Great Wall Hover enters Italian streets

gwhover2.jpg

Great Wall is the latest Chinese car manufacturer making a foray into the European car market, with 500 units of it to hit the streets of Italy this month. Previously, Jiangling was the first with a car in China – the Jiang Ling Landwind SUV. The Great Wall Hover is a 5-seater SUV based on Isuzu Axiom underpinings powered by a Mitsubishi 4G64 2.4L SOHC engine, making 125hp at 5,250rpm and 190Nm of torque at a low 2,500rpm.

Available in both 4X4 and 4X2 drivetrains, the Great Wall Hover is one of the more better looking Chinese vehicles, though it looks like the front is Vauxhall-inspired. More photos after the jump.

gwhover1.jpg

gwhover3.jpg

gwhover4.jpg

gwhover5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 9:06 pm

MITSUBISHI engine ka? how this so call "great wall" married to MITSUBISHI?

• DtG (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 9:27 pm

mycar_stolen…. it's just the engine, why so surprised???

• pw (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 9:36 pm

I think he meant Proton could have done also come up with such vehicles to offer in Malaysian Market but now some one else got there 1st.

• pw (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 9:37 pm

I must say it looks quite impressive… the only questions then is how save it is. Crash test results ??

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 9:42 pm

China following the foot steps of proton, cut & paste.yuck!

Seems underpowered …..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:07 pm

looks nice.. interiors? but most important thing is how about quality? :)

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:21 pm

pw said,

September 8, 2006 @ 1:36 pm

I think he meant Proton could have done also come up with such vehicles to offer in Malaysian Market but now some one else got there 1st.

you are definitely correct, how long this chinese make married to mitsu, and can come out with a SUV which never ever in Proton intension.How old/young this Great Wall brand?safety or verything bla2…PROTON ALSO NOT SAFE WHAT?

p/s Proton sucks because they never care about rakyat, only want to make big profit.

• DtG (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:28 pm

Proton sucks because they never care about rakyat, only want to make big profit.

the most truthful thing i've heard all day…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 10:40 pm

pault its copy n paste from othr cars inspired NOT only Vauxhall inspired!

so now italians sudenyl wil ditch their beloved fiats n alfas n buy the great wall?? it probably drives as well as a toyota hilux 1980!

• p_nut (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 11:11 pm

I got a good idea with all the new cars coming out of China.

Let's play "Spot the DNA"!

I can see:

1. Honda HRV (Rear quarters)

2. Toyota Fortuner (Front)

3. Rexton (Side)

Any other observations???

• Celicazz (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 11:15 pm

why they chose Italian market? i am damn sure it is becoz it comes complete with lifetime warranty of reliability issue…haha…

• renyeo (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 12:07 am

If this drives as good as it looks plus a low sticker price – GW could easily shift the 500 units in a week.

• w_lighter (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 12:13 am

I hate to see all this promo pictures from China cars. They always used photoshop for their background. If its good im fine with it but most of the time it looks like crap. That aside the car seem solid. But dont judge a book by its cover. Might be crap inside.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 12:49 am

I think our national pride, Proton should learn from these Chinese car manufacturers. No doubt they are copy and paste cars but they also doing homework.. at least they are not rebadging the cars..

The car exterior looks pretty good, their built quality and reliablitiy is a main concern.

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 1:29 am

pw said:

I must say it looks quite impressive… the only questions then is how save it is. Crash test results ??

For any vehicle or components said to be sold or exported to Europe, it should firstly meet or pass the TUV standards which includes crash testing.

I agree on the fact that it does look nice and impressive.

• Tracks (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 1:46 am

Seriously the SUV look not bad. I agree with p_nut on his observation. The rear light cluster looks a bit like the Volvo XC90. Although quality, reliability and safety is a concern to everyone, you must also give credits to the Chinese for trying. Through trial and error they are destined to succeed. But not trying at all you had already failed. Poor Malaysian don't have a big enough market to try.

Sigh. Our current market situation especially the automotive sector is really depressing. Many companies are dying so a word of caution to everyone, spend & invest wisely.

• redragon (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 1:56 am

there's chinese ppl everywhere, I'm sure those in china town across Italy will snap up the 500 units in no time at all. No a bad effort but they need to come up with better names.

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 2:39 am

First things first.

I hate promo pictures where the wheels are apparently 'spinning' while the car is stationary.

Especially when the front wheels are slightly aligned towards one side (steering wheel turned).

Onto the car – It's a smart move to offer 4×2 drivetrain, knowing most urban use rarely require the capabilities of a 4×4. Save fuel and lower price tag.

Exterior looks not bad. Interior, built quality and crash tests may all be a different story altogether.

I wonder if the fashion and style-conscious Italians find this SUV appealing.

Btw, I read somewhere that SUV stands for Sub-Urban Vehicle. But I think it has always been "Sports Utility Vehicle", hasn't it.

• indigo (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 2:53 am

Oh craps, I saw toyota on the front, volvo by the side and nissan at the rear. Crappy chinese ugly SUV

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 4:45 am

Safety wise, any vehicle export to EU market shall meet their safety standard. Remember this is the 4WD vehicle which in the event crash with small passenger car, always have "advantages" in term of high and tough body. This is just my personal opinion!

• tango5 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 4:53 am

Lookin at the blackside profile, I'd say the mafia over there will love it! :)

Agree that the look is pretty impressive. A lot of continental flavour.

Visit thier website http://www.gwm.com.cn/eng/index.asp. Tey segmented it as CUV – cant find what that stands for.

BTW they even offer a 6.7m limo version of it..cool eh.

• szw (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 5:15 am

da back looks like x-trail lar.

• nizam80 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 6:02 am

it looks nice.

• tamannegara (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 6:21 am

hover is selling well in russia,

greatwall had crash testing hover in china

similar to ncap standard, and this hover is getting 4 star.

other than suv, their pick up is also selling well,

they just introduce a new pick up which also very nice looking car too.

greatwall and zhongxing are 2 major player in suv and pick up.

i think we should do some research first b4 comment it, bcoz they are improve very fast,we cannot base on our old inform, do you know that great wall have come their in house diesel engine?

new pick up
    http://www.chinacarforums.com/forum/showthread.ph…
    hover crash test picture
    http://www.chinacarforums.com/forum/showthread.ph…

• tamannegara (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 6:36 am

what we can find inside hover cuv?

the answer is below:

http://www.gwm.com.cn/hover/360/index.htm

• tamannegara (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 6:38 am

hover crash test:
    http://www.gwm.com.cn/hover/index.htm

• V8 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 7:18 am

Interior design looks just quite standard for the cars in its class..its color looks more matched than any other china car than v look b4. just that the dashboard seems very boring, like in the perodua kembara. Overall, it is not as v expected from its impressing body, it's still typically crap though.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 8:05 am

4 star for NCAP crash test……..they claim….

China….Cheers,you're better than Proton even though your automotive is shorter than us…………

At least Made IN China cars have better future than Proton who think they're the best when they become Jaguh Kampung but beaten by other international car manufacturer….

LAME PROTON!!!!!!!!!!u S**K…..

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 10:54 am

yes. makes me want to wait for a car called 'mao' or maybe 'birdflu'.

• vfp (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 5:42 pm

Went to their website, the "most expensive" version, 4X4 luxury, comes with dual airbags, ABS+EBD, leather seat, sunroof and bra bra bra, selling at RB131,800, that is around RM66,000.

Watch out! China's automobile industry is coming up very fast! Nothing is wrong with copy and paste, Japanese did that 40 years ago. Distain and neglect them is the worst thing to do.

Just my 2 cents.

• african (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 1:11 am

What a cool SUV, fully agree with VFP. For slightly more than a third of the cost of a Fortuner I will buy one if it come to M'sia.

• carir (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 6:10 pm

I have been driving a GW Hover for the pass 10 months. 1st impression is that it is more comfortable (in terms of driving position and handeling) than the older (pre 2000 model year) Nissan Pathfinder, Toyota 4Runner and the Jeep Cherokee. These are the vehicles that I have driven.

Since the 10 months, I had no problem with the vehicle. It is a tough vehicle – I drove it against tha side of a VW Jetta and broke teh Jetta's steering mechanism – and the Hover came out with only some minor surface scratches.

The 2.4L Mitshubishi engine serve the vehicle well – give it decent acceleration and enough power for my needs – mainly city driving.

• nmh (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 3:22 pm

i dont like china copycat design…but tis one ok larr. At least its better than LMG. BMW grill+harrier headlamp+crv rear=PUKE

• raptorclans (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 3:56 am

Isn't this the Isuzu Axiom? i dunno… looks similar

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 11:49 pm

You say china copy cat? what about proton copy cat? more like copy thundercat? the stupid proton logo stolen from the old 90s thundercat cartoon. maybe it was proton wet dream that they are the thundercats?

Proton being the leader thundercat- whenever in toruble he will wield his sword and shield (resembles our NAPs,Excise Duties, APs Etc Etc Etc) to fight his enemies (all other cars in the world) and when he is really deep shit he can use his sword to call out his buddies (Mrs 30%, Close one Eye Ministers and the Government in general) to give him a helping hand.

Maybe thats why proton stole thundercat logo – it really resembles the vision and the struggles of proton.

bah hum bug

• albania on Dec 23, 2009 at 3:30 am

hey something goes wrong with us , apocalypse is near CHINA made the 4×4 chip car , yeah is truly a crap , every thing outside , design color is fake is counterfeit , inside is very weak to dashboard is like a sheet , smell bad , the seats mmmmmmmm like polysterol the roof you wont to do some move up beware may harm yourself every thing goes down hahahaha l speak because l bought one to ,l'm very disappointed , l wont to burn it , when you start the car rambling oh beware is scary , don't make my misstake to buy one

• Brian on Feb 23, 2011 at 2:29 pm

When I left my small african country in 2003, there was no Great Wall. Petrol and Diesel are imported and are expensive. Most cars are 1.3L manuals for that reason.
    The roads are potholed and car parts are expensive and not always available so durability is absolutely critical. Toyota, Mitsubishi and Nissan SUVs and pick up trucks were the only ones people bought because of value/money, fuel efficiency, reliability.

Last year, I went there and popular cars remain toyota corollas and honda civics but Great Wall pick up trucks have been adopted by the police force and had a good 30% of new suv/ute sales by my opinion with the toyotas, mitsus and nissans on the road being the older vehicles.

Great Wall only sell diesel engined utes/suvs there.

• copy cat….yuck