Refreshed 2008 Naza 206 Bestari

Naza 206 Bestari

Naza has updated the Naza 206 Bestari with a new bodykit including a rear roof spoiler, door visors, and a new exhaust tailpipe. The rear seat bench now includes head rests, something that was optional on the car when it was initially launched, even though product images showed that it had headrests.

The 3 year or 100,000km warranty package has been upped to 5 years now, and includes 3 years free maintenance. With the additional accessories and warranty, the price remains the same at RM68,888 for the 1.4 litre French-rebadge.

One more rear shot after the jump.

Naza 206 Bestari in-depth specifications, photos and price
Naza 206 Bestari Test Drive Review

Naza 206 Bestari

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 10:31 pm

Not bad looking

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 11:01 pm

Naza shouldn’t be called as Naza anymore, it should be renamed as:

FCMN – French Connention between Malaysia’s Nasimuddin

It makes more sense you see.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 11:07 pm

What’s a connention?

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 11:24 pm

Cannot use that name. Got link with korea as well

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 11:44 pm

oops, typo error again. It’s CONNECTION.

• hyundai (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:07 am

It should be cheaper…

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:17 am

MyviKiller said,

February 23, 2008 @ 11:01 pm

Naza shouldn’t be called as Naza anymore, it should be renamed as:

FCMN – French Connection between Malaysia’s Nasimuddin
    —————————————–
    lol… FCMN sounds like Chinese cae brand to me. youre making it worst. lol

anyway, the rim still unchanged like before and the changes on exterior is not significant enough compared to pre2008 206 bestari.

• avanza (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:19 am

OMG! This car is so outdated in design. Who are these people still buying it?

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:30 am

Anyone notice this looks exactly like the 206RC (aka 206 GTi180), except the rims, logo and bodykit. It’s the same colour (or almost the same) as the 206RC; when I first saw the picture, I tought it was the 206RC.
    The 206RC (aka 206 GTi180 is a higher spec version of the GTi, using the EW10J4s engine, with 180HP and VVT).
    There’s also another type of GTi, called the 206GT, which only has limited units worldwide, it comes with the Aggressive Bodykit (plus wheel arch), making the car longer to qualify for Rally specification.

I heard they can’t officially rebadge it back to Peugeot due to certain reasons with JPJ or something (can’t remember clearly). This rebadge has hurt the 206 impressions badly, hopefully people can really go and have a look and test drive it before judging. If it’s not your cup of tea or taste, it’s not a problem, but it’ll be a waste if you misjudge it and one day knowing it’s actually good, right? No point guessing here, take our opinions, both good and bad, and keep it as a reference for yourself, and go and look at the real thing and also test drive it. If you think it’s good, then enjoy it, if it’s not, then hope you found a better car.

The 2008 Bestari comes with:
    1. Full Body Kits (same as the Sportivo) including rear spoiler.
    2. 206 Exhaust Finisher
    3. Rear Seat Head Restraints
    4. Door Visors
    5. Colour Coded Bumpers, Side Protection Moldings and Door Handles.
    It’s a good bargain with all these things, which really makes the car stand out. (instead of giving it as an optional package to add by topping up an amount).

Btw, the 206 test drive units in Peugeot 3S Glenmarie, Shah Alam, are all 2008 model, as far as I see. Go test drive and get a FREE Lion KeyChain (while stock last).

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:35 am

hyundai,

Cheaper?
    It’s NON-ASEAN car, which has higher tax. This car is supposed to be more expensive than Vios/City/etc. Now it’s price below 70K, that’s more than 10K cheaper than those Japanese counterparts, with better specs, except 100cc engine lower?

When you talk about continental/NON-ASEAN cars, if it’s cheaper than a Japanese, how can you say it should be cheaper?
    Examples of NON-ASEAN in case you didn’t know: VW, Peugeot, BMW, Merz, etc…
    I wonder if this was a VW car and how would the response be? Or was it because it has something to do with , ehm, “Naza”?

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:39 am

avanza,

outdated? *Cough*, you put your nick as avanza, so what do you “think” of avanza?
    By the way, what is outdated? Try and see outside our country and see if it’s outdated.
    Anyway, in terms of looks, it can be different between people, but overall, only a few will actually think it’s outdated, really, it’s well known worldwide.
    Just like some people will think the Latio looks good, while many other will think it look awkward, old, and uncle look. Also, another good example, the Honda City, how many people will think it looks good compared with those which didn’t?

• DrA (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 1:05 am

what a joke!!!…

• chaku/maru (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 1:28 am

well wearing naza badge makes this car a joke.
    i already test-drove it, and think that this car is not for me.
    btw, those body kits look like it came from BROTHERs.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 1:33 am

avanza,

Zastava(Yugo) is still producing the previous generation of the Fiat Punto, and the manufacturing facilities are ancient! At least Naza is using its “state of the art” manufacturing facilities.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 1:36 am

chaku/maru said,
    February 24, 2008 @ 1:28 am

well wearing naza badge makes this car a joke.
    i already test-drove it, and think that this car is not for me.
    btw, those body kits look like it came from BROTHERs.
    —————————————————————-

So you are the one who designed the white Saga BLM right? Do you have any new ideas for the bodykit of the 206? We would like to see it.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 1:37 am

nice car but ugly rims……

• chaku/maru (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 2:26 am

MyviKiller said,
    February 24, 2008 @ 1:36 am

So you are the one who designed the white Saga BLM right? Do you have any new ideas for the bodykit of the 206? We would like to see it

—————————————————————-

actually im not good at design OEM kits…but if u want an aftermarket kit,i can do.but not now lah…quite busy la

• abtm (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 8:22 am

this is so old, where is the 207 Bestari??

• bavarian (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 9:54 am

abtm you are right
    this 206 is in fact not a good looking car and the 207 definitely looks better

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:17 am

abtm,

The 207 will no longer be Bestari, it’ll be under Peugeot. The 206 is rebagded as Bestari because back then, they have taken over the franchise of Peugeot.

FYI, the 206 is still famous in various countries, especially in the UK and Australia. Just open up your eyes and look outside Malaysia.

• cetait (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:45 am

Peugeot 206 is a great car and still nice looking after all these years. But offering it only with the antique 1.4 is a real disappointment to people who would otherwise be interested. Should offer the 2.0 or at least the 1.6 16v engine as an option.

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 11:06 am

why wun they introduce he 207 here? :(

btw, d resfreshments are quite minimal… ;p

• kingglim (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 2:23 pm

Please lah…308 is already on the way coming out, 206 is already qualified for muzeum collection. Naza tries to con siapa here???

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 3:35 pm

Andy214 said,
    February 24, 2008 @ 10:17 am

abtm,

The 207 will no longer be Bestari, it’ll be under Peugeot. The 206 is rebagded as Bestari because back then, they have taken over the franchise of Peugeot.

FYI, the 206 is still famous in various countries, especially in the UK and Australia. Just open up your eyes and look outside Malaysia.
    —————————————————————-

The 206 is still on sale in the UK, but it’s now under the budget category, same goes to Fiat and Renault.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 3:37 pm

chaku/maru said,

actually im not good at design OEM kits…but if u want an aftermarket kit,i can do.but not now lah…quite busy la
    —————————————————————-

Never mind, take your time.

• szw (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 3:43 pm

the age of the car is really showing though its new car…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 4:07 pm

kingglim said,
    February 24, 2008 @ 2:23 pm

Please lah…308 is already on the way coming out, 206 is already qualified for muzeum collection. Naza tries to con siapa here???
    —————————————————————-

Himself.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 4:15 pm

What do u mean ‘con’? Don’t be too personal lah.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 4:22 pm

kingglim,

You just prove your understanding on Peugeot cars, 308 is the replacement for 307, not the 206.
    207 is the replacement for the 206. Altought, 207 is launched, the 206 is still on high demand. It’s being locally assembled not just in Malaysia, just FYI.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 4:25 pm

MyviKiller,

What’s I’m trying to say is it’s still famous there, even after the launch of 207. Of course, now the 308 is the most famous now.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:54 pm

Andy214 said,
    February 24, 2008 @ 4:25 pm

MyviKiller,

What’s I’m trying to say is it’s still famous there, even after the launch of 207. Of course, now the 308 is the most famous now.
    —————————————————————-

Yep it’s a legendary model and it’s cheaper than the other competitiors, so it’s still famous there.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 1:11 am

http://youtube.com/watch?v=A4sBx4-aT5o

A typical Naza’s “QC”.

• azrai (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 6:51 am

Malaysian actually shying away from continental car excpet Merc and Beemer. Low 2nd hand value and sparepart cost i think.

• ady (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 9:40 am

no wonder….still out dated…………

use own brand,use own name n use own car design

• king (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:01 am

w said,
    February 24, 2008 @ 3:43 pm

the age of the car is really showing though its new car…

______

sure this car is outdated by european standards, but it is still wayyy advanced compared to cars like myvi, avanza, gen-2 etc…

• Bebelon (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:02 am

better buy one suzuki swift..better look, same price and newer model. this car very very old already. who likes to spend 70k to buy a 10years old model(except P car la)

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:40 am

Bebelon said,
    February 25, 2008 @ 10:02 am

better buy one suzuki swift..better look, same price and newer model. this car very very old already. who likes to spend 70k to buy a 10years old model(except P car la)
    —————————————————————-

Yes I agree, the Swift is more spacious than the 206, honestly.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:41 am

And ving position is way much better than the Pug.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:42 am

And the driving position is way much better than the Pug.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:45 am

king said,

sure this car is outdated by european standards, but it is still wayyy advanced compared to cars like myvi, avanza, gen-2 etc…
    —————————————————————-

Yes, but you paid for what you get.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:46 am

I mean pay, not paid.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:56 am

King, “still wayyy advanced compared to cars like myvi, avanza, gen-2 etc…”

i’m just curious about what you said.. advanced in what way? they all have 4 wheels, 4 doors..etc..

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 12:03 pm

i’m just curious about what you said.. advanced in what way? they all have 4 wheels, 4 doors..etc..

————————————————————–

check out all the car yourself and test drive each and one of them.

no point posting pandangan ‘tak masak’ in this blog. This blog (paultan blog) deserve better constructive comments from its reader. Quality posting equals to quality blog (reading and sharing info).

“hanya jauhari yg mengenal manikam”

• eezarm (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 2:09 pm

nothing new…
    just another attempt to get buyers for this car…
    just like what naza did to sutera…

• king (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 3:15 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    February 25, 2008 @ 10:56 am

_____

just test it urself lar.. then u know what i’m talking about.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 3:32 pm

Pugs are sweet but the I.4 sucks dude. I would have bought one if it wasn’t the 1.4 auto. Minimum would be the 1.6 and only if its a manual. Obviously most peeps here never read Max Power or Redline. The amount of aftermarket stuff for pugs in general are amazing. But that’s in the UK. But then local peeps are not into hatches. If they did, they’d ask for an auto. Peeps cannot grasp the principle of power to weight ratios. But the media’s not helping either. If you go through a car review, more than half of it is about the interior, foldable mirrors, electric seats, ABS, EBD, . It does not tell you anything about driving it. I can see if the review is more about those stuff it can only mean that the ride is rubbish.

Nobody says anything about the driving dynamics, weight distribution, body roll and grip. And when it comes to carving a curve nothing beats a manual hatch. Get over your cupholder fetish dudes.

• lowprofile (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 3:43 pm

bobdbilder, way to go man!!

local mags tend to do this. i mean, not writing about the dynamics cos the car sucks and talking more about the cup holders instead. but then i don’t blame them. if they write sth negative, the immature car importers won’t let them test anymore cars and withdraw ad support (i think this is more prevalent among the japanese car brands, the big bully attitude). so the poor mag dies. it’s a fine line they have to thread. kesian the local editors.

by the way, there are lots of stuff for the pugs overseas. available here too but needs a sharp eye to find. some of my friends from the saab club import the stuff they need for their cars… on their own. maybe pug owners can do the same.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 7:33 pm

Bebelon & MyviKiller,

Old in continental is different with old in Japanese. Yes, Swift are good, one of the best Jap available within 100K, with splendid features and specs, also 4 star EURO NCAP. It’s also a mixed between European and Japanese, no longer pure Japanese breed.

In terms of pricing, definitely the 206 are cheaper considering it’s a NON-ASEAN Imports. But as mentioned before, in terms of individual, one can think differently if he/she like or dislike it.

As for seating position. The 206 are known to have “hard to find the right seating position”. But once you get used to it, it’s a different story altogether. The seats are also very good. Once you get used to it, when you try and try certain Japs, you can straight feel the difference. I even felt the difference when I drove the Sentra. But this is just my opinion and some who’d agree. Again, this can differ between individuals.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 7:47 pm

——————–

Multiplexed. Before you argue about Multiplexing, many japanese cars are already multiplexed overseas. Some of the Japanese here are semi-multiplexed, thus providing some extra features “nice to have” to users to make then “Ohhh Ahhhh”, while it’s old story for Continentals.

Auto-Adaptive Gearbox With Tiptronic System Porshe (With Sports and Snow mode). If you don’t understand the feature and technical stuffs, no worries, just LOOK at it, and tell me if any car in within 100K can even match up the look. It’s also the same one used in 307 and 407.
    It’s expensive to repair and replace, but imagine you can get it at such low price car. What does it mean to you about other car without it and selling at 10K extra?
    If you want to find out more info about the technology, please:
    http://users.bigpond.net.au/skystar/peugeot307/technology.htm

Suspension design. Yea, torsion bar, whatever. But it’s an odinary version like you seen in those Jap Vios, City, etc. Just have a look in under the car and see the BIG difference. That’s one reasons it handles well, like a Go-Kart. The 206 GTi simply have much stiffer Torsion bar, stiffer suspension, etc there’s no changes to the design, mind you.

Other features? Try it out and notice all the small small details. Nobody forces anybody to buy. If you don’t want to try or even look, why are you here? So we can know “oh, this guy don’t want to buy”, or “this guy doesn’t like the car”, or “this guy don’t think it’s worth it”? Huh?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 8:52 pm

Andy214 said,
    February 25, 2008 @ 7:47 pm

—————————————————————-

We have a pair of legs, hands, ears and eyes, but we are not the same person, aren’t we?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 8:54 pm

What I meant just now was ARE WE, not AREN’T WE.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 8:57 pm

Andy214 said,

Suspension design. Yea, torsion bar, whatever. But it’s an odinary version like you seen in those Jap Vios, City, etc. Just have a look in under the car and see the BIG difference. That’s one reasons it handles well, like a Go-Kart. The 206 GTi simply have much stiffer Torsion bar, stiffer suspension, etc there’s no changes to the design, mind you.
    —————————————————————-

Yeas I agree. The classic Mini has the rubber sprong setup, which is ancient compared to the modern car suspension system, but it handles like a super Go-kart!

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 10:28 pm

Comparing against pre-2008 206, the 2008 bestari r equipped with more goodies (cost easily above RM2000) and price maintain @RM68K.

That’s good value for money if compare with pre-2008 206.

From the picture above, what Paul didn’t mention are the front bumper, rear bumper lips and side skirts; colour-coded bumper (all corners) and door handles.

It could be even sweeter if priced at RM65K. but i guess the extended 5 years warranty (from 3 years/100,000km) is there as sweetener.

Apart from argument that this model is launched >5 years ago, it is a good value.

If only they also pre-install ATF oil cooler for free…

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 11:51 pm

Anybody who disses a 206 for its styling is a loser. You could do it to a MKIV Golf dudes, but not a 206. Cars don’t need hi tech gizmos to be fun.

Go run around in your VTECS or CVVTs or 12 airbag Merc for 1 hour. Then stop and get on a go kart for 15 min. Yeah a low to the ground, arm wrenching 8hp kart. If it doesn’t make you smile, you’re not worthy for a 206. A 206 still makes it to Maxpower dudes.

http://www.maxpower.co.uk/article.asp?asset=2176&p=1

And that’s proper street cred.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 12:00 am

MyviKiller,

The Vios, City, Latio, etc all also using Torsion bars for rear, but you can see how simple are theirs. So does the front. You can see how shopisticated is the 206 one, it’s also independent type. If you get what I meant, just imagine you’re paying the same price for all cars, and all the others just give you a very very basic, simple suspension design, compared to a highly engineered ones.

Many may argue about Torsion bars capability. But it doesn’t mean it’s not good. The Civic Type R UK version are using Torsion bars, and it handles very well. There’s a very very detail review between the Civic Type R UK and the SEAT. It’s not as simple as this suspension type is better, but it’s how well it’s designed, engineered, and also the car’s body. The 206 body design is well known famous in Rally. Look at the 307 which is struggling in the Rally scene, and the Renault which has similar hatch style like the 206. And now the Subaru are going into sport hatch trend also.

Of course, if you’re talking about Track Racing, then it’s a different design all together. That’s where the Civic Japan version stands out.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 12:07 am

intermilan,

Those people arguing the car is >5 years apparently doesn’t understand about continental cars, and the purpose of keeping a model for some time.
    It’s even funny, when they can think about the old Japanese cars/monsters, like AE86, RX7, etc and here they complain old. Also, some cars which they praise so high for, are actually very cheap cars, and here they complaining about a worldwide well-known famous hot hatch.

Isn’t it wierd for those people when so many (most) people (in the world) think it’s nice car and they think it’s not? Funny eh? There’s no need for even an arguement or explanation actually. But, it’s individual perception after all.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 2:39 am

Andy214 said,
    February 26, 2008 @ 12:00 am

MyviKiller,

The Vios, City, Latio, etc all also using Torsion bars for rear, but you can see how simple are theirs. So does the front. You can see how shopisticated is the 206 one, it’s also independent type. If you get what I meant, just imagine you’re paying the same price for all cars, and all the others just give you a very very basic, simple suspension design, compared to a highly engineered ones.

Many may argue about Torsion bars capability. But it doesn’t mean it’s not good. The Civic Type R UK version are using Torsion bars, and it handles very well. There’s a very very detail review between the Civic Type R UK and the SEAT. It’s not as simple as this suspension type is better, but it’s how well it’s designed, engineered, and also the car’s body. The 206 body design is well known famous in Rally. Look at the 307 which is struggling in the Rally scene, and the Renault which has similar hatch style like the 206. And now the Subaru are going into sport hatch trend also.

Of course, if you’re talking about Track Racing, then it’s a different design all together. That’s where the Civic Japan version stands out.
    —————————————————————-

I admire your enthusiasm on your suspension topic. As you can see, every technical gizmos has its own drawbacks (if you think the torsion bar is one of them). Torsion bars are relatively cheap to produce (compared to the Mac-Pherson setup), but being cheap doesn’t mean it has the lowest quality or ride in this category. Most sports cars are equipped with the torsion bars as it is durable. On the other hand, abeit the leaf spring system, torsion bars offer the harshest ride in its class!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 2:43 am

What I meant the smooth ride of the torsion bars is only applicable on commercial vehicles especially buses.

• king (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 3:25 am

Andy214 said,
    February 25, 2008 @ 7:33 pm

Bebelon & MyviKiller,

Old in continental is different with old in Japanese. Yes, Swift are good, one of the best Jap available within 100K, with splendid features and specs, also 4 star EURO NCAP. It’s also a mixed between European and Japanese, no longer pure Japanese breed.

In terms of pricing, definitely the 206 are cheaper considering it’s a NON-ASEAN Imports. But as mentioned before, in terms of individual, one can think differently if he/she like or dislike it.

As for seating position. The 206 are known to have “hard to find the right seating position”. But once you get used to it, it’s a different story altogether. The seats are also very good. Once you get used to it, when you try and try certain Japs, you can straight feel the difference. I even felt the difference when I drove the Sentra. But this is just my opinion and some who’d agree. Again, this can differ between individuals

___

well said…next time try sitting/ driving any jap compact car eg. vios, sentra or city for 1-2 hours, then go test drive a conti car like this pug or vw golf for 10 mins. its amazing that basic things like the seat pads are just so much more comfortable.

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 9:14 am

maybe will sell well if the price is rm58888 … ppl can compare with MyVI .. i think ..

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 2:08 pm

sxe10r,

don’t compare this car with myvi please. tq.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 9:10 pm

Don’t understand the difference. Answer to this!:
    http://www.308.co.nz/
    Nuff said!

(Click on COME ON BOARD > CAPACITY; watch the video, and ENJOY)

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 9:35 pm

intermilan,

You’ll be surprise what range of cars have the Myvi been compared to! It’s the one of the “HOT” local car in Malaysia.

—–

Anyway, truly amazing how people can come out with figures for the 206. 58888, WOW! If it can go 58888, I wonder how much other makes favour… It seems nobody understand where is the 206 come from, what’s the difference of tax/duty and exchange rates, etc. Technically speaking, when you tell people who didn’t know about the price and say “I want to buy the Peugeot 206”. What’s the answer?
    “Peugeot ar? Western car ar? SO EXPENSIVE! RM1XXK???”
    Then you say, er… no “It’s only RM68,888”
    The reply commonly would be “HUH? WHY SO CHEAP? RECOND AR? SECOND HAND?”
    Then you say, er… no “It’s locally assembled by Naza”
    The reply now is totally change, it can be:
    “NAZA? $%$^#^%%^%$^!!!!! Fake one is it? Copy Peugeot one is it? Use CHINA product? You sure it’s REAL Peugeot or not?” and so on and so forth.
    When the first time I suggest to my friends about this car as an option to my friends (they’re choosing between the Vios and City), they’re first reaction was also, “You CRAZY ar! How much is it!?”.
    After that, it’s very funny, some will say, it’s expensive because it’s just a 1.4L, forgotten that this is a FRENCH car, and all those point that this car was suppose to be EXPENSIVE. Wierd huh?

The final decision is of course still up to them to decide. Whichever car they choose, important is they’re happy with it. No point forcing someone to buy something we think it’s good but they don’t like it, or if any problems they’ll blame us. Vice versa, no point telling them to keep away because someone THINK so, one day when they saw another friend driving it and enjoying it, while because they listen to somebody’s opinion and let it go, now regret it’s too late, RIGHT?
    We’re here to provide information on the car and an option to choose for, and also let people to enjoy what’s a continental feels like. You should be glad you can enjoy it at such low price. If it’s not your taste, no problem. No car is perfect and suits everybody.

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 9:38 pm

Here’s an example of driving a Pug/Continental with features, this is the 308. The 206 would’ve old technologies compared to the 308, but it still not behind the local Japanese here.
    http://www.308.co.nz/

(Click on COME ON BOARD > CAPACITY; watch the video, and ENJOY!)

• Andy214 (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 10:52 pm

perhap’s it’s fair I say this;
    If you’re into modding cars like those Japanese, and installing those accessories in Kedai Abang (Brothers), etc. Advisable to get a local or Japanese cars.
    It’s not that this car cannot be modded, but there isn’t much option in our country and very little profesional. The available might not be cheap, or alternative a well known, Peugeot Sport (which I heard will be here as well).
    It’s a good thing as well, so we don’t see many wierd 206 around.

It’s also not flexible like the Japanese or local, where you can just go to any ah kao, ah seng workshop to fix your car. As with local, usually we’re recommended by relatives or friend to go to some experience ah kao or ah seng shop to diagnose our car problem. For the 206, it’s better to go for the profesional and experience with Pug, especially those with the correct and right tool.

So owning a Pug also means a totally different experience apart from driving experience.

I also like Japanese monsters, who doesn’t? I liked the EVO IV, V and VI since long ago, and still do now, also the Subaru, 350Z, RX8, etc. But when thinking of buying a car for my own, I want to get a car which I can SETTLE down, enjoy, comfort, experience, love driving it, etc. To me, the Japanese monsters is a fun car to have and take it for a race sometimes on the track, but not really what I wanted for my daily drive. This is just what I feel, ift can differ from each person, some people would prefer having a race car some not. As for other normal japanese car, it’s up to one’s choice. But the 206 Bestari served an option to choose between, and it’s got good specs, features, technology selling at only RM68,888K. Even if it’s NOT a continental but a Japanese, it’s still CHEAP comparing it’s specs and features against others. But, it’s a continental, which was supposed to be EXPENSIVE in our country AFTER comparing with others.

• crazysickimproviser (Member) on Apr 06, 2008 at 4:48 pm

For those who are comparing 206 with Myvi, just have a smile to them and say no more, because it not worth for your time and energy to debate with someone who haven’t even test drive both cars in details.

My family and I are the owners of a 2.4 camry, Savvy, Vios and 206. We used to have a Myvi, but savvy has easily surpassed Myvi in many ways (alright, I know all those proton bashers and myvi hard core fans will make a noise over this, but no-point arguing here, because 99% of proton bashers have’t even driven a savvy yet.)

And of course, the 206 has easily surpassed Savvy, but that is due to the higher price tag, but i must say it worths every penny. For those who are saying 206 is underpowered, i must clarify that they are wrong. I live in Bangsar and i drive up hill the Jalan Bukit everyday, and it gives me no problem.

So, please go and test drive the car before you make any comment here. For those who are searching for a new car, dont be fooled by those unfair and uncontructive reviews, go and test the 206 yourself, and feel the continental of it.

• harry77 on May 29, 2009 at 9:20 pm

value to buy 206 Bestari since they offer 0% downpayment, 0% interest, freeinsurance n roadtax. monthly repayment for manual is RM390 & Auto is RM425. installment period is 12 years.

example you buy i unit proton saga auto with RM 42K + interest 3.65 x 9 years for zero downpayment. after you completed 9 years installment the total is around RM 59-60K. why not you purchase not you to buy 206 Bestari.

the only term n condition your age not exceed 43.

• jimmie on Aug 10, 2009 at 7:49 pm

I heard Naza selling Bestari auto for $48,888 otr… Paul or anyone can you pls confirm.

thanks

• Anonymous on Aug 14, 2009 at 4:29 pm

i went to the showroom at klang just last week…yes, bestari 206 auto around RM48,888, discount up to 4789, you only need pay 99 as deposit…left RM44k to loan with bank, from 5-9 years (no more from naza credit)….. anyhow, salesman said this limited offer during merdeka… they only got 2 colour available (i think is 'white'? and silver)….blue colour no more…

i am interested with such an offer…but unfortunately the rear space of this car not meant for small or big family. hmm…myvi have more space – the only advantage compared to this car….

• yeap, went to showroom last week… around 44888, paid 99 only, discount up 4798. loan 44k, 5-9 years depends, with bank, not naza credit….limited offer to clear stock during august merdeka months…anyhow, colour is limited…only 2 colour available in klang, white or silver if not mistaken..

love the car, but rear space too small for family…..the car meant to single ;p

myvi have bigger space, the only advantage.

• CheMat on Oct 22, 2009 at 1:04 am

I'm very regret due to the delay of getting a car (bestari 206) where they should delivered before last raya puasa. I was so frustrated because they kept dragging and delay until now. The latest promise, the car will deliver to me by this december. Now I'm waiting and see the result !!!!!!

• lindaliscious on Jan 07, 2010 at 12:04 am

crazysickimproviser said,

April 6, 2008 @ 4:48 pm

I also like Japanese monsters, who doesn’t? I liked the EVO IV, V and VI since long ago, and still do now, also the Subaru, 350Z, RX8, etc. But when thinking of buying a car for my own, I want to get a car which I can SETTLE down, enjoy, comfort, experience, love driving it, etc. To me, the Japanese monsters is a fun car to have and take it for a race sometimes on the track, but not really what I wanted for my daily drive. This is just what I feel, ift can differ from each person, some people would prefer having a race car some not. As for other normal japanese car, it’s up to one’s choice. But the 206 Bestari served an option to choose between, and it’s got good specs, features, technology selling at only RM68,888K. Even if it’s NOT a continental but a Japanese, it’s still CHEAP comparing it’s specs and features against others. But, it’s a continental, which was supposed to be EXPENSIVE in our country AFTER comparing with others.

shallow nye org2 ktia ni. tau nak kutuk jek:p btw, this is my 2cents worth la yer ;)

Nway, I have the same opinion with 'crazy'. I owned a Honda stream now change to Toyota Caldina(superb driving for long distance) but when it comes to 'daily driving', I still love my 206!! small yet but compact & comfy to be driving around the city. well this a perspective of a lady la. i don't know much bout technical stuff though ;)

siapa yg cakap banyak tu pi test drive dulu then test drive myvi(sorry yer myvi's fan)…then u know what comfy driving is all about;)

oh btw, takda post baru ke? am looking for sports rim la. blh recommend tak kat mana? TQ

• matnan on Oct 19, 2010 at 2:06 am

Why people complained so much about naza rebadged peugeot? I think they don’t know that all the perodua cars are Daihatsu rebadged. Myvi Daihatsu Boon, Toyata Passo. Viva Daihatsu Mira.