is aiming which market?? which age range's ppl will get this model?

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 11:23 pm

btw… waiting to see how Brabus n AMG do it…

• DAN (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 2:52 am

Good whit the class

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:47 am

Price:

CL 500 – 104,000 euros (RM 500,000 exclude tax)

CL 600 – 149,000 euros (RM 715,000 exculde tax)

AMG version spy shots already circle around in the net.
    http://www.racewaynews.net/immagini/articoli/931/…

CL 65 AMG – 6.0L V12 engine 610hp

• KingKong (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 3:48 am

the CL 65 AMG more sporty especially with AMG bumper & re-design frog lamps.

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 6:41 am

Thx kingkong fer the info on pricing, after our NAP tax even monkeys akan terkejut beruk dan mati.. it will cost a value of a healthy person, preferably a beautiful women (if we can trade humans)… if i ve that much money i better buy an express bus, turn it to a house & get myself 2 ah moi from china to stay with me.. sound good, eh?

RM715,000 + 125% = 1,608,750.00…

ps: Even a Ferrari cost more then 1 mill. in Wondertaxland…

• tariq (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 9:32 am

Nice car….powaaaaa with control (at a price of your soul)!

i'll be so so so cool if Mercedes Benz gave Zinedine Zidane (Allez!) one CL just like Audi did for RM players.

http://www.fourtitude.com/news/publish/Audi_News/…

i'm wondering..since the new models S,CL (will) have entered the market, i think the best idea is to get the outgoing S,CL,E models.in my opinion, they are still years more advanced than any other incoming models from any other car makers. the plus side is the value has depreciated somewhat quite alot, right? hmm..dang it..but the downside is it's still beyond the means of a normal wage earner like most Malaysians.anway out of the topic,

http://www.mbusa.com/models/main.do?modelCode=S55…

my Indonesian friend could afford this and he's still in college(of course the parents paid for it).I am yet to ride on it . this kinda car could make you ecstatic just by mere looking or touching (in stationary) ….. what more riding or driving it (while moving,obviously)!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 2:56 pm

jtshin…

target model for this model is to compete with bmw 6 series…jag xk model…bentley continental gt..ferrari scaglietti…etc

this car is for very rich ppl…but still…this car is damn ugly…

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 4:49 pm

Like the previous CL more… This CL's rims are just too… classy… don't suit the design of the car? AMG change its rims n it looks better. Well, BMW 6 series still looks better overall… this CL just don't look sporty enuf for me… looks classy more.. even Bentley Continental looks sportier…

I think it can't compare with Ferrari… Bentley yes, 6 series yes, Jag yes. but not ferrari.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 14, 2006 at 5:33 pm

even without the tax, these cars are way too expensive for the average person. in fact, the average person in europe or the US can't afford cars like these either.

nice to look at and drool from afar…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 1:34 am

y u say no to ferrari…the 4 seater one…they compete with that too…jz dat ferrari is too pricey…dat scaglietti is in their category…the coupe one…

yup…ure rite…they cant afford these car…but…there…an average ppl can afford vw…beemer…merc…audi…etc…but in here…had to think twice to buy those cars…

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 3:52 am

Paul, one word UNIMAGINABLE……

• neurra (Member) on Jul 15, 2006 at 4:23 am

hoho.. i'm drooling.. the headlights are damn nice..

anyway, just saw the new Merc S350 on the road today.. best looking S class i've seen thus far..

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 17, 2006 at 10:08 pm

Man, I cannot think of a sexier S-class coupe. Can you, Paul?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 20, 2006 at 12:42 am

In BolehLand, I would need to sell my soul to buy a C-Class or a 3-Series. Just don't mention this one yet…

• anwesh on Mar 08, 2009 at 8:44 pm

nice carrrrrrrrrrr…. really powerfull.. great to have it with me very soon