GetzTC – Hyundai Getz Turbo by Hyundai Australia

getztc1.jpg

Hyundai Motor Company Australia unveiled this specially tuned up Hyundai Getz FX called the GetzTC back in 2003 at the Brisbane Motor Show.

The base car is a pre-facelift Hyundai Getz FX 3-door, and this had some Astrel bodykits slapped on, together with nice 17 inch Lenso five spoke alloy wheels wrapped with low profile 215/35/R17 Silverstone tyres.

The GetzTC was fit with a sports suspension system using Koni Sport Yellow shock absorbers and Whiteline springs. You also have huge 330mm slotted disc brakes at the front with twin piston PBR calipers to fill up the space behind the big wheels, lest the stock brakes start to look like 50 cent coins. Rear drums were replaced with 280mm slotted and drilled discs.

The stock Hyundai Alpha III 1.5 litre DOHC 16 valve engine which makes 100hp in stock form was upped to about 160hp (estimate) with a bolt-on Garrett T25 ball bearing turbo and air-to-air intercooler running at 0.55 bar of boost. The engine had no internal modifications done to it, but the stock engine management has been swapped with a Autronic SMC standalone ECU. This is mated to a 5-speed manual gearbox, but for further performance enhancement the car uses a 215mm LC2 Accent 1.6 DOHC Flywheel with Exedy 215mm Sports Organic Clutch.

The Hyundai GetzTC is no longer in existance, as the performance parts were stripped out and the Getz was converted back to a standard stock 3-door Getz FX model and sold through Hyundai dealerships as a used Hyundai Getz. However, for Getz owners who want a similiar modification, an Australian company called Performance Styling Center has developed a similiar turbokit for the Getz.

Two more photos after the jump, as well as a dyno chart from PSC.

getztc2.jpg

getztc3.jpg

getzturbograph.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• drM (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 12:59 am

ok..I want one..

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 1:01 am

engine with stock internal putup a turbo kit running at 0.55 boost giving out a 160hp.. considering it got a small body and a small turbin i reckon it will be fun driving it and best most, maybe it's fuel saivng too.

• yummy (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 1:52 am

cool

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 2:00 am

"together with nice 17 inch Lenso five spoke alloy wheels wrapped with low profile 215/35/R16 Silverstone tyres. " – Paul

What is the size of the wheels again? Typo?

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 2:30 am

hmm…no modification to engine at all…then its called bolt on turbo loh?glad if the turbo package was available at malaysia.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 4:20 am

Yup, its a bolt on turbo alright. Pistons and conrods have not been changed. 100 to 160 hp on 0.55 bar boost, not bad. Ball bearing turbine will definitely be super responsive ;)

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 7:43 am

Inokom Getz Turbo??? mebbe not. the performance figure are quite good. exterior though, nice back (mebbe) and side view but the front view is just not exciting at all even with the bodykits

• familyman (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 5:55 pm

pocket rocket!!

• Kaboda (Member) on Sep 21, 2006 at 9:46 pm

I guess you can polish a turd.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 8:05 am

Turbo or non-turbo, it doesn't matter at all because the headlights looks very dull. Anyway, I still prefer Honda Jazz and Perodua Myvi……

• myviRS (Member) on Sep 23, 2006 at 11:16 pm

wow! i heard so much bout this production before. never thought it will be this awesome.. vrrooom.. pshhh!!

• szw (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 12:01 am

lalala

• szw (Member) on Sep 25, 2006 at 5:33 am

if m'sia got oni good, if not , no talk .

• masterhian (Member) on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:45 am

dey no 160 hp lah olny 106.61 hp

• Paul Tan on Sep 26, 2006 at 4:52 am

masterhian: the getztc made 160hp (111kW), but the psc version made alot less as u can see from the graph

• Ashley on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:50 am

i have a 5 drs getz with body kit and i want to add these modifications as turbo rear disc brakes and sport shock absorbers. can u please guide me

• LaChamp on Mar 01, 2011 at 4:59 am

Where can i buy this body kits?