Naza Bestari (Peugeot 206) Test Drive Review

206b_1.jpg

[ LATEST UPDATE: Naza has updated the Naza 206 Bestari for the 2008 model year. Click the link for more information! ]

Finally after a long wait, the press fleet for the Naza 206 Bestari is ready and I managed to get a hold of one unit to write a test drive report. The Naza 206 Bestari, codenamed the NX-02 is basically a locally assembled rebadged version of the Peugeot 206, in fact the Peugeot lion badge is still displayed proudly on the rear hatch. Look after the jump for what I think about the Naza 206 Bestari.

206b_2.jpg

For one, this is basically the cheapest continental car you can buy first hand, though not the cheapest car with a continental feel. Some of you might be able to guess which cars provide a conti feel at an even cheaper price. Naza’s Gurun plant has successfully preserved the continental feel, goes to show having a different badge on the front and rear doesn’t mean the car is any different.

The 1.4 litre Peugeot TU3 engine making 75 horsepower and 120Nm of torque mated to a 4-speed Porsche Tiptronic gearbox feels underpowered for a car of this kerb weight. You slowly build up the revs and wait for the engine to enter it’s powerband, but you wait and wait and the RPM needle hits the redline, and you wonder when did peak torque kick in? Because you didn’t feel anything. As the engine approaches redline, there is some slight metallic vibration to be heard from the front. Also, I think the gearing isn’t quite suitable, as the Skoda Fabia 1.4 had similiar power to weight ratios but didn’t feel as sluggy as the Naza 206 Bestari.

206b_3.jpg

The gearbox also behaves differently to what you might expect with an automatic gearbox, it is not very willing to downshift even when you floor the pedal, instead forcing you to use Tiptronic manual mode and downshift manually. Apparently this is a common behaviour with French gearboxes, they all behave this way. Anyone with experience with another French automatic car care to share their experience? The gearbox is definitely intelligent though, it doesn’t upshift when you release the pedal while going downhill, instead keeping the revs high on a lower gear to take advantage of engine braking.

There are two other modes, one is a sports mode which shifts at a higher point as well as keeps to lower gears, refraining from upshifting when you ease on the pedal. The other mode is winter mode, which starts the car from second gear to prevent torque slip on slippery surfaces, though with an engine like this I’m not sure if winter mode is required!

Despite the mediocre engine performance, the comfort level and road holding of the Peugeot 206-based Naza 206 Bestari was really good, perhaps one of the best in car’s in it’s class. Very comfy and sufficiently damped over uneven road surfaces. Interior comfort is also good despite the smallness of everything which I will talk about later – the seats are semi-bucket-like in shape, cushioning you well. Being an old school supermini design like the Fabia, i.e.: it sits low, none of that high seating position crap which I really really don’t like, despite it allowing greater interior room. A lower stance coupled with lower center of gravity gives you greater confidence in driving the car.

Now that you know how the car’s engine and gearbox combination performs, I think we can all agree on the fact that this car was designed to take you from A to B with minimum fuss, offering nothing else. So let’s cover the practicalities.

206b_4.jpg

206b_5.jpg

The car looks small for the inside, so naturally the inside is kind of small too, unlike the Myvi which somehow manages to suprise everyone with it’s feel of spaciousness on the interior. The front seats are nice and snug fabric seats. Egronomics are okay, the gear levers are easy to reach, you’d think this are part of the basics in interior design but trust me some manufacturers manage to screw up at this! Power window buttons for the front windows are located on the center console, but the rear power window controls are positioned behind, making it a little awkward for you to control, but I suppose it’s a requirement to position it there for the rear passengers to reach them as well. Steering wheel audio controls aren’t exactly on the steering, but on a separate stalk below the wiper control on the right. You can control radio channels/CD track selection and audio volume from the stalk.

206b_6.jpg

The rear seats can only fit two medium height adults comfortably, or kids. When someone like me (182cm tall) gets into the driver’s seat, you’ll have to push the driver’s seat quite far behind, basically destroying any chance of anyone but a child sitting behind the driver’s seat. As one passenger commented, “Gosh, this is like a two door car with four doors.” There are no rear headrests included in the standard package but they can be purchased as an option.

Audio system is satisfactory, it has decent treble and so-so bass, and is built into the dashboard design. The CD player tends to skip often over bumps and potholes, a problem I never had with my super cheap Pioneer CD player on my Satria. The audio system LCD display is multi-functional, being able to show information like specifically which door is open, external temperature, time, etc.

A neat feature of the audio system is RDS, which allows for the audio system to automatically adjusts the frequency of the radio station you’re listening to as you travel across the country. I’m sure you’ve noticed some CD players have the ability to display the station title. When you travel from KL to the south, the frequencies for the stations change. RDS scans for the new frequency with the same station name and automatically switches frequencies to the new station, not requiring you to fumble about trying to find out where’d you favorite station go.

Build quality of the interior was very decent, however I am abit concerned over this squeaking rattling noise which surfaced on day 2 of my test drive whenever the car went over even the slightest uneven surface. Sounds like the dreaded Proton rear hatch squeak. Whatever it is, I hope that if one gets this problem with his or her car and takes it back to Naza to rectify, the service personnel had better know how to fix it or risk Naza’s reputation going into the drain together with Proton. No one has perfect QC, the difference is how you fix the problem and how you treat the customer!

Other items to take note of include a follow me home function. When the car is turned off, flick the headlamp high beam feature once and the headlamps will stay on for a period of about 15 seconds or so, allowing it to illuminate your path or drive way. This is a safety feature. You also get adjustable headlamps from controls within the car, as well as an engine oil level indicator. Spare tyre is mounted under the car instead of under the boot mat, which could be tricky in situations where you have to access it. The fog lamp in the lower center of the rear bumper is spring loaded so it can withstand a few kisses to your Bestari’s butt. Yes, it is a fog lamp, not just a red reflector.

The air intake vent on the hood is not for cold air intake to the engine as most would think at first glance, but it’s actually a filtered air intake for the air conditioning system. This provides filtered air to the cabin, perfect for Malaysia’s annual smog season courtesy of our friends in Indonesia.

All in all, I think it’s an okay buy for anyone who wants something slightly different, for anyone who wants a feel of driving a continental car, basically those who can afford it as I think RM68,888 is abit too expensive for what it is. Also, the engine is way too underpowered for anyone who likes driving.

206b_7.jpg

206b_8.jpg

206b_9.jpg

206b_10.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normal_user (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 4:12 pm

Paul, how bout the ride & handling? Any comments on that? I read that the ride is near perrfect and handling is excellent. Just want to know whether its true or not. Is it as sturdy as a Beemer/Merc when driving over potholes and road hugging over tight corners?

• Cire (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 4:30 pm

French cars are known to be comfortable on undulation roads, or bumps.

Past clone like the Tiara, rides over bumps and badly patched roads like its on air!

The Bestari is still priced a tad expensive. I reckon if its at rm48K, it will attract more attention.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:40 pm

My 2 sen: I've driven it and the display is excellent (Jaeger). The odometer tells you how many km is left until you need to service the car, also, it even tells you the oil level in the car, which is a good thing to know considering the 1st Service Interval is 20,000km!! (In between there are I think 2 inspection service appointments). The central display shows you the audio info, FM/RDS, which door is open (e.g. front left, front right, rear left, rear right or 'doors open' in case of more than one).

Audio quality is very good considering the tweeters placed at the A-pillar base. Shift feel is very good, having a soft click. Maybe more males would prefer a 1.6L though, but for me, just to spin around town it's good and once you hit highways its quite good.

• KY (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 5:41 pm

This is the 3rd car I've heard about the squeaking. Kerol's car is not immune to this, "fixed" once but the problem persists. Another one is from a friend's friend.

• weiling (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 6:26 pm

i like the car….used to be my dream car…very dissappointed with the look…..it suppose be a very good and attractive car….esp the rims….n the materials…..need more improvementlah…..

• transformer (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 6:39 pm

i'm not too tempted though…

Naza307 maybe ?

selling under 90k perhaps ?

307SW better!

• avanza (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 7:14 pm

This car is a rebadge of a discontinued car from Peugeot that was released more than 6 years ago! What is Naza doing getting this hand-me-down and selling it as new?! Are Malaysian that gullible as to believe Naza that this is a new car?

It's just like the Proton Saga and Wira that were taken from discontinued Mitsubishi Lancers. Malaysia should be over this business of rebadging cars, for heaven's sake.

But looks like not. Damn!

• monkeyking (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 7:40 pm

way too underpowered??? how come???

transformer,

307SW under naza… no thanks

• sintiansai (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 7:50 pm

hey hey guys guys… I've been passing the naza's showroom very often recently and I've noticed all those top 50 supercars in their showroom including Ferarri Enzo…fuhyohHH… Can anyone here tell me do they own that? if they do, how did they dig out so much money to buy it and just put it there as display?? Are they going to rebadge ferrari enzo to NAZArari? lol… it will be cool

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 8:27 pm

never drive the Naza 1.4L but the review sound fair to me. but just a bit too brief. Maybe Paul don't have SOP on comprehensive car review yet.. hehe..

as normal_user question.. in ur opinion, how's the ride and handling?

in general, i suspect most of us expects just a little too much from this car.

it's a basic (entry line) car (from world wide perspective) with an old 1.4L engine. also, it is only fair to review the engine performance against another 1.4L , 1.3L or old 1.5L engine within similar power and torque output bandwidth (+- 10%).

as for the price, if compared to all car in the market w/o considering origin of the car components (Europe -> hence higher cost ), it feel a bit pricey..

this is pricey feeling is make worse with current automotive industry situation.

for me, at MOST the price should be rm65,000 OTR maximum.

it is best if they could be priced around rm62,000 OTR (actual car price less than rm60K).

the rm68,888 price tag make it feel like a very long investment that surely have no financial returns later. lower price might alleviate this negative feeling and entice ppl to buy and feel less 'rugi' about it.

as for the the conti feel… its there, i'm sure of that, but on some areas its just lack 'up-to-date style' compared to car with current design style (e.g. swift, yaris) as the 206 was designed in mid 80s. but not bad for 20 years old basic car i guess. most basic car designed in the same time, all truely out-dated already.

as for the R&H, i've heard different comments on the 206 in general. some said it perform quite well on uneven roads but some commented the suspension setup (especially the front) is too hard, resulting in less than comfortble ride on uneven roads. as for handling, the steering is rather 'heavy' on city roads but perform better (accurate and more response) on highway or winding roads.

Paul, what your take on the R&H?

Believe this is important for KL folk especially on rainy season like now where lots of roads get damaged / new potholes emerged.

on another issue, recently i was at one Naza SC, jalan2 buang masa. stumble upon one Naza 206 under maintenance repair. notice that two components of the rear suspension (at left and right side) is leaking grease. wonder what actually happens as rarely heard 206 with rear suspension problem.

• pirate (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 8:46 pm

Paul,

What happened to your usual clean and uncluttered pix?

Background for the parked Bestari looked like a busy and crowded neigbourhood!

Those pix certainly don't do your spanking new Nikon DSLR justice…heheh!

Maybe you got the car for only a day eh?

• ... (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:06 pm

I heard the price now for one is RM62K

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:49 pm

The car's technology already behind time.

At 62K….I don't think it is value for money.

• tishaban (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 9:59 pm

Paul, I don't agree with you the gearing, I myself test drove both the Fabia and Bestari back to back only a week ago and I felt the Bestari was more nippy and responsive. I know the Fabia I drove was the same as the one you did so is it human perception or actual differences in engine/build quality?

The current price of almost RM 69k minus 4k discount is ok, but still on the high side. It wouldn't be so bad if Naza had a decent reputation in build quality and/or customer service but…

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 10:06 pm

……….if don't have the capabilities might as well don't do it.

The car does not even deserve to be review………..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 10:44 pm

well said..the car doesnt deserve a review…getting a gen2 or a waja so much cheaper n miles beter….absoltly no sence to buy one..

• honda_driver (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 10:55 pm

thanks for the review paul.. i also wanted to buy one last time.. original pug 206 of course, not the bestari. But the spareparts price, and bad 2nd hand value eventually made me look elsewhere.

hi avanza, on what you said "Malaysia should be over this business of rebadging cars, for heaven’s sake."

rebadging is a common technique used by all car manufacturers today, as is platform and drivetrain sharing. If you have lived in australia before, you will be even more surprised by the Holden badged Toyota's on sale there, right next to a proper toyota. weird but true.

Besides that, the only Proton's manufacturers their own cars from scratch, no one else does in malaysia, not perodua, and definitely not naza. Proton spent hundreds of billions building up R&D and manufacturing facilities.. Naza and Perodua dont have to spend money doing that.. saves them lotsa cash.

• freeze (Member) on Dec 12, 2006 at 11:41 pm

1.4 car only 75hp?

Iswara 1.3 also 84hp. Why is it like that?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 12:33 am

lot 224.. :)

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 12:38 am

offroad manix and e-nabill,

all cars sold in malaysia that generate people interest deserved to be reviewed. As this car is quite controversial and managed to entice the public interest since it is generally regarded as one of the highest profile moves by Naza in its rebadging exercise, it is fully justifiable to do a review about it.

This is the first European car that they rebadged if not mistaken and one of the highest selling car in EU quite a few years. Even Peugeot are still sellling it even though 207 has been introduction due to existence of demand from customer. a.k.a. profitable.. The successful 206WRC campaigns by winning WRC title in early 2000 on 3 separate years added to its pedigree. The WRC-winning car might not be what you get, but this is simply Marketing.

For everyone info, a few automotive maganizes circulate in M'sia had do a review on the Bestari earlier.

A review on this car is much appreciated since not many people know much about the French manufacturer philosophy in designing car and the characteristics of the car itself beside the usual perceptions of high maintenace and spare parts cost.

Reviews by a few knowledgeable and experience parties will help to 'clear-the-air' about the myths, provide facts (good or bad) and sincere general lookout about the car from the reviewer point of view that are beneficial to assist people in understanding the car and any future undertakings better.

To add value to the blog with either positive or non-positive comments about the car constructively is the best thing we all could do.

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 12:46 am

RM68,888??.. tambah sikitlah & go get yrself a vios… lagi power!

Bestari??.. can sell or not??… bad strategy….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 1:14 am

intermilan ,

WE R TALKING FIGURATIVELY not literally…cmon…! to emphisize the bad value the car represents..thats all..

• offroader manix (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 1:21 am

intermilan,

LOL….Don't get angry ah ! Only merely discussing.

What you said is totally true………! I have no so whatever to counter on your first part.

I mean business and how they are doing it to exploit us ! I basically think it isn't FAIR when companies and A and B with the CAPABILITIES are suppling us M'SIAN with inferior products which people already ceased selling. To be fair like you all said there's others who do the same thing……but definitely not the PRICE which we are paying.

With NATIONAL No 1 and 2 status……you tell which M'SIAN think they are benefitted from the program ? Do you personally think it deserve to be review ? You may think so but other may not.

Why they are doing down ? We all knows already and nothing to be proud of.

End of the day…..it is run by uncapable people….lost it's competitiveness……and there's nothing to be proud of and as consumer too as we lost the appetite for it after so many years. So when the tax was reduce……everyone seems to be got out of jail and start looking at life.

One thing all M'sian can be proud of is GENTING at the moment and since it announced, it became an instant hit among people talking about it. Wah OUR M'sian company…..wallop foreign competitors in Singapore……it is sentimental and the LIM's deserve to be mention as HIGH FLYER….M'sian Boleh…Yes….the rest……masih tdk boleh…..

So for auto…No 1 and No.2………..well it is just speechless at the moment. :)

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 1:57 am

freeze said,

December 12, 2006 @ 3:41 pm

1.4 car only 75hp?

Iswara 1.3 also 84hp. Why is it like that?

———————————–

well..12valver breathes batter at higher rev giving batter hp figure .

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 2:11 am

osh_kosh,

See what I've told you? In term of practicality, City beats 206 hands down. I think u better buy your wife a City instead.

• albagmane (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 2:19 am

but i heard the car uses SOHC engine… hmm… don feel so good when driving a SOHC car… would rather prefer DOHC…

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 3:38 am

so Paul, is the Neo a Naza 206 killer?

• DtG (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 3:45 am

really Paul, which cheaper car (compared to the 206) has a more continental feel to it?

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 4:40 am

"from carsurvey.org"

"Poor quality, an "unfixable" fault and zero customer care."

What things have gone wrong with the car?

At around 4,000 miles, the engine started developing "flat spots" which the dealer keeps telling me is normal. At 11,000 miles the car is almost undriveable, with the engine hesitating and misfiring at 2,500 RPM, 4,000 RPM and 5,000 RPM. The dealer cannot fix it.

Central locking intermittently refuses to work.

Water getting into boot.

Leaking heater hose.

Heater direction control stopped working.

General comments?

If you can live with the fact that it is woefully gutless, it's quite a nice little car for an A to B runabout. It still looks good (in my opinion), handles tidily and is very frugal.

The performance I knew about before buying, as I knew about the nasty dash plastics and the less than solid feel. With it's "old school" 8 valve engine and long running design, I did expect at least some nod towards reliability, but I have been sorely disappointed.

The engine basically has a host of flat spots through its rev range which nobody seems able to even admit are a fault, never mind fix them. As the engine passes three points in the rev range it hesitates and stutters, but apparently this is normal behaviour for a 206. Strange that it never did it for the first 4,000 miles.

There is also a worrying list of silly quality control issues and niggling faults, and the dealers redefine hopeless.

I've owned two previous Peugeots (306's) which were both brilliant cars, the first one racking up 120,000 trouble free miles. This thing however has destroyed my faith in the marque. Looks like Japanese next time for me. I will never buy another Peugeot.

Absolute rubbish.

2 comments, click to read

Fix the spelling and grammar of this review

Request deletion of this review

How well written is this review?

Search for New and Used Peugeot 206s available in the UK

Click here to advertise your car

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

First year of ownership 2006

Most recent year of ownership 2006

Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual

Performance marks 3/10

Reliability marks 5/10

Comfort marks 7/10

Dealer Service marks 1/10

Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7/10

Distance when acquired 5 miles

Most recent distance 11000 miles

Previous car Peugeot 306

Date of Entry 16th October, 2006

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 4:47 am

any way there are good comments too on carsurvey.org.

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 5:28 am

rich father buy for a daugther,

pointless for enthusiast

• ariz8 (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 8:47 am

Intermilan,

I don't think the 206 was designed in 80's. Peugeot 205 was designed and manifactured in 80's. 206 was unveiled in 1998.

Of course spare parts are slightly expensive compare to national car parts. But if you compare with japs spareparts, I think they are just on par with it. Some of the main parts were manufactured in EU, thus the part price definately can't beat our local car's parts. Most parts either comes from Peugeot or Valeo.

This 206 is a basic model in 206 family. With 1.4 litre engine, it's more for point A to B vehicle with slightly improved comfort. Unless the car mated with peugeot 1.8gti engine and manual gearbox, then it's a different story. I bet our Satria Gti may not even follow it around winding road.

I do agree the price is on high side. This car should be 50+k only.

If one to enjoy a good ride and handling and want to be differ from the other, you will buy it else look elsewhere.

*French car – u either love it or hate it*

• king (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 8:52 am

intermilan,

i think you made a mistake since the 206 is NOT 20 over years design. It was designed in the late 90s and is still a beauty until today. sure beats newly designed cars such as yaris…..at least in my opinion. Can't say the same bout the internal packaging though. Engine power output is low but it is tuned for fuel economy…..should be much more economical than your average p1 or p2.

And for your information they are still selling the car in europe cos the demand is still there even after launching 207.

This car is more for style than substance and now with naza assembling it the quality is suspect.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 11:29 am

rather buy other car like myvi,grande punto or swift…this one is outdated ma…if u intend to buy rebadge peugeot…wait naza renadge the 207 la…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 5:43 pm

MyBoy,

Hmm… kinda like vios more than city.. well.. let me evaluate more.. my wife can wait :)

• motorhead (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 9:02 pm

osh_kosh,

city DSI 88ps, vios E 109ps & much cheaper.. look for cash discount some more.. my vios did 630km.. (1 tank, jalan kampung) recently…

• rosdi (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 9:04 pm

So, comparing this car to Savvy or Neo, which one is better, handling wise?

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 13, 2006 at 10:54 pm

the 206 was designed in mid 90s and not mids 80s as posted earlier. typo error. the 206 was designed by a highly-regarded Turkish designer who previously design for either Benz or BMW (i forgot actually). try wikipedia, they might know.

offroader,

i'm not angry lah.

just urging forummer to be more 'ilmiah'. only then we'll have a higher standard forum.

rosdi,

handling of 206 way better than savvy (206 – 4 years olds – savvy >1 year old).. based on wide experience driving both cars. the savvy front suspension slightly soft on winding road (when you negotiate corners after corners).

but .. but..having said that, savvy handling is fun. for that price, you have to puas hati. neo can't comment.

on paper 206 (ori 1.6L) and neo (1.6L) have the same bhp and torque. it's great if neo handling is at par wif 206. baru la tak sia-sia ada lotus.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 1:14 am

osh_kosh,

City got CVT remember? Your wife will loved it.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 5:39 am

MyBoy,

maybe she'll love it…. i think vios & city mechanical performance more less the same but i hate that city big ugly rear/boot design… :)

but then.. those vios boot really small… :)

p/s:

r u on this weekend?

• cavino (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 5:42 pm

Motorhead,

By comparing raw h/p can be a bit misleading especially when power loss thru torque convertor, steering, not taken into account.

However VIOS DOHC engine do match City VTEC in power but hit the upper limit, u will notice VTEC still going strong while VIOS DOHC might not keep maintaining the high rpm probably due to its lower usable h/p. iDSI trumped both greatly in FC.

Thats beside, iDSI is a full spec latest engine car with unmatchable FC in this class along with 2 airbags and ABS while Vios E spec has only 1 airbag and no ABS to boot thus the cheaper pricing with discount to boot. Btw. VIOS cost abt 20% less to produce than City higher tech costing.

As for mechanical performance, drive them both frequently and u will notice the differences in smooth driving is quite drastic due to the City CVT function.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 6:46 pm

osh_kosh,

Yes, its design is a bit off. But other than that, its a fine little fuel sipper.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 14, 2006 at 6:48 pm

osh_kosh,

I missed out something….. About this weekend, keep me updated ok!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 2:03 am

I followed a friend up to Genting in this 206 Bestari. Hate the Bestari name so we refer to it as 206. It's badged 206 anyway. The centre info display, if u press the right hand side button can show you EXTERNAL TEMPERATURE. Kinda nifty plus if you pull out the key with headlights on there's spaceship type warning pulses! Cool car. Driving Euro really is different.

• s60t (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 4:11 pm

Regarding Paul's comment on the gearbox,I think it is a characteristic of Peugeot's auto transmission. My wife has a 307 SW and it behaves similiarly.More suited for quiet sedate driving. If you want to move in a hurry you have to use the tiptronic mode.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 9:13 pm

My Boy,

hoho.. just a while the saleperson gone back ( i've ask him to come to my office).. i've booked a black vios 1.5G for my wife :)

so no 206 .. no city loh..

haha.. i think have to 'lupus' one of my car… no point so many, not like i've so many wife… hahaha

bro.. i'll wait 4 u to have 1 first b-4 considering adding another wife…

p/s: sunday kay… probably morning..

• intermilan (Member) on Dec 15, 2006 at 11:44 pm

maibatsu-thunder,

how the car handle all the zig-zag and steep uphill road?

can ahh the engine?

or is it barely make it to the top while le engine whining loudly especially on the few last hundred meter where zig-zag & steep are crazy?

believe this is important info as going genting uphill is like 'the' standard benchmark of any car performance.

i remember giving an "F" to hyundai getz (auto, don't remember the cc) a few years back. i like that car. simple, practical and euro design.

• MyBoy (Member) on Dec 16, 2006 at 12:28 am

osh_kosh,

U add one more for yourself. I promise you I'll get one ASAP. :)

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 18, 2006 at 6:39 pm

those cvt really diff.. hoho

• luke74 (Member) on Dec 22, 2006 at 10:06 am

Just something i would like to mention.. was in a showroom just a week back. Am not gonna mentioned which brand. ( *wink).

But was curious on getting another car.. and then this salesman made sense.. he said in order for NAza to drop their pricing like that , and the rebadging of it, a car would HAVE to at least have 70% local parts and 30% foreign.

or was it the other way around..? haha.

But anyways.. if that is true.. so why is Naza or rather the salesperson selling the Bestari , telling us.. that this car is CBU. ?? already , the alarm is local, the rear sensor is local, the headrest is local, what else.? ?

BTW i am a great fan of the PUGs esp the 206, But when this salesperson told me this.. It got me thinking alot..

• bmw.toyota (Member) on Dec 28, 2006 at 10:09 pm

Good review of the Bestari 206. I just wish the pictures are of better quality though. You should have picked a scenic place for those shots. Really need some good pixs for my PC.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 05, 2007 at 10:47 am

Wow, these days salesmen are expert in content, production, procurement, customs declaration, open market value declaration to govt., etc. What will they think of next!?

• doc_red (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 10:30 am

I've owned a Vios 1.5G for 3+years. Too many of them running around nowadays .. even in the kampung where I live.

Is the new Peugeot 207 available in malaysia? Price tag less then the 307 ? … less the 100K maybe?

• yytellmey (Member) on Jan 17, 2007 at 5:22 am

my family owned a 206 Bestari

its underpowered

and i think the FC would be better if its 1.6L

1.4L (75hp/120Nm) dragging a car weighted around 1200kg is a little bit too much

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 18, 2007 at 2:43 am

Just drove it. What a piece of unpowered crap! The Inokom Getz 1.4 would be a better choice. Heck, even Perodua Myvi 1.3 engine gives more power than the Bestari. Screw the continental feel when it feels like dragging an elephant around the streets.

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 01, 2007 at 10:54 am

continental?

even the original 206 is far from it.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 9:35 am

Paul has joined the kelab journalist pemalas.

Took pix in front of house? Aiyo…people give you a nice car to review, and you took pictures of the car in front of your house?

And you call yourself a motoring journalist?

Dude, you have no idea what is journalisme. its not as simple as opening a blog. If it is that easy, everybody should open a blog and request cars rom the car companies!

• jeff1122 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 4:32 pm

any bestari 206 owner can tell me why my bestari 206 the service icon already there since 1st day i took the car………it is the time have to service??

• jeff1122 (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 4:39 pm

any bestari 206 owner can tell me why my bestari service icon always there since 1st day i took the car……..it is the time have to service??? but now only 1000+ km…….

• you should have just put it there if u saw the service icon since the first day you took the car out. Why did you wait till today? You gonna face alot of questions and hassle coz of this… oh mama

• ahmad on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:19 pm

[quote comment="117566"]any bestari 206 owner can tell me why my bestari service icon always there since 1st day i took the car……..it is the time have to service??? but now only 1000+ km…….[/quote]

jeff1122,

just send yr to the service center. they will reset it for you. Not to worry. i drive my car with the service icon light on until 10K. They reset it after the 1st service.

• Naza Bestari is worth the value cuz it is more prominently established and tailored compared to Proton. Let Us say that you would like a Car… Which one would you choose Myvi, Persona, or Kancil… with the assumption that you are goin for a car that size…. I personally would prefer to buy a Vw compared to a Inferior MalaysianProduct.

• karskollektor (Member) on Apr 18, 2009 at 11:07 am

As a owner of 206 of its capacity 1.4 engine , it is not a letdown after all.

hp may be 'on paper' low to its body weight ratio but its adaptive intelligent gearbox is the factor for swift and nippy acceleration. To drive this car, it has to be in more sporty fashion rather than pressing the pedal economically to attain acceleration. The car is build for more young and hard driving.

Apart of 206 , my family also owned Ria,Kancil and Volvo of which each is classified as different type of car behaviour/engine for different driving and purpose .

I also used to own Iswara, Waja and recently drove my friend's Myvi. To relate the experience of driving those cars to 206, there are pro and cons.

-Myvi ;seating is poor. Just like driving a Vannette van and bumpy on pot holes. Maybe the car is light or suspension is so-so. On High Speed ,140km/h, might need four adults to give more downforce otherwise strong crosswind near airkeroh hway can blow the car off road. With 206 , kerb wt 1.2T, enough with single driver hitting 160km/h with much roadgrip. Strange enough, with 4adults in 206, you have better pick up /load adaptive downshift when do overtaking at 140Km/h. I mean gear change at this speed , engine feels v.light. Even , i cant recall Waja do downshift at this speed,it just starts to do gradual acceleration from 140 up to 170km/h max (i use to hit this speed with my old Waja) .That's mean if you are on the outer lane overtaking some vehicles at this 140km/h then suddenly appear Merc on Beemer up to your ass blinking its eyes, you may feel the stress of pushing your steering and moving your body forward in order to make car moves faster.

-Iswara 1.3 and Waja 1.6 vs 206 : Iswara /Waja might be the winner on straight line /highway acceleration but 206 will shine most on tricky road condition (hills/ corners/traffics) with its quick -adaptive gear change ( Auto mode). As due to its size ,chassis and excellent suspension, 206 is far more than old Iswara/Saga/Waja.

-Waja 1.6 : I still luv Waja straight-line handling and driving position (206 has better bucket seat) . 3 years it took me to share love and hate with this car. However ,the build quality had actually let me down. I still remember to spend a lots on parts and services during that 3 years- commonly on absorbers (rears), engine mounting, broken rear stabilizer rod, cross-arms, etc etc.. opss all 4 power windows were broken and damn expensive to replace too.. .

Well back to 206, my car now has hit 15K Km . I hv not rotate my tyres yet ,as the rear and front still on even thread wear . This indicates something about the car suspension again as i usually drive hard when cornering. My friend New Vios (drove by his teacher's wife) and another male friend of hard/fast type driver of Myvi (this guy previously own Satria upgarded Mits 1.8cc engine) had bad rear tyres worn out relative to front even at 10K Km. Just want to indicate how's two individuals with different personality and cars (Jap/Jap's rebrand) still suffer with performance (in this case tyres failure due to so-so suspension)

206's quality wise – I wont deny it there is rattling rear sound when you drive at low (1st-2nd) gear.But wont hear it any more once gear up further. It didnt really bother me(individual perception). More important thing is now about the maintenance of conti car, service visit at 10K Km interval (on semi-syntheic oil) and so far cause me ~RM130.

Those of Jap, Korean or Jap's derive car will usually @ 5K Km on Std oil or 10K Km on fully syn. Much calculated cost of workmanship and part / year I reckon.

My wife's Korean Ria (130K Km), has service interval at 10K Km too but that runs on Fully syn and it takes golds to pay for its maintenance so at the end she run her Kancil to works leaving Ria for balik kampung trips only (we boths from Eastcoat). My kids love this bus coz they can run in it. My other conti. ,Volvo , is another tougher , which I only change oil and filter at every10K Km even using Std/normal fully hydrocarbon oil. Conti Absorber can last 5 years before 'kong' vs Jap/Korea of 1.5-2 yrs. Of course, some people who drive Jap/korea/msia car never change absorver also up to 5-6 years but the car if follow from behind look like sampan kat laut la…

Conclusion is , conti based car still cheaper to run in long terms( i compare this vs NazaRia). Certain Parts are normally more expensive as they are frm Europe (currency conversion) but we rarely replacing them than Japs/Jap's rebrand/korean/korean rebrand .

More visit to see 'foreman' ,more upah la ! and more parts replacement la!

• how muh it's cost now ah?I plan to get one…

• proud to be a 206 owner here^^
    its really not costly compare with others jap B segment LESS features car.
    The france design till nowdays also not outdated since its born.

• marissa on Oct 19, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Hi I’m a 206 owner. Would like to make friends with other 206 users. Tq