Cars an extension of our egos?

770li.jpg

Take a look at the boot of the pre-facelift E66 (the models with long wheelbase are E66 instead of E65) BMW 7-series above. Supposedly a BMW 770Li. And there’s a W12 badge on a left, ala Volkswagen style. Of course, everyone knows there’s no such thing as a BMW 770Li, and a check of the number plate with the UK’s RAC Motoring Services reveal that the car is actually a BMW 735Li. Why the need to pretend your car is a 770Li instead of what it really is?

Previously, Cycle & Carriage Bintang Bhd’s managing director Steven Foster recollected his experience with a customer in China way back in 1993. He was selling Mercedes Benz cars in China, and a customer had approached him with intentions to buy a Mercedes Benz S600. The customer also enquired if there was any S800 models available, to which Foster replied there was no such model.

The customer then asked if Foster could custom make a S800 badge for his S600, to which Foster obliged, since the S600 is the three pointed star’s top of the line model after all. Customers with such deep pockets must go home feeling satisfied. So the customer did go home feeling satisfied, driving his new S800-badged S-class.

We also see things like Nismo badges on Proton Sagas, and Type R stickers on D15A engine CVT-equipped Honda Civics. There are also more and more BMW 318is carrying M badges on their boot lids, and I’ve even seen an E30 with the M badge stuck on upside down – a BMW W3?! Why do some people feel the need to do this?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lainie (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:57 am

compensation! :P

• exodust (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:10 am

I think the case with the 7-series & S-class are somewhat different from that of the ignorant placing of stickers, altho I agree that both are stupid and just a waste of time.

I mean, with the BMW & Mercedes Benz, the owners knew what they were doing when they asked for the different labels, I guess they just wanted people to think they're packing a larger engine under the hood. Which is most likely the case since most people don't know that those models dont actually exist. Besides that, those labels actually look authentic. But still, fake is fake, if they felt the car didnt have a strong enough reputation, they should have looked for a more powerful car (seems like they can afford it after all).

Those cheap type-R & Nismo stickers, etc; on the other hand irritate me x50. Back when I was stil in Malaysia, my friends & I used to call those stickers "hulu mods". We've asked a few of them why they do such things, best reply we've had was "coz its looks nice mah". Half of the people we asked didnt even know what type-R was! So basically, unlike the beamer & merc, this was just a case of aynhow customising their car, regardless of the fact it makes them look very stupid (or stupider than they already look). I CANNOT DESCRIBE HOW MUCH I HATE TO SEE TYPE-R LOGOS ON CHEAP WIRAS WITH THOSE REAR SPOILERS THAT ARENT EVEN CARBON FIBER!!! AARRGHHH!! *frenzy*

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:16 am

I've seen a Kancil with Campro 1.6 label on it's back at a traffic light. I really want to jump from my bike, punch the driver and burn the car. There's a certain level of wannabe-ism that I can accept but this certainly not it.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:32 am

hey….it makes the car go faster!

i know people who actually try to remove any type r badges/signs from thier actual type r. the rear spoiler is usually the first to go on thier integra type r.

i wouldnt bother with the campro 1.6 label. its a lousy engine anyway.

spoilers on normal cars, esp wira are just extra weight. worse being the one that generate downforce where its not needed.

• partikel (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 12:07 pm

It makes the car goes faster??…

Maybe that's why many BMW 318 owners tends to remove the 318i badges from their boot lits…

Come on!! Be proud of what you own… I hate pretenders!!!

• partikel (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 12:13 pm

It makes the car goes faster??… I sure hope it does…

Maybe that's why many BMW 318 had their 318i badges removed from their boot lits…

Come on!! Be proud of what you own… I hate pretenders!!!

• hfrshah (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 12:14 pm

BMW 770iL, BMW W3, Mercedes Benz S800.. LOL!

Well, I can actually understand some people's desire to place 'higher numbered' badges on their cars. Don't get me wrong, I'm against it all. Make do with what you have, and be proud of it, whatever it may be.

But an S600 owner wanting an S800 badge? Isn't that madness? You already have the top-of-the-line Mercedes, why do you want to ruin people's perception of your car? Most people with basic car knowledge will probably think it's a basic S280 or something. Though an S280 can't exactly be called 'basic' :p.

And those with lesser engined cars, at least use badges of models that actually exist, please? That's if you really have to do it la of course.. EG : 760iL for BMW 7-Series, S600 for Merc S-Class, 550i for BMW 5-Series, E500 for Merc E-Class, etc.. Using badges that don't exist just makes it obvious that it's a fake.

As for cheap cars with fake 'racy' stickers/badges, I think it's fine as long as they don't expect people to really believe those badges. Anyone who thinks that people would believe a Mitsubishi Wira Evo III Type-R is real should just go jump off a not-so-tall building (to make sure that they don't die, and thus suffer more :p). About whether they look nice or not depends on their personal preferences; we have no right to say that they're crazy to do so, as they can't help thinking the way they do. They like the way their cars look, why should we bother?

Cheers, God bless you all..

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 3:52 pm

Ahaa…thanks Paul for bringing up this topic. Of course we've seen these cars everywhere on our roads. Heck, I've seen an old Peugeot with a 320i's badge on it and a Type-R windshield sticker! I was like, wtf? Sometimes it made me laugh to see all those little cosmetic changes. But come on, do you have to go that far to dress up your car? It's only revealing your arrogantness and stupidity. Makes me wonder just at what level of intelligence does our average car owner have. No wonder some drivers can't even read road signs!

It won't annoy me that much if you wanna stick a Spoon sticker on your D15A because most people know that Spoon and Honda are related. Also Mivec sticker on a Saga. But Spoon sticker on a Kancil? TRD/Tom's sticker on a Iswara? Just what the hell on its owner's mind, I don't wanna know. Just leave the car alone you bozzo!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 4:02 pm

I thought stickers ass about 10hp each? Damn man….

In North America we call them Riceboys. Used to be a derogotory term for asians with "rice rockets, stickers, wings and all", but now the term has spread to the rest of the population, for "all show, no go" desrespective of ethnic groups.

Stickers, wings, bodykits, big rims…they all get lumped into the same catagory.

Frequent track junkies like us usually make fun quietly of people like these as we know, money that went into all these add-ons didn;t go into the engine bay. We that drive highly modified cars want our cars to be as incognito as possibly, since we are in big trouble when we get pulled over by cops. My DSM looks completely bone stock (I actually took the Turbo badges off) except it will embarass a Boxster S and a Ferrari 355 on the track.

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 4:41 pm

4G63T DSM, that's the way it should be. Low profile. Not a "All Show, No Go". I've raced them a few (road race is illegal, do it at your own risk) and turns out that, most of them are chicken behind the wheel. They are scared of the things we called "corners". Not so Spoon or Ralliart drivers after all.

• TheGunner (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 4:46 pm

Agreed with 4G63T DSM too.

I was never a fan of overbadging one's car. If I am to pour money into my car, I'd pour it where it counts, where it makes a difference.

That's on overbadging, what about underbadging? Anybody purposely underbadged their car? As in slapped a badge of a lower end model? I've seen a Waja-badge Evo VII.

My dream car is the BMW M5. If I get one, I'd probably rebadge it as a 525i =Þ

• rexis (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 4:46 pm

Heh, note that chinamen have a unique love for the number "8" hence "s800", i think there's a "s888" somewhere.

Why rebadge your car? I guess the purpose is to add some characteristic to one car – although I am not quite agree to this way, I will prefer to add some real good killer paint job on the hull rather then just plain cheap rebadge.

You know, sometimes you happened to see a few cars with the same models and same colour in a traffic light, now imagin you are in one of these car, somebody may not like this feel.

Of course, those wiras with mitsu and lancer badge, are all lame.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 4:57 pm

actually its easy to xplain…its that passion for cars and the passion for speed…its whole new meaning to desire…n probably a new meaning to destinction as well , i tell u the way this gen treat cars is light years away from 20yrs ago…it defines a person…n we magnify its importance in our lives…to a point we tink of cars every single day..its no more treated like a tingy that moves u point A to point B , ask any young kid wat thy want to get in the future…almost all wil say cars top of the list….psychologically it absolutly makes sence…be it a 7 series or a kancil…

• azhargoth (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 5:06 pm

haha…i did noticed too..the w3 is really a joke for me and my friends quite sometimes….

• acbc (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 5:46 pm

The best mod is sticker-less… let the competition smell the smoke instead. Having one or more stickers is like watching too much Pimp My Ride episodes or exposed to 'Ah Beng' culture on stock cars.

• J (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 6:20 pm

Similar question…

Why do people wear fake Rolex ? :)

• bolo (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 6:31 pm

Similar scenario occurred for alfa-romeo here 164. Since the number 164 sounded extremely inauspicious to chinese ears, some customer actually requested to change the model badge to 168. The change of the model name was acknowledged and endorsed by alfa hq. Now that the alfa 166 is about to be phased out, I wonder how they will resolve the next model number.

• Charger (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 6:40 pm

Well, I've seen Wira with C180 emblem on it.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:12 pm

Debadged 318i….LoL~ it's actually the manufacturer's fault. Why state 2.0 or 2.4? why not the the model? Like err…. BMW 3 BMW 5 BMW 7 ….. it's the manufacturers that imply this mentality to consumers wayyy back when we can see badges like "Automatic" or "5-Speed" or "Turbo" or "DOHC" ….. perhaps its a guy thing, the faking of egoism as what Paul mentioned, the boosting of egoism to attract the opposite sex, to blunt of other competing dickheads, then to get the best girl on bed….. hmmm wondering why all the trouble with "S800, W12, M3, Evo.." Why dont they put badges like ( 7" , Amex Platinum Holder, Bachelor with Masters….. " LoL

• szw (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:20 pm

dat fella shud oso change da badge to vw

• jeanloo (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:26 pm

How about a Move badge on a Kenari ? I can accept that but i cant accept a Passo badge on Myvi. Weird isn't it? I know it's personal taste but a lot of car reviews out there actually think that a stock Myvi is better looking than a stock Passo with it's curvy eyes. I think this is really a case of ego boosting by certain individual who tries to actually own a Toyota. But then again, sometime it is a merely following the trend and have some fun out of it, especially when you go to a Sunday flea market and see all sorts of Mivec, Type-R stickers out there. It come in all shape and sizes and really cute to stick one on your car. Or maybe people stick those stickers on their car as a reminder for them to upgrade to those cars when budgets allowed. It doesn't really have to have any connection with the car. Like I used to wear a Team McLaren 2000 F1 sign by David Coulthard himself while riding an EX-5. What's an EX-5 got to do with McLaren? Lol.

• Tracks (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:53 pm

Many people out there like to over-badge their vehicle probably because of their kiasu ego. On the other hand, there are those who under-badge to keep low profile and protect their car from being stolen. I know a guy who changed the his Wira 1.8EXi badge to 1.5GLi because thieves like to target his type of car for his engine alone.

But the worst type of people is those who bodykit their rides and installed a fake exhaust pipe which could be easily spotted where one is shinning and the other one tarnished. That I cannot tahan.

• neurra (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 7:53 pm

hahah excellent topic.. imo, this would just mean the same as "cars pretending what they're not" case.. a myvi trying to be passo, kancil trying to be mira, kenari – move, wira – evo, perdana – eterna, putra – subaru.. in the case of this re-badging, have u guys seen the video of a tiny car model racing on a drag strip? haha really shows what riceboys do.. first drag race he lost, then put Type R sticker can win the second round.. LoL

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 8:40 pm

Am I the ONLY one here who thinks that these so-called "rebadging" of cars are actually a compensation to having short genitals?

Similar to what one of the Top Gear celebrity guest mentioned, "I think cars are an extension of men's genitals."

• demio121 (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 8:40 pm

Different ppl different taste. Though most of us here really do not understand why there is a need to disguise your car, there are a whole market and as long as there are money to be make, there will always be people to more than happ to oblige.

I think the worst case of wannabe is… the Kia Sorento with BMW grille.

• whodz (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 8:46 pm

If a car modify to their body and sticker and other add-ons, there will be no problem. Unless, they are replacing the badge of the car with other car's badge. Now, that what we call hipocrite and wannabe other car. E.g. myvi trying passo BK but remain its badge. So, it's no passo, it's still myvi..with passo BK. Furthermore, it's illegal to take our car badge, kan?

• pirate (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 9:16 pm

It's an ego thing mah…

Do you know how much roadtax (or CO2 emissions tax in the UK) had it been a REAL 770Li? But damn stupid la da owner, I would have put 750Li instead…

ROFL!

• malayman (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 9:30 pm

whoa…if i had a s600 or a 735… i would peel off the badges…

let the power show when you see me flashing u to move outta my way!!!

haha!!

but seriously i think half the ppl who put those badges on the cars dunno what it means… i htik they simply put just to make it look nice..bling bling..

but then again.. it is sad….and blardy funny !!

kancil witt campro!! LOLZ!

• suanie (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 9:33 pm

dono. if i owned a wira and attach a mitsubishi logo in replacement of the proton logo, i would be so embarrassed to bring the car out in public.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 9:35 pm

Some of the examples I have seen. Kancil with Honda logo. 3 series coupe with M3 gills, badge and dummy exhaust set-up. Myvi with windscreen sized Nismo sticker.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 9:42 pm

Google "Rice Boys"

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 9:53 pm

front wheel drive lotus(es)……ops i mean protons….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 9:57 pm

whodz :

u mus be having a myvi!!

n dont even get me started on those waja with evo body kits…its the only time in mylife i puked so much!

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:28 pm

Rebandaging? oooo the world is following stupid proton and naza and perodua. The whole world has just hit a all time LOW!!!

• drM (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:34 pm

paul,

its not fair for you to bang these people over the level of proudness of their ride..its like a marriage actually. everyone thinks he's got the prettiest wife at home. and suddenly, he likes her to be a Julia Roberts, or an Angeline Jolie, or something like a Pam Anderson!

cheerrs!

• sarawakguy (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:43 pm

"innovative" is the word,and add a bit of imagination…and walaaaa! That's how it is.Should have seen some guys doing "faintastic" cosmetics to their cars in Sarawak here…I've actually seen several good old SAGAs being "surgically" implanted with WIRA bumpers and WAJA grilles!!!!! How do you beat that!!But then- banyak udang banyak garam maa….

• jtshin (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 10:50 pm

I saw Gen-2 with MErcedes front n rear badges with the SLK320 badges at the rear… that's the craziest… haha… not sure I still got the photo or not…

• TheMachine (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:26 pm

What about the old Merc where they facelift and put the Masterpiece tag on ?

And some Perdana 2.0sei but facelift to Perdana V6 current shape ….. the worst or laughable is old Merc (masterpiece body type) who bascically transformed to round light Merc …. and the rear the current E-class. What a joke ! I've also seen 230CE Merc being transformed to a CLK lookalike which from the side you can tell …. why do people do such things ? cannot afford cannort afford la …. aren't they ashamed ? I would be ashamed to be in the transformed car or some facelift to look newer ….. i rather be in an old wira. There also wannabe whose wira's front been tranformed to a mistsubishi but c'mon people get real ……

• armandd (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 12:59 am

kancil, saga, wira and waja owners with their stewpid mods really made me wanna puke. there are however, car modders in other countries that really can make u speechless. check this out…

http://www.topgear.com/content/timetoburn/section…

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 1:40 am

named it, wirevo, wajevo, kanmira, and the latest one is. MyviSo My Ahso? :D

the latest at my office. A reporter using Naza Bestari, but only in a week he change all the logo to Peugot. 206.

I'ved seen a Kancil with mitsubshi stiker on a front. And a pink or gold color (not remember) kenari Mercedez. (later if i found that pic, i'll posted it here)

sadly, i browsed in protonownersclub.co.uk , i found they put a proton BIG logo sticker into the door.

Does it a Typically Malaysian Trend? BTW, Good point enough "The logo increase 10HP" each.. i want to put a ferrari logo at my car later. 10log = 100hp increased! wala!

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 1:42 am

aiya the other way also problems you know,I DRIVE a 97 merc E320,people say i pretent lah,is a 230 lah,just because a lot of 230 change their badge to 280 or 240 or 320,i fall into the same catogary automatically,solution,take it out become E no 0.

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 1:51 am

I don'tknow why they do that, but it never fails to amuse me. I've once seen a Waja with the "WAJA" broken into 2 pieces and stuck back as "JAWA".

• whodz (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 2:28 am

e-nabilll:

It just a matter of an example. Yeah, It is include waja being evo. Whatsoever. What's matter is either illegal or legal. The rest is just only being hypocrite and ego and show off…and what's wrong having a myvi? It is just because I put some myvi example? Grow up, man.

aesthari:

I've also seen wira with 'RAWI' or 'RAVI', I think.hehe.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 3:33 am

??? i hav noting against myvi la…y the outburst ?? jus having a joke…wateva ppl do thn let thm do la..thy dont harm anybody else with their badges…i guess u can say u can read alot abt the personality of the driver from their cars…besides , its individuality..like buying phone..n every now n thn u wana change the cover to suite ur style..i guess its the same with cars…

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 3:50 am

BMW 770LI…. BMW LOLI, hahaha

• i'm run (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 4:46 am

I've seen a lot of Proton Waja with Mitsubishi badge, Proton Waja with 'Evolution' wordings…

But, why do we care so much…??? It's their car…. I mean they can do whatever they want to do with their car. It's unacceptable if someone put a 770Li badge on your car or something…

Just let them do what the heck they want with their car, coz it is their car, their money and they pay their petrol.

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 5:57 am

Interestingly many people do not know that this is against the law here in Malaysia according to our friends at JPJ. Believe it or not!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:21 am

law?? wat law? and wat jpj??!! somehow those two words reminds me of the term 'under-table-money' and 'zero enforcement'!!

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:46 am

aesthari said,

September 16, 2006 @ 5:51 pm

I don’tknow why they do that, but it never fails to amuse me. I’ve once seen a Waja with the “WAJA” broken into 2 pieces and stuck back as “JAWA”.

yeah, it happens especially to those living in johor or anybody else who are of javanese descent.

but really lah, this rebadging thing is not so bad as long as those ppl really kno their cars as well as they are trying to show. changing peroduas, nazas n protons to their respective technological partners are not as bad as those who rojak their car. it shows they have some knowledge of the background of their cars unlike wira type-r, waja impreza and what not. do these guys really know their cars?? dont degrade urself la! also cannot tahan if ppl type-r-badge their civics n similar mods when obvly its not or even make physical mods that makes u sakit telinga without it going fast. once had a 1.3 satria fitted with noisy huge-ass exhaust muffler with turbo-sounds comin out of it tryin to tailgate while flashing me like nobody's business. smoked it with me pop's stock wira 1.8 exi :D

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 10:00 am

..funny. That does explain why many ppl have lost logos from their cars :D

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 6:40 pm

this ego things ah,got two ways to look at it, 1st scenerio,you drive a bmw attending a function,waaa! glamorrrrs!,after the function on your way home,you stop by a durian stall,buy some durians,20ringgits a kilo,go home discover your retired father who drive a kancil also bought durian from the same stall,10 ringgits a kilo.EGO maaaa!

• Isamu (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:56 pm

When Myvi first came out, I saw one in Batu Pahat, Johor with huge Mugen diagonally stuck on both sides of the car.. haha.. That is plain ignorance..

I love them as much as I hate them because they give me a good laugh, everytime..

• malayman (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 7:57 pm

http://www.topgear.com/content/timetoburn/section…
    haha!! this one takes the prize la!!!!!

• V_NoZ (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 1:38 am

in my opinion… the badge reflects the model of the car. if u gonna have something else sticked on. its better off not sticking anything else at all.. i will be a laughing stock! i know some plp do that purely to feed their EGO.

i like not to have any of those nonsense on my car. i dont do free advertising. nobody is sponsering my fuel, i dont see the need to put it up. those who put such sticks are just doing their part to advertise the brand. better off working for some charity!LOL

• dawgHause (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 2:54 am

its a irritating thing among malaysian motorist.

there was once a porsche 911 parked, it had the sticker on its rear, 911 Turbo GT2S.

WTF? its either 911, Turbo, Turbo S, or GT2. for that i scratched his car.

beacuse they think it commands more respect and attention. respect and attention my sorry @$$.

in germany, drivers remove their labels the moment they get their car. infact if you buy a porsche they offer an option to remove the model labels, for no extra charge. you can drive along the autobahn and get trashed by a labelless Brabus SV12 you thought was a normal benz. respect.

• TheMachine (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 6:38 am

What about the Toyota Harriers that change the badges and rims to Lexus but the steering wheel still shows the toyota logo ? Its either you change the whole thing ………. what about some ppl buy second hand car but current shape and change to new number plate ? sigh …. Malaysians ….. ego/face value.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 10:25 am

hmm…badges..eh..this is why i respect car manufacturers who like mazda,subaru and audi's..they are so low profile..yes they do badge their cars…but they let the drive do the talkin… for example… a mazda6 or a rx8's apart from the models…they dun stick anythin else apart from mayb the mps badge if its enginered by their divisions…these cars are like rockets coz ive drven them and i have took out all those type r jngles and tom;s toyota's..the same can be said for subaru wit thier fast cars and audi….its all about the dive..no disrespect..but im kinda sick wit the engine badging.honda aside(cox they invented the valve timing thing pr perfected it i think)…i dun see why cars manufacturers like mitsu..toyota and even bmw have to parade about thier valve timng systems when it all bascally does the same thing?….helll citroen has the most inovative suspension system in da world and they dun parade it around THEY LET THE SUSPENSION DO THE TALKIN…..thse badge naming is basically a spinning a side income bcause there are people out there are stupid enough to think their regular civic is a type r..or thier corrola was fiddled by toyota….i know im harsh and many people out there do this due to financial glout..but PLEASE DUN OVER DO IT…..manucaturers should also take a leaf out on the car makers i mentioned and spin out performance model onli cars instead of creatin a crazversion of their mainstream cars..i think this will solve th badging issue..as for the merc's and bimmer's..they themselves try to be low profile..but i guess the people tat buy them have more money than brains….

• aksMs (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 3:56 pm

Awww…dawg…that's cruel man. You've put yourself onto lower level than the owner of that car by vandalising his car. As much as I hate those stupid car owners, I'm not condoning to such act. I mean, their stickers and badges are speaking on itself, right? Heck, even my friend's 7 years old kid knows that Ralliart is for Mitsu, not Proton. Porsche 911 Turbo GT2S? LOL!? Are you kiddin me? Porsche should sue him! I bet other Porsche owner will avoid bein seen with him. Hahaha! I would!

• motberg (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 7:38 pm

the ultimate i ever saw has to be this red honda prelude, it's the prelude with pop up lamps. this car has got side skirts, big rear wing, new front bumper and the ultimate in re-badging… a ferrari F40 badge!!! I laughed for days when i saw it….

• BOYRACER (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 9:21 pm

i dont mind if a wira put on a lancer badge of kancilwith mira logo coz they r actually the same except badging.but if a kancil with DOHC VTEC?that's stupid.

• dawgHause (Member) on Sep 19, 2006 at 8:34 am

lol

i would steal the red honda and the kancil and drive them into a lake personally.

yea you right i shouldn't vandalize the car, should jack the car and hit the owner in the face with a spade.

• pavithran (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:25 pm

I know this article is like a year old, but I've been reading through your archives and came across this.

I guess the reason for S800 is that 8 is auspicious.

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 11, 2007 at 4:08 am

Saw a new W203 Merc with the logo at the back “C230 V6 Komp”. I think the C230 is real but V6 Komp is added on. BTW no such model. The V6 does not have the Kompessor.(Maybe only in the V8 AMGs). Rich enough to buy the car new but pea brained to bastardise the car. What a shame…..

• Jonny Vegas on Sep 24, 2010 at 5:26 pm

We have a house down in Spain and are surrounded by Russians who just ‘have’ to have to biggest engine under the bonnet to show off that they are better than everyone else. One even imported an X6 from the states because it had a massive petrol engine that was not available in Europe. If it’s a V12 they have to tell people about it at every opportunity.

If the fake 770Li drove down our street it would cause a riot as all the Russians would run off in a panic looking for a 780 to buy. I can see the funny side of that!